yes, therapy helps!
Emotional trauma: what is it and what psychological problems does it generate?

Emotional trauma: what is it and what psychological problems does it generate?

May 15, 2024

When we talk about emotional trauma , the image that can come to mind is usually something catastrophic. However, the trauma is much more than that, since we are exposed to micro-trauma from birth.

  • Maybe you're interested: "How to express emotional pain in an appropriate way: 8 tips"

What is an emotional trauma?

Our organism considers a traumatic situation on an emotional level any event for which we are not prepared and that generates a strong emotional pain load .

Since we do not have the necessary tools so that our system can keep it in memory in a healthy and adaptive way, what makes our brain with this painful information is to encapsulate it in order to continue functioning in the healthiest way possible for the person. But it is precisely the fact of blocking it that causes it to become a trauma.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Emotional memory: what is it and what is its biological basis?"

Its psychological consequences

The unresolved emotional traumas may be associated with the development of mental disorders that lead the person to organize their own perception of reality and lifestyle around the problem.

Among the usual consequences that begin to affect our lives we find the following.

1. Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)

Known as the pathology of trauma, it occurs in situations in which the situation is revived in the form of intrusive memory memories. When the associated emotional impact is very high, the person can "disconnect" that information from their head, leading to dissociative disorders, which in a certain way becomes the only resource of the person to be able to continue living with that trauma .


2. Anxiety and panic attacks

Associated with the emotion of fear, it places us at a constant trigger point when diverse emotional memories connect with some aspect of our life .

3. Depression

If after the trauma the person begins to feel Emotions of guilt, helplessness and disappointment , a depressive picture may develop.

  • You may be interested: "Are there several types of depression?"

How to overcome it?

Processing emotional trauma is necessary, since it is the only way in which information, stored in a pathological way, can be reconfigured by changing the psychological impact it causes.

To carry out this re-processing of information there are several cutting-edge techniques that help in a faster way establish new "corrective" emotional memories regarding that painful information. In this new processing of painful information is the stage in which the change is made between "living accepting the past" and "struggling with the past to be able to live".


What happens if the trauma occurs in childhood?

Given that childhood is the time in which we begin to build our "I", and that our brain develops by 80% in the first two years of life, a child whose parents are not able to recognize their basic emotional needs can develop an attachment problem that leads and maintains until adult life. This is why we speak of secure attachment in childhood as a protective factor of mental health in adulthood.

Making repairs to a trauma often leads us to work on some aspects of childhood that may be forgotten or even those that we have not paid attention to in years, but which have nevertheless served to organize our system in a certain way around this information.

Paradoxically, it is sometimes believed that a trauma such as an accident, an earthquake or a flood is difficult to overcome. But, against that belief, psychologists know that the traumas that we call complexes are those that come from breaks in attachment , with such a simple base in the trust with the other, which in childhood is translated by that ability of the caregiver to look at us, attend to us, give us security and, above all, give us love.

Author: Ana Carcedo Bao, Psychologist


The effect of trauma on the brain and how it affects behaviors | John Rigg | TEDxAugusta (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Traumatisme émotionnel: de quoi s'agit-il et quels problèmes psychologiques génère-t-il?

Traumatisme émotionnel: de quoi s'agit-il et quels problèmes psychologiques génère-t-il?

Janvier 22, 2021

Quand on parle de traumatisme émotionnel , l’image qui peut venir à l’esprit est généralement catastrophique. Cependant, le traumatisme est beaucoup plus que cela, puisque nous sommes exposés à un micro-traumatisme dès la naissance.

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Comment exprimer sa douleur émotionnelle de manière appropriée: 8 astuces"

Qu'est-ce qu'un traumatisme émotionnel?

Notre organisme considère une situation traumatique sur le plan émotionnel tout événement pour lequel nous ne sommes pas préparés et qui génère une forte charge émotionnelle douloureuse .

Puisque nous ne disposons pas des outils nécessaires pour que notre système puisse le conserver en mémoire de manière saine et adaptative, ce qui rend notre cerveau avec ces informations douloureuses est de les encapsuler pour continuer à fonctionner de la manière la plus saine possible pour la personne. Mais c’est précisément le fait de le bloquer qui en fait un traumatisme.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "La mémoire émotionnelle: qu'est-ce que c'est et quelle est sa base biologique?"

Ses conséquences psychologiques

Les traumatismes émotionnels non résolus peut être associé au développement de troubles mentaux qui conduisent la personne à organiser sa propre perception de la réalité et de son mode de vie autour du problème.

Parmi les conséquences habituelles qui commencent à affecter nos vies, nous trouvons les suivantes.

1. État de stress post-traumatique (SSPT)

Connu sous le nom de pathologie du traumatisme, il survient dans des situations dans lesquelles la situation est ravivée sous la forme de mémoires intrusives. Lorsque l'impact émotionnel associé est très élevé, la personne peut "déconnecter" cette information de sa tête, ce qui conduit à des troubles dissociatifs, qui deviennent d'une certaine manière la seule ressource de la personne pour pouvoir continuer à vivre avec ce traumatisme .


2. Anxiété et attaques de panique

Associé à l'émotion de la peur, il nous place à un point de déclenchement constant lorsque divers souvenirs émotionnels se connecter avec un aspect de notre vie .

3. dépression

Si après le traumatisme, la personne commence à se sentir Émotions de culpabilité, d'impuissance et de déception , une image dépressive peut se développer.

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Y at-il plusieurs types de dépression?"

Comment le surmonter?

Traiter un traumatisme émotionnel est nécessaire, car il s’agit du seul moyen de reconfigurer une information stockée de manière pathologique en modifiant son impact psychologique.

Pour effectuer ce retraitement de l’information, plusieurs techniques de pointe aident plus rapidement. établir de nouveaux souvenirs émotionnels "correctifs" en ce qui concerne cette information douloureuse. Dans ce nouveau traitement d’informations douloureuses, c’est le stade où se produit le changement entre "vivre en acceptant le passé" et "lutter avec le passé pour pouvoir vivre".


Qu'advient-il si le traumatisme survient dans l'enfance?

Etant donné que l'enfance est le moment où nous commençons à construire notre "moi" et que notre cerveau se développe de 80% au cours des deux premières années de la vie, un enfant dont les parents ne sont pas capables de reconnaître leurs besoins émotionnels fondamentaux peut développer un problème d'attachement qui mène et se maintient jusqu'à la vie adulte. C'est pourquoi nous parlons de l'attachement sécurisé dans l'enfance comme facteur de protection de la santé mentale à l'âge adulte.

Réparer un traumatisme nous amène souvent à travailler sur certains aspects de l’enfance qui peuvent être oubliés ou même sur ceux auxquels nous n’avons pas prêté attention depuis des années, mais qui ont néanmoins servi à organiser notre système d’une certaine manière. cette information.

Paradoxalement, on pense parfois qu’il est difficile de surmonter un traumatisme tel qu’un accident, un tremblement de terre ou une inondation. Mais, contre cette croyance, les psychologues savent que les traumatismes que nous appelons complexes sont ceux qui viennent de pauses d'attachement , avec une base aussi simple dans la confiance avec l’autre, qui se traduit dans l’enfance par la capacité de la personne responsable de nous regarder, de nous aider, de nous donner la sécurité et, surtout, de nous donner de l’amour.

Auteur: Ana Carcedo Bao, psychologue


Découvrez la nature et les causes de l’appendicite (Janvier 2021).


Articles Connexes