yes, therapy helps!
10 signs that characterize abused women

10 signs that characterize abused women

July 18, 2024

Abuse and gender violence they have become two concepts increasingly visible in politics and health and, of course, also in the world of psychology.

This, however, contrasts with the fact that many women fear so much the reprisals that they could suffer for asking for help that they often do not contact the authorities that can offer them protection, with which the person who mistreats them continues to do so. .

This is one of the indications that gender violence is not an individual problem, but a social one, and that it must be tackled collectively by developing, among other things, a sensitivity that allows detecting cases of abuse. But nevertheless, detect the signs that define battered women It is not always easy.


  • Related article: "Profile of the abuser of gender violence, in 12 features"

Characteristic signs of battered women

Know how to recognize the characteristics of battered women It is very important to make possible the prevention of future attacks. These signs of abuse will help you to detect cases in which it may be necessary to ask for help. Not all of them are met in all cases of abuse, but they are useful as guidelines.

1. React defensively with ease

People who have been mistreated continuously are accustomed to startle or take a defensive posture quickly when they notice that someone wants to touch them unexpectedly.


Thus, moving your arm to touch their shoulder or removing a brush from their hair can cause them to show signs of fear such as bringing their arms close to their bodies, hiding their neck by lowering their chins or placing one shoulder between them and the other person, all this in a fast and automatic movement.

2. They show an explicit submission frequently

Abused women embrace the habit of being submissive to the person who attacks them, but they frequently adopt this style of behavior with "authority figures". This usually means that they replicate them a few times , and in some cases they even avoid eye contact while keeping the look down.

3. They have low self-esteem

Battered women have been receiving psychological attacks aimed at undermining their self-esteem. That is why many times they will manifest beliefs related to his disability to perform relatively simple tasks, and will tend to distrust their own point of view. This last phenomenon, by the way, is used by abusers who use an abuse method called Gaslighting.


  • Related article: "Gaslighting: the most subtle emotional abuse"

4. Manifest signs of stress

Another of the typical signs of battered women is that in many cases their stress levels remain high for a long time. This is expressed in fatigue, sleep problems, accelerated breathing and body postures that denote muscle stiffness.

5. Distrustful attitude

Many battered women are forced to hide a lot of information about their lives out of sheer fear , and that makes them avoid situations in which they must talk about themselves. This can happen even in your relationships with your friends and family.

6. They show little of their skin

Battered women who have suffered physical abuse are accustomed to Adopt an appearance that allows them to hide bruises . For example, an abundant makeup, long sleeves and clothes without cleavage.

7. Charge with guilt easily

When something goes wrong, battered women tend to assume that the responsibility has been theirs, even when there is a lack of information about what has happened and a certain ambiguity is generated. This is one of the signs of their lack of self-esteem, and it is also a protection mechanism to avoid aggravating the problem, since in situations of constant abuse the batterer blames the battered woman systematically and he does not want to be questioned.

8. They take "the long way" to avoid arriving at the place of abuse

One of the indicators that indicate the presence of a battered woman is that, if they can, they try to "kill time" with apparently anodyne activities to delay their arrival at a place where the abuser is waiting. This implies artificially lengthen conversations with friends, take walks without enjoying them , etc.

9. Anticipate the anger of the abuser and avoid certain questions

Another sign that indicates possible abuse is the avoidance of asking certain things to the abuser in anticipation of mounting anger. This makes the communication between both is not very fluid, full of silences and moments in which the woman doubts.

In other words, one of the characteristic signs of battered women is the lack of assertiveness .

10. Feel embarrassed easily

Low self-esteem also tends to make it easier to be embarrassed with relative ease. For example, something as simple as not having heard a question well can cause blushing on the face. This is because victims of abuse learn that people show a very high level of demand, and that getting out of these perfection schemes "is not normal" .


10 Red Flags of Abuse (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
10 signes qui caractérisent les femmes maltraitées

10 signes qui caractérisent les femmes maltraitées

Novembre 5, 2022

Abus et violence de genre ils sont devenus deux concepts de plus en plus visibles dans la politique et la santé et, bien sûr, également dans le monde de la psychologie.

Cela contraste toutefois avec le fait que beaucoup de femmes craignent tellement les représailles qu’elles pourraient subir pour demander de l’aide qu’elles ne contactent pas souvent les autorités susceptibles de leur offrir une protection contre laquelle la personne qui les maltraite continue de le faire. .

C’est l’une des indications du fait que la violence sexiste n’est pas un problème individuel, mais un problème social, et qu’il faut la combattre collectivement en développant, entre autres, une sensibilité permettant de détecter les cas de maltraitance. Cependant, détecter les signes qui définissent les femmes battues Ce n'est pas toujours facile.


  • Article connexe: "Profil de l'agresseur de violences sexuelles, en 12 reportages"

Signes caractéristiques de femmes battues

Savoir reconnaître les caractéristiques des femmes battues Il est très important de rendre possible la prévention d'attaques futures. Ces signes d’abus vous aideront à détecter les cas dans lesquels il peut être nécessaire de demander de l’aide. Tous ne sont pas satisfaits dans tous les cas d'abus, mais ils sont utiles comme lignes directrices.

1. Réagissez facilement avec la défense

Les personnes qui ont été maltraitées continuellement sont habituées à surprendre ou prendre une posture défensive rapidement quand ils remarquent que quelqu'un veut les toucher de manière inattendue.


Ainsi, bouger votre bras pour toucher leur épaule ou retirer une brosse de leurs cheveux peut les amener à montrer des signes de peur, tels que rapprocher leurs bras du corps, cacher leur cou en baissant le menton ou en plaçant une épaule entre eux et l'autre personne. ceci dans un mouvement rapide et automatique.

2. Ils montrent une soumission explicite fréquemment

Les femmes maltraitées adoptent l'habitude de se soumettre à la personne qui les attaque, mais elles adoptent souvent ce style de comportement avec des "figures d'autorité". Cela signifie généralement que ils les reproduisent quelques fois , et dans certains cas, ils évitent même le contact visuel tout en gardant le regard baissé.

3. Ils ont une faible estime de soi

Les femmes battues ont été victimes d'attaques psychologiques visant à miner leur estime de soi. C’est pourquoi ils se manifesteront souvent croyances liées à son handicap effectuer des tâches relativement simples et auront tendance à se méfier de leur propre point de vue. Ce dernier phénomène, d'ailleurs, est utilisé par les agresseurs qui utilisent une méthode d'abus appelée Gaslighting.


  • Article connexe: "Gaslighting: l'abus émotionnel le plus subtil"

4. Manifester des signes de stress

Une autre des caractéristiques typiques des femmes battues est que, dans de nombreux cas, leur niveau de stress reste élevé pendant longtemps. Cette se traduit par de la fatigue, des problèmes de sommeil, une respiration accélérée et les postures corporelles qui dénotent la rigidité musculaire.

5. attitude méfiante

Beaucoup de femmes battues sont obligées de cacher beaucoup d'informations sur leur vie par peur , ce qui leur évite des situations dans lesquelles ils doivent parler d’eux-mêmes. Cela peut se produire même dans vos relations avec vos amis et votre famille.

6. Ils montrent peu de leur peau

Les femmes battues qui ont subi des violences physiques sont habituées à Adoptez une apparence qui leur permet de cacher les ecchymoses . Par exemple, un maquillage abondant, des manches longues et des vêtements sans décolleté.

7. charger avec culpabilité facilement

Lorsque quelque chose ne va pas, les femmes battues ont tendance à assumer que la responsabilité leur incombe, même en l'absence d'informations sur ce qui s'est passé et en générant une certaine ambiguïté. C’est l’un des signes de leur manque d’estime de soi et c’est aussi un mécanisme de protection pour éviter d’aggraver le problème, car dans des situations de violence constante. l'agresseur blâme systématiquement la femme battue et il ne veut pas être interrogé.

8. Ils prennent le "long chemin" pour éviter d'arriver sur le lieu de l'abus

L'un des indicateurs indiquant la présence d'une femme battue est que, si elles le peuvent, elles tentent de "tuer le temps" avec des activités apparemment anodines afin de retarder leur arrivée dans un lieu où l'agresseur attend. Ceci implique allonger artificiellement les conversations avec des amis, faire des promenades sans en profiter etc.

9. Anticiper la colère de l'agresseur et éviter certaines questions

Un autre signe indiquant que des abus sont possibles est d'éviter de demander certaines choses à l'agresseur en prévision de la montée de la colère. Cela rend la communication entre les deux est peu fluide, pleine de silences et de moments dans lesquels la femme doute.

En d’autres termes, l’un des signes caractéristiques des femmes battues est la manque d'affirmation de soi .

10. Se sentir gêné facilement

Une faible estime de soi a également tendance à rendre l'embarras relativement facile. Par exemple, quelque chose d'aussi simple que de ne pas avoir bien entendu une question peut faire rougir le visage. En effet, les victimes d’abus apprennent que la demande est très forte et que sortir de ces systèmes de perfection "n'est pas normal" .


Message to the school shooters: past, present and future (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes