yes, therapy helps!
Egolatría: 12 features and attitudes of the ególatras people

Egolatría: 12 features and attitudes of the ególatras people

March 1, 2021

The concept of egotism it is used to refer to several features and attitudes that certain people present. The term egocentrism comes from the Greek "ego" (me) and "latria" (worship, admiration), and has implications in the world of psychology, since indicates a certain personality type .

Egolatría: a definition of the concept

The Royal Spanish Academy defines egomania as "worship, adoration or excessive love of oneself".

Egogy is, then, a characteristic of the personality of some individuals, in which they constantly show a confidence in their own potential , falling into self-admiration and into self-worship, to the point where this exaggerated perception can be pathological and cause problems in social interactions.


How are egomaniac people?

Individuals with ego-related traits and characteristics often generate rejection among people around them. In addition, the egomaniac personality has been present in many historical figures.

For example, in biographies and historiographical documents, they testify that Adolf Hitler, Napoleon Bonaparte, Gengis Khan and Josif Stalin were historical figures with a markedly egomaniac character. At present, perhaps the most popular reference is the tycoon and current president of the United States, Donald Trump.

In this sense, egotism is often related to other concepts, such as self-centeredness, narcissism, pride, excessive self-esteem, false self-confidence or megalomania.


Although there are aspects in which these concepts coincide, there are also some important differences and nuances. In any case, it should be borne in mind that egocytry refers to a subjective perception of the individual, how he perceives his worth, in this case in an exaggeratedly positive way. But nevertheless, Egogy tells us little about the translation of this perception to interpersonal relationships . That is to say: an egomaniac person can be and yet the people of his environment may not perceive it as especially vain or arrogant.

When this feature is compensated

Reading the meaning of the word egomania, we may think that it is a characteristic that produces rejection. However, in some cases being selfish is very practical. For example, when one's well-being depends on drawing attention.

This is the case of many celebrities, who they naturally express their grandiosity ideas through what they do, say and pretend to be; this makes them receive the attention of the cameras and keep charging more thanks to it.


12 traits and attitudes in common

But nevertheless, it is common for egomaniac people to tend to externalize this trait through certain attitudes and behaviors that can be rejected by other individuals.

Some of these attitudes, behaviors and traits are those described below:

  • They have an exaggerated perception of their attributes and qualities
  • They attach great importance to money and power
  • They have feelings of greatness: they are sure that in their lives they will achieve great goals and objectives
  • Although they can enjoy social skills more than enough, they tend to be rather lonely individuals, since they often generate a certain social rejection when other people realize their self-love
  • They tend to show great attachment to all aspects that reinforce their image of successful people
  • They like to generate envy and jealousy in others
  • They can tend to superficiality, carving instrumental friendships that allow them to achieve certain purposes and gain status
  • They distort reality, and in some cases they may have difficulty carrying out a rational analysis about their personal worth
  • In some cases, they may be people with little empathy, unwilling to offer help and support to other people
  • They can not stand receiving criticism and take it personally
  • They can tend to constantly compare themselves with others, getting angry if they consider that someone of lesser value is that they are in a better job or have a better life.
  • In some cases a tendency to exhibitionism is perceived, for example, boasting material and economic achievements, as a way to reinforce their self-perception of people of great value and social status.

Causes and motivations of this type of individuals

From the psychological point of view, there are many factors and motivations that can lead to a person developing this characteristic. The ego is a trait associated with certain emotional and emotional deficiencies , since it is usually understood from the psychology that a person with a balanced emotional intelligence does not need to perceive itself as something that it is not.

In this sense, egotism could be a warning signal of people who, paradoxically, suffer emotional, emotional or even suffer from some underlying mental disorder. The egomania would be, in somewhat metaphorical terms, a flight forward of people who camouflage their insecurity in this type of hyperbolic thoughts and beliefs about their abilities and potentialities in life.

From the social point of view, Egogytry is understood as the reflection or consequence of a commodified and classist society in the personality of some individuals . The differences between social classes and their lifestyle could generate a constant competition between individuals to achieve their status, which would be a perfect breeding ground for individualism, careerism, the undervaluation of certain moral principles, and also the egolatría as a characteristic of the personality adapted to this competitive environment and in which appearances prevail over other qualities. Thus, the desire for success in life can be a starting point that, poorly managed, can lead to developing personalities and problematic and limiting attitudes.

The ególatras people can be able to carry out projects and companies of great magnitude , but at the same time they may have difficulties when establishing deep relationships with other people.

Egolatrics and the education received

However, egolatría is not a trait exclusively focused on obtaining money or power, but it can have diverse motivations . The egomaniac personality style can have several causes, including the type of education and parenting style that the individual has received.

A too permissive and complacent parenting style with the child can generate problems such as oppositional defiant disorder (TOD), also known as the Emperor's syndrome, in which the child challenges the authority of the parents and acts in a capricious way to achieve all that What does he want. This type of education received could lead to a personality centered on the self during adulthood.

Recapitulating: social relationships and difficulties

Egogy can be a trait that causes serious difficulties in interpersonal relationships , since the individual can present several behaviors and attitudes that generate rejection in other people.

However, in certain contexts personalities characterized by egomania can be socially rewarded; for example, in the case of famous people who are always looking for new ways to reinvent themselves and to stand out; This would help them keep their cache high and continue to receive income and power of influence.

On the other hand, when a person considers himself to be superior and more valuable than others, he usually perceives other people as unimportant, useless and dispensable. This generates a feeling of rejection in their environment of friends and acquaintances, because few people are willing to tolerate being treated with contempt.

It is important to highlight that, although it may be complicated, ideally, egalitarian people can receive professional advice to try to restructure their perception of themselves , fact that will have a positive impact on your mental health and on the quality and quantity of your personal relationships, being able to enjoy a much fuller and happier life.

Bibliographic references:

  • Freud, Sigmund. Complete works. Volume XIV: Works on metapsychology, and other works (1914-1916), "Contribution to the history of the psychoanalytic movement." Chapter II: Introduction of Narcissism (1914). Buenos Aires / Madrid: Amorrortu, 1979.
  • Lasch, Christopher. The culture of narcissism. Editorial Andrés Bello, 1999.

MIND & WILL- MENTE Y VOLUNTAD. (March 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Egolatría: 12 caractéristiques et attitudes du peuple ególatras

Egolatría: 12 caractéristiques et attitudes du peuple ególatras

Mai 25, 2022

Le concept de ego il est utilisé pour faire référence à plusieurs caractéristiques et attitudes que certaines personnes présentent. Le terme égocentrisme vient du grec "ego" (moi) et "latria" (adoration), et a des implications dans le monde de la psychologie, car indique un certain type de personnalité .

Egolatría: une définition du concept

Le Académie royale espagnole définit l'égomanie comme "un culte, une adoration ou un amour excessif de soi-même".

L'égogie est, alors, caractéristique de la personnalité de certains individus, dans laquelle ils manifestent constamment une confiance en leur propre potentiel , tombant dans l'admiration de soi et l'adoration de soi, au point où cette perception exagérée peut être pathologique et causer des problèmes dans les interactions sociales.


Comment sont les gens égyptiens?

Les individus avec des traits et des caractéristiques liés à l'ego suscitent souvent le rejet de leur entourage. En outre, la personnalité égomane a été présente dans de nombreux personnages historiques.

Par exemple, dans des biographies et des documents historiographiques, ils attestent qu'Adolf Hitler, Napoléon Bonaparte, Gengis Khan et Josif Staline étaient des personnages historiques au caractère nettement égyptien. À l'heure actuelle, la référence la plus populaire est peut-être le magnat et président actuel des États-Unis, Donald Trump.

En ce sens, l'égotisme est souvent lié à d'autres concepts, tels que l'égocentrisme, le narcissisme, l'orgueil, une estime de soi excessive, une fausse confiance en soi ou la mégalomanie.


Bien que certains concepts coïncident, il existe également des différences et des nuances importantes. En tout état de cause, il convient de garder à l’esprit que le terme «égoïsme» renvoie à une perception subjective de l’individu, à la manière dont il perçoit sa valeur, dans ce cas de manière exagérément positive. Cependant, Egogy nous en dit peu sur la traduction de cette perception en relations interpersonnelles . C'est-à-dire: une personne égomane peut être et pourtant les gens de son environnement peuvent ne pas la percevoir comme particulièrement vaine ou arrogante.

Quand cette fonctionnalité est compensée

En lisant le sens du mot egomania, on peut penser que c'est une caractéristique qui produit le rejet. Cependant, dans certains cas, être égoïste est très pratique. Par exemple, lorsque le bien-être dépend d'attirer l'attention.

C’est le cas de nombreuses célébrités qui ils expriment naturellement leurs idées grandiosity à travers ce qu'ils font, disent et prétendent être; cela leur permet de recevoir l'attention des appareils photo et de continuer à charger plus grâce à elle.


12 traits et attitudes en commun

Cependant, il est courant que les personnes égoïstes tendent à externaliser ce trait par certaines attitudes et certains comportements cela peut être rejeté par d'autres individus.

Certaines de ces attitudes, comportements et traits sont ceux décrits ci-dessous:

  • Ils ont une perception exagérée de leurs attributs et qualités
  • Ils attachent une grande importance à l'argent et au pouvoir
  • Ils ont un sentiment de grandeur: ils sont sûrs d’atteindre de grands objectifs dans leur vie.
  • Bien qu'ils puissent avoir plus que suffisamment de compétences sociales, ils ont tendance à être plutôt solitaires, car ils génèrent souvent un certain rejet social lorsque d'autres personnes prennent conscience de leur amour-propre.
  • Ils ont tendance à montrer un grand attachement à tous les aspects qui renforcent leur image de personnes qui ont réussi.
  • Ils aiment générer l'envie et la jalousie chez les autres
  • Ils peuvent avoir tendance à la superficialité, nouant des amitiés essentielles qui leur permettent d’atteindre certains objectifs et d’atteindre un statut.
  • Ils déforment la réalité et, dans certains cas, ils peuvent avoir des difficultés à effectuer une analyse rationnelle de leur valeur personnelle.
  • Dans certains cas, il peut s'agir de personnes peu empathiques, peu disposées à offrir de l'aide et du soutien à d'autres personnes.
  • Ils ne peuvent pas supporter recevoir des critiques et le prendre personnellement
  • Ils peuvent avoir tendance à se comparer constamment aux autres et à se fâcher s’ils considèrent que les personnes de moindre valeur ont un meilleur travail ou une vie meilleure.
  • Dans certains cas, une tendance à l’exhibitionnisme est perçue, par exemple, comme une source de réalisations matérielles et économiques, comme moyen de renforcer la perception qu’ils ont d'eux-mêmes des gens qui ont une grande valeur et un statut social élevé.

Causes et motivations de ce type d'individus

Du point de vue psychologique, de nombreux facteurs et motivations peuvent amener une personne à développer cette caractéristique. L'ego est un trait associé à certaines déficiences émotionnelles et émotionnelles , étant donné qu’il ressort de la psychologie qu’une personne dotée d’une intelligence émotionnelle équilibrée n’a pas besoin de se percevoir comme telle ou non.

En ce sens, l’égotisme pourrait être un signal d’avertissement pour les personnes qui, paradoxalement, souffrent d’un trouble mental sous-jacent. L'égomanie serait, en termes quelque peu métaphoriques, une fuite en avant de personnes qui camouflent leur insécurité dans ce type de pensées hyperboliques et de croyances sur leurs capacités et les potentialités de la vie.

Du point de vue social, L'égogytry est compris comme le reflet ou la conséquence d'une société marchandisée et classiste dans la personnalité de certains individus. . Les différences entre les classes sociales et leur mode de vie pourraient générer une compétition constante entre les individus pour obtenir leur statut, ce qui constituerait un terreau idéal pour l'individualisme, le carriérisme, la sous-évaluation de certains principes moraux, ainsi egolatría en tant que caractéristique de la personnalité adaptée à cet environnement concurrentiel et dans laquelle les apparences prévalent sur les autres qualités. Ainsi, le désir de réussir dans la vie peut être un point de départ qui, mal géré, peut conduire à l’évolution des personnalités et à des attitudes problématiques et restrictives.

Les gens ególatras peuvent être capables de mener à bien des projets et des entreprises de grande ampleur , mais en même temps, ils peuvent avoir des difficultés à établir des relations profondes avec d’autres personnes.

L'égolatrie et l'éducation reçue

Cependant, egolatría n'est pas un trait exclusivement axé sur l'obtention d'argent ou de pouvoir, mais il peut avoir diverses motivations . Le style de personnalité égomane peut avoir plusieurs causes, notamment le type d'éducation et le style de parentalité que l'individu a reçu.

Un style parental trop permissif et complaisant avec l'enfant peut engendrer des problèmes tels que le trouble de défi oppositionnel (TOD), également appelé syndrome de l'empereur, dans lequel l'enfant conteste l'autorité des parents et agit de manière capricieuse que voulez vous. Ce type d'éducation reçue pourrait conduire à une personnalité centrée sur le soi à l'âge adulte.

Récapitulatif: relations sociales et difficultés

L'égogie peut être un trait qui cause de graves difficultés dans les relations interpersonnelles , car l’individu peut présenter plusieurs comportements et attitudes qui génèrent le rejet chez d’autres personnes.

Cependant, dans certains contextes, les personnalités caractérisées par l’égomanie peuvent être socialement récompensées; par exemple, dans le cas de personnages célèbres qui cherchent toujours de nouvelles façons de se réinventer et de se démarquer; Cela les aiderait à garder leur cache haute et à continuer à recevoir un revenu et un pouvoir d'influence.

D'autre part, quand une personne se considère supérieure et plus précieuse que les autres, elle perçoit généralement les autres comme sans importance, inutile et inutile. Cela génère un sentiment de rejet dans leur environnement d'amis et de connaissances, car peu de gens sont disposés à tolérer d'être traités avec mépris.

Il est important de souligner que, bien que cela puisse être compliqué, idéalement, les personnes égalitaires peuvent recevoir des conseils professionnels pour tenter de restructurer leur perception d'eux-mêmes , Ce qui aura un impact positif sur votre santé mentale et sur la qualité et la quantité de vos relations personnelles, vous permettra d’avoir une vie plus remplie et plus heureuse.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Freud, Sigmund. Travaux complets. Volume XIV: Ouvrages sur la métapsychologie et d'autres ouvrages (1914-1916), "Contribution à l'histoire du mouvement psychanalytique". Chapitre II: Introduction du narcissisme (1914). Buenos Aires / Madrid: Amorrortu, 1979.
  • Lasch, Christopher. La culture du narcissisme. Éditorial Andrés Bello, 1999.

Introducción a La Egolatría (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes