yes, therapy helps!
10 types of arguments to use in debates and discussions

10 types of arguments to use in debates and discussions

October 16, 2021

For a long time, the scientists of the mind have believed that the human being is a fundamentally rational animal, that thinks through logic.

However, this idea can be questioned, for example, every time we analyze the types of arguments we usually use to defend our points of view in debates and discussions. The argumentative fallacies make constant appearances, and many times neither we nor the interlocutor realize this.

However, this does not mean that there are no valid types of arguments through which we can contribute to debates in a solvent manner. This is a selection of the main types of arguments classified according to several criteria .


Types of arguments according to their content

First, we will look at the classes of arguments classified according to the type of content on which they are based. These distinctions allow us to better understand their nature and the way in which they are used.

1. Arguments based on values

They are arguments that are based on highlighting the ethical values ​​that have an option , be they good or bad. This type of argument is useful if the topic you are talking about is fundamentally philosophical and moral, that is, if you talk about what should be done and what actions should be prioritized.

However, they do not serve to describe objective reality, and if they are used for this, one can fall into a kind of logical fallacy called the argument ad consecuentiam.


2. Arguments based on descriptions

A general description is a way to gather several arguments in one to defend an idea . For example, to argue in favor of the position that birds are dinosaurs, one can speak about the feathers found in many theropod fossils, about the anatomical similarities that many of them had with current birds, etc.

3. Arguments based on data

They are a class of arguments based on very specific and specific pieces of information , usually extracted from scientific research or databases. They serve to reinforce arguments, offering empirical support.

4. Arguments based on authority

In this type of argument the position that an authority defends in the subject is indicated, pointing out that it has more value than other . In many cases, it can lead to a logical fallacy: in the end, the fact that an idea is defended by a specialist does not make it true.


However, it turns out to be a consistent argument when it comes to countering a fallacy of authority. For example, if someone defends the idea that the Earth is flat because it has been said by a neighbor who reads a lot, one can retort that the true specialists on the subject defend that it is rather spherical, implying that it is necessary to provide many proofs for refute this idea since both positions are not on equal terms.

5. Arguments based on definitions

These types of arguments are not based on the functioning of the world, but in the use that is made of concepts and definitions . However, in many cases these arguments are not effective, because the meaning of words can change depending on the time and context in which they were used.

6. Arguments based on experiments

In this case, the argument is based on an experience carried out in the same place where dialogue is and that serves to support the idea defended by oneself. In addition, it is very useful to convince, since it includes a "spectacular" part that is expressed beyond the words, that is, in facts.

7. Arguments based on mental experiments

This type of argument is a mixture between the two previous ones, since it is based on an experience in which the interlocutor has to participate but is not realized in the real world. It is about imagining a situation that is progressing to a point where the only reasonable conclusion is that the idea we defend is fulfilled. For example, if someone says he could never be a friend of a foreigner, it is relatively easy to make him see the opposite through this type of argument.

Types of arguments according to the way in which they are used

If we have previously classified the types of arguments according to their content, we will now see how they can be used to show relationships between ideas

8. Indication of the fallacy

They are types of arguments in which it is indicated why the reasoning that someone has used is not valid, based on a fallacy . That is, the discourse of the other is analyzed and the parts that are themselves unfounded and misleading are highlighted.

9. Arguments of comparison

In this kind of arguments two ideas are compared to each other , to show how one of them is better than the other. They are effective in offering global valuations on plot lines.

10Interpellation arguments

In these arguments a series of questions are made to the interlocutor to show in real time how wrong he is in a theme. It is an exercise that reminds the Socratic dialogue, since they lead the opponent to fall into a trap that is inside his own discourse, entering into contradictions.


7 Reasons Ben Shapiro Is So Dominant In Debates (October 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
10 types d'arguments à utiliser dans les débats et discussions

10 types d'arguments à utiliser dans les débats et discussions

Août 7, 2022

Pendant longtemps, les scientifiques de l'esprit ont cru que l'être humain est un animal fondamentalement rationnel, qui réfléchit par la logique.

Cependant, cette idée peut être remise en question, par exemple, chaque fois que nous analysons les types d'arguments que nous utilisons habituellement pour défendre nos points de vue dans les débats et les discussions. Les erreurs de raisonnement font des apparences constantes, et bien souvent ni nous ni l'interlocuteur ne le réalisons.

Toutefois, cela ne signifie pas qu’il n’existe aucun type d’arguments valables permettant de contribuer aux débats de manière solvable. Voici une sélection des principaux types d’arguments classés selon plusieurs critères .


Types d'arguments en fonction de leur contenu

Tout d'abord, nous examinerons les classes d'arguments classées en fonction du type de contenu sur lequel elles sont basées. Ces distinctions permettent de mieux comprendre leur nature et la manière dont elles sont utilisées.

1. Arguments basés sur des valeurs

Ce sont des arguments basés sur la mise en évidence des valeurs éthiques qui ont une option , qu'ils soient bons ou mauvais. Ce type d’argument est utile si le sujet dont vous parlez est fondamentalement philosophique et moral, c’est-à-dire si vous parlez de ce qui devrait être fait et des actions à prioriser.

Cependant, ils ne servent pas à décrire la réalité objective, et s'ils sont utilisés à cette fin, on peut tomber dans une sorte de sophisme logique appelé l'argument ad consecuentiam.


2. Arguments basés sur des descriptions

Une description générale est un moyen de rassembler plusieurs arguments en un pour défendre une idée. . Par exemple, pour plaider en faveur de la position que les oiseaux sont des dinosaures, on peut parler des plumes trouvées dans de nombreux fossiles de théropodes, des similitudes anatomiques que beaucoup d'entre eux avaient avec les oiseaux actuels, etc.

3. Arguments basés sur des données

Ils sont une classe d'arguments basés sur des informations très spécifiques et spécifiques , généralement extraits de recherches scientifiques ou de bases de données. Ils servent à renforcer les arguments en offrant un soutien empirique.

4. Arguments fondés sur l'autorité

Dans ce type d’argument, la position qu’une autorité défend sur le sujet est indiquée, en soulignant qu’elle a plus de valeur que les autres. . Dans de nombreux cas, cela peut conduire à une erreur logique: en fin de compte, le fait qu'une idée soit défendue par un spécialiste ne la rend pas vraie.


Cependant, il s'avère être un argument cohérent lorsqu'il s'agit de contrer une erreur d'autorité. Par exemple, si quelqu'un défend l'idée que la Terre est plate parce qu'un voisin qui lit beaucoup l'a dit, on peut répliquer que les vrais spécialistes du sujet soutiennent qu'elle est plutôt sphérique, ce qui implique qu'il est nécessaire de fournir de nombreuses preuves réfuter cette idée puisque les deux positions ne sont pas sur un pied d'égalité.

5. Arguments basés sur des définitions

Ces types d’arguments ne reposent pas sur le fonctionnement du monde, mais sur dans l'utilisation qui est faite de concepts et de définitions . Cependant, dans de nombreux cas, ces arguments ne sont pas efficaces, car la signification des mots peut changer en fonction du moment et du contexte dans lesquels ils ont été utilisés.

6. Arguments basés sur des expériences

Dans ce cas, l'argument est basé sur une expérience réalisée au même endroit où le dialogue est et cela sert à soutenir l'idée défendue par soi-même. En outre, il est très utile de convaincre, car il comporte une partie "spectaculaire" qui s’exprime au-delà des mots, c’est-à-dire des faits.

7. Arguments basés sur des expériences mentales

Ce type d’argument est un mélange des deux précédents, puisque il est basé sur une expérience à laquelle l'interlocuteur doit participer mais ne se réalise pas dans le monde réel. Il s’agit d’imaginer une situation qui évolue au point où la seule conclusion raisonnable est que l’idée que nous défendons est concrétisée. Par exemple, si quelqu'un dit qu'il ne pourrait jamais être l'ami d'un étranger, il est relativement facile de lui faire voir le contraire à travers ce type d'argument.

Types d'arguments en fonction de la manière dont ils sont utilisés

Si nous avons précédemment classé les types d'arguments en fonction de leur contenu, nous verrons maintenant comment ils peuvent être utilisés pour montrer les relations entre les idées

8. Indication de l'erreur

Ce sont des types d’arguments dans lesquels il est indiqué pourquoi le raisonnement que quelqu'un a utilisé n'est pas valide, basé sur une erreur . C'est-à-dire que le discours de l'autre est analysé et les parties qui sont elles-mêmes infondées et trompeuses sont mises en évidence.

9. Arguments de comparaison

Dans ce genre d'arguments deux idées sont comparées l'une à l'autre , pour montrer comment l’un est meilleur que l’autre. Ils sont efficaces pour proposer des évaluations globales sur des lignes de parcelles.

10Arguments d'interpellation

Dans ces arguments une série de questions est posée à l'interlocuteur pour montrer en temps réel à quel point il se trompe dans un thème. C’est un exercice qui rappelle le dialogue socratique, car il amène l’opposant à se laisser prendre au piège dans son propre discours, à entrer dans des contradictions.


Le top 5 des techniques pour avoir toujours raison (Août 2022).


Articles Connexes