yes, therapy helps!
Adenohypophysis: what it is, functions and hormones that secretes

Adenohypophysis: what it is, functions and hormones that secretes

May 29, 2024

Our body is made up of a large number of different structures, which in turn are made up of millions of cells. In this great framework, we can find that there are a series of chemical substances secreted by the organism and whose action regulates our behavior and allows phenomena such as growth, sexual behavior or the search for food. It is about the hormones, which circulate through the endocrine system, in which we can find different structures, some of them at the brain level.

In this sense the pituitary gland stands out, which in turn can be divided into several substructures. One of them, which we are going to talk about throughout this article, is the adenohypophysis .


  • Related article: "Pituitary gland (hypophysis): the nexus between neurons and hormones"

Adenohypophysis: definition and main functions

It receives the name of adenohypophysis a the anterior and larger portion of the pituitary or pituitary gland . This ovoid structure is located in the basal part of the brain, below the hypothalamus (with which it is connected by the pituitary stalk) and resting in the hollow of the sphenoid bone known as the sella turcica.

It is a small brain region of great importance for our development as human beings, its main function being to regulate the emission of a large amount of hormones. It is therefore part of the neuroendocrine system, and in particular it is linked to hormones related to growth, metabolism and sexuality .


This brain region is highly vascularized, and has a large number of glandular cells . In this sense the adenohypophysis is made up of six major cell types, of which at least five are known to release the different hormones that the adenohypophysis secretes and regulates: somatotropes (that release the growth hormone), mamótrapas (that influence the release of prolactin and thyrotropin), corticotropins (secrete corticotropin or ACTH), gonadotropins (linked to sex hormones, in this case follicle-stimulating and luteal hormone), thyrotropic (stimulate prolactin synthesis, but especially thyrotropin) and chromophobic (which is believed to serve to renew the possible loss of the previous ones).

  • Related article: "Parts of the human brain (and functions)"

Hormones that governs this structure

The anterior pituitary, as we have seen in the previous section, has the main function of secreting and regulating the levels of different hormones. These hormones are fundamental when generating and allowing different biological processes. Among the different hormones that it generates, the following stand out.


1. Corticotropin

Also known as adrenocorticotropic hormone, this substance is essential when generating endogenous glucocorticoids , mainly affecting the adrenal glands. Its action generates the stimulation of different hormones by said cortex, which allow regulating aspects such as metabolism (for example, it influences the secretion of insulin), homeostatic balance and inflammatory processes.

2. Betaendorfines

Beta-endorphins are other hormones released by the anterior pituitary gland. These are substances that act as endogenous opioids, usually associated with moderate, diminish or even inhibit the sensation of pain . In turn, it generates sensations of pleasure and relaxation. It is generated when making great efforts, or in pregnancy and childbirth.

3. Thyrotropin

Fundamental hormone that regulates the functioning of the thyroid, stimulating its action the secretion of thyroid hormones and the regulation of these in the body.

4. Prolactin

This hormone is essentially known to be responsible for generating milk production in the mammary glands after pregnancy (although the hormone itself already begins to raise its amounts during this). Apart from this action also influences the growth of the breasts, the inhibition of menstruation and the male refractory period.

5. Follicle-stimulating hormone

Essential substance in the field of reproduction, the follicle stimulating hormone exerts in women the role of stimulating the production of oocytes and estradiol (in men the same thing happens with the formation of sperm). Apart from that also has an effect on physical development and sexual maturation .

6. Luteinizing hormone

This hormone is deeply linked to reproduction and to the corpus luteum, one of its most known roles being that of generating the process of ovulation. In men, it also plays a role in reproduction and sexuality, since stimulates the production of testosterone by Leydig cells of the testicles.It also contributes to the genesis of progesterone, in such a way that the implantation of a possible fertilized ovum is facilitated.

7. Somatotropin or growth hormone

This hormone is fundamental, as its name suggests, for the stimulation of growth and physical development. Muscles and bones are affected by this hormone, among other structures. As well It is associated with the consumption and metabolism of fats and nutrients and its use in the body.

Alterations linked to this brain structure

The adenohypophysis is a fundamental structure for the human being, its alteration or injury can generate different disorders and consequences of varying severity.

In this sense it is possible to find that its dysfunction can generate alterations of growth, among which we can find both different types of dwarfism and gigantism (due to deficit or excess of growth hormone). The role of the adenohypophysis in the generation of thyroid hormones causes that its dysfunction is linked to the condition of both hypothyroidism (by default) and hyperthyroidism (by excess).

It can also affect reproductive function, affecting both libido (for example, hyperprolactinemia can occur) and the formation of hormones and sex cells. For example in the case of women could appear problems or even the cessation of menstruation and the ability to produce eggs. Finally, also can generate or affect metabolic disorders (including diabetes) and cause problems when metabolizing and using elements such as fats and carbohydrates.


Pituitary glands, its hormones and their functions (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Adénohypophyse: qu'est-ce que c'est, fonctions et hormones qui sécrètent

Adénohypophyse: qu'est-ce que c'est, fonctions et hormones qui sécrètent

Mai 11, 2021

Notre corps est composé d'un grand nombre de structures différentes, composées de millions de cellules. Dans ce grand cadre, nous pouvons constater qu’il existe une série de substances chimiques sécrétées par l’organisme et dont l’action régule notre comportement et permet des phénomènes tels que la croissance, le comportement sexuel ou la recherche de nourriture. Il s'agit des hormones, qui circulent dans le système endocrinien, dans lesquelles on peut trouver différentes structures, certaines au niveau du cerveau.

En ce sens, l'hypophyse se démarque et peut être divisée en plusieurs sous-structures. L’un d’eux, dont nous allons parler tout au long de cet article, est l'adénohypophyse .


  • Article connexe: "Glande pituitaire (hypophyse): le lien entre les neurones et les hormones"

Adénohypophyse: définition et fonctions principales

Il reçoit le nom d'adénohypophyse a la partie antérieure et la plus grande de l'hypophyse ou de la glande pituitaire . Cette structure ovoïde est située dans la partie basale du cerveau, au-dessous de l'hypothalamus (auquel elle est reliée par la tige pituitaire) et repose dans le creux de l'os sphénoïde appelé sella turcica.

C’est une petite région cérébrale d’une grande importance pour notre développement en tant qu’être humain, dont la fonction principale est de réguler l’émission d’une grande quantité d’hormones. Il fait donc partie du système neuroendocrinien, et en particulier il est lié à hormones liées à la croissance, au métabolisme et à la sexualité .


Cette région du cerveau est hautement vascularisée et a un grand nombre de cellules glandulaires . En ce sens, l'adénohypophyse est composée de six types de cellules principaux, dont au moins cinq sont connus pour libérer les différentes hormones que l'adénohypophyse sécrète et régule: les somatotropes (qui libèrent l'hormone de croissance), les mamotrapas (qui influencent la libération de prolactine et de thyrotropine), de corticotrophines (sécrétions de corticotrophine ou ACTH), de gonadotrophines (liées aux hormones sexuelles, dans ce cas hormones folliculo-stimulantes et lutéales), thyrotropes (stimuler la synthèse de prolactine, mais surtout de thyrotropine) et chromophobes (qui est censé servir à renouveler la perte possible des précédents).

  • Article connexe: "Parties du cerveau humain (et fonctions)"

Hormones qui régissent cette structure

Comme nous l’avons vu dans la section précédente, l’hypophyse antérieure a pour principale fonction de sécréter et de réguler les niveaux de différentes hormones. Ces hormones sont fondamentales pour générer et permettre différents processus biologiques. Parmi les différentes hormones qu'il génère, les suivantes se démarquent.


1. corticotropine

Aussi appelée hormone corticotrope, cette substance est essentiel lors de la génération de glucocorticoïdes endogènes , affectant principalement les glandes surrénales. Son action génère la stimulation de différentes hormones par ledit cortex, ce qui permet de réguler des aspects tels que le métabolisme (il influence par exemple la sécrétion d'insuline), l'équilibre homéostatique et les processus inflammatoires.

2. Bêtaendorfines

Les bêta-endorphines sont d'autres hormones libérées par l'hypophyse antérieure. Ce sont des substances qui agissent comme des opioïdes endogènes, généralement associées à modérer, diminuer ou même inhiber la sensation de douleur . À son tour, il génère des sensations de plaisir et de détente. Il est généré lorsque vous faites de grands efforts, ou pendant la grossesse et l'accouchement.

3. Thyrotropine

Hormone fondamentale qui régule le fonctionnement de la thyroïde, stimulant son action, la sécrétion d’hormones thyroïdiennes et la régulation de celles-ci dans le corps.

4. prolactine

Cette hormone est essentiellement connue pour être responsable de la production de lait dans les glandes mammaires après la grossesse (bien que l'hormone elle-même commence déjà à augmenter ses quantités au cours de cette période). En dehors de cette action influence également la croissance des seins, l'inhibition de la menstruation et la période réfractaire chez l'homme.

5. Hormone folliculo-stimulante

Substance essentielle dans le domaine de la reproduction, l'hormone folliculo-stimulante exerce chez la femme le rôle de stimuler la production d'ovocytes et d'estradiol (chez l'homme, la même chose se produit avec la formation de sperme). En dehors de cela aussi a un effet sur le développement physique et la maturation sexuelle .

6. Hormone lutéinisante

Cette hormone est profondément liée à la reproduction et au corps jaune, l’un de ses rôles les plus connus étant celui de générer le processus d’ovulation. Chez les hommes, il joue également un rôle dans la reproduction et la sexualité, car stimule la production de testostérone par les cellules de Leydig des testicules.Il contribue également à la genèse de la progestérone, de telle sorte que l’implantation d’un possible ovule fécondé est facilitée.

7. Somatotrophine ou hormone de croissance

Comme son nom l'indique, cette hormone est fondamentale pour stimuler la croissance et le développement physique. Les muscles et les os sont affectés par cette hormone, entre autres structures. Aussi Il est associé à la consommation et au métabolisme des graisses et des nutriments. et son utilisation dans le corps.

Altérations liées à cette structure cérébrale

L'adénohypophyse est une structure fondamentale pour l'être humain, son altération ou sa blessure peut générer différents troubles et conséquences de gravité différente.

En ce sens, il est possible de constater que son dysfonctionnement peut générer des altérations de la croissance, parmi lesquelles on peut trouver les deux types différents de nanisme et de gigantisme (en raison d'un déficit ou d'un excès d'hormone de croissance). Le rôle de l'adénohypophyse dans la production d'hormones thyroïdiennes est lié au dysfonctionnement de l'hypothyroïdie (par défaut) et à l'hyperthyroïdie (par excès).

Il peut également affecter la fonction de reproduction, affectant à la fois la libido (par exemple, une hyperprolactinémie peut survenir) et la formation d'hormones et de cellules sexuelles. Par exemple, dans le cas des femmes, des problèmes ou même la cessation de la menstruation et la capacité de produire des œufs peuvent apparaître. Enfin, aussi peut générer ou affecter des troubles métaboliques (y compris le diabète) et causer des problèmes lors du métabolisme et de l'utilisation d'éléments tels que les graisses et les glucides.


Chapitre 6 - 1ère Partie : Le système endocrinien - Cours de Biologie du DAEU-B (Mai 2021).


Articles Connexes