yes, therapy helps!
Amok syndrome: causes, symptoms and treatment

Amok syndrome: causes, symptoms and treatment

September 26, 2022

Disorders such as schizophrenia, anxiety disorders, major depression or obsessive-compulsive disorder are widely known by the vast majority of the population.

These are conditions that occur consistently in the vast majority of cultures of the planet, occasionally varying their manifestations but presenting major distinctive patterns.

However, not all mental disorders are so common. There are some syndromes and disorders that are considered to appear specifically in certain cultures, linked to their beliefs and lifestyles. One of these cases is known as Amok's syndrome, or homicidal madness .


An uncommon disorder: Exploring Amok's Syndrome

Amok syndrome is a very rare disorder whose The main characteristic is the appearance of an outbreak of wild fury that induces the subject to murderous behavior , causing the murder or serious injuries with intent to kill all people with whom the subject is.

This outbreak or episode arises apparently randomly, without there being any phenomenon that causes the attack. This episode usually ends with the death of the subject, being produced either by the suicide of the subject or by the fact of being shot down in order to stop the attack.

It has also been observed that in many cases individuals with this syndrome have a series of prodrome or symptoms that indicate the possible future presence of the disorder. Specifically the presence of moderate depression, isolation and a high level of fatigue are common .


In cases in which the subject with the Amok syndrome survives, the presence of lacunar amnesia (that is, they do not remember the homicidal episode) and an elevated level of physical and mental fatigue and exhaustion have been observed.

It is a syndrome traditionally linked to culture, visualized and described for the first time in the Malay population. Historically, it has also been associated with other cultures, as in the case of the Berserker Viking warriors, which were known to enter a state of rage in battle during which they assaulted both enemies and allies with special ferocity and resistance to pain.

Etiology (causes) of Amok

The causes of this disorder are not yet well known, due to its general low prevalence and the fact that a large part of affected people end up dying, either by suicide or being killed to end their actions.


But nevertheless, it is pointed out that for the Malay population this syndrome was considered a response to frustration and humiliation . Likewise also the religious beliefs of this population, which included the ideas of possession by spirits, facilitates the suggestion and presence of this type of actions, as well as a magical interpretation of the phenomenon.

It has also been detected that the presence of chronic physical disorders is relatively common in subjects with Amok syndrome, and it is not totally ruled out that it happens during an episode of substance intoxication. Specifically, it has been observed that in the Indonesian regions where this disorder was detected, it is common for both adults and infants of Brugmansia suaveolens or floripón, which is used as a sedative as well as to prepare hallucinogenic drinks.

A disorder not as specific to culture as was thought

Although it is considered a disorder linked to culture, Amok syndrome has been expanded over the last few years and exported to a more global level , being associated by some experts to multiple mass murders produced recently. However, it is not clear to what extent it is due to cultural exchange, since one can not separate the increase in the scope of globalization from other factors that could also explain this phenomenon.

Typical profile of the affected

It has been mentioned previously that Amok syndrome is a very strange and difficult to see disorder in the population. However, the serious implications and consequences of this syndrome have led to the study of both this disorder and the characteristics of those who suffer from it. common patterns have been visualized in the subjects who have suffered .

Generally, the subjects in whom this syndrome arises are usually males, usually young, who present a shy personality, introverted and not very expressive . They tend to be subjects with a high level of vital inhibition and sometimes feelings of dissatisfaction and frustration. It is common that throughout their lives they have experienced some type of traumatic experience for them unbearable.

The presence of a history of prolonged harassment over time, as in the case of bullying, or violence within the family is a frequent element found in the subjects who have suffered this disorder, suggesting that the outbreak may be due to sequels of these phenomena that arise causing a homicidal rage.

Increase in prevalence

In recent times an increase in the prevalence of Amok's syndrome has been detected . This is due to the known effect called, through which the observation of certain cases and their consequences can cause other people to imitate the performance of these subjects.

Thus, there is a learning of a form of behavior that it is possible that the subjects did not have beforehand, being able to value and desire the level of social attention that they observe for themselves. The same phenomenon has been observed in cases of gender violence, suicides, vandalism and even homicides or terrorism.

Crimes apparently associated with Amok's syndrome

Amok syndrome is an extremely rare and unusual disorder, but the fact that it can cause the commitment of mass murders has promoted that many known massacres are linked to this syndrome .

Some known cases that have been associated with this disorder are the following:

1. Columbine Massacre

On April 20, 1999, this well-known massacre took place. In it, two students assaulted the Columbine High Scool facility, killing 15 people and wounding twenty-four others before the two perpetrators committed suicide.

2. Virginia Tech Massacre

Another massacre or mass murder that has been linked to the Amok syndrome. In this case occurred in 2007 the subject involved murdered thirty-two people before committing suicide.

3. Massacre at Sandy Hook Elementary School.

In this well-known case produced in 2012, a teenager killed a total of twenty children and seven adults, shortly before committing suicide.

4. Munich shooting

In July of this same year 2016 a young man without apparent connection to terrorist organizations carried out a massacre where nine people lost their lives and another twenty-seven were injured. The perpetrator of the act would end his life soon after.

Caution when linking blood crimes to this syndrome

It must be borne in mind that in many of the cases cited, the person had prior intentionality and planning before carrying out his attack. The definition of the disorder does not indicate that it is a premeditated fact, so it is arguable that these massacres are due to the presence of an Amok syndrome. Despite this, in the opinion of many professionals, the characteristics of these homicidal behaviors are linked to this disorder.

The association of this disorder with violent crime has led to the conclusion that some killings and murders committed without apparent motives have been considered due to Amok's syndrome, as seen previously. But nevertheless we must bear in mind that most of the crimes are committed by people without any mental pathology , whether or not they have a clear objective for others, with which the subject should be treated with caution and not be a reductionist considering that all apparently unjustified blood crime is due to Amok or other mental illnesses or syndromes.

The murders, many of them in most cases, are explained no longer by situations related to mental disorders, delusions and hallucinations, but by contexts in which a conflict has gradually escalated , situations in which there is organized crime, or because of some kind of ideological and discriminatory indoctrination.

Treatment

Because it is an extremely rare phenomenon that is also characterized by being sudden and unexpected, the only immediate treatments are based on the physical containment of the patient for the duration of the episode. It is important to do so taking into account that the only objective is that no one receives damage, so punishment or any act of revenge, of course, are over.

But nevertheless, it is in the preventive work where a greater efficiency could be found and being able to avoid the massacres . The treatment of possible psychological and social conditions that may lead to outbreaks of this type can be essential. Thus, the loyalty to the monitoring of psychological and pharmacological treatments is important.

Bibliographic references:

  • World Health Organization. (1992). International Classification of Diseases - Tenth Revision. Madrid: WHO.
  • Sofsky, W. (2004). Times of horror. Amok, violence, war. Madrid: Editorial Siglo XXI.
  • Westermeyer, J. (1972). A comparison of Amok and other homicide in Laos. American Journal of Psychiatry, 129: 703-709.

Top 10 Scary and Terrifying Mental Disorder (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Syndrome d'Amok: causes, symptômes et traitement

Syndrome d'Amok: causes, symptômes et traitement

Août 6, 2022

Des troubles tels que la schizophrénie, les troubles anxieux, la dépression majeure ou le trouble obsessionnel-compulsif sont largement connus de la grande majorité de la population.

Ce sont des conditions qui se produisent de manière constante dans la grande majorité des cultures de la planète, variant parfois leurs manifestations mais présentant des schémas distinctifs majeurs.

Cependant, tous les troubles mentaux ne sont pas si courants. Certains syndromes et troubles sont considérés comme apparus spécifiquement dans certaines cultures, en raison de leurs croyances et de leurs modes de vie. L'un de ces cas s'appelle le syndrome d'Amok, ou folie homicide .


Un désordre peu commun: explorer le syndrome d'Amok

Le syndrome d'Amok est un trouble très rare dont La principale caractéristique est l'apparition d'une épidémie de fureur sauvage qui incite le sujet à un comportement meurtrier , causant le meurtre ou des blessures graves avec l'intention de tuer toutes les personnes avec qui le sujet est.

Cette épidémie ou cet épisode se produit apparemment de manière aléatoire, sans qu'il y ait aucun phénomène causant l'attaque. Cet épisode se termine généralement par la mort du sujet, soit par son suicide, soit par le fait qu'il soit abattu afin de mettre un terme à l'attaque.

Il a également été observé que, dans de nombreux cas, les personnes atteintes de ce syndrome présentaient une série de prodromes ou de symptômes indiquant la présence éventuelle de ce trouble. Spécifiquement la présence de dépression modérée, l'isolement et un niveau élevé de fatigue sont courants .


Dans les cas où le sujet atteint du syndrome d'Amok survit, la présence d'une amnésie lacunaire (en d'autres termes, ils ne se souviennent pas de l'épisode d'homicide) et un niveau élevé de fatigue et d'épuisement physiques et mentaux ont été observés.

C'est un syndrome traditionnellement lié à la culture, visualisé et décrit pour la première fois dans la population malaise. Historiquement, il a également été associé à d’autres cultures, comme dans le cas des les guerriers Berserker Viking, qui étaient connus pour entrer dans un état de rage au combat au cours de laquelle ils ont attaqué les ennemis et les alliés avec une férocité et une résistance particulières.

Étiologie (causes) d'Amok

Les causes de ce trouble ne sont pas encore bien connues, en raison de sa faible prévalence générale et du fait qu'une grande partie des personnes touchées finissent par mourir, soit par suicide, soit par mise à mort pour mettre fin à leurs actes.


Cependant, il est souligné que pour la population malaise, ce syndrome était considéré comme une réponse à la frustration et à l'humiliation . De même, les croyances religieuses de cette population, qui incluent les idées de possession par des esprits, facilitent la suggestion et la présence de ce type d’actions, ainsi qu’une interprétation magique du phénomène.

Il a également été détecté que la présence de troubles physiques chroniques est relativement fréquente chez les sujets atteints du syndrome d'Amok et il n'est pas totalement exclu que cela se produise pendant un épisode d'intoxication à une substance. Plus précisément, il a été observé que, dans les régions indonésiennes où ce trouble était détecté, il est courant chez les adultes et les nourrissons de Brugmansia suaveolens ou de floripón, utilisé à la fois comme sédatif et pour préparer des boissons hallucinogènes.

Un trouble pas aussi spécifique à la culture qu'on le pensait

Bien qu’il soit considéré comme un trouble lié à la culture, Le syndrome d'Amok a été étendu au cours des dernières années et exporté à un niveau plus global , étant associé par certains experts à plusieurs meurtres de masse commis récemment. Cependant, on ne sait pas dans quelle mesure cela est dû aux échanges culturels, car l’augmentation du champ de la mondialisation ne peut être dissociée d’autres facteurs pouvant également expliquer ce phénomène.

Profil typique du touché

Il a été mentionné précédemment que le syndrome d'Amok est un trouble très étrange et difficile à voir dans la population. Cependant, les implications graves et les conséquences de ce syndrome ont conduit à l’étude à la fois de ce trouble et des caractéristiques de ceux qui en souffrent. des modèles communs ont été visualisés chez les sujets qui ont souffert .

Généralement, les sujets chez qui ce syndrome survient sont généralement des hommes, généralement jeunes, présentant une personnalité timide, introvertie et pas très expressive . Ils ont tendance à être des sujets présentant un niveau élevé d'inhibition vitale et parfois des sentiments d'insatisfaction et de frustration. Au cours de leur vie, ils ont souvent vécu une expérience traumatisante insupportable.

La présence d'antécédents de harcèlement prolongé dans le temps, comme dans le cas de brimades ou de violences au sein de la famille est un élément fréquent chez les sujets qui ont souffert de ce trouble, ce qui suggère que l'épidémie pourrait être due à: suite de ces phénomènes qui provoquent une rage meurtrière.

Augmentation de la prévalence

Ces derniers temps, une augmentation de la prévalence du syndrome d'Amok a été détectée . Cela est dû à l'effet appelé appelé, grâce auquel l'observation de certains cas et de leurs conséquences peut amener d'autres personnes à imiter la performance de ces sujets.

Ainsi, on apprend une forme de comportement qu'il est possible que les sujets n'aient pas eu auparavant, pouvant évaluer et désirer le niveau d'attention sociale qu'ils observent eux-mêmes. Le même phénomène a été observé dans des affaires de violence sexiste, de suicides, de vandalisme et même d'homicides ou de terrorisme.

Crimes apparemment associés au syndrome d'Amok

Le syndrome d'Amok est un trouble extrêmement rare et inhabituel, mais le fait qu'il puisse causer l'engagement de meurtres de masse a favorisé le fait que de nombreux massacres connus sont liés à ce syndrome .

Certains cas connus associés à ce trouble sont les suivants:

1. Massacre de Columbine

Le 20 avril 1999, ce massacre bien connu a eu lieu. Dans celle-ci, deux étudiants ont attaqué le centre Columbine High Scool, faisant 15 morts et 24 blessés avant que les deux auteurs se suicident.

2. Massacre de Virginia Tech

Un autre massacre ou meurtre de masse lié au syndrome d'Amok. Dans cette affaire s'est produite en 2007, le sujet impliqué a assassiné trente-deux personnes avant de se suicider.

3. Massacre à l'école primaire Sandy Hook.

Dans ce cas bien connu produit en 2012, un adolescent avait tué vingt enfants et sept adultes, peu de temps avant de se suicider.

4. Tir à Munich

En juillet de la même année 2016, un jeune homme sans lien apparent avec des organisations terroristes a perpétré un massacre. Neuf personnes ont perdu la vie et 27 autres ont été blessées. L’auteur de l’acte mettrait fin à ses jours peu après.

Mise en garde lorsque l'on lie des crimes de sang à ce syndrome

Il ne faut pas oublier que dans nombre des cas cités, l'intéressé avait une intention et une planification préalables avant d'exécuter son attaque. La définition du trouble n'indique pas qu'il s'agit d'un fait prémédité. On peut donc soutenir que ces massacres sont dus à la présence d'un syndrome d'Amok. Malgré cela, de l'avis de nombreux professionnels, les caractéristiques de ces comportements homicides sont liées à ce trouble.

L'association de ce trouble à un crime violent a permis de conclure que certains meurtres et meurtres commis sans motif apparent ont été pris en compte en raison du syndrome d'Amok, comme on l'a vu précédemment. Cependant nous devons garder à l'esprit que la plupart des crimes sont commis par des personnes sans aucune pathologie mentale , qu’ils aient ou non un objectif clair pour les autres, avec lequel le sujet devrait être traité avec prudence et ne pas être un réductionniste, étant donné que tous les crimes de sang apparemment injustifiés sont dus à Amok ou à d’autres maladies ou syndromes mentaux.

Les meurtres, dont beaucoup dans la plupart des cas, ne sont plus expliqués par des situations liées à des troubles mentaux, des délires et des hallucinations, mais par contextes dans lesquels un conflit a progressivement dégénéré , des situations dans lesquelles il y a crime organisé, ou à cause d'une sorte d'endoctrinement idéologique et discriminatoire.

Traitement

Etant donné qu’il s’agit d’un phénomène extrêmement rare qui se caractérise également par son caractère soudain et inattendu, les seuls traitements immédiats reposent sur le confinement physique du patient pendant toute la durée de l’épisode. Il est important de le faire en tenant compte du fait que le seul objectif est que personne ne subisse de dommage. La punition ou tout acte de vengeance, bien sûr, sont terminés.

Cependant, c’est dans le travail préventif qu’on pourrait trouver une plus grande efficacité et pouvoir éviter les massacres . Le traitement d'éventuelles affections psychologiques et sociales pouvant entraîner des épidémies de ce type peut être essentiel. La fidélité à la surveillance des traitements psychologiques et pharmacologiques est donc importante.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Organisation mondiale de la SANTE. (1992). Classification internationale des maladies - Dixième révision. Madrid: OMS.
  • Sofsky, W. (2004). Des moments d'horreur. Amok, violence, guerre. Madrid: Éditorial Siglo XXI.
  • Westermeyer, J. (1972). Une comparaison d'Amok et d'autres homicides au Laos. American Journal of Psychiatry, 129: 703-709.

A simple new blood test that can catch cancer early | Jimmy Lin (Août 2022).


Articles Connexes