yes, therapy helps!
The 18 best Psychoanalysis books

The 18 best Psychoanalysis books

December 5, 2021

The psychoanalysis and Freudian theories are one of the most interesting aspects of the history of psychology. However, psychoanalytic theory and practice are based on a sea of ​​concepts not particularly easy to understand, which makes it difficult for students and curious people who want to start through psychoanalytic books.

This selection with Recommended books on psychoanalysis wants to be a help for these people who doubt among the large number of pages that have been written on the subject. At first psychoanalysis books are presented in Spanish, and at the end of the article there is an extension with readings in English.


Psychoanalysis books in Spanish

If you are looking to read books on psychoanalysis in Spanish, this selection will be useful. Here you will find a selection of works to get started on the subject.

1. "Introduction to psychoanalysis" by Sigmund Freud

A work that is among the books of Sigmund Freud more important and that has a special value, by offering us a vision about the way in which the father of the psychodynamic current understood psychoanalysis. Among its pages are explanations about the Freudian conception of mental disorders, the unconscious and the way in which it manifests itself.

  • To know more about this book, click here.


2. "Psychoanalysis: the impossible profession" by Janet Malcolm

This is one of the books of psychoanalysis that present this discipline in a more original way. Instead of merely reviewing Freud's legacy with an academic or encyclopedic tone, This work focuses on the work of a psychoanalyst and the way in which dialogue with him allows him to learn about his life , formation and the connection between what he does and the history of psychoanalysis.

  • If you are interested in reading more about the book, you can access this page.

3. "The Interpretation of Dreams" by Sigmund Freud

One of the oldest books of psychoanalysis written in the decade in which Sigmund Freud finished developing theoretically his first ideas about the unconscious and its role in psychopathology.


The father of psychoanalysis believed that elements belonging to our unconscious are revealed in our dreams, though, disguised through a special symbology. That is why he believed that interpreting these dreams was one of the pillars on which therapy could be based , since in this way one could intuit traumas and emotional blocks based on past experiences.

  • To know more about the book, click here.

4. "The me and the id", by Sigmund Freud

This is one of the most important books on psychoanalysis, since it explains the ego structures: the id, the self and the superego. For Freud, each of these psychic instances had a role in the moral dimension of our actions and thoughts and served to explain what defense mechanisms are for and what produces frustration and repression.

  • Here you can read more about the book.

5. "The Black Book of Psychoanalysis" by Catherine Meyer

Essential reading to know the criticisms of psychoanalysis and its status in relation to science as it is understood at present. People who have little knowledge about psychoanalysis will understand its limitations from a post-positivist perspective, and those who are more versed in the subject will reflect on the things they had learned before.

  • You can buy it through this link.

6. "Discomfort in culture" by Sigmund Freud

Another of Freud's most important books on psychoanalysis . In its pages the way in which the impulses of the individual rub against the external pressures coming from the culture according to the Freudian vision is explained.

  • You can buy it by clicking here.

7. "Theory and Technique of Psychoanalytic Psychotherapy" by J. Coderch

Anyone who wants to know the practical proposals that have been made from psychoanalysis will find in this book a very complete book. Here are explained the elements that relate to each other all the techniques promoted by psychoanalysts .

  • Click here to get it.

8. "Beyond the Pleasure Principle" by Sigmund Freud

In this book, Freud develops the concepts of life drives and death drives , and to an explanation about repetitive and stereotyped behaviors.

  • If you are interested, you can start your purchase here.

9. "Psychoanalysis within everyone's reach", by Antoni Talarn

A relatively brief and tremendously accessible book about psychoanalysis and the social impact that it has had and continues to have. Very useful also to identify the false topics about psychoanalysis.

  • You can find more information about the book by clicking here.

10. "Three Essays on Sex Theory" by Sigmund Freud

The sexual dimension has a very important role in the ideas of Freud , and this book is a very good way to access your ideas on the subject. The theory of psychosexual development is delineated among its pages.

  • You can read more about this work here.

More books on psychoanalysis to continue learning

If languages ​​are not a problem for you, here you can see some of the most outstanding titles to read about psychoanalysis.

11. "Introduction to Psychoanalysis: Contemporary Theory and Practice", by A. Bateman and J. Holmes

One of the best books on psychoanalysis for students . Its relative brevity and the clarity with which the historical course of psychoanalysis is explained, mixing theory with examples, make it one of the best options to have a global vision about the subject.

  • If you are interested, you can buy it here.

12. «Freud and Beyond», by S. Mitchell and M. J. Black

An excellent book of introduction to psychoanalytic theory and practice and its historical development from the death of Freud. Very indicated to know the way in which psychoanalysis has evolved in the decades after the 30s.

  • You can get more information about the book by accessing this page.

13. "Beyond Freud: from Individual to Social Psychology", by Erich Fromm

Erich Fromm was one of the most renowned humanist psychoanalysts , and in this work, he presents part of the path that psychoanalysis took from the original ideas of Sigmund Freud to the point where his disciples began to create different schools within the current of psychodynamics.

  • You can read more about the book here.

14. "The how-to book for Students of Psychoanalysis and Psychotherapy" by S. Bach

A very brief book of psychoanalysis in which the basic concepts are clearly and simply explained to understand theory and practice.

  • You can find out more about this book here.

15. "Working with Resistance" by Martha Stark

One of the best books on psychoanalysis applied to therapeutic processes; it explains complex concepts in a very accessible way , which makes this work a very interesting option for students.

  • If you would like to know more about the book, click here.

16. «Writings», by Jacques Lacan

One of the options for those people who want to face a challenge. This reference of the current initiated with Freud is known for the difficult that it is to understand and because, in addition, his way of transmitting ideas was, basically, through conferences. However, his influence has survived to this day.

17. "A clinical introduction to lacanian psychoanalysis", by Bruce Fink

One of the best books of support to understand the work of Lacan, throwing a new light on his writings.

  • If you are interested, you can find it here.

18. "Studies on hysteria", by Josef Breuer and S. Freud

A work to explore the beginnings of psychoanalysis from one of the people who most influenced Sigmund Freud and the father of psychoanalysis.

  • You can read more about this work by clicking here.

Bonus: «Psychologically Speaking» by Adrián Triglia, Bertrand Regader and Jonathan García-Allen

It is not a book strictly focused on the world of psychoanalysis, but a general tour of all schools of psychology, with its teachings, theories and concepts . If you want to have a deep look on authors like Sigmund Freud, Carl Jung or Alfred Adler (but at the same time you want to meet other figures such as Carl Rogers, Wilhelm Wundt or Albert Bandura), this book is for you.

  • You can buy it here.


7 Essential Psychology Books (December 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 18 meilleurs livres de psychanalyse

Les 18 meilleurs livres de psychanalyse

Mai 23, 2022

Le psychanalyse et les théories freudiennes sont l’un des aspects les plus intéressants de l’histoire de la psychologie. Cependant, la théorie et la pratique psychanalytiques reposent sur une multitude de concepts difficiles à comprendre, ce qui complique la tâche des étudiants et des personnes curieuses qui souhaitent commencer par des livres psychanalytiques.

Cette sélection avec Livres recommandés sur la psychanalyse veut être une aide pour ces personnes qui doutent du grand nombre de pages écrites sur le sujet. Au début, les livres de psychanalyse sont présentés en espagnol et, à la fin de l'article, une extension avec des lectures en anglais.


Livres de psychanalyse en espagnol

Si vous souhaitez lire des livres de psychanalyse en espagnol, cette sélection vous sera utile. Vous trouverez ici une sélection d'ouvrages permettant de débuter sur le sujet.

1. "Introduction à la psychanalyse" de Sigmund Freud

Une oeuvre qui fait partie des livres de Sigmund Freud plus important et qui a une valeur particulière, en nous offrant une vision de la façon dont le père du courant psychodynamique a compris la psychanalyse. Parmi ses pages figurent des explications sur la conception freudienne des troubles mentaux, de l'inconscient et de la manière dont elle se manifeste.

  • Pour en savoir plus sur ce livre, cliquez ici.


2. "Psychanalyse: le métier impossible" de Janet Malcolm

C'est l'un des ouvrages de psychanalyse qui présente cette discipline de manière plus originale. Au lieu de simplement passer en revue l'héritage de Freud avec un ton académique ou encyclopédique, Ce travail se concentre sur le travail d'un psychanalyste et sur la manière dont le dialogue avec lui lui permet de se familiariser avec sa vie. , la formation et le lien entre ce qu’il fait et l’histoire de la psychanalyse.

  • Si vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le livre, vous pouvez accéder à cette page.

3. "L'interprétation des rêves" de Sigmund Freud

L'un des plus anciens ouvrages de psychanalyse écrit au cours de la décennie au cours de laquelle Sigmund Freud a achevé de développer théoriquement ses premières idées sur l'inconscient et son rôle en psychopathologie.


Le père de la psychanalyse croyait que des éléments appartenant à notre inconscient sont révélés dans nos rêves, bien que déguisés à travers une symbologie spéciale. C'est pour ça que il croyait que l'interprétation de ces rêves était l'un des piliers sur lesquels la thérapie pouvait être basée , puisque de cette manière, on pourrait avoir une intuition des traumatismes et des blocages émotionnels basés sur des expériences passées.

  • Pour en savoir plus sur le livre, cliquez ici.

4. "Le moi et le ça", de Sigmund Freud

C'est l'un des livres les plus importants sur la psychanalyse, car il explique les structures du moi: le ça, le moi et le surmoi. Pour Freud, chacune de ces instances psychiques avait un rôle dans la dimension morale de nos actions et de nos pensées et servait à expliquer ce que sont les mécanismes de défense et ce qui produit frustration et répression.

  • Ici vous pouvez en savoir plus sur le livre.

5. "Le livre noir de la psychanalyse" de Catherine Meyer

Lecture indispensable pour connaître les critiques de la psychanalyse et son statut par rapport à la science comme il est compris à présent. Les personnes qui ont peu de connaissances en psychanalyse comprendront ses limites d'un point de vue post-positiviste, tandis que celles qui sont plus au courant du sujet réfléchiront à ce qu'elles ont appris auparavant.

  • Vous pouvez l'acheter via ce lien.

6. "Inconfort dans la culture" de Sigmund Freud

Un autre des livres les plus importants de Freud sur la psychanalyse . Dans ses pages, on explique la manière dont les impulsions de l'individu se frottent aux pressions externes provenant de la culture conformément à la vision freudienne.

  • Vous pouvez l'acheter en cliquant ici.

7. "Théorie et technique de la psychothérapie psychanalytique" de J. Coderch

Tous ceux qui souhaitent connaître les propositions concrètes issues de la psychanalyse trouveront dans ce livre un livre très complet. Ici sont expliqués les éléments qui se rapportent les unes aux autres toutes les techniques promues par les psychanalystes .

  • Cliquez ici pour l'obtenir.

8. "Au-delà du principe de plaisir" de Sigmund Freud

Dans ce livre, Freud développe les concepts de pulsion de vie et de pulsion de mort , et à une explication sur les comportements répétitifs et stéréotypés.

  • Si vous êtes intéressé, vous pouvez commencer votre achat ici.

9. "La psychanalyse à la portée de tous", de Antoni Talarn

Un livre relativement bref et extrêmement accessible sur la psychanalyse et l'impact social qu'il a eu et continue d'avoir. Très utile aussi pour identifier les faux sujets sur la psychanalyse.

  • Vous pouvez trouver plus d'informations sur le livre en cliquant ici.

10. "Trois essais sur la théorie du sexe" de Sigmund Freud

La dimension sexuelle a un rôle très important dans les idées de Freud , et ce livre est un très bon moyen d’accéder à vos idées sur le sujet. La théorie du développement psychosexuel est définie parmi ses pages.

  • Vous pouvez en savoir plus sur ce travail ici.

Plus de livres sur la psychanalyse pour continuer à apprendre

Si les langues ne vous posent pas de problème, voici quelques-uns des titres les plus remarquables à lire sur la psychanalyse.

11. "Introduction à la psychanalyse: théorie et pratique contemporaines", par A. Bateman et J. Holmes

Un des meilleurs livres de psychanalyse pour étudiants . Sa brièveté relative et la clarté avec laquelle le cours historique de la psychanalyse est expliqué, mêlant théorie et exemples, en font l'une des meilleures options pour avoir une vision globale du sujet.

  • Si vous êtes intéressé, vous pouvez l'acheter ici.

12. «Freud et au-delà», par S. Mitchell et M. J. Black

Un excellent livre d'introduction à la théorie et à la pratique psychanalytiques et à son développement historique depuis la mort de Freud. Très indiqué pour savoir comment la psychanalyse a évolué dans les décennies qui ont suivi les années trente.

  • Vous pouvez obtenir plus d'informations sur le livre en accédant à cette page.

13. "Au-delà de Freud: de la psychologie individuelle à la psychologie sociale", par Erich Fromm

Erich Fromm était l'un des psychanalystes humanistes les plus renommés et dans cet ouvrage, il présente une partie du chemin emprunté par la psychanalyse depuis les idées originales de Sigmund Freud jusqu'au point où ses disciples ont commencé à créer différentes écoles dans le courant de la psychodynamique.

  • Vous pouvez en savoir plus sur le livre ici.

14. "Le manuel pratique pour les étudiants en psychanalyse et psychothérapie" de S. Bach

Un très bref livre de psychanalyse dans lequel les concepts de base sont expliqués clairement et simplement comprendre la théorie et la pratique.

  • Vous pouvez en savoir plus sur ce livre ici.

15. "Travailler avec la résistance" de Martha Stark

Un des meilleurs livres sur la psychanalyse appliquée aux processus thérapeutiques; il explique des concepts complexes de manière très accessible , ce qui rend ce travail une option très intéressante pour les étudiants.

  • Si vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le livre, cliquez ici.

16. «Écrits» de Jacques Lacan

Une des options pour ceux qui veulent faire face à un défi. Cette référence du courant initié avec Freud est connue pour la difficulté de la comprendre et parce que, de plus, sa façon de transmettre des idées a été, essentiellement, par le biais de conférences. Cependant, son influence a survécu à ce jour.

17. "Une introduction clinique à la psychanalyse lacanienne", par Bruce Fink

L'un des meilleurs livres de soutien pour comprendre le travail de Lacan, jetant un nouvel éclairage sur ses écrits.

  • Si vous êtes intéressé, vous pouvez le trouver ici.

18. "Etudes sur l'hystérie", de Josef Breuer et S. Freud

Une œuvre pour explorer les débuts de la psychanalyse de l’une des personnes qui ont le plus influencé Sigmund Freud et le père de la psychanalyse.

  • Vous pouvez en savoir plus sur ce travail en cliquant ici.

Bonus: «Psychologiquement parlant» par Adrián Triglia, Bertrand Regader et Jonathan García-Allen

Ce n’est pas un livre strictement axé sur le monde de la psychanalyse, mais une visite générale de toutes les écoles de psychologie, avec ses enseignements, ses théories et ses concepts . Si vous souhaitez examiner de près des auteurs tels que Sigmund Freud, Carl Jung ou Alfred Adler (mais vous souhaitez également rencontrer d'autres personnalités telles que Carl Rogers, Wilhelm Wundt ou Albert Bandura), ce livre est pour vous.

  • Vous pouvez l'acheter ici.


Les livres pour bien commencer en psychologie - Back to school #10 (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes