yes, therapy helps!
Animism: the origin of religions?

Animism: the origin of religions?

November 27, 2021

Humanity, in its more than two million years of existence, has tried to find a logical explanation about the mysteries that surround us. Following this need to know the different religions that have evolved to the present day have been developed .

But can there be a belief that is the germ of all religions? Although the answer is complex and widely controversial, numerous theories point to animism as that doctrine from which the rest of religious beliefs depart that arrive until the present time.

  • Related article: "Magical thinking: causes, functions and examples

What is animism?

If we consider the Latin root of his name: animateswhose meaning is soul; It is easier for us to understand what animism is. This concept covers a whole series of beliefs according to which both objects, people or any piece of nature possess a soul and self-awareness


In other words, according to the followers of animism, there is a whole series of spiritual entities, among which are included in the human soul, which occupy all kinds of beings and objects, both animate and inanimate, so that everything that surrounds us , each and every one of the elements that exist in the world, poserían a soul or an essence of consciousness.

However, there are several variants of this doctrine, such as one in which the existence of a series of personified spiritual and supernatural beings is accepted, which they have reason, intellect and will ability and they inhabit all kinds of elements that, in principle, are not considered by the rest of the culture as living beings.


Although these beliefs go back to remote times, long before the appearance of current religions, animism has a great reputation around the entire planet. The reason is that the belief in the soul is a constant that appears in all kinds of cultures and religions regardless of how diverse they are.

There are certain variations within animism according to the region of the world and the culture in which it is established. However, they enjoy certain points in common and they are all trying find an explanation or meaning to what is beyond death , as well as the establishment of a link between human beings and all that surround them.

As to whether or not inanimate objects have an inner soul or consciousness, this belief also varies between regions. In some of these places, animism also consists in the belief that some inanimate objects, also including natural events and manifestations such as storms or cyclones ; which are considered as expressions of an intelligent conscience.


Distribution of this belief system

Today you can still find different locations around the world where animism retains great strength; constituting a very complex belief. These regions are located south of the Sahara and in certain territories of Oceania, America and Southeast and Central Asia . In them the basis of animism consists of a universal vital energy that unites all the living. This energy for them called "magara" also links all living beings with the souls of the dead.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Types of religion (and their differences in beliefs and ideas)"

Main dogmas and beliefs

As mentioned in the previous point, the essential principle of animism is the belief that there is a vital energy that constitutes the essence and nature of all living beings. This essence also has a fundamental role in the link between the world of the living and the dead.

In the principles of animism, his followers or supporters firmly held the existence of a series of deities with which they could interact. However, with the passage of time, the new adaptations of animism came to consider these individual elements as forms of manifestation of a single God practically unattainable for the rest of mortals.

The main beliefs of animism can be specified in the following points:

  • Recognition of the existence of a large number of spirits and deities .
  • It is possible to interact directly with these spirits.
  • This interaction is carried out through offerings or sacrifices .
  • It is also possible to interact through the mediation of sacred people as shamans or sorcerers.
  • The soul of our ancestors persists beyond death .
  • The soul can leave our body in certain states of trance or after death.
  • Existence of spiritual entities that inhabit the soul or human spirit.

The idea of ​​death in animism

Although there is a high degree of variability among the different followers of animistic beliefs, a large number of them support the idea that the soul lasts after the death of the person's body. Once the body becomes something inanimate, the alpa travels to a world or cosmos that guarantees greater comfort and well-being.

In counterpoint, some very specific areas such as the Navajo communities of North America they maintain that these souls remain in the earth, arriving, sometimes, to become evil entities.

Finally, there are certain cultures that would prefer to combine these two beliefs. According to them, the soul has the obligation to leave this world. On the contrary, he becomes a ghost condemned to wander during the rest of its existence.

So that this does not happen, the relatives of the deceased person make extensive funerals and duels in which the ancestors are worshiped to guide their souls.

Animism as religion

Opposite to what happens with the great majority of religions, the origins of animism are hardly concrete . Since it is considered to be one of the oldest beliefs in the history of mankind, reaching the point that there is evidence that the religion of Ancient Egypt already consists of fundamentals of animism.

Throughout time various theories have been developed that point to animism as the germ of current mystical religions and beliefs; since it associates the beginnings of religions with the characteristic cult of the dead.

A second theory states that animism can be considered the basis of all religion. Although the veneration of a large number of gods, as well as the dead has been overlapped or updated by other cults, the influence that animism had on them is undeniable.

Finally, although throughout history the animism has been considered as a religion, modern religions do not come to interpret it as such. Rather, this is considered as a form of philosophy It influences and is found in many religions, which tries to establish an explanation for spiritual mysteries and manifests an emotional position or disposition towards these mysteries.


Minute Faith ~ Animism (November 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
L'animisme: l'origine des religions?

L'animisme: l'origine des religions?

Septembre 24, 2020

L’humanité, en plus de deux millions d’années d’existence, a tenté de trouver une explication logique aux mystères qui nous entourent. Suite à ce besoin de savoir les différentes religions qui ont évolué jusqu'à nos jours ont été développées .

Mais peut-il y avoir une conviction qui est le germe de toutes les religions? Bien que la réponse soit complexe et largement controversée, de nombreuses théories pointez sur l'animisme comme cette doctrine à partir de laquelle le reste des croyances religieuses s'écartent qui arrivent jusqu'à l'heure actuelle.

  • Article associé: "Pensée magique: causes, fonctions et exemples

Qu'est ce que l'animisme?

Si l'on considère la racine latine de son nom: animedont le sens est âme; Il est plus facile pour nous de comprendre ce qu'est l'animisme. Ce concept recouvre toute une série de croyances selon lesquelles les deux objets, des personnes ou tout autre élément de la nature possèdent une âme et conscience de soi


En d’autres termes, selon les adeptes de l’animisme, il existe toute une série d’entités spirituelles, parmi lesquelles figurent dans l’âme humaine, qui occupent toutes sortes d’êtres et d’objets, animés ou inanimés, de sorte que , chacun des éléments qui existent dans le monde, poseían une âme ou une essence de la conscience.

Cependant, il existe plusieurs variantes de cette doctrine, par exemple celle dans laquelle l'existence d'une série d'êtres personnifiés spirituels et surnaturels est acceptée, qui ils ont la raison, l'intellect et la capacité de volonté et ils habitent toutes sortes d'éléments qui, en principe, ne sont pas considérés par le reste de la culture comme des êtres vivants.


Bien que ces croyances remontent à des temps reculés, bien avant l’apparition des religions actuelles, l’animisme jouit d’une grande réputation sur la planète entière. La raison en est que la croyance en l'âme est une constante qui apparaît dans toutes sortes de cultures et de religions, quelle que soit leur diversité.

Il existe certaines variations au sein de l'animisme en fonction de la région du monde et de la culture dans lesquelles il se situe. Cependant, ils ont certains points en commun et ils essaient tous trouver une explication ou un sens à ce qui est au-delà de la mort , ainsi que l’établissement d’un lien entre l’être humain et tout ce qui l’entoure.

Quant à savoir si les objets inanimés ont ou non une âme ou une conscience intérieure, cette croyance varie également d’une région à l’autre. Dans certains de ces lieux, l’animisme consiste également à croire que certains objets inanimés, comprenant également des événements et manifestations naturels tels que des tempêtes ou des cyclones ; qui sont considérés comme des expressions d'une conscience intelligente.


Distribution de ce système de croyance

Aujourd'hui, vous pouvez toujours trouver différents endroits dans le monde où l'animisme conserve une grande force. constituant une croyance très complexe. Ces régions sont situées au sud du Sahara et dans certains territoires d'Océanie, d'Amérique et d'Asie du Sud-Est et centrale . En eux, la base de l'animisme consiste en une énergie vitale universelle qui unit tous les vivants. Cette énergie pour eux appelée "magara" relie également tous les êtres vivants à l'âme des morts.

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Types de religion (et leurs différences de croyances et d'idées)"

Principaux dogmes et croyances

Comme mentionné dans le point précédent, le principe essentiel de l'animisme est la conviction qu'il existe une énergie vitale qui constitue l'essence et la nature de tous les êtres vivants. Cette essence joue également un rôle fondamental dans le lien entre le monde des vivants et des morts.

Dans les principes de l'animisme, ses partisans ou ses partisans soutenaient fermement l'existence d'une série de divinités avec lesquelles ils pouvaient interagir. Cependant, au fil du temps, les nouvelles adaptations de l'animisme en sont venues à considérer ces éléments individuels comme des formes de manifestation d'un seul Dieu pratiquement inaccessible pour le reste des mortels.

Les principales croyances de l'animisme peuvent être spécifiées dans les points suivants:

  • Reconnaissance de l'existence de un grand nombre d'esprits et de divinités .
  • Il est possible d'interagir directement avec ces esprits.
  • Cette interaction est réalisée par des offrandes ou des sacrifices .
  • Il est également possible d'interagir par l'intermédiaire de personnes sacrées en tant que chamanes ou sorciers.
  • L'âme de nos ancêtres persiste après la mort .
  • L'âme peut quitter notre corps dans certains états de transe ou après la mort.
  • Existence d'entités spirituelles qui habitent l'âme ou l'esprit humain.

L'idée de la mort dans l'animisme

Bien qu'il existe un degré élevé de variabilité parmi les différents adeptes des croyances animistes, un grand nombre d'entre eux soutient l'idée selon laquelle l'âme dure après la mort du corps de la personne. Une fois que le corps devient quelque chose d'inanimé, l'alpa se rend dans un monde ou un cosmos garantissant plus de confort et de bien-être.

En contrepoint, certaines zones très spécifiques telles que les communautés Navajo d'Amérique du Nord ils soutiennent que ces âmes restent sur la terre et arrivent parfois à devenir des entités mauvaises.

Enfin, certaines cultures préféreraient combiner ces deux croyances. Selon eux, l'âme a l'obligation de quitter ce monde. Au contraire, il devient un fantôme condamné à errer pendant le reste de son existence.

Pour que cela ne se produise pas, les proches de la personne décédée organisent de nombreux enterrements et duels au cours desquels les ancêtres sont vénérés pour guider leurs âmes.

L'animisme comme religion

Opposé à ce qui se passe avec la grande majorité des religions, les origines de l'animisme ne sont guère concrètes . Considérée comme l’une des plus anciennes croyances de l’histoire de l’humanité, il est désormais évident que la religion de l’Égypte ancienne repose déjà sur les principes fondamentaux de l’animisme.

Au fil du temps, diverses théories ont été développées qui font de l'animisme le germe des religions et des croyances mystiques actuelles. puisqu'il associe les débuts des religions au culte caractéristique des morts.

Une deuxième théorie affirme que l'animisme peut être considéré comme la base de toute religion. Bien que la vénération d'un grand nombre de dieux, ainsi que des morts, ait été superposée ou mise à jour par d'autres cultes, l'influence que l'animisme avait sur eux est indéniable.

Enfin, bien que l’animisme ait toujours été considéré comme une religion au cours de l’histoire, les religions modernes ne l’interprètent pas comme tel. C'est plutôt considéré comme une forme de philosophie Il influence et se retrouve dans de nombreuses religions, qui essaient d'établir une explication aux mystères spirituels et manifeste une position émotionnelle ou une disposition envers ces mystères.


Les Premières Croyances de l'Humanité C&R #1 (Septembre 2020).


Articles Connexes