yes, therapy helps!
The psychology of creativity and creative thinking

The psychology of creativity and creative thinking

May 6, 2021

Even today, the beginning of research and studies on the field of knowledge of creativity can be considered as very recent.

The first contributions of authors such as Bonus , Osborn or Torrance They date from the sixties onwards, so the practical application of everything found at the theoretical level in schools is still scarce and insufficient.

What is creativity?

From the field of psychology the experts who have approached this topic define creativity as a process of elaboration of original products through unorthodox ways, starting from the information available and with the purpose of solving problems or self-realization of the individual (in so far as it allows a development of personal intellectual abilities).


A) Yes, Guiford He highlighted the characteristic skills of creative individuals: fluency, flexibility, originality and divergent thinking (on the other hand, he highlighted the differences between creativity and intelligence). In the nineties, Csickszentmihalyi defined creativity as a state of consciousness to solve problems, in which three elements operate: field (place or discipline where it occurs), person (who performs the creative act) and domain (social group of experts). Finally, the most recent contribution of Mayers affirms the existence of five components of creativity: competence, imaginative thinking, audacity, intrinsic motivation and a creative environment.


On the other hand, it is worth highlighting the subjective character associated with creative capacity. This fact may have facilitated the generation of some erroneous beliefs regarding the concept of creativity, granting it a connotation of gift, of cognitive disorganization or of being necessarily related to a high cultural level as a prerequisite. Thus, there seems to be a consensus today to consider creativity as a human potential, which all individuals can access indistinctly. In keeping with this last, the set of social, cultural and historical influences become the main factors associated with the development of creativity .

How to develop creativity?

In order to define the concept of creativity and the methodology that can be put in place for its development and empowerment in schoolchildren, De Bono has proposed as essential elements of creative thinking the freedom of expression, the absence of inhibitions, the avoidance of critical judgmental judgments and the stimulation of new ideas during the creative process.


Among the techniques to use this author highlights the following, which favor the ability of analysis, synthesis, the application of logical reasoning and decision making:

  • Consider All Factors (CTF).
  • Employ Positive, Negative and Interesting reasoning (PNI).
  • Contemplate other Viewpoints (OPV).
  • Assess Consequences and Consequences (CS)
  • Take into account the Possibilities and Opportunities (PO).
  • Do not forget the Basic Priorities (PB).
  • Clearly define the Purposes, Goals and Objectives (PMO).
  • Search Alternatives, Possibilities and Options (APO)

Other techniques investigated correspond to the findings on methodologies such as the morphological analysis of Zwicky , the list of attributes of Crawford, the storm of ideas of Osborn, the divergent thought of De Bono, synectics or psychodrama, among others.

Related article: "The 14 keys to enhance creativity"

Convergent thinking and divergent thinking

In the response of the human being to the environment can differentiate, as scientific research has shown, two different ways of cognitive reaction: convergent thinking and the divergent thinking. The latter is also called primary, lateral, autistic or multiple thought and is characterized by not being subject to consciousness or follow the logical or simpler, present a highly symbolic character and be associated with fantasy or creative thinking.

On the contrary, convergent thinking, also known as secondary, vertical, realistic or sequential it operates opposite to the previous one: works consciously and following the connections between the elements in a logical way and more oriented to the external reality .

Cognitive, affective and environmental factors in the creative act

There are three main areas of influence that affect the nature of the creative process: cognitive, affective and environmental .

Cognitive factors

Cognitive factors refer to set of procedures that intervene both in the reception and in the elaboration of the information that is presented to the subject.

In the development of creative capacity the following cognitive processes have been found:

The perception

It refers to the capture of the information presented . To enhance creativity requires a complete opening of the senses that allow an optimal reception of external stimuli that facilitate the possibility of creation of the subject. It is important to get rid of prejudices and not very flexible evaluations, as well as a clear capacity to define the problems and tasks to be solved.

The elaboration process

It is linked to the conceptualization and delimitation of the relationship established between the different data. Its main feature is the multi-associative capacity to flexibly and simultaneously handle various types of information.

Different perspectives can be taken to assess the elaboration processes, such as: thinking styles (divergent or creative and convergent), thinking skills (fluency, flexibility and originality to offer original or novel answers) and thinking strategies (unconscious ways of organizing information based on the utility observed in its implementation in past situations).

Affective factors

Regarding the affective factors, we can distinguish some elements that appear as central

for the mobilization of creative potential:

  • The opening to experience : the degree of curiosity or interest in the context surrounding the individual, which maintains an open and positive attitude to external experiences and experiences them in a particular and alternative way.
  • Tolerance of ambiguity : the ability to stay calm in confused or unresolved situations avoiding falling into the precipitation of an impulsive response.
  • Positive self-esteem: acceptance of oneself and one's own particularities (both strengths and weaknesses).
  • Will of work : possess a high motivation for the completion of the tasks or purposes initiated.
  • Motivation to create : have a strong drive and interest in developing their own creations or participate in others'.

The environmental factors

Finally, environmental factors refer to the conditions of the physical and social context that facilitate the development and updating of creative potential . The environmental characteristics that favor creative expression are mainly self-confidence, security in the face of others and an appreciation of adaptive individual differences.

In addition, it has been proven that socially empathetic, authentic, congruent and accepting environments allow the individual to undertake new projects while minimizing fears of potential or unknown risks.

The stages of the creative process

The contributions made by Wallas in the middle of the last century based on his work that sought to sequence the process that occurs in all creative reasoning differentiated four main phases, which present a flexible and open character: preparation, incubation, lighting and the verification.

  • The preparation : the exhaustive formulation (and reformulation) of the problem is carried out taking all the possible directions for its resolution.
  • The incubation In order to be able to assimilate new approaches that do not disturb the clarity in the reasoning, there is a moment of pause and distance in the attempts of resolution of the task.
  • The lighting : phase in which suddenly or by alternative associations between the available elements the creative product is reached.
  • The verification : in this stage the implementation of the found solution is carried out, and subsequently an evaluation and verification of the applied process is carried out in order to find strengths and weaknesses.

The dimensions of creativity

In order to achieve a satisfactory individual development in the educational area a series of dimensions of creativity have been established as components of the maturational process, whose linking between them must have an interactive, dynamic and integrative character.

These dimensions are the following:

  • Axiological : need to know the reasons that motivated the human being to create certain values.
  • Affective : refers to the identification of cognitive products and to assess them as such.
  • Cognitive : relative to functionality and thinking ability.
  • Labor : defined by the development and transformation of cognitive products.
  • Playful : creativity has a fun component.
  • Participatory : it is linked to the collective application of creativity, enabling joint work between different students.
  • Communicative : the processes of creative reasoning facilitate dialogue, the ability to argue and understand the ideas generated.
  • Urban : Due to the spatial proximity between individuals, creative and dynamic tensions are produced that feed them back.

Obstacles in the development of creativity

The evidence that not all students are capable of developing creative responses with the same intensity before a task is palpable. Thus, there seems to be a consensus among experts on the subject that there are a set of factors that act as drawbacks or obstacles that limit students' internalization of this creative ability.

Among others, we can highlight: a coercive environment that does not allow the spontaneous expression of ideas, the tendency to judge and criticize different points of view, focus on pointing out exclusively the errors committed, based on inflexible and stereotyped methodologies, maintaining a distant attitude towards the others, to prevent the respect to the singularity of the individuals diminishing their self-confidence and fomenting the fear to the ridiculous, etc.

It seems that, although at birth all human beings possess the same capacity to develop creativity considerably, the existence of postnatal environmental factors play a discouraging role for said creative capacity , applying the practices described in the previous paragraph. It should, therefore, become aware of how much these practices are harming the whole of the students, since they are limiting the expression of a type of alternative, original and novel thought.

In conclusion

Creativity becomes a capacity that derives from the confluence of factors rather environmental, external and acquired. Therefore, it should promote its maximum development from the family and educational environment simultaneously.

For this, various barriers related to prejudices, criticisms and negative evaluations applied to alternative and / or unusual ways of solving a determined task, of exposing a reasoning, etc., which seem to be traditionally socially rooted must be overcome.

Bibliographic references

  • Csíkszentmihályi, M. (1998). Creativity, an Approach. Mexico.
  • De Bono, E. (1986): Lateral thinking. Spain: Paidós Editions.
  • Guilford, J.P., Strom, R.D. (1978). Creativity and Education Buenos Aires: Paidós Editions.

Lectures: Exploring the Psychology of Creativity (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La psychologie de la créativité et de la pensée créatrice

La psychologie de la créativité et de la pensée créatrice

Juin 25, 2019

Même aujourd'hui, le début des recherches et des études sur le domaine de la connaissance de la créativité peut être considéré comme très récent.

Les premières contributions d’auteurs telles que Bonus , Osborn o Torrance Ils datent des années soixante et l’application pratique de tout ce qui se trouve au niveau théorique dans les écoles est encore rare et insuffisante.

Qu'est ce que la créativité?

Du domaine de la psychologie les experts qui ont abordé ce sujet définissent la créativité comme un processus d’élaboration de produits originaux par des moyens non orthodoxes, à partir des informations disponibles et dans le but de résoudre des problèmes ou de se réaliser soi-même (dans la mesure où cela permet le développement des capacités intellectuelles personnelles).


Ainsi, Guiford Il a mis en exergue les compétences caractéristiques des créatifs: fluidité, souplesse, originalité et pensée divergente (en revanche, il a souligné les différences entre créativité et intelligence). Dans les années 90, Csickszentmihalyi La créativité définie est un état de conscience pour résoudre des problèmes, dans lequel trois éléments interviennent: le champ (lieu ou discipline où il se produit), la personne (qui réalise l’acte créateur) et le domaine (groupe social d’experts). Enfin, la dernière contribution de Mayers affirme l'existence de cinq composantes de la créativité: la compétence, la pensée imaginative, l'audace, la motivation intrinsèque et un environnement créatif.


Par ailleurs, il convient de souligner le caractère subjectif associé à la capacité créatrice. Ce fait a peut-être facilité la création de certaines croyances erronées concernant le concept de créativité, lui conférant une connotation de don, de désorganisation cognitive ou d'être nécessairement lié à un niveau culturel élevé. Ainsi, il semble exister un consensus aujourd'hui pour considérer la créativité comme un potentiel humain, auquel tous les individus peuvent accéder indistinctement. En accord avec ce dernier, l'ensemble des influences sociales, culturelles et historiques deviennent les principaux facteurs associés au développement de la créativité .

Comment développer la créativité?

Afin de définir le concept de créativité et la méthodologie pouvant être mise en place pour son développement et son autonomisation chez les écoliers, De Bono a proposé comme éléments essentiels de la pensée créative la liberté d’expression, l’absence d’inhibitions, l’évitement de des jugements critiques et la stimulation de nouvelles idées au cours du processus de création.


Parmi les techniques à utiliser, l'auteur souligne les suivantes, qui favorisent la capacité d'analyse, de synthèse, d'application du raisonnement logique et de la prise de décision:

  • Considérer tous les facteurs (CTF).
  • Employer un raisonnement positif, négatif et intéressant (PNI).
  • Contemplez d'autres points de vue (VPO).
  • Évaluer les conséquences et les conséquences (CS)
  • Prendre en compte les possibilités et les opportunités (PO).
  • Ne pas oublier les priorités de base (PB).
  • Définir clairement les buts, buts et objectifs (CPM).
  • Rechercher des alternatives, des possibilités et des options (APO)

D’autres techniques étudiées correspondent aux résultats de méthodologies telles que l’analyse morphologique de Zwicky , la liste des attributs de Crawford, la tempête d’idées d’Osborn, la pensée divergente de De Bono, la synectique ou le psychodrame, entre autres.

Article connexe: "Les 14 clés pour améliorer la créativité"

Pensée convergente et pensée divergente

Comme le prouvent les recherches scientifiques, la réaction de l'homme à l'environnement peut différencier deux types de réactions cognitives: pensée convergente et le pensée divergente. Cette dernière est aussi appelée pensée primaire, latérale, autistique ou multiple et se caractérise par le fait de ne pas être sujet à la conscience ni de suivre la logique ou plus simple, de présenter un caractère hautement symbolique et d’être associée à la fantaisie ou à la pensée créatrice.

Au contraire, la pensée convergente, également connue sous le nom de secondaire, vertical, réaliste o séquentielle il opère en face du précédent: travaille consciemment et en suivant les connexions entre les éléments de manière logique et plus orientée vers la réalité extérieure .

Facteurs cognitifs, affectifs et environnementaux dans l'acte de création

Trois principaux domaines d’influence affectent la nature du processus de création: cognitif, affectif et environnemental .

Facteurs cognitifs

Les facteurs cognitifs se réfèrent à ensemble de procédures qui interviennent à la fois dans la réception et dans l'élaboration de l'information qui est présenté au sujet.

Dans le développement de la capacité créatrice, les processus cognitifs suivants ont été trouvés:

La perception

Il fait référence à la capture de l'information présentée . Améliorer la créativité nécessite une ouverture complète des sens qui permettent une réception optimale des stimuli externes facilitant la possibilité de création du sujet. Il est important de se débarrasser des préjugés et des évaluations peu flexibles, ainsi que d'une capacité claire à définir les problèmes et les tâches à résoudre.

Le processus d'élaboration

Elle est liée à la conceptualisation et à la délimitation de la relation établie entre les différentes données. Sa principale caractéristique est la capacité multi-associative à gérer de manière flexible et simultanée divers types d'informations.

Différents points de vue peuvent être pris pour évaluer les processus d’élaboration, tels que: styles de pensée (divergents ou créatifs et convergents), aptitudes à la réflexion (fluidité, souplesse et originalité pour offrir des réponses originales ou novatrices) et stratégies de réflexion. (moyens inconscients d’organiser des informations sur la base de l’utilité observée dans sa mise en œuvre dans des situations passées).

Facteurs affectifs

En ce qui concerne les facteurs affectifs, on peut distinguer certains éléments apparaissant comme centraux.

pour la mobilisation du potentiel créatif:

  • L'ouverture à l'expérience : le degré de curiosité ou d’intérêt dans le contexte de l’individu, qui conserve une attitude ouverte et positive à l’égard des expériences externes et les éprouve de manière particulière et alternative.
  • Tolérance d'ambiguïté : la capacité à rester calme dans des situations confuses ou non résolues en évitant de tomber dans la précipitation d'une réponse impulsive.
  • Estime de soi positive: acceptation de soi et de ses particularités (forces et faiblesses).
  • Volonté de travail : possèdent une forte motivation pour l'accomplissement des tâches ou des objectifs initiés.
  • Motivation à créer : ont une forte volonté et intérêt à développer leurs propres créations ou participent à celles des autres.

Les facteurs environnementaux

Enfin, les facteurs environnementaux font référence à les conditions du contexte physique et social qui facilitent le développement et la mise à jour du potentiel créatif . Les caractéristiques environnementales qui favorisent l'expression créative sont principalement la confiance en soi, la sécurité face aux autres et l'appréciation des différences individuelles d'adaptation.

En outre, il a été prouvé que des environnements socialement empathiques, authentiques, congruents et tolérants permettent à l’individu d’entreprendre de nouveaux projets tout en minimisant les craintes de risques potentiels ou inconnus.

Les étapes du processus de création

Les contributions apportées par Wallas au milieu du siècle dernier, fondées sur ses travaux visant à enchaîner le processus qui se produit dans tous les raisonnements créatifs, différencient quatre phases principales présentant un caractère flexible et ouvert: préparation, incubation, éclairage et la vérification.

  • La préparation : la formulation exhaustive (et reformulation) du problème est réalisée en prenant toutes les directions possibles pour sa résolution.
  • L'incubation Afin de pouvoir assimiler de nouvelles approches qui ne perturbent pas la clarté du raisonnement, il faut un moment de pause et de distance dans les tentatives de résolution de la tâche.
  • L'illumination : phase dans laquelle, soudainement ou par des associations alternatives entre les éléments disponibles, le produit créatif est atteint.
  • Vérification : à ce stade, la solution trouvée est mise en œuvre, puis une évaluation et une vérification du processus appliqué sont effectuées afin de déterminer les forces et les faiblesses.

Les dimensions de la créativité

Afin de réaliser un développement individuel satisfaisant dans le domaine éducatif une série de dimensions de la créativité ont été établies en tant que composants du processus de maturation, dont la liaison doit avoir un caractère interactif, dynamique et intégrateur.

Ces dimensions sont les suivantes:

  • Axiologique : besoin de connaître les raisons qui ont motivé l'être humain à créer certaines valeurs.
  • Affectif : se réfère à l'identification des produits cognitifs et à les évaluer en tant que tels.
  • Cognitif : relative à la fonctionnalité et à la capacité de réflexion.
  • Travail : défini par le développement et la transformation de produits cognitifs.
  • Ludique : la créativité a une composante amusante.
  • Participatif : elle est liée à l’application collective de la créativité, permettant un travail en commun entre différents étudiants.
  • Communicatif : les processus de raisonnement créatif facilitent le dialogue, la capacité de discuter et de comprendre les idées générées.
  • Urbain : En raison de la proximité spatiale entre les individus, des tensions créatives et dynamiques sont générées qui les nourrissent.

Obstacles au développement de la créativité

La preuve que tous les étudiants ne sont pas capables de développer des réponses créatives avec la même intensité avant une tâche est palpable. Ainsi, il semble exister un consensus parmi les experts sur le sujet selon lequel il existe un ensemble de facteurs qui jouent le rôle d’inconvénients ou d’obstacles limitant l’intériorisation de cette capacité créatrice par les élèves.

Entre autres, nous pouvons souligner: un environnement coercitif qui ne permet pas l’expression spontanée d’idées, la tendance à juger et à critiquer différents points de vue, à souligner exclusivement les erreurs commises, sur la base de méthodologies inflexibles et stéréotypées, en maintenant une attitude distante les autres, pour empêcher que le respect à la singularité des individus diminue leur confiance en soi et fomente la peur au ridicule, etc.

Il semble que, même si, à la naissance, tous les êtres humains possèdent la même capacité de développer considérablement leur créativité, l'existence de facteurs environnementaux postnatals joue un rôle décourageant pour ladite capacité créatrice en appliquant les pratiques décrites dans le paragraphe précédent. Il devrait donc prendre conscience du fait que ces pratiques nuisent à l’ensemble des élèves, car elles limitent l’expression d’un type de pensée alternative, originale et novatrice.

En guise de conclusion

La créativité devient une capacité qui découle de la confluence de facteurs plutôt environnementaux, externes et acquis. Par conséquent, il devrait promouvoir son développement maximum à partir de la famille et de l'environnement éducatif simultanément.

Pour cela, diverses barrières liées aux préjugés, critiques et évaluations négatives appliquées à des solutions alternatives et / ou inhabituelles pour résoudre une tâche déterminée, exposer un raisonnement, etc., qui semblent être traditionnellement enracinées dans la société, doivent être surmontées.

Références bibliographiques

  • Csíkszentmihályi, M. (1998). La créativité, une approche. Mexique
  • De Bono, E. (1986): Pensée latérale. Espagne: Editions Paidós.
  • Guilford, J.P., Strom, R.D. (1978). Créativité et éducation Buenos Aires: Editions Paidós.

Visualisation créative guidée - méditation complète (niveau avancé) (Juin 2019).


Articles Connexes