yes, therapy helps!
Baby blues: sadness after childbirth

Baby blues: sadness after childbirth

July 14, 2024

There are some women who, after giving birth, enter a state of inexplicable sadness . Irritability, emotional decay, sudden mood swings, tiredness and, in some cases, spontaneous cries appear.

This phenomenon does not have to be always a case of postpartum depression ; it could also be something that is known as baby blues and that, in fact, it is very frequent.

What is the baby blues?

Baby blues is a psychological phenomenon that involves entering a state of sadness It can last between a few hours, a few days and two weeks after delivery. It is considered to be especially frequent in first-time mothers , and its symptoms do not become so intense as to interfere significantly in the chores of the person who has given birth.


That means that although the baby blues is annoying and generates discomfort (or, rather, is the discomfort itself) does not make women unable to carry out their daily tasks and they do not have any autonomy .

The baby blues is, above all, a phenomenon that affects the subjectivity of the person, and that beyond the own discomfort has no clear and obvious objective transmissions. From a clinical point of view, it does not matter much .

In short, the baby blues is not a psychological disorder, but a set of symptoms that are not very intense and, when added together, do not compromise the mental health of the mother.

How does it manifest?

Among the most frequent symptoms of baby blues are these:


  • Loss of appetite
  • Problems sleeping
  • Irritability
  • Sensation of discomfort and sadness in general
  • Fatigue
  • Spontaneous crying whose causes are difficult to determine

The causes of baby blues

What is the appearance of the baby blues? It is not easy to know, but specialists attribute it to the abrupt hormonal changes that occur in the mother after birth. Specifically, the hormones and substances that are involved in these changes are estrogens , the serotonin, progesterone and prolactin .

However, not all causes are isolated within the biology of the mother: the way in which it is affected by the environment also produces important effects . In particular, the need to take care of the baby during the first two weeks produces an important physical and psychological wear that, often, translates into lack of sleep.


In turn, the effects produced by the environment in the body are mixed with the hormonal changes generated by childbirth, and from that neurochemical turmoil baby blues are born.

The mild version of postpartum depression

It is very common to confuse baby blues with postpartum depression, since both phenomena they are related to sadness . But nevertheless, the differences between both phenomena are remarkable . In fact, baby blues is sometimes called postpartum sadness to differentiate it from this other.

Baby blues is a set of symptoms, while postpartum depression is a threat to mental health and it is a reason for psychological and psychiatric clinical treatment that sometimes requires the use of psychotropic drugs. In addition, the former disappears alone, but the latter must be treated by health specialists.

Also, while the baby blues can last a maximum of two weeks and it can only appear during the following days after birth, postpartum depression can last a year and appear at a more advanced stage, weeks after the moment of giving birth.

On the other hand, baby blues is much more frequent, since may occur in up to 80% of cases of birth , while postpartum depression in any of its intensity levels does not exceed 15%.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 6 differences between sadness and depression"

How to deal with the baby blues

To know how to manage the baby blues, it is advisable to follow these simple guidelines:

Understand that it is something hormonal

It is useless to try to rationalize your emotions and your discomfort, blaming others. It is preferable to keep in mind that this discomfort is due to a very common hormonal imbalance, and that it will happen alone.

Find moments to rest

If you can have the opportunity to rest and sleep well Much of the discomfort will go soon.

Follow routines

Do not expose yourself to very chaotic and unpredictable behavior dynamics: follow well-defined habits to make it easier for your hormone levels to regain balance.

Accept the help of others

Having a birth is not easy and the others know it. The baby blues is just one of the many proofs of that.For this reason, it is a good idea to accept the help of those who are in a position to be able to help with tasks.


Instructional Videos for Moms- Baby Blues vs. Post-Partum Depression (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Baby blues: tristesse après l'accouchement

Baby blues: tristesse après l'accouchement

Août 8, 2022

Il y a des femmes qui, après avoir accouché, entrent dans un état de tristesse inexplicable . L'irritabilité, la décadence émotionnelle, les sautes d'humeur soudaines, la fatigue et, dans certains cas, des cris spontanés apparaissent.

Ce phénomène ne doit pas toujours être un cas de dépression postpartum ; il pourrait aussi être quelque chose qui est connu sous le nom baby blues et que, en fait, c'est très fréquent.

Quel est le baby blues?

Baby Blues est un phénomène psychologique qui implique entrer dans un état de tristesse Cela peut durer entre quelques heures, quelques jours et deux semaines après l'accouchement. Il est considéré comme particulièrement fréquent chez les mères primipares , et ses symptômes ne deviennent pas si intenses qu’ils interfèrent de manière significative dans les tâches ménagères de la personne qui a accouché.


Cela signifie que, même si le baby blues est agaçant et génère un inconfort (ou plutôt, l’inconfort lui-même), il n’empêche pas les femmes de s’acquitter de leurs tâches quotidiennes. ils n'ont aucune autonomie .

Le baby blues est avant tout un phénomène qui affecte la subjectivité de la personne et qui, au-delà de l'inconfort, n'a pas de transmission objective claire et évidente. Du point de vue clinique, peu importe .

En bref, le baby blues n'est pas un désordre psychologique, mais un ensemble de symptômes peu intenses et qui, combinés, ne compromettent pas la santé mentale de la mère.

Comment ça se manifeste?

Les symptômes les plus fréquents du baby blues sont les suivants:


  • Perte d'appétit
  • Problèmes de sommeil
  • L'irritabilité
  • Sensation de malaise et la tristesse en général
  • Fatigue
  • Pleurs spontanés dont les causes sont difficiles à déterminer

Les causes du baby blues

Quelle est l'apparence du baby blues? Ce n’est pas facile à savoir, mais les spécialistes l’attribuent aux brusques changements hormonaux qui se produisent chez la mère après la naissance. Plus précisément les hormones et les substances impliquées dans ces changements sont des œstrogènes , le sérotonine, progestérone et prolactine .

Cependant, toutes les causes ne sont pas isolées dans la biologie de la mère: la façon dont il est affecté par l'environnement produit également des effets importants . En particulier, la nécessité de prendre soin du bébé pendant les deux premières semaines entraîne une usure physique et psychologique importante qui se traduit souvent par un manque de sommeil.


À leur tour, les effets produits par l'environnement dans le corps sont mélangés aux changements hormonaux générés par l'accouchement, et de cette agitation neurochimique, le baby blues est né.

La version légère de la dépression post-partum

Il est très courant de confondre le baby blues avec la dépression post-partum, car les deux phénomènes ils sont liés à la tristesse . Cependant, les différences entre les deux phénomènes sont remarquables . En fait, le baby blues est parfois appelé tristesse post-partum pour le différencier de cet autre.

Baby Blues est un ensemble de symptômes, tandis que la dépression post-partum est une menace pour la santé mentale et c’est une raison pour un traitement clinique psychologique et psychiatrique qui nécessite parfois l’utilisation de médicaments psychotropes. En outre, le premier disparaît seul, mais le dernier doit être traité par des spécialistes de la santé.

Aussi, alors que le baby blues peut durer au maximum deux semaines et elle ne peut apparaître que quelques jours après la naissance, la dépression post-partum peut durer un an et apparaître à un stade plus avancé, plusieurs semaines après le moment de l'accouchement.

Le baby blues est par contre beaucoup plus fréquent, car peut survenir dans 80% des cas de naissance , tandis que la dépression post-partum, quel que soit son niveau d'intensité, ne dépasse pas 15%.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Les 6 différences entre tristesse et dépression"

Comment gérer le baby blues

Pour savoir comment gérer le baby blues, il est conseillé de suivre ces instructions simples:

Comprenez que c'est quelque chose d'hormone

Il est inutile d'essayer de rationaliser vos émotions et votre inconfort en blâmant les autres. Il est préférable de garder à l'esprit que cet inconfort est dû à un déséquilibre hormonal très fréquent et qu'il se produira seul.

Trouvez des moments de repos

Si vous pouvez avoir l'occasion de se reposer et de bien dormir Une grande partie de l'inconfort ira bientôt.

Suivre des routines

Ne vous exposez pas à une dynamique de comportement très chaotique et imprévisible: suivre des habitudes bien définies pour aider votre taux d'hormones à retrouver son équilibre.

Accepter l'aide des autres

Avoir une naissance n'est pas facile et les autres le savent. Le baby blues n'est qu'une des nombreuses preuves de cela.Pour cette raison, c'est une bonne idée d'accepter l'aide de ceux qui sont en mesure d'aider à la réalisation de tâches.


Baby blues, dépression : comment y faire face ? - La Maison des Maternelles (Août 2022).


Articles Connexes