yes, therapy helps!
What is declarative memory?

What is declarative memory?

November 27, 2021

Do you remember what breakfast you had yesterday? How have you moved to college or work? Who have you addressed since you woke up? If the answer is affirmative, it means that your declarative memory works correctly.

This type of memory without which we could not function, stores all the explicit memories, that is, all the memories about episodes, facts and data of our life. From our eighth birthday to the taste of an orange.

  • Related article: "Types of memory: how does memory store our brain?"

What is declarative memory

Declarative memory, also called explicit memory, is the ability to consciously bring about episodes or events of our life . It is thanks to her that we can relive experiences that happened long ago, recognize faces of famous people and name them or even what we have eaten throughout the week.


The history of declarative memory is relatively young. Its history goes back to the studies of the patient H.M. in 1957, which shed light on two questions: what components constitute memory, and where in the brain can we find declarative memory.

To the patient H.M., who suffered a severe epilepsy of the temporal lobes, these lobes were sectioned in both hemispheres. Successful control of epilepsy was achieved, but something unexpected happened: he had lost many memories of eleven years ago and could not remember anything from the last two years, and he was unable to create new memories. Thus, his declarative memory had been affected.

Surprisingly, it did retain the memory that stores motor skills. Going by bicycle, using language, etc., are skills that are stored differently because they are not data or episodes, but "ways of doing". This memory is called procedural or implicit memory. The existence of two large blocks of memory with different and anatomically independent functions was evidenced.


Neurological bases of declarative memory

The first difference between declarative and procedural memory is that they are located in differentiated regions . From this it follows that, at the functional level, they use different neuronal circuits and have a way of processing different information.

In procedural memory most of the information is stored as it is received from the senses. Psychologists say that it is a processing from the bottom up, that is, from the physical directly to the psychic. In contrast, in the declarative memory the physical data is reorganized before being stored. Since information depends on cognitive elaboration, we speak of a top-down process. The declarative memory, on the other hand, depends on the conceptually controlled or "top-down" processes, in which the subject reorganizes the data to store them.


In this way, the way we remember information is very influenced by the way we process it. That is why the internal stimuli that we use when storing information can help us to recall them spontaneously. In the same way, the contextual stimuli that are processed with the data can be a source of recovery. Some mnemonic methods exploit this feature of memory, such as the loci method.

Through the study of animals and humans, Petri and Mishkin propose that implicit and explicit memory follow different neural circuits. The structures that are part of the declarative memory are located in the temporal lobe. The most important ones are the amygdala, which plays a crucial role in the emotional process of memories, the hippocampus, which is responsible for storing or retrieving memories and the prefrontal cortex, which deals with the memory that stores the most short-term data .

Other structures are also included, such as the nuclei of the thalamus, which connect the temporal lobe with the prefrontal lobe, and the brainstem that sends the stimuli to the rest of the brain to be processed. The neurotransmitter systems most involved in these processes are those of acetylcholine, serotonin and noradrenaline .

Two types of declarative memory

Endel Tulving, through his studies on memory, distinguished in 1972 two subtypes of declarative memory: episodic memory and semantic memory. Let's see each of them below.

The episodic memory

According to Tulving, episodic or autobiographical memory is one that allows a person to remember past personal events or experiences. It allows human beings to remember past personal experiences. It requires three elements:

  • Subjective sense of time
  • Awareness of this subjective time
  • A "self" that can travel in subjective time

To understand the functioning of memory, Tulving explains it through the metaphor of the journey of time . According to this metaphor, autobiographical memory is a kind of time machine that allows consciousness to travel back and voluntarily revisit past episodes. This is a capacity that requires consciousness and, therefore, is theorized that it is unique to our species.

Semantic memory

To the knowledge of the world-everything that is not autobiographical-Tulving called it semantic memory. This type of declarative memory includes all the knowledge that we can evoke explicitly that has nothing to do with our own memories. It is our personal encyclopedia, which contains millions of entries about what we know about the world.

Contains information learned at school such as vocabulary, mathematics , some aspects of reading and writing, figures or historical dates, knowledge about art and culture, and so on.


Declarative vs Nondeclarative Memory (November 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Qu'est-ce que la mémoire déclarative?

Qu'est-ce que la mémoire déclarative?

Janvier 17, 2022

Vous souvenez-vous du petit-déjeuner que vous avez pris hier? Comment avez-vous déménagé à l'université ou au travail? À qui avez-vous parlé depuis votre réveil? Si la réponse est affirmative, cela signifie que votre mémoire déclarative fonctionne correctement.

Ce type de mémoire sans lequel nous ne pourrions pas fonctionner stocke tous les souvenirs explicites, c’est-à-dire tous les souvenirs d’épisodes, de faits et de données de notre vie. De notre huitième anniversaire au goût d'une orange.

  • Article connexe: "Types de mémoire: comment la mémoire stocke-t-elle notre cerveau?"

Qu'est-ce que la mémoire déclarative?

La mémoire déclarative, aussi appelée mémoire explicite, est la capacité de provoquer consciemment des épisodes ou des événements de notre vie . C'est grâce à elle que nous pouvons revivre des expériences vécues il y a longtemps, reconnaître les visages de personnages célèbres et les nommer, voire ce que nous avons mangé au cours de la semaine.


L'histoire de la mémoire déclarative est relativement jeune. Son histoire remonte aux études du patient H.M. en 1957, qui a mis en lumière deux questions: quelles composantes constituent la mémoire et où dans le cerveau pouvons-nous trouver la mémoire déclarative.

Pour le patient H.M., qui souffrait d'une épilepsie sévère des lobes temporaux, ces lobes étaient sectionnés dans les deux hémisphères. On réussissait à maîtriser l'épilepsie, mais quelque chose d'inattendu se produisit: il avait perdu beaucoup de souvenirs d'onze ans auparavant et ne pouvait se souvenir de rien des deux dernières années, et il était incapable de créer de nouveaux souvenirs. Ainsi, sa mémoire déclarative avait été affectée.

Étonnamment, il a gardé la mémoire qui stocke les habiletés motrices. Aller à bicyclette, utiliser la langue, etc., sont des compétences stockées différemment car ce ne sont pas des données ou des épisodes, mais des "façons de faire". Cette mémoire est appelée mémoire procédurale ou implicite. L'existence de deux grands blocs de mémoire avec des fonctions différentes et anatomiquement indépendantes a été mise en évidence.


Bases neurologiques de la mémoire déclarative

La première différence entre la mémoire déclarative et procédurale réside dans le fait qu’elles se trouvent dans des régions différenciées. . Il en résulte que, au niveau fonctionnel, ils utilisent différents circuits neuronaux et ont une manière de traiter différentes informations.

Dans la mémoire procédurale, la plupart des informations sont stockées lorsqu’elles sont reçues des sens. Les psychologues disent qu'il s'agit d'un traitement de bas en haut, c'est-à-dire du physique au psychique. En revanche, dans la mémoire déclarative, les données physiques sont réorganisées avant d’être stockées. Puisque l'information dépend de l'élaboration cognitive, on parle de processus descendant. La mémoire déclarative, quant à elle, dépend des processus contrôlés par le concept ou "top-down", dans lesquels le sujet réorganise les données pour les stocker.


De cette manière, la façon dont nous nous souvenons des informations est très influencée par la façon dont nous les traitons. C'est pourquoi les stimuli internes que nous utilisons pour stocker les informations peuvent nous aider à les rappeler spontanément. De la même manière, les stimuli contextuels traités avec les données peuvent être une source de récupération. Certaines méthodes mnémoniques exploitent cette fonctionnalité de la mémoire, telle que la méthode loci.

À travers l'étude des animaux et des humains, Petri et Mishkin proposent que la mémoire implicite et explicite suive différents circuits neuronaux. Les structures faisant partie de la mémoire déclarative sont situées dans le lobe temporal. Les plus importants sont l’amygdale, qui joue un rôle crucial dans le processus émotionnel des souvenirs, l’hippocampe, chargé de stocker ou de récupérer les souvenirs, et le cortex préfrontal, qui gère les souvenirs qui stockent les données les plus courtes. .

D'autres structures sont également incluses, telles que les noyaux du thalamus, qui relient le lobe temporal au lobe préfrontal, et le tronc cérébral qui envoie les stimuli au reste du cerveau à traiter. Les systèmes de neurotransmetteurs les plus impliqués dans ces processus sont ceux de l'acétylcholine, de la sérotonine et de la noradrénaline. .

Deux types de mémoire déclarative

À travers ses études sur la mémoire, Endel Tulving a distingué en 1972 deux sous-types de mémoire déclarative: la mémoire épisodique et la mémoire sémantique. Voyons chacun d'eux ci-dessous.

La mémoire épisodique

Selon Tulving, la mémoire épisodique ou autobiographique est une mémoire qui permet à une personne de se souvenir d'événements ou d'expériences personnels passés. Cela permet aux êtres humains de se souvenir d'expériences personnelles passées. Il nécessite trois éléments:

  • Sens subjectif du temps
  • Conscience de ce temps subjectif
  • Un "moi" qui peut voyager en temps subjectif

Pour comprendre le fonctionnement de la mémoire, Tulving l'explique à travers la métaphore du voyage dans le temps . Selon cette métaphore, la mémoire autobiographique est une sorte de machine à remonter le temps qui permet à la conscience de remonter dans le temps et de revenir volontairement sur des épisodes passés. C'est une capacité qui nécessite de la conscience et, par conséquent, il est théorisé qu'elle est unique à notre espèce.

Mémoire sémantique

À la connaissance du monde - tout ce qui n'est pas autobiographique - Tulving l'a appelé mémoire sémantique. Ce type de mémoire déclarative inclut toutes les connaissances que nous pouvons évoquer de manière explicite et qui n’ont rien à voir avec nos propres mémoires. C'est notre encyclopédie personnelle, qui contient des millions d'entrées sur ce que nous savons du monde.

Contient des informations apprises à l'école telles que le vocabulaire, les mathématiques , certains aspects de la lecture et de l’écriture, des chiffres ou des dates historiques, des connaissances sur l’art et la culture, etc.


[ ETUDE PSYCHOLOGIE ] La mémoire déclarative et procédurale, système limbique, comportement humain (Janvier 2022).


Articles Connexes