yes, therapy helps!
Researchers point to an excessive diagnosis of Bipolar Disorder

Researchers point to an excessive diagnosis of Bipolar Disorder

June 20, 2024

A study conducted at the Brown University School of Medicine in the state of Rhode Island suggests that About 50% of cases diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder could be wrong .

The overdiagnosis of Bipolar Disorder

This report is one of the last ones that have arisen in the Brown University, in the United States, with the objective of optimizing the diagnostic evaluation , and it supposes a common front of collaborations between academic investigators and sanitary personnel of the psychiatric field. The study was conducted based on interviews with 800 psychiatric patients using a comprehensive diagnostic test the Structured Clinical Interview for DSM Disorders. The respondents also answered a questionnaire in which they had to specify if they had been diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder or Manic-Depressive Disorder.


146 of those patients indicated that they had been previously diagnosed as Bipolar Disorder. However, the researchers realized that only 64 of the patients suffered from Bipolar Disorder based on their own diagnoses through the SCID test.

Controversy: overdiagnosis under magnifying glass

The researchers shuffle some explanatory hypotheses in the face of these surprising results that suggest a demesurate diagnosis of cases of Bipolar Disorder. Between them, it is speculated with a greater propensity of the specialists to diagnose TB in front of other more stigmatizing disorders and for which there is no clear treatment. Another explanatory theory attributes responsibility in overdiagnosis to aggressive advertising of drugs used in treatments by pharmaceutical companies. Many professionals and scientists have recently highlighted that ADHD may also be diagnosed in excess.


Researchers insist on the need to use standardized and validated methods such as SCID to obtain reliable diagnoses.

Bibliographic references:

  • Zimmerman M., (2008) Is bipolar disorder diagnosed in excess? Journal of Clinical Psychiatry.

Understanding Bipolar Depression (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les chercheurs soulignent un diagnostic excessif de trouble bipolaire

Les chercheurs soulignent un diagnostic excessif de trouble bipolaire

Novembre 30, 2022

Une étude menée à la Brown University School of Medicine dans l’État de Rhode Island suggère que Environ 50% des cas diagnostiqués avec un trouble bipolaire pourraient être faux .

Le surdiagnostic du désordre bipolaire

Ce rapport est l’un des derniers rapports publiés à la Brown University, aux États-Unis, dans le but d’optimiser la évaluation diagnostique , et cela suppose un front commun de collaborations entre les chercheurs universitaires et le personnel sanitaire du domaine psychiatrique. L'étude a été menée sur la base d'entretiens avec 800 patients psychiatriques, à l'aide d'un test de diagnostic complet appelé Entretien clinique structuré pour les troubles du DSM. Les répondants ont également répondu à un questionnaire dans lequel ils devaient spécifier s'ils avaient reçu un diagnostic de trouble bipolaire ou de trouble maniaco-dépressif.


146 de ces patients ont indiqué qu'ils avaient déjà été diagnostiqués comme étant un trouble bipolaire. Cependant, les chercheurs ont réalisé que seulement 64 des patients souffraient de trouble bipolaire basé sur leur propre diagnostic grâce au test SCID.

Controverse: surdiagnostic à la loupe

Les chercheurs remuent certaines hypothèses explicatives face à ces résultats surprenants qui suggèrent un diagnostic démesuré des cas de trouble bipolaire. Entre elles, on spécule avec une plus grande propension des spécialistes à diagnostiquer la tuberculose devant d'autres troubles plus stigmatisants et pour lequel il n'y a pas de traitement clair. Une autre théorie explicative attribue la responsabilité du surdiagnostic à la publicité agressive de médicaments utilisés dans des traitements par des sociétés pharmaceutiques. De nombreux professionnels et scientifiques ont récemment souligné que le TDAH pouvait également être diagnostiqué de manière excessive.


Les chercheurs insistent sur la nécessité d'utiliser des méthodes normalisées et validées telles que le SCID pour obtenir des diagnostics fiables.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Zimmerman M., (2008) Le trouble bipolaire est-il diagnostiqué de manière excessive? Journal de clinique psychiatrique.

ACIDEZ Y REFLUJO - GRAVES CONSECUENCIAS - QUE HACERana contigo (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes