yes, therapy helps!
Will computers replace psychologists?

Will computers replace psychologists?

January 22, 2022

In the 60s, an MIT scientist named Joseph Weizenbaum developed a computer program designed to simulate therapy sessions humanist Carl Rogers.

This program carried out a succession of open questions so that, seeing them through a screen, the patient could express his feelings as he would with a humanistic therapist. The initiative was so successful that many patients had difficulty accepting the idea that they had been interacting with a computer program, and believed that there were real people sending messages to them.

Today, what is known as computerized therapy exploits all the possibilities of current technological development to offer something similar to what the Weizenbaum program offered. Now, will psychologists replace computers if they continue to bet on this line of action?


The computerized therapy

Until now, computers have been used occasionally as a channel of therapy, that is, a place where therapists and clients or patients have been found through the Internet . This possibility has almost always been seen as a limited version of the face-to-face sessions, and therefore when it is possible it is recommended to physically attend a psychologist's office.

Computerized therapy causes computers to stop being simply the channel and to be active agents in the process of interacting with the person.

It is based on the use of computer programs that adapt to what the person does and offer coherent reactions accordingly. In a way, they are something similar to interactive self-help books, with the difference that in the latter the message is much more important (because it is the only thing that is offered) and that In computerized therapy, the most important thing is the interaction in real time with the person .


As happens in psychotherapy, in computerized therapy the person who interacts with the patient speaks only the patient (something that would happen with self-help), but rather their service consists in asking the questions and the reactions that they make the other person change in a psychological sense, for example, through the cognitive restructuring of Cognitive Behavior Therapy.

Its advantages

Undoubtedly, having a computer program capable of adapting to what is said can be interesting as a form of self-help : instead of self-administering fragments of text from a book, we use as a service a program that allows us to express ourselves reflecting on what happens to us.

This makes, for example, that this service can be used almost always, simply by turning on a computer, and that this is a relatively cheap service if we compare it to psychotherapy sessions. However, these two factors do not make this option a substitute for the query. Let's see why


Why a computer can not be a psychologist

The first thing to be clear about when understanding computerized therapy is that a computer program, at least with the technology currently available, will always have a limited capacity to adapt and learn from what it is. a real person tells you through language.

What characterizes us when we speak is that we use words and phrases very flexibly , using the same term in many possible ways and causing it to change its meaning depending on the context.

The computer program that is behind a form of computerized therapy works through a decision tree, that is, a sequence of actions that is already programmed in advance and that in certain points is divided into several parallel routes, such as occurs in the "Choose your own adventure" books.

This simple fact is what makes computerized therapy can not be compared to real psychotherapy and, therefore, is closer to self-help: the computer can not understand the whole range of thoughts, feelings and actions of a person ; he will only interpret them starting from a very limited processing scheme. The computer will "force" the information it collects about us so that it fits into its predefined schemas, while a psychotherapist does have enough sensitivity to adapt his behavior in totally original ways.

This capacity, by the way, is not typical of therapists themselves: it corresponds to human beings in general.

How to use the sessions with a computer?

In conclusion, computerized therapy can be an interesting option as a complement to real therapy, always taking into account that computers can not get to empathize or "read between the lines" what a real human being does. That is why We can understand this service as a more developed form of self-help in which some margin is left to the participation of the person.

Even though this option It is very cheap because a computer program can be sold many times With the minimum cost using the same intellectual property, the time and space to match a flesh-and-blood psychotherapist is still important so that both the actions and the mental processes of the patient can be matched by a mind as complex and changing as the his.


How Close Are We to Replacing Humans With Robots? (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les ordinateurs vont-ils remplacer les psychologues?

Les ordinateurs vont-ils remplacer les psychologues?

Janvier 17, 2022

Dans les années 60, un scientifique du MIT, Joseph Weizenbaum développé un programme informatique conçu pour simuler des séances de thérapie l'humaniste Carl Rogers.

Ce programme a réalisé une succession de questions ouvertes afin que, en les regardant à travers un écran, le patient puisse exprimer ses sentiments comme il le ferait avec un thérapeute humaniste. L'initiative a eu un tel succès que de nombreux patients ont eu du mal à accepter l'idée d'interaction avec un programme informatique et ont cru qu'il y avait de vraies personnes qui leur envoyaient des messages.

Aujourd'hui, ce qu'on appelle la thérapie informatisée exploite toutes les possibilités du développement technologique actuel d'offrir quelque chose de similaire à ce que le programme Weizenbaum a offert. Maintenant, les psychologues vont-ils remplacer les ordinateurs s'ils continuent à parier sur cette ligne d'action?


La thérapie informatisée

Jusqu’à présent, les ordinateurs ont été utilisés occasionnellement comme canal de thérapie, c’est-à-dire un lieu où thérapeutes et clients ou patients ont été trouvés sur Internet . Cette possibilité a presque toujours été considérée comme une version limitée des séances en face-à-face et il est donc recommandé d'assister physiquement au bureau d'un psychologue.

Grâce à la thérapie informatisée, les ordinateurs cessent d’être le simple canal et deviennent des agents actifs dans le processus d’interaction avec la personne.

Il repose sur l'utilisation de programmes informatiques qui s'adaptent à ce que la personne fait et offrent des réactions cohérentes en conséquence. En un sens, ils ressemblent aux livres d’entraide interactifs, à la différence que, dans ces derniers, le message est beaucoup plus important (car c’est la seule chose proposée) et que En thérapie informatisée, le plus important est l’interaction en temps réel avec la personne. .


Comme dans la psychothérapie, en thérapie informatisée, la personne qui interagit avec le patient ne parle que lui-même (ce qui se produirait avec l’entraide), mais son service consiste plutôt à poser des questions et à réagir ils font changer l'autre personne dans un sens psychologique, par exemple, à travers la restructuration cognitive de la thérapie cognitivo-comportementale.

Vos avantages

Sans aucun doute, avoir un programme informatique capable de s'adapter à ce qui est dit peut être intéressant comme une forme d'auto-assistance : au lieu d’auto-administrer des fragments de texte d’un livre, nous utilisons comme service un programme qui nous permet de nous exprimer en réfléchissant à ce qui nous arrive.

Cela fait, par exemple, que ce service peut être utilisé presque toujours, simplement en allumant un ordinateur, et qu'il s'agit d'un service relativement bon marché si on le compare à des séances de psychothérapie. Cependant, ces deux facteurs ne font pas de cette option un substitut à la requête. Voyons pourquoi


Pourquoi un ordinateur ne peut pas être un psychologue

La première chose à préciser quand on comprend la thérapie informatisée est qu’un programme informatique, du moins avec la technologie actuellement disponible, aura toujours une capacité limitée d’adaptation et d’apprentissage de ce qu’il est. une personne réelle vous dit à travers la langue.

Ce qui nous caractérise quand on parle, c'est que nous utilisons des mots et des phrases très flexibles , en utilisant le même terme de nombreuses manières possibles et en le faisant changer de sens en fonction du contexte.

Le programme informatique qui sous-tend une forme de thérapie informatisée fonctionne selon un arbre de décision, c’est-à-dire une séquence d’actions déjà programmée à l’avance et qui, à certains endroits, est divisée en plusieurs itinéraires parallèles, comme dans "Choisissez votre propre aventure" livres.

Ce simple fait est ce qui fait que la thérapie informatisée ne peut être comparée à la psychothérapie réelle et est donc plus proche de l’auto-assistance: l'ordinateur ne peut pas comprendre tout l'éventail de pensées, de sentiments et d'actions d'une personne ; il ne les interprétera qu'à partir d'un schéma de traitement très limité. L'ordinateur "forcera" les informations recueillies sur nous afin qu'elles s'intègrent dans ses schémas prédéfinis, tandis qu'un psychothérapeute aura suffisamment de sensibilité pour adapter son comportement de manière totalement originale.

Cette capacité, d'ailleurs, n'est pas typique des thérapeutes eux-mêmes: elle correspond à l'homme en général.

Comment utiliser les sessions avec un ordinateur?

En conclusion, la thérapie informatisée peut être une option intéressante en complément de la thérapie réelle, en tenant toujours compte du fait que les ordinateurs ne peuvent pas arriver à comprendre ou à "lire entre les lignes" ce que fait un véritable être humain. C'est pour ça que Nous pouvons comprendre ce service comme une forme plus développée d’auto-assistance dans lequel une marge est laissée à la participation de la personne.

Même si cette option C'est très bon marché, car un programme informatique peut être vendu plusieurs fois Avec le coût minimum d'utilisation de la même propriété intellectuelle, le temps et l'espace nécessaires pour faire correspondre un psychothérapeute en chair et en os sont toujours importants, de sorte que les actions et les processus mentaux du patient puissent correspondre à un esprit aussi complexe et changeant le vôtre


Comment Remplacer Vos Croyances Limitantes Par Des Croyances Dynamisantes (Janvier 2022).


Articles Connexes