yes, therapy helps!
Benefits of meditation supported by science

Benefits of meditation supported by science

January 22, 2022

If you have ever been interested in the meditation , you will have realized that it is a practice whose fruits are not collected overnight. Meditation requires months of practice, perseverance and, although it is apparently not physically demanding, it also requires effort.

If we add to this the fact that the supposed benefits of meditation are not always well supported empirically and sometimes consist of simple New Age proclamations, it is not surprising that some abandon after the first days of practice, exhausted and unmotivated by the apparent lack of immediate incentives.

However, among the oceans of opinions and value judgments about meditation you can also find some scientific publications that serve to shed light on the issue that everyone wants to know: what are the benefits of meditation that have a scientific basis?


Some benefits of meditation that probably exist

Although meditation has been engendered in a philosophy and culture far from Western rationalism, there are some studies that show possible effects of meditation, probably because of its possible therapeutic application at very low prices. Below you will find some of these possible benefits of meditation that are supported by science research groups.

However, it must be taken into account that these scientific articles they serve to describe correlations and give them an interpretation, although we do not know very well how changes in our body occur through these centenary practices.


1. Mitigate the effects of stress

Some research indicates that the continued practice of meditation helps combat stress and its adverse effects. For example, an investigation involving cancer patients yielded data on an improvement not only in relation to stress, but also in terms of symptoms of depression, confusion and other scales, in both men and women.

2. It could have positive effects on the immune system

It has been proven how a series of volunteers undergoing a Mindfulness program developed more antibodies to the flu, which means that one of the benefits of meditation can have an impact on the immune system. The article was published in Psychosomatic Medicine.

3. Improve the attention capacity

It has been proven in multitasking tests (doing several things at once) and in a study about the attentional blink, which occurs when a stimulus is eclipsed by another one that precedes it with little margin of time between them and therefore the individual only he realizes the first one. People who had been meditating showed a reduction in the attentional blink, which means that they learned to better manage the brain resources on which care depends.


4. It is useful to empathize and connect with others

Another of the likely benefits of meditation lies in the relationship with others. A few minutes of meditation have been effective in predisposing to closer personal contact with strangers.

5. Increase tolerance to pain

Four days of Mindfulness have been shown sufficient to reduce pain sensation and produce changes in brain structures associated with pain processing.

6. Improves memory and other cognitive functions

A few sessions of Mindfulness can be translated into an improvement of working memory and visuospatial processing.

7. Power the emergence of positive thoughts

Among the benefits of meditation could not be missing one that concerns positive psychology, one of the currents that most uses relaxation practices. A certain type of meditation has been shown to be helpful in keeping adaptive beliefs at bay, maintaining habits with significant meaning and, in general, thinking positively.


Dr. Oz Shares The Benefits of Meditation (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Avantages de la méditation soutenue par la science

Avantages de la méditation soutenue par la science

Avril 15, 2021

Si vous avez déjà été intéressé par le méditation , vous aurez compris que c’est une pratique dont les fruits ne sont pas récoltés du jour au lendemain. La méditation nécessite des mois de pratique, de persévérance et, bien qu’elle ne soit apparemment pas exigeante physiquement, elle nécessite également des efforts.

Si nous ajoutons à cela le fait que les supposés bénéfices de la méditation ne sont pas toujours bien étayés empiriquement et consistent parfois en de simples proclamations du Nouvel Âge, il n’est pas surprenant que certains abandonnent après les premiers jours de pratique, épuisés et non motivés par le manque apparent. d'incitations immédiates.

Cependant, parmi les océans d’opinions et de jugements de valeur sur la méditation vous pouvez également trouver des publications scientifiques qui servent à éclairer le problème que tout le monde veut savoir: quels sont les avantages de la méditation sur une base scientifique?


Quelques avantages de la méditation qui existent probablement

Bien que la méditation ait été engendrée dans une philosophie et une culture éloignées du rationalisme occidental, certaines études montrent les effets possibles de la méditation, probablement à cause de ses effets possibles. application thérapeutique à des prix très bas. Ci-dessous, vous trouverez quelques-uns des avantages possibles de la méditation qui sont pris en charge par des groupes de recherche scientifique.

Cependant, il faut tenir compte du fait que ces articles scientifiques ils servent à décrire les corrélations et leur donner une interprétation, bien que nous ne sachions pas très bien comment se produisent les changements dans notre corps à travers ces pratiques centenaires.


1. Atténuer les effets du stress

Certaines recherches indiquent que la pratique continue de la méditation aide à combattre le stress et ses effets néfastes. Par exemple, une enquête impliquant des patients atteints de cancer a fourni des données sur une amélioration non seulement du stress, mais également des symptômes de dépression, de confusion et d’autres échelles, tant chez les hommes que chez les femmes.

2. Cela pourrait avoir des effets positifs sur le système immunitaire

Il a été prouvé que plusieurs volontaires participant à un programme Mindfulness ont développé davantage d'anticorps contre la grippe, ce qui signifie qu'un des avantages de la méditation peut avoir un impact sur le système immunitaire. L'article a été publié dans Médecine psychosomatique.

3. Améliorer la capacité d'attention

Cela a été prouvé dans des tests multitâches (faisant plusieurs choses à la fois) et dans une étude sur le clignotement de l'attention, qui survient lorsqu'un stimulus est éclipsé par un autre le précédant avec une faible marge de temps entre eux et, par conséquent, uniquement il réalise le premier. Les personnes qui méditaient présentaient une réduction du clignotement de l'attention, ce qui signifie qu'elles avaient appris à mieux gérer les ressources cérébrales dont dépendent les soins.


4. Il est utile de faire preuve d'empathie et de se connecter avec les autres

Un autre des avantages probables de la méditation réside dans la relation avec les autres. Quelques minutes de méditation ont été efficaces pour favoriser les contacts personnels plus étroits avec des inconnus.

5. Augmenter la tolérance à la douleur

On a montré que quatre jours de pleine conscience étaient suffisants pour réduire la sensation de douleur et produire des modifications des structures cérébrales associées au traitement de la douleur.

6. améliore la mémoire et d'autres fonctions cognitives

Quelques sessions de Mindfulness peuvent être traduites en une amélioration de la mémoire de travail et du traitement visuospatial.

7. alimenter l'émergence de pensées positives

Parmi les avantages de la méditation, il ne faut pas en manquer un qui concerne la psychologie positive, l’un des courants qui utilise le plus les pratiques de relaxation. Un certain type de méditation s’est avéré utile pour tenir à distance les croyances adaptatives, conserver des habitudes qui ont une signification significative et, d’une manière générale, penser positivement.


¿Qué es el Mindfulness? por Paz Ortiz Rivière (Avril 2021).


Articles Connexes