yes, therapy helps!
Child abuse: physical and psychological consequences in abused children

Child abuse: physical and psychological consequences in abused children

June 25, 2022

A series of recent investigations reveal that neurobiological alterations as a consequence of child abuse, not only increase the possibility of suffering mental disorders in adulthood but also increase the chances of suffering future organic disorders , as well as behavioral alterations.

Child abuse

Child abuse, intrafamily violence and abandonment in childhood are possible traumatic events for any child, and are much more frequent than you think to . According to him Child Mental Health Center of the University College of LondonEach year, between 4 and 16 percent of children in Western industrialized countries suffer physical abuse and 1 out of every 10 suffers from extreme psychic overload or overload.


With regard to sexual abuse in childhood, between the 5 and 10 percent of girls and 5 percent of boys have ever suffered it throughout his childhood.

Adverse experiences during childhood

I have divided the following study into different phases, since despite the fact that it started during the period 1995-1997, the analysis of the data has been prolonged for several years, obtaining a large number of results.

Phase 1 - Start

The study is usually abbreviated as ACE (for its acronym in English).

The investigation began in 1995 in San Diego, with the participation of 17,000 subject s that were submitted to medical check-ups on a regular basis . They should also report in detail on what type of traumatic experiences they have suffered during childhood (violence, abuse, abandonment) and to what extent.


Phase 2 - First results

In 1998, the researcher Vincent Felitti , who belonged to the preventive medicine department of the Kaiser Permanente medical group, reached the following conclusions when analyzing the data obtained by the ACE study together with his team.

According to one survey used During the study, subjects who answered affirmatively to more than three questions about childhood abuse and abandonment during childhood, had up to 12 times more possibilities to suffer alcoholism, drug addiction or develop a depression, compared to people who had not suffered these events (and therefore, responded negatively to the survey).

Other striking results were the increase in: suffer from smoking and obesity ; practice less sports and have sporadic sex.


Phase 3 - Analysis of Variables

Subsequent to the previous results, in the year 2003 the researchers decided to check the results on the increase of the appearance of cardiovascular diseases coronary arteries (as a consequence of abuse and abandonment) in the following way.

They analyzed how this type of disease increased in three different ways:

  • Taking all the variables, the possibility of suffering cardiovascular coronary diseases is 3.6 times higher than in the population that has not traumas children. These variables include individual characteristics (sex, age, physical activity and eating habits), psychological problems (depression and frustration) and, of course, if they have suffered some trauma during childhood .
  • Taking the groups of variables of psychological problems and childhood traumas, the possibility increased 3.1 times.
  • Taking only variables about childhood traumas, the possibility was 2.6 times higher.

That is, what increases the most the possibility of suffering coronary cardiovascular problems s they are neither sex, nor if they suffer from depression, nor eating habits, nor physical activity, nor any of these variables, but the traumas in childhood.

Phase 4 - Latest results

Finally, in 2004, other subsequent evaluations of the same results revealed that those who had suffered this abuse during childhood and youth presented more frequently coronary heart disease , and more specifically: the more serious the childhood traumas were, the greater were the possibilities of suffering from cardiovascular diseases, pulmonary pathologies, cancer, liver diseases (blood related diseases) and autoimmune disorders.

Brief biological explanation of the effects of child abuse

The child traumas They alter the biological mechanisms of the organism. Stress hormones and certain neurotransmitters influence leaving long-term traces in the child's brain.

These alterations are especially evident in communication between the hypothalamus, pituitary gland and adrenal cortex .

  • During a stressful situation, the hypothalamus secretes a hormone called corticotropin (CRH) that stimulates the pituitary.
  • The pituitary then releases into the bloodstream another hormone called adrenocorticotropa (ACTH).
  • Finally, the adrenal cortex (located above the kidneys) receives the ACTH, and this reacts releasing cortiso l (stress hormone).

Emotional abuse, abandonment and multiple sclerosis

A study carried out in the University Clinic Eppendorf of Hamburg, led by the researcher Carsten Spitzer obtained the following surprising results.

He chose a total of 234 patients with multiple sclerosis and 885 healthy people . All of them had to report on their experiences during childhood. What was obtained was that both the emotional abuse and the abandonment were the twice as frequent among individuals with multiple sclerosis , compared to the healthy group.

A moral quartet, a Metabolic Syndrome and Child Traumas

This syndrome consists of four factors:

  1. Abdominal fat
  2. Alterations in glucose metabolism
  3. Alterations of blood lipids
  4. Arterial hypertension

One of the keys to this syndrome is that the appearance of one of these factors, power the appearance of the others .

Well, various works have confirmed that these 4 components belonging to the metabolic syndrome may appear as a result of traumatic experiences during childhood , of which, the most accused is that of abdominal adiposity .

The latter has been corroborated by a study called NESDA (for its acronym in English) and carried out in the year 2012, in the Netherlands on depression and anxiety. In it they found a relationship between Sexual abuse during childhood and the excess fat in the abdomen.

Child abuse and psychosis in adulthood

First of all, let's define what is abuse . According to World Health Organization:

"Child maltreatment is defined as the abuse and neglect of children under 18, and includes all types of physical or psychological abuse, sexual abuse, neglect, negligence and commercial or other exploitation that cause or may cause cause damage to the health, development or dignity of the child, or endanger their survival, in the context of a relationship of responsibility, trust or power. Exposure to dating violence is also sometimes included among forms of child abuse. "

Taking into account the neurological immaturity of the brain during the first years of life it is well known that it is more sensitive to events and experiences. This sensitivity gives the advantage of learning with great speed, but it can also entail great dangers:

Childhood abuse and psychotic symptoms

According to a study by the University of Barcelona, ​​he analyzed the relationship between child maltreatment and the development of psychotic symptoms . The first thing they discovered was that even though I hadto people who, despite having suffered child abuse, were able to overcome and lead a mentally healthy life .

Subsequently, the results pointed out that such individual differences reside in the neurotrophic factor gene (proteins that are responsible for the survival of neurons) derived from the brain known as BDNF. So it seems, this gene promotes growth, differentiation of neurons and their survival during periods of stress .

In this study published in the journal The British Journal of Psychiatry, it is explained how exposure to serious child abuse (sexual, physical and / or emotional), is associated with a higher probability of suffering psychotic symptoms in adult life. In addition, and this is where the BDNF gene comes into play, subjects who present certain alleles for this gene were more vulnerable to this type of abuse, compared to those with another variable (the former had an allele called Met and the seconds Val).

If you do not understand the latter very well, think that for blood there are 3 alleles: A, B and O, and from the combination of these different blood groups are obtained.

Genetic factors

There are a number of genes that increase the chances of suffering long-term organic problems if they have suffered traumatic experiences.

According to some studies, one of these genes seems to be the FKBP5 gene . This gene, encodes a protein (along with others) affects the sensitivity of tissues and organs that react to cortisol (commonly known as the "stress hormone").

Given the results, it has been found that certain variants of the FKBP5 raise the risk or depression (multiplying by 8 for one of these variants), and post-traumatic disorders, for those who suffered abuse in childhood.

In addition, these same data also suggest that some of the variants of this same gene, also relate to organic disorders . But this remains pending confirmation.

What is really striking about this type of genes is the importance they can have for the appearance of various disorders, but only if there has been a environmental trigger , which in this case, are abuses in childhood. In other words, if a person has not experienced traumatic and stressful events during his childhood , the possession of these genes will not increase the chances of suffering from these disorders.

Child abuse and its influence on epigenetic modifications

This is known as epigenetic modifications :

These modifications are appendages that adhere to the DNA, influencing the frequency with which a certain gene is read. That is to say, although the genetic code of the person does not change, its functioning does.

I recommend this small documentary about the relatively new field of epigenetics .

Bibliographic references:

  • Burden and consequences of child maltreatment in high-income countries. R. Gilbert et al. in The Lancet, vol. 373, pgs. 68-71, 2009.
  • Moderation of adult depression by a polymorphism in the FKB5 gene and childhood physical abuse in the general population ". K. Appel et al. in Neuropsychopharmacology, vol. 36, pgs. 1982-1991, 2011.
  • Childhood abuse and BDNF-Val66Met polymorphism: Evidence for gene-environment interaction of the development of adult psychosis-like experiences. S. Alemany et al. in The British Journal of Psychiatry, vol. 199, no. 1, p. 38-42, 2011

Recognizing Signs Of Physical Child Abuse HD (June 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Violence envers les enfants: conséquences physiques et psychologiques chez les enfants maltraités

Violence envers les enfants: conséquences physiques et psychologiques chez les enfants maltraités

Août 8, 2022

Une série d’enquêtes récentes révèlent que les altérations neurobiologiques résultant de la maltraitance d’enfants, pas seulement augmenter les risques de souffrir de troubles mentaux à l'âge adulte, mais aussi augmenter les risques de souffrir de futurs troubles organiques , ainsi que des modifications comportementales.

Abus d'enfants

La maltraitance d’enfants, la violence au sein de la famille et l’abandon dans l’enfance sont des événements traumatisants possibles pour tout enfant. beaucoup plus fréquent que vous ne le pensez un . Selon le Child Mental Health Centre de l'University College of LondonChaque année, entre 4 et 16% des enfants des pays industrialisés occidentaux subissent des violences physiques et 1 sur 10 souffre de surcharge psychique extrême.


En ce qui concerne les abus sexuels dans l'enfance, entre le 5 et 10% des filles et 5% des garçons en ont déjà souffert tout au long de son enfance.

Expériences défavorables pendant l'enfance

J’ai divisé l’étude suivante en différentes phases car, malgré le fait qu’elle ait débuté au cours de la période 1995-1997, l’analyse des données s’est prolongée de plusieurs années et a donné un grand nombre de résultats.

Phase 1 - Début

L’étude est habituellement abrégée en ACE (pour ses sigles en anglais).

L’enquête a débuté en 1995 à San Diego, avec la participation de 17 000 sujets s qui ont été soumis à examens médicaux réguliers . Ils devraient également indiquer en détail le type d'expériences traumatisantes qu'ils ont vécues pendant leur enfance (violence, abus, abandon) et dans quelle mesure.


Phase 2 - Premiers résultats

En 1998, le chercheur Vincent Felitti , qui appartenait au département de médecine préventive du groupe médical Kaiser Permanente, est parvenu aux conclusions suivantes en analysant les données obtenues par l’étude ACE avec son équipe.

Selon un enquête utilisée Au cours de l’étude, les sujets qui ont répondu par l’affirmative à plus de trois questions sur les abus et l’abandon dans l’enfance pendant l’enfance avaient jusqu'à 12 fois plus de possibilités souffrir alcoolisme, toxicomanie ou développer une dépression, par rapport aux personnes qui n'ont pas souffert de ces événements (et ont donc répondu négativement à l'enquête).

L’augmentation de: souffre de tabagisme et d'obésité ; pratiquer moins de sports et avoir des rapports sexuels sporadiques.


Phase 3 - Analyse des variables

Après les résultats précédents, dans l'année 2003 les chercheurs ont décidé de vérifier les résultats sur l'augmentation de l'apparition de maladies cardiovasculaires artères coronaires (à la suite d'abus et d'abandon) de la manière suivante.

Ils ont analysé l'augmentation de ce type de maladie de trois manières différentes:

  • Si l’on tient compte de toutes les variables, le risque de souffrir de maladies coronariennes cardiovasculaires est 3,6 fois plus élevé que dans la population qui n’a pas de traumatisme infantile. Ces variables incluent des caractéristiques individuelles (sexe, âge, activité physique et habitudes alimentaires), des problèmes psychologiques (dépression et frustration) et, bien sûr, s’ils ont souffert certains traumatismes pendant l'enfance .
  • En prenant les groupes de variables de problèmes psychologiques et de traumatismes de l’enfance, la possibilité a été multipliée par 3,1.
  • En prenant uniquement des variables concernant les traumatismes de l’enfance, la possibilité était 2,6 fois plus élevée.

C’est-à-dire ce qui augmente le plus la possibilité de souffrir de problèmes cardiovasculaires coronaires s ils ne sont ni le sexe, ni s'ils souffrent de dépression, ni d'habitudes alimentaires, ni d'activité physique, ni aucune de ces variables, mais la traumatismes dans l'enfance.

Phase 4 - Derniers résultats

Enfin, en 2004, d’autres évaluations ultérieures des mêmes résultats ont révélé que ceux qui avaient été victimes de ces abus pendant leur enfance et leur jeunesse ont présenté plus fréquemment maladie coronarienne et plus précisément: plus les traumatismes de l'enfance étaient graves, plus les risques de maladies cardiovasculaires, de pathologies pulmonaires, de cancers, de maladies du foie (maladies liées au sang) et de maladies auto-immunes étaient grands.

Brève explication biologique des effets de la maltraitance des enfants

Le traumatismes chez l'enfant Ils modifient les mécanismes biologiques de l'organisme. Les hormones de stress et certains neurotransmetteurs ont une influence sur les traces à long terme dans le cerveau de l'enfant.

Ces modifications sont particulièrement évidentes dans la communication entre les hypothalamus, hypophyse et cortex surrénal .

  • Au cours d'une situation stressante, le hypothalamus sécrète une hormone appelée corticotropine (CRH) qui stimule l'hypophyse.
  • L’hypophyse libère ensuite dans le sang une autre hormone appelée adrénocorticotropa (ACTH).
  • Enfin, le cortex surrénalien (situé au-dessus des reins) reçoit l'ACTH et réagit en libérant cortiso l (hormone de stress).

Abus émotionnel, abandon et sclérose en plaques

Une étude réalisée dans le Clinique universitaire Eppendorf de Hambourg, dirigé par le chercheur Carsten Spitzer, a obtenu les résultats surprenants suivants.

Il a choisi un total de 234 patients avec sclérose en plaques et 885 personnes en bonne santé . Tous devaient faire part de leurs expériences durant leur enfance. Ce qui a été obtenu est que la violence psychologique et l’abandon sont les deux deux fois plus fréquent chez les personnes atteintes de sclérose en plaques , comparé au groupe sain.

Un quatuor moral, un syndrome métabolique et des traumatismes chez l'enfant

Ce syndrome comprend quatre facteurs:

  1. Graisse abdominale
  2. Altérations du métabolisme du glucose
  3. Altérations des lipides sanguins
  4. Hypertension

L'une des clés de ce syndrome est que l'apparition de l'un de ces facteurs, alimenter l'apparence des autres .

Eh bien, divers travaux ont confirmé que ces 4 composants appartenant au syndrome métabolique peut apparaître à la suite d'expériences traumatiques durant l'enfance , dont le plus accusé est celui de adiposité abdominale .

Ce dernier a été corroboré par une étude intitulée NESDA (pour son acronyme en anglais) et réalisé en 2012 aux Pays-Bas sur la dépression et l’anxiété. Ils y ont trouvé une relation entre Abus sexuel durant l'enfance et l'excès de graisse dans l'abdomen.

Violence envers les enfants et psychose à l'âge adulte

Avant tout, définissons ce qu'est un abus . Selon la Organisation mondiale de la SANTE:

"La maltraitance envers les enfants est définie comme l'abus et la négligence d'enfants de moins de 18 ans et comprend tous les types d'abus physique ou psychologique, d'abus sexuel, de négligence, de négligence et d'exploitation, commerciale ou autre, qui cause ou peut causer nuire à la santé, au développement ou à la dignité de l'enfant, ou mettre en danger sa survie, dans le contexte d'une relation de responsabilité, de confiance ou de pouvoir. L'exposition à la violence dans les relations amoureuses est aussi parfois incluse parmi les formes de maltraitance d'enfants ".

Compte tenu de l'immaturité neurologique du cerveau au cours des premières années de la vie, il est bien connu qu'il est plus sensible aux événements et aux expériences. Cette sensibilité offre l'avantage d'apprendre très rapidement, mais elle peut aussi comporter de grands dangers:

Abus dans l'enfance et symptômes psychotiques

Selon une étude de l’Université de Barcelone, il a analysé la relation entre la maltraitance des enfants et le développement de symptômes psychotiques . La première chose qu’ils découvrirent fut que même si j’avaisaux personnes qui, malgré avoir subi des sévices sur enfants, ont pu surmonter et mener une vie saine mentalement .

Par la suite, les résultats ont montré que ces différences individuelles résident dans le gène du facteur neurotrophique (protéines responsables de la survie des neurones) dérivé du cerveau appelé BDNF. Il semble donc que ce gène favorise la croissance, la différenciation des neurones et leur survie en période de stress .

Dans cette étude publiée dans la revue Le British Journal of Psychiatry, il est expliqué comment une exposition à de graves abus d’enfant (sexuels, physiques et / ou émotionnels) est associée à une probabilité plus élevée de souffrir de symptômes psychotiques à l’âge adulte. De plus, et c’est là que le gène BDNF entre en jeu, les sujets présentant certains allèles de ce gène étaient plus vulnérables à ce type d’abus que ceux ayant une autre variable (le premier avait un allèle appelé Met et le secondes Val).

Si vous ne comprenez pas très bien ce dernier, pensez que pour le sang, il existe 3 allèles: A, B et O, et que la combinaison de ces différents groupes sanguins est obtenue.

Facteurs génétiques

Un certain nombre de gènes augmentent les risques de souffrir de problèmes organiques à long terme s'ils ont vécu des expériences traumatiques.

Selon certaines études, l'un de ces gènes semble être le gène FKBP5 . Ce gène, qui code pour une protéine (parmi d'autres), affecte la sensibilité des tissus et des organes qui réagissent au cortisol (communément appelée «hormone du stress»).

Au vu des résultats, il a été constaté que certaines variantes du FKBP5 augmenter le risque ou dépression (en multipliant par 8 pour l'une de ces variantes), et les troubles post-traumatiques, pour ceux qui ont subi des abus dans l'enfance.

En outre, ces mêmes données suggèrent également que certaines des variantes de ce même gène, concernent également des troubles organiques . Mais cela reste en attente de confirmation.

Ce qui est vraiment frappant avec ce type de gènes, c’est l’importance qu’ils peuvent avoir pour l’apparition de divers troubles, mais seulement s’il ya eu une déclencheur environnemental , qui dans ce cas, sont des abus dans l'enfance. En d'autres termes, si une personne n'a pas vécu d'événements traumatisants et stressants durant son enfance , la possession de ces gènes n'augmentera pas les risques de souffrir de ces troubles.

Violence envers les enfants et son influence sur les modifications épigénétiques

Ceci est connu comme modifications épigénétiques :

Ces modifications sont des appendices qui adhèrent à l'ADN, influençant la fréquence à laquelle un gène donné est lu. C'est-à-dire, bien que le code génétique de la personne ne change pas, son fonctionnement change.

Je recommande ceci petit documentaire sur le domaine relativement nouveau de épigénétique .

Références bibliographiques:

  • Fardeau et conséquences de la maltraitance envers les enfants dans les pays à revenu élevé. R. Gilbert et al. dans le Lancet, vol. 373, p. 68-71, 2009.
  • Modération de la dépression chez l'adulte par un polymorphisme du gène FKB5 et des abus physiques durant l'enfance dans la population en général ". K. Appel et al. en neuropsychopharmacologie, vol. 36, p. 1982-1991, 2011.
  • Abus dans l'enfance et polymorphisme BDNF-Val66Met: Preuve de l'interaction gène-environnement du développement d'expériences analogues à la psychose chez l'adulte. S. Alemany et al. dans le British Journal of Psychiatry, vol. 199, n ° 1, p. 38-42, 2011

La maltraitance sur enfant -- La maltraitance psychologique (Août 2022).


Articles Connexes