yes, therapy helps!
Combining alcohol and marijuana has these effects on the brain

Combining alcohol and marijuana has these effects on the brain

June 19, 2024

Alcohol and cannabis are two of the most consumed psychoactive substances in the world, if you exclude some less intoxicating ones like caffeine and theine. Since the initial effects of these two drugs are associated with physical and psychological relaxation, it is common for many people to take them simultaneously to facilitate synergy.

In this article we will seehow the combination of alcohol and marijuana affects the brain , as well as the potential risks of this practice. For this it is necessary that we stop in the first place to analyze the effects of each of these substances separately.

  • Related article: "Marijuana: science reveals its effects on the brain in the long term"

How does alcohol affect the brain?

Alcohol exerts depressant effects on the central nervous system ; roughly this means that it inhibits its activity. However, if the dose consumed is low, alcohol causes a reduction in behavioral inhibition (which many people associate with an increase in sociability) and feelings of relaxation and emotional release.


When the dose is high, there are signs such as deficits in working memory and other executive functions, motor coordination problems -including expressive language-, blurred vision and emotional disturbances, for example, decreased control over anger. A strong poisoning can cause an ethyl coma and even death .

Five phases of alcohol intoxication have been described as a function of the blood concentration of this compound: the euphoria phase (characterized by impulsivity), the intoxication phase (which causes incoordination), the confusion phase (in which drowsiness and dysarthria appear) ), stupor and coma and, finally, the bulbar phase or death by cardiorespiratory arrest.


  • Maybe you're interested: "The 8 signs of alcohol addiction ·"

Effects of cannabis use

In general marijuana produces relaxing effects in the body . However, the reactions derived from the use of this drug can vary depending on different variables, among which the dose used, the characteristics of the person's organism and the variety used are worth mentioning. The indica tends to be more interfering than the sativa.

The main active component of cannabis are cannabinoids, compounds found in some plants that activate specific receptors in the human body: cannabinoid receptors. The most important is tetrahydrocannabinol or THC, which explains the effects of relaxation, perceptual distortion, fatigue and increased appetite .

By binding to cannabinoid receptors, THC alters the body's dopamine and noradrenaline levels; this causes a sense of well-being, favors introspection and increases sensory awareness, but also it negatively affects cognitive performance and can cause acute anxiety , even crisis of anguish.


The combination of alcohol and marijuana

Given that both marijuana and alcohol intoxication decrease cognitive and behavioral performance (including notably the alteration of working memory), it is not surprising that when both substances are taken, these effects are greater than if only one is used.

In particular, investigations such as the Hartman team (2015) suggest that, by combining these two drugs, alcohol potentiates the effects of marijuana since it increases the concentration of THC in blood, and this is the main psychoactive component of cannabis.

On the other hand, according to a study by Lukas' group (2015), consuming marijuana alters gastrointestinal motility; This causes alcohol to be absorbed to a greater extent by the body, causing a decrease in the effects of alcohol.

It is important to keep in mind that people who are in a situation of physical and / or psychological dependence on one of these substances run a high risk of developing a politoxicomania if they start to combine it with the other , since they exert synergistic effects and can act as mutual substitutes.

  • Related article: "The 5 types of alcoholism (and associated disorders)"

Physiological and psychological effects of this mixture

Consuming first alcohol and then marijuana increases the concentration of THC because alcohol facilitates its absorption in the digestive tract. Although there are people who practice this combination recreationally, it can cause unpleasant physical and cognitive reactions, especially if the amount of alcohol is excessive.

In particular, many people refer signs as paleness, sensations of dizziness and weakness, nausea and vomiting . In addition, the mixture of these two substances increases the likelihood of psychological symptoms, mainly anxiety (which sometimes even leads to panic attacks) and paranoid thoughts.

The combined use of alcohol and cannabis is one of the most common causes of traffic accidents around the world. This is because mixing both substances significantly worsens the ability to concentrate and react quickly, two very relevant skills in driving vehicles.

Bibliographic references:

  • Hartman, R. L., Brown, T.L., Milavetz, G., Spurgin, A., Gorelick, D.A., Gaffney, G. & Huestis, M.A. (2015). Controlled cannabis vaporizer administration: blood and plasma cannabinoids with and without alcohol. Clinical Chemistry, 61 (6): 850-69.
  • Lukas, S.E., Benedikt, R., Mendelson, J.H., Kouri, E., Sholar, M. & Amass, L. (1992). Marihuana attenuates the rise in plasma ethanol levels in human subjects. Neuropsychopharmacology, 7 (1): 77-81.
  • Lukas, S. E. & Orozco, S. (2001). Ethanol increases plasma Delta (9) -tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) levels and subjective effects after marijuana smoking in human volunteers. Drug and Alcohol Dependence, 64 (2): 143-9.

The Health Effects of Marijuana - Expert Q&A (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La combinaison de l'alcool et de la marijuana a ces effets sur le cerveau

La combinaison de l'alcool et de la marijuana a ces effets sur le cerveau

Mai 25, 2022

L'alcool et le cannabis sont deux des substances psychoactives les plus consommées dans le monde, à l'exclusion des substances moins intoxicantes comme la caféine et la théine. Étant donné que les effets initiaux de ces deux médicaments sont associés à une relaxation physique et psychologique, il est courant que de nombreuses personnes les prennent simultanément pour faciliter la synergie.

Dans cet article, nous verronscomment la combinaison d'alcool et de marijuana affecte le cerveau , ainsi que les risques potentiels de cette pratique. Pour cela, nous devons nous arrêter d’abord pour analyser séparément les effets de chacune de ces substances.

  • Article connexe: "Marijuana: la science révèle ses effets à long terme sur le cerveau"

Comment l'alcool affecte-t-il le cerveau?

L'alcool exerce des effets dépresseurs sur le système nerveux central ; à peu près cela signifie qu'il inhibe son activité. Cependant, si la dose consommée est faible, l'alcool provoque une réduction de l'inhibition comportementale (que beaucoup associent à une augmentation de la sociabilité) et des sentiments de relaxation et de libération émotionnelle.


Lorsque la dose est élevée, il y a des signes tels que des déficits de la mémoire de travail et d'autres fonctions exécutives, des problèmes de coordination motrice - incluant le langage expressif -, une vision floue et des troubles émotionnels, par exemple, une diminution du contrôle de la colère. Un fort empoisonnement peut provoquer un coma d'éthyle et même la mort .

Cinq phases d’intoxication alcoolique ont été décrites en fonction de la concentration sanguine de ce composé: la phase d’euphorie (caractérisée par l’impulsivité), la phase d’intoxication (qui provoque une incoordination), la phase de confusion (dans laquelle apparaissent somnolence et dysarthrie). ), la stupeur et le coma et, enfin, la phase bulbaire ou la mort par arrestation cardiorespiratoire.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 8 signes de dépendance à l'alcool ·"

Effets de la consommation de cannabis

En général la marijuana produit des effets relaxants dans le corps . Toutefois, les réactions découlant de l'utilisation de ce médicament peuvent varier en fonction de différentes variables, parmi lesquelles la dose utilisée, les caractéristiques de l'organisme de la personne et la variété utilisée méritent d'être mentionnées. Les indica ont tendance à être plus gênants que les sativa.

Les principaux composants actifs du cannabis sont les cannabinoïdes, composés présents dans certaines plantes qui activent des récepteurs spécifiques dans le corps humain: les récepteurs aux cannabinoïdes. Le plus important est le tétrahydrocannabinol ou THC, ce qui explique la effets de relaxation, distorsion perceptuelle, fatigue et augmentation de l'appétit .

En se liant aux récepteurs des cannabinoïdes, le THC modifie les taux de dopamine et de noradrénaline dans le corps; cela provoque un sentiment de bien-être, favorise l'introspection et augmente la conscience sensorielle, mais aussi il affecte négativement les performances cognitives et peut causer une anxiété aiguë , même crise d'angoisse.


La combinaison de l'alcool et de la marijuana

Étant donné que l'intoxication à la marijuana et à l'alcool diminue les performances cognitives et comportementales (notamment l'altération de la mémoire de travail), il n'est pas étonnant que, lorsque les deux substances sont prises, ces effets soient plus importants que si l'on n'en utilisait qu'une.

Des enquêtes telles que l’équipe Hartman (2015) suggèrent que, en combinant ces deux drogues, l'alcool potentialise les effets de la marijuana car il augmente la concentration de THC dans le sang, ce qui constitue le principal composant psychoactif du cannabis.

D'autre part, selon une étude réalisée par le groupe de Lukas (2015), la consommation de marijuana altère la motilité gastro-intestinale; Cela entraîne une absorption plus importante de l'alcool par l'organisme, ce qui entraîne une diminution de ses effets.

Il est important de garder à l’esprit que les personnes en situation de dépendance physique et / ou psychologique à l’une de ces substances ont un risque élevé de développer une politoxicomanie s’ils commencent à la combiner avec l’autre , car ils exercent des effets synergiques et peuvent servir de substituts mutuels.

  • Article connexe: "Les 5 types d'alcoolisme (et troubles associés)"

Effets physiologiques et psychologiques de ce mélange

Consommer d'abord de l'alcool, puis de la marijuana, augmente la concentration de THC, car l'alcool facilite son absorption dans le tube digestif. Bien que certaines personnes pratiquent cette combinaison de manière récréative, elle peut provoquer des réactions physiques et cognitives désagréables, en particulier si la quantité d’alcool est excessive.

En particulier, beaucoup de gens réfèrent des signes comme pâleur, sensations de vertige et de faiblesse, nausée et vomissement . De plus, le mélange de ces deux substances augmente le risque de symptômes psychologiques, principalement d'anxiété (pouvant même parfois conduire à des attaques de panique) et de pensées paranoïaques.

L'usage combiné d'alcool et de cannabis est l'une des causes les plus courantes d'accidents de la route Dans le monde entier. En effet, le fait de mélanger les deux substances augmente considérablement la capacité de concentration et de réaction rapide, deux compétences très utiles pour la conduite de véhicules.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Hartman, R. L., Brown, T. L., G. Milavetz, A. Spurgin, D. Gorelick, G. Gaffney et M. Huestis (2015). Administration contrôlée d’évaporateur de cannabis: cannabinoïdes sanguins et plasmatiques avec et sans alcool. Clinical Chemistry, 61 (6): 850-69.
  • Lukas, S.E., Benedikt, R., Mendelson, J.H., Kouri, E., Sholar, M. et Amass, L. (1992). La marihuana atténue la hausse des taux plasmatiques d'éthanol chez l'homme. Neuropsychopharmacology, 7 (1): 77-81.
  • Lukas, S. E. et Orozco, S. (2001). L'éthanol augmente les taux plasmatiques de Delta (9) -tétrahydrocannabinol (THC) et les effets subjectifs après la consommation de marijuana chez des volontaires humains. Dépendances de drogue et d'alcool, 64 (2): 143-9.

Your Brain on Drugs: Alcohol (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes