yes, therapy helps!
Creativity: typologies, dimensions and phases of the creative process

Creativity: typologies, dimensions and phases of the creative process

December 4, 2020

Creativity is a psychological phenomenon of great importance both individually and at a collective level. We need creativity when we seek to solve an everyday problem at an individual level and it is also useful, collectively, in science, in art or in technology.

Any advance of humanity has its origin in a creative idea . In the same way, unfortunately, creativity has been present in most of the most despicable and aberrant situations in the history of mankind. For good and bad, creativity distinguishes us from other beings on this planet, being, perhaps, the most defining characteristic of the human being.


Recommended article: "81 creative phrases to let the imagination fly"

Some integrative proposals to define creativity

The main obstacle to studying creativity at the scientific level is to reach consensus on a definition that will please all those who investigate it from different disciplines. One of the most complete definitions that have been achieved so far is perhaps that of Vernon (1989): Creativity is the ability of the person to produce new and original ideas , discoveries, restructuring, inventions or artistic objects, which are accepted by experts as valuable elements in the field of science, technology or art. Both originality and utility or value are properties of the creative product even though these properties may vary over time. "


With a rather abstract approach, some authors define it as "Ability to produce new ideas, original and appropriate" (Sternberg and Lubart, 1991). It would be understood by original something that is relatively infrequent, although, it agrees to speak of degrees of originality, rather than to see it as something absolute in the sense of "all or nothing". In terms of whether something (idea or product) is appropriate, it is considered that it is when your proposal solves a significant problem or is a decisive intermediate step to achieve greater achievements. Utility is also a matter of degree.

Creativity as a set of dimensions

Other authors have tried to be more concrete in their definitions, approaching creativity from four levels of analysis. It is what has traditionally been known as 4 P's of creativity .


1. The Process

Creativity understood as a mental process (or set of processes) that results in the production of original and adaptive ideas. It is the perspective adopted by the Cognitive Psychology, which has focused on studying different cognitive operations such as problem solving, imagination, intuition, the use of heuristics (mental strategies) and the insight (spontaneous revelation).

Some theories that have dealt with the different stages of the creative process are inspired by the initial proposal of Wallas (1926). Other authors have devoted themselves to trying to identify the components of creative thinking, such is the case of the studies of Mumford and his colleagues (1991, 1997).

2. The Product (product)

Creativity can be conceptualized as a characteristic of a product , understood as a product of a work of art, a scientific discovery or a technological invention, among others. Generally, a creative product is one that is considered original, that is, it manages to combine novelty, complexity and surprise. In addition, it is adaptive, which means that it is capable of solving some environmental problem. Also, depending on the domain in which it is located, the creative product is related to characteristics such as beauty, truth, elegance and virtuosity, (Runco, 1996).

3. Person (personality)

Here, creativity is understood as a trait, or profile of personality and / or intelligence characteristic of a specific person. It is a quality or individual capacity, so that some individuals have more than others (Barron, 1969).

Individual creativity is one of the objects of study of differential psychology , from where several features that seem to coincide in creative people have been found. Among others, they are: intrinsic motivation (not needing external incentives to create), the breadth of interests (high curiosity in different domains), openness to experience (desire to experiment and high tolerance to failure) and autonomy (Helson , 1972). Currently, personality is understood as one of the influences on creative behavior, and not something that fully explains such behavior (Feist and Barron, 2003).

4. The environment (place or press):

The environment or climate in which creativity emerges is decisive . By combining certain elements of the situation, we manage to facilitate or block the creative process.Creativity usually appears when there are opportunities to explore, when the individual is given independence in his work and the environment fosters originality (Amabile, 1990).

In addition, the environment is key in the assessment of creativity because, ultimately, it will be who determines whether the product can be considered creative or not.

Interaction between creative elements

Evidently, these four elements of creativity are totally related in practice . It is expected that a creative product is generated by a creative person, applying creativity processes, in an environment conducive to the development of such a product and, probably, in an environment prepared for its evaluation. At 4 P's, recently, two new ones have been added, so now we usually talk about the 6 P's of creativity . The fifth P corresponds to Persuasion (Simonton, 1990) and the sixth is the Potential (Runco, 2003).

If we reformulate the question, what is creativity ?, we will obtain, as we have seen, several answers depending on where we put the focus: the person, the product, the process, the environment, persuasion or potentiality. Also, we could refer to the creativity of geniuses, to that of young children, or to that of any person in their daily life, regardless of their age or their genius.

So far, most definitions focus on three defining components or characteristics of the creative fact: the originality that supposes the idea, its quality and its adjustment , that is, how is it appropriate for what it intends to solve. Therefore, it can be said that a creative response is one that is, at the same time, new, appropriate and relevant.

Creativity as a magnitude

Another alternative approach establishes differences between different levels of creativity, addressing it as a magnitude instead of considering it as a set of fixed characteristics. The range of creativity magnitude would range from the lesser or mundane creativity "Little-c" (more subjective) to greater creativity, mature creativity or eminence "Big-C" (more objective).

The first, the worldly creativity, makes mention of the daily individual creativity that any of us uses to solve some problem . It is part of human nature and is materialized in something new for the individual, or for its immediate environment, but it rarely has recognition or supposes a remarkable value at a social level (Richards, 2007). It is a category of great interest in the analysis of influential factors in creativity common at the domestic level, at school or in the workplace (Cropley, 2011).

The second it has to do with the actions and products of eminent individuals in some field . They are those characters that show high performance and / or manage to transform a domain of knowledge or social, for example: Charles Darwin, Newton, Mozart or Luther King.

Mini-c and Pro-c

If we consider the magnitude of creativity as something dichotomous (white or black), we will find the problem of not being able to identify nuances that occur between the Little-c category and the Big-C . That is to say, to speak of two types of creativity, mundane or eminent, does not represent the real distribution of the characteristic in the population because between both a range of possibilities is extended. To try to overcome the limitations of dichotomous categorization, Beghetto and Kaufman (2009) propose to include two new categories, Mini-c and Pro-c, thus expanding to four the categories that would attempt to frame the phenomenon of creativity.

The Mini-c creativity is the most subjective form of all creativity classes. It refers to the new knowledge acquired by an individual and how he internally interprets his personal experiences. In research, it is useful to understand the personal aspects and the development of creativity, helping to explain it in young children.

The Pro-c category represents a level of evolution and effort that begins in the Little-c but it does not become the Big-C, helping to understand the area that extends between both. It corresponds to creativity related to expertise in a professional area. It should be noted that not all expert professionals in an area achieve this type of creativity. Those who achieve it require approximately 10 years of preparation in their domain to become "experts". To become Pro, we will need to prepare a cocktail that contains high doses of knowledge, motivation and performance.

Creativity as a continuum

Although with four categories we can better cover the phenomenon of creativity, they are still scarce to capture its complex nature. Therefore, some authors prefer to treat creativity as a continuum.

Cohen (2011) proposes his "continuum of adaptive creative behaviors". This author considers the interaction between the person and the environment fundamental, from an adaptive perspective , to analyze creativity. His continuum ranges from creativity in young children, to the creativity of eminent adults, establishing seven levels or stages.It proposes some influential variables for the development of creativity along the continuum, such as: purpose, novelty, value, speed and structure.

The mentioned works are only a brief sample of the effort made, especially since 1950, to define creativity from multiple spheres of knowledge, although here we have focused on works in the field of psychology.

Among all the disciplines we are setting certain points according to the time to establish what can be understood by creativity and what is not, although, we are still on the way to decipher the enigma and establish some truth about this phenomenon, which will hardly reach to be absolute, as often happens with many other constructs in the field of social sciences, but that will help us to understand a little better the world around us and our own inner world .

Bibliographic references:

  • Amabile, T. M. (1990). Within you, without you: The social psychology of creativity, and beyond. In M. A. Runco, & R. S. Albert (Edits.), Theories of creativity (pp. 61-91). Newbury Park, CA: Sage.
  • Barron, F. (1969). Creative person and creative process. New York: Holt, Rinehart & Winston.
  • Beghetto, R. A., & Kaufman, J. C. (2009). Intellectual estuaries: Connecting learning and creativity in programs of advanced academics. Journal of Advanced Academics (20), 296-324.
  • Cohen, L. M. (2011). Adaptation, adaptiveness, and creativity. In M. A. Runco, & S. R. Pritzker (Edits.), Encyclopedia of Creativity (2nd ed., Pp. 9-17). London: Elseiver.
  • Cropley, A. J. (2011). Definitions of creativity. In Encyclopedia of Creativity (pages 358-369). London: Elsevier.
  • Feist, G. J., & Barron, F. X. (2003). Predicting creativity from early to late adulthood: Intellect, potential and personality. Journal of research in personality.
  • Helson, R. (1972). Personality of women with imaginative and artistic interests: The role of maculinity, originality, and other characteristics in their creativity. Journal of creative Behavior.
  • Mumford, M. D., Baughman, W. A., Maher, M. A., Costanza, D. P., & Supinski, E. P. (1997). Process-based measures of creative problem solving skills: IV. Category combination. Creativity Research Journal.
  • Mumford, M.D., Mobley, M.I., Uhlman, C.E., Reiter-Palmon, R., & Doares, L.M. (1991). Process analytic models of creative capabilities. Creativity Research Journal.
  • Richards, R. (2007). Everyday creativity and new views of human nature: Psychological, social, and spiritual perspectives. American Psychological Association. Washington, DC.
  • Runco, M. A. (2003). Education for creative potential. Scandinavian Journal of Education.
  • Runco, M. A. (1996). Personal creativity: Definition and developmental issues. New Directions for Child development.
  • Simonton, D. K. (1990). History, chemistry, psychology, and genius: An intellectual autobiography of historiometry. In M. A. Runco, & R. S. Albert (Edits.), Theories of creativity. Newbury Park, CA: Sage.
  • Sternberg, R. J., & Lubart, T. I. (1991). An investment theory of creativity and its development. Human Development, 34 (1).
  • Vernon, P. (1989). The nature-nurture problem in creativity. In J. A. Glober, R. Ronning, & C. R. Reynols (Edits.), Handbook of creativity. New York: Plenum.
  • Wallas, G. (1926). The art of thought. New York: Harcourt Brace and World.

CPQ [D&D]® Creative Potential. Identification & Development. (December 2020).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Créativité: typologies, dimensions et phases du processus de création

Créativité: typologies, dimensions et phases du processus de création

Mai 25, 2022

La créativité est un phénomène psychologique d’une grande importance, à la fois individuellement et collectivement. Nous avons besoin de créativité lorsque nous cherchons à résoudre un problème quotidien au niveau individuel et que cela est également utile, collectivement, en science, en art ou en technologie.

Toute avancée de l'humanité trouve son origine dans une idée créative . De la même manière, malheureusement, la créativité a été présente dans la plupart des situations les plus abominables et aberrantes de l’histoire de l’humanité. Pour le meilleur et pour le pire, la créativité nous distingue des autres êtres de cette planète, en étant peut-être la caractéristique la plus déterminante de l'être humain.


Article recommandé: "81 phrases créatives pour laisser aller l'imagination"

Quelques propositions intégratives pour définir la créativité

Le principal obstacle à l’étude de la créativité au niveau scientifique est de parvenir à un consensus sur une définition qui plaira à tous ceux qui la recherchent dans différentes disciplines. L’une des définitions les plus complètes qui aient été réalisées jusqu’à présent est peut-être celle de Vernon (1989): La créativité est la capacité de la personne à produire des idées nouvelles et originales , découvertes, restructurations, inventions ou objets d’art, acceptés par les experts comme des éléments précieux dans le domaine de la science, de la technologie ou de l’art. L'originalité et l'utilité ou la valeur sont des propriétés du produit créatif, même si ces propriétés peuvent varier dans le temps. "


Avec une approche plutôt abstraite, certains auteurs le définissent comme "Capacité à produire de nouvelles idées, originales et appropriées" (Sternberg et Lubart, 1991). Il serait compris par quelque chose d'original qui est relativement peu fréquent, bien qu'il convienne de parler de degrés d'originalité plutôt que de le voir comme quelque chose d'absolu au sens de "tout ou rien". Que ce soit (idée ou produit) est approprié, on considère que cela se produit lorsque votre proposition résout un problème important ou constitue une étape intermédiaire décisive pour atteindre de meilleurs résultats. L'utilité est aussi une question de degré.

La créativité comme ensemble de dimensions

D'autres auteurs ont essayé d'être plus concrets dans leurs définitions, abordant la créativité à partir de quatre niveaux d'analyse. C’est ce qui a toujours été appelé 4 P de la créativité .


1. Le processus

La créativité comprise comme un processus mental (ou un ensemble de processus) qui aboutit à la production d'idées originales et adaptatives. C'est la perspective adoptée par la psychologie cognitive, qui s'est concentrée sur l'étude de différentes opérations cognitives telles que la résolution de problèmes, l'imagination, l'intuition, l'utilisation d'heuristiques (stratégies mentales) et la perspicacité (révélation spontanée).

Certaines théories traitant des différentes étapes du processus de création s’inspirent de la proposition initiale de Wallas (1926). D'autres auteurs se sont consacrés à essayer d'identifier les composantes de la pensée créative, tel est le cas des études de Mumford et ses collègues (1991, 1997).

2. Le produit (produit)

La créativité peut être conceptualisée comme une caractéristique d'un produit , compris comme le produit d’une œuvre d’art, d’une découverte scientifique ou d’une invention technologique, entre autres. En règle générale, un produit créatif est considéré comme un produit original, c’est-à-dire qu’il parvient à combiner nouveauté, complexité et surprise. De plus, il est adaptatif, ce qui signifie qu'il est capable de résoudre certains problèmes environnementaux. De plus, en fonction du domaine dans lequel il se situe, le produit créatif est lié à des caractéristiques telles que la beauté, la vérité, l'élégance et la virtuosité (Runco, 1996).

3. Personne (personnalité)

Ici, la créativité est comprise comme un trait, ou un profil de personnalité et / ou d'intelligence caractéristique d'une personne spécifique. C'est une qualité ou une capacité individuelle, de sorte que certaines personnes ont plus que d'autres (Barron, 1969).

La créativité individuelle est l'un des objets d'étude de la psychologie différentielle , d’où plusieurs caractéristiques qui semblent coïncider chez les créatifs ont été trouvées. Ce sont entre autres: la motivation intrinsèque (ne pas avoir besoin d’incitations externes pour créer), la diversité des intérêts (forte curiosité dans différents domaines), l’ouverture à l’expérience (désir d’expérimenter et une grande tolérance à l’échec) et l’autonomie 1972). Actuellement, la personnalité est comprise comme l'une des influences sur le comportement créatif, et non pas comme quelque chose qui explique pleinement un tel comportement (Feist et Barron, 2003).

4. L'environnement (lieu ou presse):

L'environnement ou le climat dans lequel émerge la créativité est décisif . En combinant certains éléments de la situation, nous parvenons à faciliter ou à bloquer le processus de création.La créativité apparaît généralement lorsqu'il existe des possibilités d'exploration, lorsque l'individu jouit d'une indépendance dans son travail et que l'environnement favorise l'originalité (Amabile, 1990).

En outre, l’environnement est essentiel pour évaluer la créativité, car c’est en dernier ressort qui déterminera si le produit peut être considéré comme créatif ou non.

Interaction entre éléments créatifs

Évidemment ces quatre éléments de créativité sont totalement liés dans la pratique . On s'attend à ce qu'un produit créatif soit généré par une personne créative, appliquant des processus de créativité, dans un environnement propice au développement d'un tel produit et, probablement, dans un environnement préparé pour son évaluation. Aux 4 P, récemment, deux nouveaux ont été ajoutés, nous parlons donc maintenant de la 6 P de la créativité . Le cinquième P correspond à la persuasion (Simonton, 1990) et le sixième au potentiel (Runco, 2003).

Si nous reformulons la question, qu'est-ce que la créativité?, Nous obtiendrons, comme nous l'avons vu, plusieurs réponses selon l'endroit où nous mettons l'accent: la personne, le produit, le processus, l'environnement, la persuasion ou la potentialité. Nous pourrions également faire référence à la créativité des génies, à celle des jeunes enfants ou à celle de toute personne de leur quotidien, quels que soient leur âge et leur génie.

Jusqu'à présent, la plupart des définitions se concentrent sur trois composantes ou caractéristiques du fait créatif: l'originalité que suppose l'idée, sa qualité et son ajustement , c’est-à-dire, comment cela convient-il à ce qu’il entend résoudre. Par conséquent, on peut dire qu'une réponse créative est une réponse à la fois nouvelle, appropriée et pertinente.

La créativité en tant que grandeur

Une autre approche permet d’établir des différences entre les différents niveaux de créativité, en la considérant comme une magnitude au lieu de la considérer comme un ensemble de caractéristiques fixes. La gamme de l'ampleur de la créativité va de la créativité moindre ou mondaine "Little-c" (plus subjective) à une plus grande créativité, une créativité mature ou une éminence "Big-C" (plus objective).

Le premier, le créativité mondaine, fait mention de la créativité individuelle quotidienne que chacun de nous utilise pour résoudre un problème . Cela fait partie de la nature humaine et se matérialise en quelque chose de nouveau pour l'individu ou pour son environnement immédiat, mais il est rarement reconnu ou suppose une valeur remarquable au niveau social (Richards, 2007). C'est une catégorie de grand intérêt pour l'analyse des facteurs influents de la créativité communs au niveau domestique, à l'école ou sur le lieu de travail (Cropley, 2011).

La deuxième il a à voir avec les actions et les produits de personnalités éminentes dans certains domaines . Ce sont des personnages très performants et / ou qui parviennent à transformer un domaine de la connaissance ou du social, par exemple: Charles Darwin, Newton, Mozart ou Luther King.

Mini-c et Pro-c

Si nous considérons l’ampleur de la créativité comme quelque chose de dichotomique (blanc ou noir), nous trouverons le problème de ne pas pouvoir identifier les nuances qui se produisent entre la catégorie Little-c et Big-C . C'est-à-dire que parler de deux types de créativité, banale ou éminente, ne représente pas la répartition réelle de la caractéristique dans la population, car entre elles, une gamme de possibilités est étendue. Pour tenter de surmonter les limites de la catégorisation dichotomique, Beghetto et Kaufman (2009) proposent d'inclure deux nouvelles catégories, Mini-c et Pro-c, élargissant ainsi à quatre le nombre de catégories susceptibles de cadrer le phénomène de la créativité.

La créativité Mini-c est la forme la plus subjective de toutes les classes de créativité. Il fait référence aux nouvelles connaissances acquises par un individu et à la manière dont il interprète en interne ses expériences personnelles. En recherche, il est utile de comprendre les aspects personnels et le développement de la créativité, en aidant à l'expliquer chez les jeunes enfants.

La catégorie Pro-c représente un niveau d’évolution et d’effort qui commence au Little-c mais il ne devient pas le Big-C, aidant à comprendre le domaine qui s'étend entre les deux. Cela correspond à une créativité liée à une expertise dans un domaine professionnel. Il convient de noter que tous les experts dans un domaine ne parviennent pas à ce type de créativité. Ceux qui y parviennent ont besoin d’environ 10 ans de préparation dans leur domaine pour devenir des "experts". Pour devenir Pro, nous devrons préparer un cocktail contenant de fortes doses de connaissances, de motivation et de performances.

La créativité en tant que continuum

Bien que nous puissions mieux couvrir le phénomène de la créativité avec quatre catégories, elles sont encore rares pour saisir sa nature complexe. Par conséquent, certains auteurs préfèrent traiter la créativité comme un continuum.

Cohen (2011) propose son "continuum de comportements créatifs adaptatifs". Cet auteur considère que l'interaction entre la personne et l'environnement est fondamentale, dans une perspective adaptative , analyser la créativité. Son continuum va de la créativité chez les jeunes enfants à la créativité d'adultes éminents, en établissant sept niveaux ou étapes.Il propose des variables influentes pour le développement de la créativité le long du continuum, telles que: but, nouveauté, valeur, rapidité et structure.

Les travaux mentionnés ne représentent qu’un bref échantillon des efforts déployés, en particulier depuis 1950, pour définir la créativité à partir de multiples domaines de la connaissance, bien que nous nous concentrions ici sur des travaux relevant du domaine de la psychologie.

Parmi toutes les disciplines, nous fixons certains points en fonction du temps pour établir ce qui peut être compris par la créativité et ce qui ne l’est pas, même si nous sommes toujours sur le point de déchiffrer l’énigme et d’établir une vérité sur ce phénomène qui n’atteindra guère. être absolu, comme cela arrive souvent avec beaucoup d'autres constructions dans le domaine des sciences sociales, mais que nous aidera à comprendre un peu mieux le monde qui nous entoure et notre propre monde intérieur .

Références bibliographiques:

  • Amabile, T.M. (1990). En vous, sans vous: la psychologie sociale de la créativité et au-delà. Dans M. A. Runco et R.S. Albert (Edits.), Théories de la créativité (pp. 61-91). Newbury Park, Californie: Sage.
  • Barron, F. (1969). Personne créative et processus créatif. New York: Holt, Rinehart et Winston.
  • Beghetto, R. A. et Kaufman, J. C. (2009). Estuaires intellectuels: Connecter l'apprentissage et la créativité dans les programmes d'universitaires avancés. Journal of Advanced Academics (20), 296-324.
  • Cohen, L. M. (2011). Adaptation, adaptabilité et créativité. Dans M. A. Runco, & S. R. Pritzker (Edits.), Encyclopedia of Creativity (2e éd., P. 9-17). Londres: Elseiver.
  • Cropley, A. J. (2011). Définitions de la créativité. Dans Encyclopédie de la créativité (pages 358 à 369). Londres: Elsevier.
  • Feist, G.J. & Barron, F.X. (2003). Prédire la créativité du début à la fin de l'âge adulte: intelligence, potentiel et personnalité. Journal de recherche en personnalité.
  • Helson, R. (1972). Personnalité des femmes ayant des intérêts imaginatifs et artistiques: rôle de la maculinité, de l’originalité et d’autres caractéristiques dans leur créativité. Journal du comportement créatif.
  • Mumford, M.D., Baughman, W.A., Maher, M.A., Costanza, D.P., et Supinski, E.P. (1997). Mesures basées sur le processus des compétences créatives en résolution de problèmes: IV. Combinaison de catégories. Journal de recherche sur la créativité.
  • Mumford, M. D., Mobley, M. I., Uhlman, C. E., Reiter-Palmon, R. et Doares, L. M. (1991). Modèles d'analyse de processus des capacités créatives. Journal de recherche sur la créativité.
  • Richards, R. (2007). Créativité quotidienne et nouvelles conceptions de la nature humaine: perspectives psychologiques, sociales et spirituelles. American Psychological Association. Washington, DC
  • Runco, M. A. (2003). Education pour le potentiel créatif. Journal scandinave de l'éducation.
  • Runco, M. A. (1996). Créativité personnelle: problèmes de définition et de développement. Nouvelles orientations pour le développement de l'enfant.
  • Simonton, D. K. (1990). Histoire, chimie, psychologie et génie: une autobiographie intellectuelle de l'historiométrie. Dans M. A. Runco et R.S. Albert (Edits.), Théories de la créativité. Newbury Park, Californie: Sage.
  • Sternberg, R.J. & Lubart, T.I. (1991). Une théorie d'investissement de la créativité et de son développement. Développement humain, 34 (1).
  • Vernon, P. (1989). Le problème de la nature dans la créativité. Dans J. A. Glober, R. Ronning et C. R. Reynols (Edits.), Manuel de la créativité. New York: plénum.
  • Wallas, G. (1926). L'art de la pensée New York: Harcourt Brace and World.

CORRADO MALANGA Les Ovnis dans l'Esprit (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes