yes, therapy helps!
Russell's teapot: how do we think about the existence of God?

Russell's teapot: how do we think about the existence of God?

June 21, 2022

Science and religion are two concepts that have often been seen as contrary, being two ways of trying to explain the reality that surrounds us and the same existence. Each one of them has its own characteristics, which even though they are not per se, they make their perspectives and ways of functioning differ in basic elements.

One of them is the position regarding the existence of God, something that various authors have debated long and hard throughout history. And within that debate, the discussion has stood out as to whether its existence is probable or not and in any case if what should be provided are proofs of its existence or non-existence. One of the concepts that have been used in this regard is the Russell teapot , this being the concept we are going to talk about throughout this article.


  • Related article: "How are Psychology and Philosophy alike?"

What is Russell's teapot?

In 1952 the magazine Illustrated Magazine commissioned the famous philosopher, mathematician and writer and already then awarded with the Nobel Prize for Literature Bertrand Russell the writing of an article in which it reflected his opinion regarding the existence of God and the arguments used to debate that existence .

It would be in that article, which was finally not published, in which the renowned author used the analogy that is now known as Russell's teapot. The latter reads as follows:

If I had to suggest that between the Earth and Mars there is a Chinese teapot rotating around the sun in an elliptical orbit, no one would be able to reject my claim if I had taken the precaution of adding that the teapot is too small to be observed even by our telescopes. more powerful. But if I said that, since my affirmation can not be rejected, it is intolerable the presumption on the part of the human reason to doubt it, it would be thought that I am saying nonsense. Yes, however, the existence of such a teapot was affirmed in ancient books, taught as sacred truth every Sunday and instilled in the minds of children in school, the hesitation to believe in its existence would be a sign of eccentricity, and who I doubt it would deserve the attention of a psychiatrist in an enlightened time or an inquisitor in earlier times.


Thus, Russell's teapot is an analogy or simile that the author uses in order to present a skeptical perspective with regard to the discussion and the bias that is committed when considering as an argument of the existence of God the fact of not being able to prove its nonexistence.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Types of religion (and their differences in beliefs and ideas)"

What is this argument really defending?

Keep in mind that while it may seem an argument contrary to religion or belief in God and in fact is often used in this regard, the truth is that the Russell teapot argument it is not deterministic and does not establish that there really can not be a deity : it only tries to show that the argumentation of its existence can not be based on the impossibility of denying it absolutely.

In other words, what the Russell teapot concept tells us is not that God exists or not (although Russell himself was skeptical about his existence at the time he wrote the argument we are dealing with in this article). ), but it does not make sense to define saying yes it does because there is no evidence to the contrary or pretend that such proof is necessary in order to deny it.


Thus, we would be facing a skeptical position that would rather be against a dogmatic position that demands the need to demonstrate that something does not exist to be able to say that it does not.

And it is that this way of thinking can not have a result other than that offered to dogma: as with the previous teapot, if God did not exist, it would not be possible to know it with complete certainty if we consider that perhaps our technology and ability to look for it not for the sufficient moment.

Thus, it defines the existence or nonexistence of the deity as something that it is neither verifiable nor falsifiable since it is not possible to perform checks with parameters that can test either of the two positions.

Not only applicable to religion

The argument or analogy of the teapot of Russell was originally raised in order to assess the fact that some orthodox religious positions suggest that the dogma and the very existence of God is demonstrated by the inability to provide evidence to deny it .

But beyond the religious sphere itself the analogy would still be applicable in all that situation in which it was demanded of a test that given the conditions presented in the assumed hypothesis or belief it was not impossible to carry out a verification or falsification of the matter. This serves as a basis, for example, for subjective aspects such as the beliefs and prejudices we make about others, certain moral precepts or organizational aspects such as leadership or power.

Bibliographic references:

  • Russell, B. (1952). Is there a God? Illustrated Magazine (unpublished). [On-line]. Available at: //web.archive.org/web/20130710005113///www.cfpf.org.uk/articles/religion/br/br_god.html

What is RUSSELL'S TEAPOT? What does RUSSELL'S TEAPOT mean? RUSSELL'S TEAPOT meaning & explanation (June 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La théière de Russell: comment pensons-nous de l'existence de Dieu?

La théière de Russell: comment pensons-nous de l'existence de Dieu?

Juillet 22, 2022

La science et la religion sont deux concepts qui ont souvent été considérés comme contraires, deux manières d’expliquer la réalité qui nous entoure et la même existence. Chacune d’entre elles a ses propres caractéristiques qui, bien qu’elles ne soient pas en soi, font que leurs perspectives et leurs modes de fonctionnement diffèrent par des éléments fondamentaux.

L'un d'entre eux est la position concernant l'existence de Dieu, ce que divers auteurs ont longuement et longuement débattu au cours de l'histoire. Et dans le cadre de ce débat, la discussion s’est ouverte sur le point de savoir si son existence est probable ou non et, en tout état de cause, si ce qui doit être fourni est une preuve de son existence ou de sa non-existence. L’un des concepts utilisés à cet égard est la théière Russell. , c’est le concept dont nous allons parler tout au long de cet article.


  • Article connexe: "En quoi la psychologie et la philosophie sont-elles semblables?"

Quelle est la théière de Russell?

En 1952, le magazine Illustrated Magazine confia au célèbre philosophe, mathématicien et écrivain le prix Nobel de littérature Bertrand Bertrand pour la rédaction d'un article dans lequel il reflétait son opinion sur l'existence de Dieu et les arguments utilisés pour débattre de cette existence .

Ce serait dans cet article, qui n'a finalement pas été publié, dans lequel le célèbre auteur a utilisé l'analogie connue aujourd'hui sous le nom de théière de Russell. Ce dernier se lit comme suit:

Si je devais suggérer qu'entre la Terre et Mars il y a une théière chinoise tournant autour du soleil sur une orbite elliptique, personne ne pourrait rejeter ma demande si j'avais pris la précaution d'ajouter que la théière est trop petite pour être observée même par nos télescopes. plus puissant. Mais si je disais que, puisque mon affirmation ne peut être rejetée, il est intolérable de présumer de la raison humaine de douter de cela, on penserait que je dis un non-sens. Oui, l’existence d’une telle théière a été affirmée dans des livres anciens, enseignée comme vérité sacrée tous les dimanches et inculquée dans l’esprit des enfants scolarisés, l’hésitation à croire en son existence serait un signe d’excentricité et Je doute que cela mérite l’attention d’un psychiatre à une époque éclairée ou d’un inquisiteur des temps anciens.


Ainsi, la théière de Russell est une analogie ou une comparaison que l'auteur utilise pour présenter une perspective sceptique en ce qui concerne la discussion et le parti pris qui est pris lorsque l'on considère comme un argument de l'existence de Dieu le fait de ne pas pouvoir prouver sa non-existence.

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Types de religion (et leurs différences de croyances et d'idées)"

Qu'est-ce que cet argument défend vraiment?

Gardez à l'esprit que, même si cela peut sembler être un argument contraire à la religion ou à la conviction en Dieu et qu'il est souvent utilisé à cet égard, la vérité est que l'argument de la théière Russell il n'est pas déterministe et n'établit pas qu'il ne peut y avoir de divinité : il cherche seulement à montrer que l'argumentation de son existence ne peut pas être basée sur l'impossibilité de le nier de manière absolue.

En d'autres termes, le concept de la théière Russell ne nous dit pas que Dieu existe ou non (même si Russell était lui-même sceptique quant à son existence au moment où il a rédigé l'argument dont nous traitons dans cet article). ), sinon quoi définir "oui" n’a aucun sens car il n’ya aucune preuve du contraire ou prétendre qu'une telle preuve est nécessaire pour la nier.


Ainsi, nous serions confrontés à une position sceptique qui serait plutôt opposée à une position dogmatique qui exige la nécessité de démontrer que quelque chose n’existe pas pour pouvoir dire que ce n’est pas le cas.

Et c’est que cette façon de penser ne peut avoir un autre résultat que celui offert au dogme: comme avec la théière précédente, si Dieu n’existait pas, il ne serait pas possible de le savoir avec une certitude absolue si nous considérions que peut-être notre technologie et notre capacité à ne le cherchez pas pour le moment suffisant.

Ainsi, il définit l’existence ou la non-existence de la divinité comme quelque chose qui il n'est ni vérifiable ni falsifiable dans la mesure où il n'est pas possible d'effectuer des contrôles avec des paramètres permettant de tester l'une ou l'autre des deux positions.

Non seulement applicable à la religion

L'argument ou l'analogie de la théière de Russell a été soulevé à l'origine afin d'évaluer le fait que certaines positions religieuses orthodoxes suggèrent que le dogme et l'existence même de Dieu sont démontrés par l'incapacité de fournir des preuves pour le nier .

Mais au-delà de la sphère religieuse elle-même, l'analogie resterait applicable dans toutes les situations dans lesquelles il était exigé d'un test que, compte tenu des conditions présentées dans l'hypothèse ou la conviction présumée, il n'était pas impossible de procéder à une vérification ou à une falsification de la question. Ceci sert de base, par exemple, à des aspects subjectifs tels que les croyances et les préjugés que nous faisons à propos des autres, à certains préceptes moraux ou à des aspects organisationnels tels que le leadership ou le pouvoir.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Russell, B. (1952). Y a t-il un dieu? Illustrated Magazine (non publié). [En ligne] Disponible à: http://web.archive.org/web/20130710005113///www.cfpf.org.uk/articles/religion/br/br_god.html

Militant atheism | Richard Dawkins (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes