yes, therapy helps!
Dermatilomania (excoriation disorder): symptoms and causes

Dermatilomania (excoriation disorder): symptoms and causes

July 19, 2024

The excoriation disorder , also known as dermatilomania, involves scratching and tearing parts of the skin, usually because of intense feelings of anxiety.

In this article we will describe the symptoms, causes and treatment of dermatilomania ; in relation to this last aspect we will focus on the habit inversion technique.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 16 most common mental disorders"

What is dermatilomania?

Dermatilomania is a psychological disorder characterized by a intense and frequent urge to pinch, scratch or tear off parts of one's own skin . The DSM-5 introduces it under the nomenclature "Disorder by excoriation" within the category of obsessive-compulsive disorder and other related, which is also the trichotillomania.


According to this diagnostic manual, the disorder by excoriation is defined as the habit of scratching the skin in a compulsive and repetitive way until causing injuries. These can be considerable and there is a significant risk that infections will occur in the damaged regions.

Despite the fact that most experts point the closeness between dermatilomania and obsessive-compulsive disorders , Odlaug and Grant (2010) state that it is more similar to addictions because the act of pinching or scratching the skin involves pleasurable emotions. In contrast, in compulsive disorders, rituals have the objective of reducing anxiety.

This disorder was first described in 1875 by Erasmus Wilson, who referred to it as "neurotic excoriations." Shortly thereafter, in 1898, Louis-Anne-Jean Brocq described several similar cases in adolescent girls with acne. Despite the multiple references in the literature, until the DSM-5 the dermatilomanía had not been officially recognized .


  • Related article: "Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder (OCD): what is it and how does it manifest?"

Symptoms and main signs

The scientific literature reveals that feelings of anxiety and emotional tension trigger episodes of dermatilomania. These usually target a part of the skin in which the person perceives some type of imperfection, such as a pimple or peeling.

The face is the most common target of the injuries, although they also frequently occur on the back, chest, scalp or limbs, especially on the nails and on the tips of the fingers. Usually excoriations are performed with the fingers , although sometimes the mouth or instruments are used as needles.

These episodes can occur repeatedly during daily life, but it is also possible that only one is given per day with a very high duration and intensity. In general, people with dermatilomania focus on only one part of the body, except when it is severely damaged.


Dermatilomania can cause serious alterations in the skin, mainly damage to affected tissues, appearance of pustules and infections that sometimes even reach the blood (septicemia). The excoriation can also leave scars or disfigure the skin, which increases the strong feelings of shame and guilt of people with dermatilomania.

Causes of this disorder

The motivations for episodes of dermatilomania vary depending on the person. However, a widely accepted hypothesis is that physiological activation, and in particular that which derives from psychosocial stress , triggers excoriation behaviors, which have anxiolytic functionality.

While in obsessive-compulsive profiles dermatilomania is usually associated with the perception of skin contamination, in others closer to body dysmorphic disorder the purpose of these behaviors has to do with the attempt to eliminate physical imperfections.

A relationship has been found between dermatilomania and increase in dopamine levels, involved in motor control , in the brain reward system and in the development of addictions. The excessive presence of this neurotransmitter, which happens when consuming substances such as cocaine, seems to promote excoriation.

On the other hand, it has been proposed that this disorder could have its biological basis in the frontostriated motor circuit, which connects the frontal lobe regions on which cognitive functions depend on the basal ganglia, fundamental for automatic movements.

  • Related article: "Dopamine: 7 essential functions of this neurotransmitter"

Psychological treatment: reversal of habit

As with other disorders related to physical and motor habits, including tics, onychophagia, trichotillomania, stuttering or temporomandibular syndrome, dermatilomania can be managed through the habit reversal technique of Azrin and Nunn (1973), which is part of cognitive-behavioral therapy.

This procedure consists of several steps. In the first place, a training is carried out to promote the detection of the excoriation behaviors, which in many cases are automatic, as well as the stimuli that precede them, mainly the sensations of emotional tension.

Then a response that is incompatible with the negative habit is practiced to execute it when the impulse of, in this case, scratching the skin appears; this new behavior must become a habit that replaces excoriation. An example could be to close the fists to prevent the fingers from touching the body.

The rest of the components of the Azrin and Nunn program consist in applying contingent reinforcement to the absence of excoriation (management of contingencies), teaching relaxation techniques to the client to reduce the anxiety that triggers the episodes, and finally systematically generalize the skills to the client. context of everyday life.

Bibliographic references:

  • Azrin, N. H. & Nunn, R. G. (1973). Habit-reversal: a method of eliminating nervous habits and tics. Behavior Research and Therapy, 11 (4): 619-28.
  • Dell'Osso, B., Altamura, A.C., Allen, A., Marazziti, D. & Hollander, E. (2006). Epidemiologic and clinical updates on impulse control disorders: a critical review. European Archives of Psychiatry and Clinical Neurosciences, 256 (8): 464-75.
  • Odlaug, B. L. & Grant, J. E. (2010). Pathologic skin picking. American Journal of Drug and Alcohol Abuse, 36 (5): 296-303.

How to Recognize Dermatillomania Symptoms (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Dermatilomanie (trouble de l'excoriation): symptômes et causes

Dermatilomanie (trouble de l'excoriation): symptômes et causes

Juillet 18, 2022

Le trouble de l'excoriation , également connu sous le nom de dermatilomanie, consiste à gratter et à déchirer des parties de la peau, généralement à cause de sensations d'anxiété intenses.

Dans cet article, nous allons décrire les symptômes, les causes et le traitement de la dermatilomanie ; Par rapport à ce dernier aspect, nous nous concentrerons sur la technique d'inversion des habitudes.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 16 troubles mentaux les plus courants"

Qu'est-ce que la dermatilomanie?

La dermatilomanie est un trouble psychologique caractérisé par une envie intense et fréquente de pincer, gratter ou déchirer des parties de sa peau . Le DSM-5 l'introduit sous la nomenclature "Trouble par excoriation" dans la catégorie des troubles obsessionnels compulsifs et autres troubles connexes, qui est également la trichotillomanie.


Selon ce manuel de diagnostic, le trouble par excoriation est défini comme l’habitude de se gratter la peau de manière compulsive et répétitive jusqu’à causer des blessures. Celles-ci peuvent être considérables et il existe un risque important que des infections se produisent dans les régions endommagées.

Malgré le fait que la plupart des experts soulignent la proximité entre la dermatilomanie et les troubles obsessionnels compulsifs Odlaug et Grant (2010) affirment que cela ressemble davantage à une dépendance parce que le fait de pincer ou de gratter la peau implique des émotions agréables. En revanche, dans les troubles compulsifs, les rituels ont pour objectif de réduire l'anxiété.

Ce trouble a été décrit pour la première fois en 1875 par Erasmus Wilson, qui l'a qualifié d '"excoriations névrotiques". Peu de temps après, en 1898, Louis-Anne-Jean Brocq décrivit plusieurs cas similaires chez des adolescentes acnéiques. Malgré les multiples références dans la littérature, jusqu'à ce que le DSM-5 la dermatilomanía n'avait pas été officiellement reconnue .


  • Article connexe: "Le trouble obsessionnel-compulsif (TOC): de quoi s'agit-il et comment se manifeste-t-il?"

Symptômes et principaux signes

La littérature scientifique révèle que des sentiments d'anxiété et de tension émotionnelle déclenchent des épisodes de dermatilomanie. Celles-ci ciblent généralement une partie de la peau dans laquelle la personne perçoit un type d'imperfection, tel qu'un bouton ou une desquamation.

Le visage est la cible la plus fréquente des blessures, même si elles se produisent également fréquemment sur le dos, la poitrine, le cuir chevelu ou les membres, en particulier sur les ongles et sur le bout des doigts. Normalement les excoriations se font avec les doigts , bien que parfois la bouche ou les instruments servent d’aiguilles.

Ces épisodes peuvent se produire de manière répétée au cours de la vie quotidienne, mais il est également possible qu’un seul soit administré par jour avec une durée et une intensité très élevées. En général, les personnes atteintes de dermatilomanie ne se concentrent que sur une partie du corps, sauf lorsque celle-ci est gravement endommagée.


La dermatilomanie peut provoquer de graves altérations de la peau, principalement dommages aux tissus affectés, apparition de pustules et d'infections parfois même atteindre le sang (septicémie). L'excoriation peut également laisser des cicatrices ou défigurer la peau, ce qui accroît les sentiments de honte et de culpabilité des personnes atteintes de dermatilomanie.

Causes de ce trouble

Les motivations pour les épisodes de dermatilomanie varient selon les personnes. Cependant, une hypothèse largement acceptée est que activation physiologique, et en particulier celle qui résulte du stress psychosocial , déclenche des comportements d'excoriation, dotés d'une fonctionnalité anxiolytique.

Alors que dans les profils obsessionnels compulsifs, la dermatilomanie est généralement associée à la perception d'une contamination cutanée, dans d'autres, plus proche d'un trouble dysmorphique du corps, le but de ces comportements est liée à la tentative d'éliminer les imperfections physiques.

Une relation a été établie entre dermatilomanie et augmentation des niveaux de dopamine, impliqués dans le contrôle moteur , dans le système de récompense du cerveau et dans le développement des dépendances. La présence excessive de ce neurotransmetteur, qui survient lors de la consommation de substances telles que la cocaïne, semble favoriser l'excoriation.

D'autre part, il a été suggéré que ce trouble pourrait avoir sa base biologique dans le circuit moteur fronto-strié, qui relie les régions du lobe frontal sur lesquelles les fonctions cognitives dépendent des ganglions de la base, fondamentaux pour les mouvements automatiques.

  • Article connexe: "Dopamine: 7 fonctions essentielles de ce neurotransmetteur"

Traitement psychologique: renversement d'habitude

Comme pour les autres troubles liés aux habitudes physiques et motrices, tels que les tics, l’onychophagie, la trichotillomanie, le bégaiement ou le syndrome temporo-mandibulaire, la dermatilomanie peut être traitée par la technique d'inversion d'habitude de Azrin et Nunn (1973), qui fait partie de la thérapie cognitivo-comportementale.

Cette procédure comprend plusieurs étapes. En premier lieu, un entraînement est mis en place pour favoriser la détection des comportements d'excoriation, qui dans de nombreux cas sont automatiques, ainsi que des stimuli qui les précèdent, principalement des sensations de tension émotionnelle.

Ensuite une réponse incompatible avec l'habitude négative est pratiquée l'exécuter lorsque l'impulsion de, dans ce cas, de gratter la peau apparaît; Ce nouveau comportement doit devenir une habitude qui remplace l'excoriation. Un exemple pourrait être de fermer les poings pour éviter que les doigts ne touchent le corps.

Les autres composantes du programme Azrin et Nunn consistent à appliquer un renforcement contingent à l’absence d’excoriation (gestion des imprévus), à enseigner au client des techniques de relaxation afin de réduire l’anxiété qui a provoqué les épisodes, puis à généraliser systématiquement les compétences au client. contexte de la vie quotidienne.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Azrin, N.H. & Nunn, R.G. (1973). Inversion d'habitude: méthode d'élimination des habitudes nerveuses et des tics. Comportement Research and Therapy, 11 (4): 619-28.
  • Dell'Osso, B., A. Altamura, A. Allen, A., D. Marazziti et E. Hollander (2006). Mises à jour épidémiologiques et cliniques sur les troubles du contrôle des impulsions: un examen critique. Archives européennes de psychiatrie et neurosciences cliniques, 256 (8): 464-75.
  • Odlaug, B.L. et Grant, J.E. (2010). Prélèvement de la peau pathologique. Journal américain d'abus de drogues et d'alcool, 36 (5): 296-303.

Body focused repetitive disorders (trichotillomania & excoriation) (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes