yes, therapy helps!
11 obsessions and typical compulsions in OCD

11 obsessions and typical compulsions in OCD

May 18, 2024

If you think about Obsessive-compulsive disorder Maybe the image of the maniac Melvin Udall dodging tiles in your head comes to mind Best impossible (As good as it gets).

The great Jack Nicholson appears in the film obsessed with order and neatness, perfectly aligning his walking shoes at home, or being unable to go to bed without having thrown the four locks on the door several times. These rituals are only a small example of the multiple manias that the novelist presents, his life being articulated around them.

  • Related article: "Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder (OCD): what is it?"

What is Obsessive-compulsive disorder?

Obsessive-compulsive disorder, popularly known as OCD, is a disorder characterized by obsessive thoughts and compulsive actions such as cleaning, checking, ordering or accumulating excessively.


Obsessions are thoughts, images or impulses repetitive and unwanted that cause anxiety and discomfort to people with OCD. The obsessions occur in an invasive way, independently of the will of the person, and they become so frequent and incapacitating that they can completely dominate the life of those who suffer from OCD.

The person who has these obsessive thoughts tries to ignore or suppress them. For this purpose, he performs the compulsions or compulsive rituals, which have the objective of neutralizing the obsessions and their dreaded consequences.

Compulsions are like motor or cognitive behaviors (pray, count numbers) repetitive that are made according to certain rules, stereotyped. The purpose of these behaviors or thoughts is to prevent or reduce anguish, or to avoid a feared situation or event.


  • Related article: "10 signs and symptoms of people with OCD"

Most frequent obsessions

Among the most common obsessions in the TOC are, among others, those related to dirt and contamination, order and checking.

1. Pollution ideas

One of the most common types of obsessions are pollution obsessions. These are characterized by a exaggerated fear of dirt , to germs, to get infected or to contract a disease.

Many times the fear in these patients can be to feel dirty, and can spend a lot of time to wash. These ideas may be focused on another person as well, such as fearing that a loved one may become ill or die from infection or germs.

  • Related article: "Obsession for cleanliness: causes, characteristics and advice"

2. Need for pathological verification or doubt

The obsession of these individuals consists of constantly check that they have not had an oversight that makes them responsible for the feared negative consequences, for example causing a fire by forgetting to turn off the stove, leaving the tap open, or not lock when leaving home.


Excessive doubt and the need to check commonly lead to checking rituals.

3. Necessity of order or symmetry

In this case the concern is arrange or order things "perfectly" , perform certain activities in an exact, symmetrical or balanced manner, such as parking properly or ordering clothes meticulously.

The thought that is at the base of the obsessive idea is: "It is absolutely essential that everything be ordered and in place."

4. Aggressive and sexual obsessions

These individuals present excessive fear of doing damage to others or commit an unacceptable sexual act such as thinking that they can stab a loved one, fantasize about sexually abusing someone or an exaggerated fear of being homosexual.

Many are horrified by their obsessions and do not comment on them for shame, mistakenly believing that thinking something objectionable is equivalent to doing it.

5. Religious obsessions

The excessive fear in this case is based on commit sins, blaspheme , not praying enough, fear of going to hell or not being forgiven, etc. The behaviors or compulsions that they carry out to eliminate their anxiety may be to pray repeatedly or go to church numerous times.

Compulsions or most frequent rituals

Next we describe the most commonly described rituals in OCD cases. Many of these types of compulsion are directly related to the obsessions described above.

1. Cleaning

Washing is the most frequent compulsion associated with the pollution obsession . People with this type of compulsion can wipe their hands too often, just like Melvin Udall did, who washed his hands three times in a row each time he returned home and used different new soaps that he then threw away.

Other examples are: brush your teeth excessively, avoid using public toilets or perform a thorough cleaning of the home for fear of germs. This behavior typically occurs after contact or proximity to the contaminated object.

2. Of order or symmetry

The ritual seeks to alleviate a fear that if something is not done something will happen , or mitigate the unpleasant feeling that things are not as they should be. These compulsive actions are derived from the need for symmetry or order.

Some examples would be to avoid stepping on black tiles, ordering things according to predetermined criteria, etc.

3. Repeat

Individuals are characterized by Repeat insistently phrases or behaviors , for the belief that this will prevent the dreaded catastrophe from happening. They may want to always follow certain routines, such as always eating at the same table in the same cafeteria, or always going to work along the same path.

4. Accumulation

In this type of OCD the person has the need to save all kinds of elements attending to its possible utility in the future. They can accumulate a lot of unnecessary things like old newspapers, empty bottles or cardboard boxes.

5. Checking

They focus on prevent the occurrence of possible catastrophes . They are associated with pathological doubt and the need for verification.

In general those who perform these rituals tend to use the strategy of reinsurance, asking nearby people things like "Have you seen me put out the fire?" Or "I closed the door of home?".

6. Mental compulsions

They are thoughts or mental acts that, like observable behavior, are performed to neutralize or reduce the anxiety caused by the obsession. It is common repeat words, phrases or numbers in order to relieve the anguish.

Mental compulsions are often confused with obsessions because they are covert behaviors rather than motor behaviors; the fundamental difference is that obsessions generate anxiety and compulsions reduce or prevent it.

Bibliographic references:

  • American Psychiatric Association (2013). Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition (DSM-5).

Treatment for Children with OCD (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
11 obsessions et compulsions typiques dans le TOC

11 obsessions et compulsions typiques dans le TOC

Juillet 26, 2022

Si vous pensez au trouble obsessionnel-compulsif Peut-être que l’image du maniaque Melvin Udall esquivant des carreaux dans votre tête vient à l’esprit Meilleure impossible (Aussi bon que cela).

Le grand Jack Nicholson apparaît dans le film, obsédé par l'ordre et la propreté, alignant parfaitement ses chaussures de marche à la maison, ou incapable de se coucher sans avoir jeté les quatre serrures de la porte à plusieurs reprises. Ces rituels ne sont qu’un petit exemple des multiples manies que le romancier présente, sa vie s’articulant autour d’elles.

  • Article connexe: "Le trouble obsessionnel-compulsif (TOC): de quoi s'agit-il?"

Qu'est-ce que le trouble obsessionnel compulsif?

Le trouble obsessionnel-compulsif, plus connu sous le nom de TOC, est un trouble caractérisé par des pensées obsessionnelles et des actions compulsives telles que le nettoyage, la vérification, la commande ou l'accumulation excessive.


Les obsessions sont des pensées, des images ou des impulsions répétitifs et non désirés qui causent de l’anxiété et de la gêne aux personnes atteintes de TOC. Les obsessions surviennent de manière envahissante, indépendamment de la volonté de la personne. Elles deviennent si fréquentes et incapacitantes qu’elles peuvent complètement dominer la vie de ceux qui souffrent de TOC.

La personne qui a ces pensées obsessionnelles essaie de les ignorer ou de les supprimer. À cette fin, il effectue les compulsions ou les rituels compulsifs, qui ont pour objectif de neutraliser les obsessions et leurs conséquences redoutées.

Les compulsions sont comme des comportements moteurs ou cognitifs (priez, comptez les nombres) répétitives qui sont faites selon certaines règles, stéréotypées. Le but de ces comportements ou de ces pensées est de prévenir ou de réduire l’angoisse, ou d’éviter une situation ou un événement redouté.


  • Article connexe: "10 signes et symptômes de personnes atteintes de TOC"

Les obsessions les plus fréquentes

Parmi les obsessions les plus courantes dans la table des matières figurent, entre autres, celles liées à la saleté et à la contamination, à l'ordre et au contrôle.

1. Idées de pollution

Les obsessions liées à la pollution sont l’un des types d’obsession les plus courants. Ceux-ci sont caractérisés par un peur exagérée de la saleté , aux germes, à s'infecter ou à contracter une maladie.

Souvent, la peur chez ces patients peut être de se sentir sale et de passer beaucoup de temps à se laver. Ces idées peuvent également être centrées sur une autre personne, par exemple la crainte qu'un proche ne tombe malade ou meurt d'une infection ou de germes.

  • Article connexe: "Obsession pour la propreté: causes, caractéristiques et conseils"

2. Besoin de vérification pathologique ou de doute

L’obsession de ces individus consiste en vérifier en permanence qu'ils n'ont pas eu un oubli cela les rend responsables des conséquences négatives redoutées, par exemple provoquer un incendie en oubliant d'éteindre le poêle, en laissant le robinet ouvert ou en ne fermant pas à clé en quittant la maison.


Un doute excessif et la nécessité de vérifier conduisent généralement à des rituels de vérification.

3. Nécessité de l'ordre ou de la symétrie

Dans ce cas, la préoccupation est organiser ou commander "parfaitement" , effectuez certaines activités de manière exacte, symétrique ou équilibrée, comme stationner correctement ou commander ses vêtements avec soin.

La pensée qui est à la base de l'idée obsessionnelle est la suivante: "Il est absolument essentiel que tout soit ordonné et en place."

4. Obsessions agressives et sexuelles

Ces personnes présentent peur excessive de faire des dégâts à des tiers ou commettre un acte sexuel inacceptable, par exemple en pensant pouvoir poignarder un être cher, rêver d'abuser sexuellement d'une personne ou d'une peur exagérée d'être homosexuel.

Beaucoup sont horrifiés par leurs obsessions et ne les commentent pas pour cause de honte, croyant à tort que penser à quelque chose de répréhensible revient à le faire.

5. Obsessions religieuses

La peur excessive dans ce cas est basée sur commettre des péchés, blasphémer , pas assez prié, peur d'aller en enfer ou de ne pas être pardonné, etc. Les comportements ou les compulsions qu’ils exercent pour éliminer leur anxiété peuvent consister à prier à plusieurs reprises ou à se rendre à l’église à de nombreuses reprises.

Compulsions ou rituels les plus fréquents

Nous décrivons ensuite les rituels les plus couramment décrits dans les cas de TOC. Nombre de ces types de contrainte sont directement liés aux obsessions décrites ci-dessus.

1. nettoyage

Le lavage est la contrainte la plus fréquente associé à l'obsession de la pollution . Les personnes ayant ce type de compulsion peuvent se frotter les mains trop souvent, à l’instar de Melvin Udall, qui s’est lavé les mains trois fois de suite chaque fois qu’il rentrait chez lui et utilisait différents nouveaux savons qu’il avait ensuite jetés.

D’autres exemples sont: se brosser les dents de manière excessive, éviter d’utiliser les toilettes publiques ou bien nettoyer la maison par peur des germes. Ce problème se produit généralement après le contact ou la proximité de l'objet contaminé.

2. D'ordre ou de symétrie

Le rituel cherche à apaiser une peur qui si quelque chose n'est pas fait, quelque chose se passera , ou atténuer le sentiment désagréable que les choses ne sont pas comme elles devraient être. Ces actions compulsives découlent du besoin de symétrie ou d’ordre.

Certains exemples consisteraient à éviter de marcher sur des carreaux noirs, à commander des choses en fonction de critères prédéterminés, etc.

3. Répéter

Les individus sont caractérisés par Répétez avec insistance des phrases ou des comportements , pour la conviction que cela évitera la catastrophe tant redoutée. Ils voudront peut-être toujours suivre certaines routines, telles que toujours manger à la même table dans la même cafétéria ou aller toujours travailler le même chemin.

4. Accumulation

Dans ce type de TOC, la personne a le besoin de sauver toutes sortes d'éléments assister à son utilité possible à l'avenir. Ils peuvent accumuler beaucoup de choses inutiles, comme de vieux journaux, des bouteilles vides ou des cartons.

5. Vérification

Se concentrer sur prévenir l'apparition de catastrophes éventuelles . Ils sont associés au doute pathologique et à la nécessité d'une vérification.

En général, ceux qui effectuent ces rituels ont recours à la stratégie de réassurance, demandant aux personnes proches des choses telles que "M'as-tu vu éteindre le feu?" Ou "J'ai fermé la porte de ma maison?".

6. compulsions mentales

Ce sont des pensées ou des actes mentaux qui, à l'instar d'un comportement observable, ont pour but de neutraliser ou de réduire l'anxiété causée par l'obsession. Il est commun répéter des mots, des phrases ou des chiffres afin de soulager l'angoisse.

Les compulsions mentales sont souvent confondues avec les obsessions car ce sont des comportements cachés plutôt que des comportements moteurs; La différence fondamentale est que les obsessions génèrent de l'anxiété et que les compulsions la réduisent ou l'empêchent.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Association américaine de psychiatrie (2013). Manuel diagnostique et statistique des troubles mentaux, cinquième édition (DSM-5).

TOC - Compulsions mutiples - Je suce mon pouce et misophonie - Claude de SCORRAILLE (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes