yes, therapy helps!
Dysarthria: causes, symptoms, types and treatment

Dysarthria: causes, symptoms, types and treatment

July 14, 2024

Communication disorders include disorders such as dyslalia, stuttering and the phonological disorder, better known as dysarthria . The basic sign that leads to the diagnosis of dysarthria is the presence of a marked difficulty to articulate phonemes adequately because of muscular problems.

In this article we will describe the causes and symptoms of the main types of dysarthria . In addition we will explain in a synthetic way what are the most common treatments of this disorder.

  • Related article: "The 8 types of speech disorders"

What is dysarthria?

Dysarthria is a disorder that affects the speech muscles : the lips, the tongue, the vocal cords and / or the diaphragm. The difficulty in controlling these muscles or their weakness means that people with dysarthria can not articulate the phonemes correctly, so they have problems with pronunciation or speak more slowly than normal. Unlike motor aphasia, it is an alteration of pronunciation and not language.


The term "dysarthria" comes from the Greek and can be translated literally "articulatory malfunction". It is a speech disorder and not language; This means that the problem does not take place at the cognitive level but in later phases of the production of sound. When the person is completely incapable of articulating sounds we speak of anartria.

The DSM-IV collects dysarthria under the label "Phonological disorder" , while in the DSM-5 it is called "Speech sounds disorder". The basic criterion for diagnosis according to these classifications is that the person is unable to emit phonemes that would be expected to have learned to articulate at a certain age.


Causes of this disorder

Dysarthria can have many different causes. Among the most common are alterations of the nervous system, as lesions and tumors in the brain or embolisms that paralyze the face or tongue. When it occurs from birth is usually the result of cerebral palsy or muscular dystrophy.

Certain alterations favor the appearance of symptoms of dysarthria in adulthood, such as amyotrophic lateral sclerosis or diseases of Parkinson, Huntington and Wilson. Some drugs can also cause dysarthria, especially sedatives and potent narcotics ; in these cases the interruption of consumption alleviates the disorder.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The treatment of dyslexia: 4 tips for parents"

Symptoms and signs

The symptoms and signs of this disorder may vary depending on the cause and type of dysarthria. Among the most common we find the following:


  • Difficulty moving the muscles of the face, lips and tongue.
  • Bad pronunciation .
  • Monotonous prosody.
  • Disturbed timbre.
  • Speak too slow or fast.
  • Nasal or raspy voice .
  • Excessively high or low volume.
  • Irregular rhythm (for example, choppy speech).
  • Associated respiratory difficulties.

In relation to pronunciation difficulties, four types of main errors are usually detected: substitution, omission, insertion and distortion . The substitution, consisting of replacing the correct phoneme with another wrong one, is the most frequent, especially when pronouncing "d" or "g" instead of "r".

While the consonant articulation is affected in all cases of dysarthria, the inadequate pronunciation of vowels is considered an indicator of seriousness .

Types of dysarthria

The types of dysarthria that we will see in this section differ among them mainly in the location of the lesion at the level of the central nervous system.

1. Spastic

Spastic dysarthria is due to injuries in the pyramidal tracts , related to fine motor control of the muscles of the face and neck.

In this type of dysphasia, hypernasality and sudden increases in speech volume occur. Vocalization tends to be tense and forced.

2. Ataxic

Lesions in the cerebellum cause ataxic dysarthria, whose most characteristic signs are presence of flat, monotonous prosody and slow vocalization and uncoordinated, similar to that which occurs in the state of intoxication. The typical speech of this type of dysarthria has sometimes been described as "explosive".

3. Flaccid

In this type of dysarthria the vagus nerve is affected , which allows the movement of the larynx and therefore the vocal cords. There are also dysfunctions in other facial muscles.

In cases of flaccid dysarthria the muscles may atrophy or become partially paralyzed, causing spasms, drooling and muscle tension.

  • Related article: "Cranial pairs: the 12 nerves that leave the brain"

4. Hyperkinetics

Hyperkinetic dysarthria is usually caused by lesions in the basal ganglia, subcortical structures involved in involuntary movements.

The symptoms of this type of dysarthria are similar to those of the spastic: the voice tends to present a rough quality and Hypernasality also occurs .

5. Hypokinetic

In general, hypokinetic dysarthria appears as a result of Parkinson's disease , although it is also common for the cause to be the continued use of antipsychotic medications.

In this case the volume is usually very low, the timbre flat and monotonous prosody. The reduction in the speed of movements caused by damage in the region known as substantia nigra explains these symptoms.

6. Mixed

This category is used when the clinical features are a combination of more than one of the types of dysarthria that we have described. Mixed dysarthria they are due to affectations in different motor systems .

Treatment and intervention

The treatment of dysarthria depends to a large extent on the alteration caused by the disorder since, when possible, correct the ultimate cause eliminates the symptoms . However, there are interventions to improve speech in cases where the underlying problem can not be modified.

The main objectives of the speech therapy and language therapy In cases of dysarthria, they are to strengthen the muscles involved in speech, improve breathing, achieve adequate pronunciation and facilitate communication between the affected person and their close relatives.

In cases where speech impairment is severe, external supports such as voice synthesizers and alphabetic boards are very useful. Learning gestures and even sign language it can also serve to a certain extent to supply the communicative deficits of dysarthria.


What is a Speech Disorder? (Apraxia of Speech and Dysarthria) (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Dysarthrie: causes, symptômes, types et traitement

Dysarthrie: causes, symptômes, types et traitement

Juillet 21, 2022

Les troubles de la communication comprennent des troubles tels que la dyslalie, le bégaiement et le trouble phonologique, mieux connu sous le nom de dysarthrie . Le signe fondamental qui conduit au diagnostic de la dysarthrie est la présence d'une difficulté marquée à articuler correctement les phonèmes en raison de problèmes musculaires.

Dans cet article, nous allons décrire les causes et les symptômes des principaux types de dysarthrie . De plus, nous expliquerons de manière synthétique quels sont les traitements les plus courants de ce trouble.

  • Article connexe: "Les 8 types de troubles de la parole"

Qu'est-ce que la dysarthrie?

La dysarthrie est un trouble qui affecte les muscles de la parole : les lèvres, la langue, les cordes vocales et / ou le diaphragme. La difficulté à contrôler ces muscles ou leur faiblesse signifie que les personnes atteintes de dysarthrie ne peuvent pas articuler correctement les phonèmes. Elles ont donc des problèmes de prononciation ou parlent plus lentement que la normale. Contrairement à l'aphasie motrice, il s'agit d'une modification de la prononciation et non de la langue.


Le terme "dysarthrie" vient du grec et peut être traduit littéralement par "dysfonctionnement articulatoire". C'est un trouble de la parole et non le langage. Cela signifie que le problème ne se situe pas au niveau cognitif mais dans les phases ultérieures de la production du son. Quand la personne est complètement incapable d'articuler des sons, on parle d'anartria.

Le DSM-IV recueille la dysarthrie sous le libellé "Trouble phonologique" , alors que dans le DSM-5, il est appelé "trouble des sons de la parole". Le critère de base pour le diagnostic selon ces classifications est que la personne est incapable d'émettre des phonèmes qu'on aurait pu apprendre à articuler à un certain âge.


Causes de ce trouble

La dysarthrie peut avoir de nombreuses causes différentes. Parmi les plus communs sont les altérations du système nerveux, comme des lésions et des tumeurs dans le cerveau ou des embolies qui paralysent le visage ou la langue. Lorsqu'il survient à la naissance, il est généralement le résultat d'une paralysie cérébrale ou d'une dystrophie musculaire.

Certaines altérations favorisent l'apparition des symptômes de la dysarthrie à l'âge adulte, telles que la sclérose latérale amyotrophique ou les maladies de Parkinson, Huntington et Wilson. Certains médicaments peuvent également causer la dysarthrie, en particulier les sédatifs et les stupéfiants puissants ; dans ces cas, l'interruption de la consommation atténue le trouble.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Le traitement de la dyslexie: 4 conseils pour les parents"

Symptômes et signes

Les symptômes et les signes de ce trouble peuvent varier en fonction de la cause et du type de dysarthrie. Parmi les plus courants, on trouve les suivants:


  • Difficulté à bouger les muscles du visage, des lèvres et de la langue.
  • Mauvaise prononciation .
  • Prosodie monotone.
  • Timbre perturbé.
  • Parlez trop lentement ou trop vite.
  • Voix nasale ou rauque .
  • Volume excessivement élevé ou faible.
  • Rythme irrégulier (par exemple, discours saccadé).
  • Difficultés respiratoires associées.

En ce qui concerne les difficultés de prononciation, quatre types d’erreurs principales sont généralement détectés: substitution, omission, insertion et distorsion . La substitution, consistant à remplacer le phonème correct par un autre faux, est la plus fréquente, en particulier lorsque l'on prononce "d" ou "g" au lieu de "r".

Bien que l’articulation des consonnes soit affectée dans tous les cas de dysarthrie, la prononciation inadéquate des voyelles est considérée comme un indicateur de gravité .

Types de dysarthrie

Les types de dysarthrie que nous verrons dans cette section diffèrent entre eux principalement par la localisation de la lésion au niveau du système nerveux central.

1. spastique

Dysarthrie spastique est due à des blessures dans les voies pyramidales , liée au contrôle moteur fin des muscles du visage et du cou.

Dans ce type de dysphasie, une hypernasalité et une augmentation soudaine du volume de la parole se produisent. La vocalisation a tendance à être tendue et forcée.

2. Ataxique

Les lésions du cervelet provoquent une dysarthrie ataxique, dont les signes les plus caractéristiques sont présence de prosodie plate et monotone et vocalisation lente et non coordonné, semblable à celui qui se produit dans l'état d'intoxication. Le langage typique de ce type de dysarthrie a parfois été décrit comme "explosif".

3. Flasque

Dans ce type de dysarthrie le nerf vague est affecté , qui permet le mouvement du larynx et donc des cordes vocales. Il existe également des dysfonctionnements dans d'autres muscles du visage.

En cas de dysarthrie flasque, les muscles peuvent s'atrophier ou devenir partiellement paralysés, provoquant des spasmes, des baver et des tensions musculaires.

  • Article connexe: "Couples crâniens: les 12 nerfs qui quittent le cerveau"

4. Hyperkinetics

La dysarthrie hyperkinétique est généralement causée par des lésions des ganglions de la base, des structures sous-corticales impliquées dans des mouvements involontaires.

Les symptômes de ce type de dysarthrie sont similaires à ceux de la spastique: la voix a tendance à présenter une qualité brute et L'hypernasalité survient aussi .

5. hypocinétique

Dysarthrie hypokinétique en général apparaît à la suite de la maladie de Parkinson , bien qu’il soit également courant que la cause en soit l’utilisation continue des médicaments antipsychotiques.

Dans ce cas, le volume est généralement très faible, le timbre plat et prosodique. La réduction de la vitesse des mouvements provoquée par des dommages dans la région connue sous le nom de substantia nigra explique ces symptômes.

6. mixte

Cette catégorie est utilisée lorsque les caractéristiques cliniques associent plus d’un type de dysarthrie que nous avons décrit. Dysarthrie mixte ils sont dus à des affectations dans différents systèmes moteurs .

Traitement et intervention

Le traitement de la dysarthrie dépend dans une large mesure de l'altération causée par le trouble, car, dans la mesure du possible, corriger la cause ultime élimine les symptômes . Cependant, il existe des interventions pour améliorer la parole dans les cas où le problème sous-jacent ne peut pas être modifié.

Les principaux objectifs de la orthophonie et thérapie du langage En cas de dysarthrie, ils doivent renforcer les muscles impliqués dans la parole, améliorer la respiration, obtenir une prononciation adéquate et faciliter la communication entre la personne touchée et ses proches parents.

Dans les cas où les troubles de la parole sont graves, les supports externes tels que les synthétiseurs vocaux et les tableaux alphabétiques sont très utiles. Apprentissage des gestes et même de la langue des signes il peut également servir dans une certaine mesure à combler les déficits de la dysarthrie en matière de communication.


Cerebral palsy (CP) - causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatment & pathology (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes