yes, therapy helps!
Fear of numbers (arithmophobia or numerophobia): causes, symptoms and treatment

Fear of numbers (arithmophobia or numerophobia): causes, symptoms and treatment

October 23, 2020

The world of psychopathologies is a complex world, in which there are many disorders. One of the most frequent are phobias, which are characterized because the person experiencing them feels an extreme and persistent irrational fear, as well as great anxiety and discomfort before a stimulus (situation, animal and object).

Phobias are part of the group of anxiety disorders, and can be experienced at any age. In this article we'll talk about arithmophobia or numerophobia, the irrational fear of numbers , as well as the way in which it affects the day to day.

  • Related article: "Types of phobias: exploring the disorders of fear"

What is arithmophobia

Arithmophobia is an irrational fear of numbers, mathematics or arithmetic . It also receives the name of numerofobia and causes great discomfort to the person who suffers it, who tends to avoid the feared stimulus at all costs.


This alteration can seriously affect the life of the individual with this disorder, since the numbers and the mathematical calculations are present in the day to day of the people . Seeing the numbers written on a blackboard or calculating the expenses of the purchase can be situations that cause great discomfort to the phobic one and that tends to avoid.

Phobias are quite common anxiety disorders , and there are different types: social phobias, agoraphobia and specific phobias. The latter are characterized because the phobic stimulus is a concrete object, situation or animal, which provokes the irrational and disproportionate reaction of fear. Among these phobias we can find aerophobia or fear of flying, arachnophobia or fear of spiders or arithmophobia or fear of numbers.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Types of Anxiety Disorders and their characteristics"

Causes of phobias

Although one can speak of a phobic person, phobias are learned. They often appear after a traumatic experience that, in the case of arithmophobia, the person associates the numbers. This occurs because of a type of associative learning called classical conditioning.

Classical conditioning is an apprenticeship in which the individual associates an unconditioned stimulus (traumatic event) that elicits an unconditioned response (fear response) to an originally neutral stimulus but is later known as a conditioned stimulus (the numbers), which ends up provoking the unconditioned response, now called conditioned response.

Other causes of this phobia

This phobia can also appear for other reasons. For example, that the person had a bad experience with mathematics and, in the face of fear and insecurity to do wrong calculations, manifest the symptoms .


Now, it does not necessarily have to be the phobic one that experiences the traumatic event in his own skin, but the observation of the traumatic event in another person, what would be known as vicar conditioning, can cause the development of this pathology.

On the other hand, several experts in phobias claim that phobias have a biological component, because it is common to acquire irrational fears. Fear is a very adaptive and useful emotion , which has served the human species to survive over the centuries. The emotion of fear is originated by primitive associations, in the limbic system, and not by cognitive associations in the neocortex. This explains why a person even knowing that he suffers from a phobia is unable to overcome it simply with reason.

Symptoms of phobia of numbers

Regardless of the type of phobia, the symptoms are usually common. Being an anxiety disorder, This anxiety is usually the main symptom next to fear, but there are other . These symptoms are classified into three types: cognitive, behavioral and physical.

Among the cognitive symptoms we can highlight fear, anguish, confusion or catastrophic thoughts. The avoidance of the feared stimulus is a behavioral symptom that present the phobic. Headaches, hyperventilation, nausea and upset stomach are physical symptoms experienced by people with fear of numbers.

Treatment of numerophobia

Phobias are very common disorders, and there is a lot of scientific evidence regarding effective treatment. According to the results of these studies, cognitive behavioral therapy seems to be the most effective type of psychotherapy .

In this form of therapy, different techniques are included, of which relaxation techniques and exposure techniques are effective for the treatment of phobias.A technique that includes both and that provides good results to overcome phobic disorders is systematic desensitization.

The objective of systematic desensitization is to expose the patient to the phobic stimulus in a gradual manner . Before, but the patient must learn a series of coping strategies that help reduce anxious symptoms when faced with phobic stimuli.

In addition to cognitive-behavioral techniques, other types of psychotherapy such as cognitive therapy based on Mindfulness and acceptance and commitment therapy They have proven to be very effective. Both forms of psychotherapy are considered third-generation therapy, which place emphasis on the patient's functional context and acceptance.

  • Related article: "Acceptance and Commitment Therapy (ACT): principles and characteristics"

Top 10 Strangest Real Phobias People Actually Have (October 2020).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Peur des nombres (arithmophobie ou numérophobie): causes, symptômes et traitement

Peur des nombres (arithmophobie ou numérophobie): causes, symptômes et traitement

Janvier 27, 2023

Le monde des psychopathologies est un monde complexe dans lequel il y a beaucoup de désordres. Les phobies sont l'une des plus fréquentes. Elles sont caractérisées par le fait que la personne qui les éprouve ressent une peur irrationnelle extrême et persistante, ainsi qu'une grande anxiété et un grand inconfort devant un stimulus (situation, animal et objet).

Les phobies font partie du groupe des troubles anxieux et peuvent être vécues à tout âge. Dans cet article nous allons parler de l'arithmophobie ou numérophobie, la peur irrationnelle des nombres , ainsi que la manière dont cela affecte le quotidien.

  • Article connexe: "Types de phobies: explorer les troubles de la peur"

Qu'est-ce que l'arithmophobie?

L'arithmophobie est une peur irrationnelle des nombres, des mathématiques ou de l'arithmétique . Il reçoit également le nom de numerofobia et provoque un grand inconfort pour la personne qui le subit, qui a tendance à éviter à tout prix le stimulus redouté.


Cette altération peut sérieusement affecter la vie de la personne atteinte de ce trouble, car les nombres et les calculs mathématiques sont présents au jour le jour du peuple . Voir les chiffres écrits sur un tableau ou calculer les frais d’achat peut être une situation gênante pour le phobique et qui tend à l’éviter.

Les phobies sont des troubles anxieux assez fréquents , et il en existe différents types: phobies sociales, agoraphobie et phobies spécifiques. Ces derniers sont caractérisés par le fait que le stimulus phobique est un objet, une situation ou un animal concret, ce qui provoque la réaction irrationnelle et disproportionnée de la peur. Parmi ces phobies, on trouve l'aérophobie ou la peur de voler, l'arachnophobie ou la peur des araignées ou l'arithmophobie ou la peur des nombres.


  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Types de troubles anxieux et leurs caractéristiques"

Causes des phobies

Bien que l'on puisse parler d'une personne phobique, les phobies sont apprises. Ils apparaissent souvent après une expérience traumatique que, dans le cas de l'arithmophobie, la personne associe les nombres. Cela est dû à un type d'apprentissage associatif appelé conditionnement classique.

Le conditionnement classique est un apprentissage dans lequel l'individu associe un stimulus non conditionné (événement traumatique) qui provoque une réponse non conditionnée (réponse de peur) à un stimulus initialement neutre, mais qui est appelé plus tard un stimulus conditionné (les nombres), qui finit par provoquer la réponse inconditionnée, appelée maintenant réponse conditionnée.

Autres causes de cette phobie

Cette phobie peut aussi apparaître pour d'autres raisons. Par exemple, que la personne avait une mauvaise expérience en mathématiques et, face à la peur et à l’insécurité, faire de mauvais calculs, manifester les symptômes .


Maintenant, ce n'est pas nécessairement le phobique qui vit l'événement traumatique dans sa propre peau, mais l'observation de l'événement traumatique chez une autre personne, ce qui serait connu comme le conditionnement du vicaire, peut provoquer le développement de cette pathologie.

D'autre part, plusieurs experts en phobies affirment que les phobies ont une composante biologique, car il est courant d'acquérir des peurs irrationnelles. La peur est une émotion très adaptative et utile , qui a servi l’espèce humaine à survivre au cours des siècles. L'émotion de la peur provient des associations primitives, du système limbique, et non des associations cognitives du néocortex. Cela explique pourquoi une personne sachant même qu'elle souffre d'une phobie est incapable de la surmonter simplement avec raison.

Symptômes de phobie des nombres

Peu importe le type de phobie, les symptômes sont généralement courants. Être un trouble anxieux, Cette anxiété est généralement le principal symptôme après la peur, mais il existe d'autres . Ces symptômes sont classés en trois types: cognitifs, comportementaux et physiques.

Parmi les symptômes cognitifs, nous pouvons souligner la peur, l’angoisse, la confusion ou des pensées catastrophiques. L’évitement du stimulus redouté est un symptôme comportemental qui présente le phobique. Les maux de tête, l'hyperventilation, les nausées et les maux d'estomac sont des symptômes physiques ressentis par les personnes ayant peur des chiffres.

Traitement de la numophobie

Les phobies sont des troubles très fréquents et il existe de nombreuses preuves scientifiques concernant un traitement efficace. Selon les résultats de ces études, la thérapie cognitivo-comportementale semble être le type de psychothérapie le plus efficace .

Dans cette forme de thérapie, différentes techniques sont incluses, parmi lesquelles les techniques de relaxation et les techniques d'exposition sont efficaces pour le traitement des phobies.Une technique qui inclut les deux et qui donne de bons résultats pour surmonter les troubles phobiques est la désensibilisation systématique.

La désensibilisation systématique a pour objectif d’exposer le patient au stimulus phobique de manière progressive. . Avant, mais le patient doit apprendre une série de stratégies d'adaptation qui aident à réduire les symptômes anxieux face à des stimuli phobiques.

En plus des techniques cognitivo-comportementales, autres types de psychothérapies telles que la thérapie cognitive basée sur la thérapie de la pleine conscience, de l'acceptation et de l'engagement Ils se sont révélés très efficaces. Les deux formes de psychothérapie sont considérées comme des thérapies de troisième génération, qui mettent l'accent sur le contexte fonctionnel et l'acceptation du patient.

  • Article connexe: "Thérapie d'acceptation et d'engagement (ACT): principes et caractéristiques"

POURQUOI AVONS-NOUS PEUR DU NOMBRE 13 ? (Janvier 2023).


Articles Connexes