yes, therapy helps!
Engrams: the traces that experiences leave us in the brain

Engrams: the traces that experiences leave us in the brain

May 4, 2024

We suffered a traffic accident, crashing into our vehicle a red car. This accident generates a series of injuries that we end up recovering from, but at the cost of great suffering and anxiety. The day comes when we pick up the car again, and we notice that in front of any red car, we shudder and get very nervous. The reason for this fact, to the majority, is logical. However, what is not so well known is what generates it at the brain level.

That is, we know that various neurons will be activated that will generate different effects, largely mediated by the limbic system. But how exactly do these neurons relate to react in a concrete way to situations similar to experiences already lived? In this sense there are neural circuits that are formed throughout development and life, and that after forming remain more or less stable: we are talking about the engrams .


  • You may be interested: "What is the synaptic space and how does it work?"

Engrams: what are we talking about?

We understand engram to that stable neuronal structure generated by the stimulation, be it external or internal, and that is linked to the activation of concrete responses are unconscious or conscious. The engram is the group of neurons, or neuronal circuit, which is activated by the perception of certain information .

Another frequent term to refer to this type of structure is the neuronal loop. In summary, it could be understood as the biological basis of a trace or scheme of operation derived from experimentation, such as the set of brain changes resulting from learning and what we memorize. It would be the process of forming concrete neural connections that when activated they reproduce the subjective experience that generated the fact that gave them origin.


The engrams can be both sensory and motor, being in them the basic programming of how to perceive or act upon stimulation. Both may be related. Although the formation of engrams is unconscious, these structures generate and influence both conscious and unconscious processes. They can trigger the generation of thoughts, emotions, movements or activation of physiological mechanisms.

In our brain there are a lot of these structures, the engrams being generic neural structures that participate in a large number of mental and physiological functions . It is a system that generates the synaptic facilitation and connection between different neurons, generating a closed circuit that reacts to the stimulation, awakening in turn other engrams that react and generate different responses.

  • Related article: "Parts of the human brain (and functions)"

Training and psychobiology

The formation of engrams occurs before the coding of the experience and the neuronal activation that it generates. Repeated exposure to certain stimulation or derivatives of this causes neurons or specific nerve pathways to be activated consistently. The information that assets can come from very different ways or sensory modalities.


At the cellular level, the axon of the presynaptic neuron generates the excitation of the postsynaptic neuron repeatedly, which in the long run generates a change in both in such a way that the efficiency of its intercommunication is improved. It also allows more synapses to be established , reinforcing the circuit and connecting with other loops that generate a response to the stimulation.

At the level of neurotransmitter, the communication of neurons that are part of an engram is mainly performed by acetylcholine, although other hormones such as noradrenaline also have some effect.

However, it is necessary to take into account that the engram is fixed it is considered necessary that there is an activation of the limbic system , especially those regions linked to motivation, due to the need to give importance to a fact in order to generate automatisms.

Your role in memory

Engrams have an important role in storing information in a stable manner and remembering previous information: these are stable neuronal structures, which are going to be activated in a certain way and will continue to function in the same way unless changes or births are introduced new synapses

They are fundamental when it comes to allowing the storage of memory , being then the biological basis on which is sustained, for example, the repetition of certain behaviors or ways of reacting to certain situations. Engrams make us sensitive to specific stimulations and make it easier for them to react to them in previously learned ways.

This, for example, causes a person who has suffered some kind of aggression or abuse to have generated changes that cause similar stimuli (for example, the physical contact of someone of the sex of the attacker, although the person who is approaching us is not attacking us. and do not have bad intentions) may react with fear or defensiveness.

Not for that reason we are saying that all engrams correspond to negative or traumatic experiences, but also to those that generate very positive emotions. For example, a child ends up generating engrams that relate to the maternal or paternal figure with feelings of security and protection, which is why he may feel bad if they are not there or look for his closeness in case of discomfort.

  • Related article: "Types of memory: how memory stores the human brain?"

Not only in memory

So far we have mainly talked about the engram as a brain circuit linked to learning and memory . But the truth is that the engrams are not limited to that sphere: if we think of engrams as brain circuits that are activated by information, aspects such as perception, motor skills (how to walk for example), knowledge (including theory) of the mind), language, experience and emotional expression are also determined (although modifications and changes can be introduced) by these structures.

Bibliographic references

  • Cardinali, D.P. (1992). Manual of Neurophysiology. Ediciones Diaz de Santos, S.A. Madrid Spain.
  • González, J.L. (1987). Structure and function of the human mind. Psyche, 346 (8).
  • Lashley, K.S. (1950). In Search of the Engram, Symp.Soc.Exp.Biol., 4: 454-482.
  • Montserrat, J. (s.f.). Neural engrams and theory of the mind. Autonomous University of Madrid. Madrid Spain.

How We Make Memories - Crash Course Psychology #13 (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Engrammes: les traces que les expériences nous laissent dans le cerveau

Engrammes: les traces que les expériences nous laissent dans le cerveau

Août 12, 2022

Nous avons eu un accident de la circulation, nous avons heurté notre véhicule, une voiture rouge. Cet accident génère une série de blessures dont nous finissons par nous remettre, mais au prix de beaucoup de souffrances et d’anxiété. Le jour vient où nous reprenons la voiture, et nous remarquons que devant une voiture rouge, nous frémissons et devenons très nerveux. La raison de ce fait, à la majorité, est logique. Cependant, ce qui est mal connu est ce qui le génère au niveau du cerveau.

En d’autres termes, nous savons que divers neurones seront activés, ce qui générera différents effets, largement induits par le système limbique. Mais comment ces neurones sont-ils liés pour réagir de manière concrète à des situations similaires à des expériences déjà vécues? En ce sens, il existe des circuits neuronaux qui se forment tout au long du développement et de la vie et qui, une fois formés, restent plus ou moins stables: on parle de les engrammes .


  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Qu'est-ce que l'espace synaptique et comment ça marche?"

Engrammes: de quoi parle-t-on?

Nous comprenons l’engramme de cette structure neuronale stable générée par la stimulation, qu’elle soit externe ou interne, et qui est liée à l’activation de réponses concrètes inconscientes ou conscientes. L'engramme est le groupe de neurones, ou circuit neuronal, qui est activé par la perception de certaines informations .

Un autre terme fréquent pour désigner ce type de structure est la boucle neuronale. En résumé, cela pourrait être compris comme la base biologique d’une trace ou d’un schéma de fonctionnement dérivé de l’expérimentation, comme l’ensemble des changements cérébraux résultant de l’apprentissage et de ce que nous mémorisons. Ce serait le processus de formation de connexions neuronales concrètes qui quand ils sont activés, ils reproduisent l'expérience subjective qui a généré le fait qui leur a donné l'origine.


Les engrammes peuvent être à la fois sensoriels et moteurs, car ils constituent la programmation de base sur la manière de percevoir ou d’agir lors d’une stimulation. Les deux peuvent être liés. Bien que la formation des engrammes soit inconsciente, ces structures génèrent et influencent à la fois les processus conscients et inconscients. Ils peuvent déclencher la génération de pensées, d'émotions, de mouvements ou l'activation de mécanismes physiologiques.

Dans notre cerveau, il y a beaucoup de ces structures, les engrammes étant des structures neurales génériques qui participer à un grand nombre de fonctions mentales et physiologiques . C'est un système qui génère la facilitation synaptique et la connexion entre différents neurones, générant un circuit fermé qui réagit à la stimulation, réveillant à son tour d'autres engrammes qui réagissent et génèrent des réponses différentes.

  • Article connexe: "Parties du cerveau humain (et fonctions)"

Formation et psychobiologie

La formation des engrammes se produit avant le codage de l'expérience et l'activation neuronale qu'elle génère. Exposition répétée à certaines stimulations ou des dérivés de celle-ci provoque l'activation cohérente de neurones ou de voies nerveuses spécifiques. Les informations que les actifs peuvent provenir de manières très différentes ou de modalités sensorielles.


Au niveau cellulaire, l'axone du neurone présynaptique génère à plusieurs reprises l'excitation du neurone postsynaptique, ce qui à long terme engendre un changement dans les deux systèmes de manière à améliorer l'efficacité de son intercommunication. Cela permet également d’établir plus de synapses , renforçant le circuit et se connectant à d’autres boucles générant une réponse à la stimulation.

Au niveau des neurotransmetteurs, la communication des neurones faisant partie d'un engramme est principalement assurée par l'acétylcholine, bien que d'autres hormones, telles que la noradrénaline, aient également un effet.

Cependant, il est nécessaire de prendre en compte que l'engramme est fixe il est jugé nécessaire d'activer le système limbique , en particulier les régions liées à la motivation, en raison de la nécessité de donner de l’importance à un fait afin de générer des automatismes.

Votre rôle en mémoire

Les engrammes jouent un rôle important dans le stockage des informations de manière stable et dans la mémorisation des informations précédentes: il s'agit de structures neuronales stables, qui vont être activées d'une certaine manière et continueront à fonctionner de la même manière, à moins de changements ou de naissances nouvelles synapses

Ils sont fondamentaux pour permettre le stockage de mémoire. , étant alors la base biologique sur laquelle repose, par exemple, la répétition de certains comportements ou moyens de réagir à certaines situations. Les engrammes nous sensibilisent à des stimulations spécifiques et leur permettent de réagir plus facilement aux méthodes précédemment apprises.

Ceci, par exemple, amène une personne ayant subi une agression ou un abus à générer des changements provoquant des stimuli similaires (par exemple, le contact physique d'une personne du sexe de l'agresseur, bien que la personne qui nous aborde ne nous attaque pas. et ne pas avoir de mauvaises intentions) peut réagir avec peur ou défensive.

Ce n'est pas pour cette raison que nous affirmons que tous les engrammes correspondent à des expériences négatives ou traumatiques, mais également à ceux qui génèrent des émotions très positives. Par exemple, un enfant finit par générer des engrammes liés à la figure maternelle ou paternelle avec des sentiments de sécurité et de protection, raison pour laquelle il peut se sentir mal s'il n'est pas là ou chercher sa proximité en cas de gêne.

  • Article connexe: "Types de mémoire: comment la mémoire stocke le cerveau humain?"

Non seulement en mémoire

Jusqu'à présent, nous avons principalement parlé de l'engramme un circuit cérébral lié à l'apprentissage et à la mémoire . Mais la vérité est que les engrammes ne se limitent pas à cette sphère: si nous considérons les engrammes comme des circuits cérébraux activés par des informations, des aspects tels que la perception, la motricité (comment marcher, par exemple), la connaissance (y compris la théorie) de la pensée), le langage, l'expérience et l'expression émotionnelle sont également déterminés (bien que des modifications et des changements puissent être introduits) par ces structures

Références bibliographiques

  • Cardinali, D.P. (1992). Manuel de neurophysiologie. Ediciones Diaz de Santos, S.A. Madrid Espagne.
  • González, J.L. (1987). Structure et fonction de l'esprit humain. Psyché, 346 (8).
  • Lashley, K.S. (1950). Dans La recherche de l'engramme, Symp.Soc.Exp.Biol., 4: 454-482.
  • Montserrat, J. (s.f.). Engrammes neuronaux et théorie de l'esprit. Université autonome de Madrid. Madrid Espagne.

The future we're building -- and boring | Elon Musk (Août 2022).


Articles Connexes