yes, therapy helps!
The 5 types of happiness, and how to achieve this state

The 5 types of happiness, and how to achieve this state

August 16, 2022

Happiness is one of those topics that interests everyone and that is why psychology has paid a lot of attention to this phenomenon. There are different theories that have tried to explain this construct and there are many researches that have tried to provide relevant data that allow us to understand its complexity.

One of the best-known authors is Martin Seligman, which states that there are five types of happiness . In this article we will talk about your model and what are its most outstanding characteristics.

  • Maybe you're interested: "15 essential positive psychology books"

Who is Martin Seligman

Dr. Martin Seligman, is an American psychologist and writer considered one of the founders of Positive Psychology . He was born on August 12, 1942 in Albany, New York. For many years he has been the director of the clinical training program at the University of Pennsylvania. Her work deals with topics such as learned helplessness, positive psychology, depression, psychological resistance, optimism and pessimism.


It was in 1998 when this character decided to change the trend of psychology that focused mainly on negative emotions and how to manage them so that the welfare and emotional health of people experience an improvement. Seligman has been dedicated to investigating the implications of thinking and positive emotions and scientifically verify the most effective self-help methods .

  • Related article: "Emotional Intelligence and Positive Psychology: discovering the keys to success"

Model PERMA by Seligman

And it is that the welfare of people can not be studied without taking into account happiness. The author thinks that happiness has five components that are present in those individuals who are happiest. With this idea he created the "PERMA" model which, according to its acronym in English, means:


  • Positive emotions (positive emotions or pleasant life)
  • Engagement (Commitment or committed life)
  • Relationships
  • Meanings (meaning or meaningful life)
  • Accomplishment (Success or sense of achievement)

Components and types of happiness

Seligman's theory has five components or levels that indicate the types of happiness. The objective of his theory is to measure and encourage personal growth and well-being . These are the levels of your model:

1. Positive emotions or pleasant life

At the most basic level of happiness, the person experiences this through emotions . It has to do with the amount of emotions we experience during the day. A pleasant life consists of having more pleasant experiences during the day than unpleasant ones. The author thinks that people can learn a series of techniques to increase the duration and intensity of their pleasures.


These positive experiences can be: playing sports, enjoying a good meal, reading, etc. The positive of an experience depends on each person.

  • Related article: "Differences between emotions and feelings"

2. Commitment or life committed

If in the previous case the pleasures would be rather external, in this case the inmates are incorporated. This is what is known as "flow state", in which the person connects with their own wishes . We create a commitment when we are fully present, aware and creating flow opportunities that lead us to higher levels of well-being.

Seligmann describes commitment as "stopping in time and losing self-awareness during an absorbing activity." Happiness is developing a large number of optimal experiences of "flow" through the use of personal strengths.

3. Relationships

Relationships with others are also a great source of happiness, so to be happy you need to dedicate time, because it increases the feeling of support and the perception of well-being. This has to do with all relationships: friends, family, partners ... In fact, Social support is intimately related to well-being , and even some researches claim that they help reduce stress and discomfort. On the other hand, loneliness is associated with an increased risk of dying.

4. Meaning or meaningful life

Seligman describes this level as something bigger than ourselves. The meaning is the purpose for which we perceive that we exist , that is, what fills us and why we decided to fight. They are our most desired goals. Finding meaning of oneself is not always easy, but it is necessary to be happy. The search for meaning and self-realization is one of the principles of positive psychology.

5. Success or sense of achievement

People can live positive emotions, engage in different situations, feel the state of flow, we can have relationships that enrich us and find meaning in our lives.

We can have goals that motivate us and help us to develop positively, but the highest level of happiness is that we achieve when we have drawn goals and objectives from the heart and we have raised them. Then we feel competent and we know that we did what we wanted and we did it well. Achieving goals, especially those linked to our values, increases well-being over a relatively long period of time.

What science says about happiness

And is that as has been said, there are many investigations conducted on this subject. Who does not want to be happy? Happiness is something that we all pursue.

Over the years, scientists have found different activities, behaviors, attitudes and gestures that can make us happier. But ... what are the keys to happiness? Some of the most important findings are the following:

Spend more time with family and friends

As Seligman says, there are many researches that have shown that spend time with loved ones It makes us happier.

Travel a lot

Knowing the world and traveling is enriching not only because it opens our minds, but because it makes us feel good. Researchers, however, have found that It is not travel itself that makes us happy, but planning .

Live the present

Living expectations, often unreal, does not favor our well-being. Instead, live in the present allows us to experience life in fullness and it makes us happier

Gratitude

Gratitude is another of the basic principles of happiness. So whenever you can thank your loved ones everything they do for you.

Go out on the street

Something as simple as going out on the street is positive because increases serotonin levels in the brain , the neurotransmitter related to happiness.

These are just some examples of what science says about happiness. If you want to know more, you can read this article: "The 10 keys to be happy, according to science"


BEFORE YOU GET MARRIED...WATCH THIS (August 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 5 types de bonheur et comment atteindre cet état

Les 5 types de bonheur et comment atteindre cet état

Août 11, 2020

Le bonheur est un de ces sujets qui intéresse tout le monde et c'est pourquoi la psychologie a accordé une grande attention à ce phénomène. Différentes théories ont tenté d'expliquer ce concept et de nombreuses recherches ont tenté de fournir des données pertinentes nous permettant de comprendre sa complexité.

Un des auteurs les plus connus est Martin Seligman, qui stipule qu'il existe cinq types de bonheur . Dans cet article, nous allons parler de votre modèle et de ses caractéristiques les plus remarquables.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "15 livres essentiels sur la psychologie positive"

Qui est Martin Seligman

Dr. Martin Seligman, est un psychologue et écrivain américain considéré comme l'un des fondateurs de la psychologie positive . Il est né le 12 août 1942 à Albany, New York. Pendant de nombreuses années, il a dirigé le programme de formation clinique de l’Université de Pennsylvanie. Son travail porte sur des sujets tels que l'impuissance acquise, la psychologie positive, la dépression, la résistance psychologique, l'optimisme et le pessimisme.


C'est en 1998 que ce personnage a décidé de changer la tendance de la psychologie axée principalement sur les émotions négatives et sur la façon de les gérer de manière à améliorer le bien-être et la santé émotionnelle des personnes. Seligman s’est consacré à l’étude des implications de la pensée et des émotions positives et vérifier scientifiquement les méthodes d'entraide les plus efficaces .

  • Article connexe: "Intelligence émotionnelle et psychologie positive: découvrir les clés du succès"

Modèle PERMA par Seligman

Et c'est que le bien-être des personnes ne peut être étudié sans prendre en compte le bonheur. L'auteur pense que le bonheur a cinq composantes qui sont présents chez les individus les plus heureux. Avec cette idée, il crée le modèle "PERMA" qui, selon son acronyme anglais, signifie:


  • Émotions positives (émotions positives ou vie agréable)
  • Engagement (engagement ou vie engagée)
  • Les relations
  • Significations (signification ou vie significative)
  • Accomplissement (succès ou sentiment d'accomplissement)

Composants et types de bonheur

La théorie de Seligman a cinq composantes ou niveaux qui indiquent les types de bonheur. L’objectif de sa théorie est de mesurer et encourager la croissance personnelle et le bien-être . Ce sont les niveaux de votre modèle:

1. Émotions positives ou vie agréable

Au plus bas niveau du bonheur, la personne en fait l'expérience à travers des émotions . Cela a à voir avec la quantité d'émotions que nous vivons pendant la journée. Une vie agréable consiste à vivre des expériences plus agréables pendant la journée que des expériences désagréables. L'auteur pense que les gens peuvent apprendre une série de techniques pour augmenter la durée et l'intensité de leurs plaisirs.


Ces expériences positives peuvent être: faire du sport, savourer un bon repas, lire, etc. Le positif d'une expérience dépend de chaque personne.

  • Article connexe: "Différences entre émotions et sentiments"

2. Engagement ou vie engagée

Si dans le cas précédent les plaisirs étaient plutôt extérieurs, dans ce cas les détenus sont incorporés. C’est ce que l’on appelle «l’état du flux», dans lequel la personne se connecte avec ses propres souhaits . Nous créons un engagement lorsque nous sommes pleinement présents, conscients et créons des opportunités de flux qui nous mènent à des niveaux de bien-être supérieurs.

Seligmann décrit l'engagement comme "un arrêt dans le temps et une perte de conscience de soi au cours d'une activité absorbante". Le bonheur développe un grand nombre d'expériences optimales de "flux" grâce à l'utilisation de forces personnelles.

3. relations

Les relations avec les autres sont également une grande source de bonheur. Par conséquent, pour être heureux, vous devez consacrer du temps, car cela accroît le sentiment de soutien et la perception du bien-être. Cela concerne toutes les relations: amis, famille, partenaires… En fait, Le soutien social est intimement lié au bien-être et même certaines recherches affirment qu’elles aident à réduire le stress et l’inconfort. Par ailleurs, la solitude est associée à un risque accru de décès.

4. Sens ou vie significative

Seligman décrit ce niveau comme quelque chose de plus grand que nous. La signification est le but pour lequel nous percevons que nous existons , c’est-à-dire ce qui nous remplit et pourquoi nous avons décidé de nous battre. Ce sont nos objectifs les plus recherchés. Il n'est pas toujours facile de trouver un sens à soi-même, mais il faut être heureux. La recherche de sens et la réalisation de soi est l’un des principes de la psychologie positive.

5. Succès ou sentiment d'accomplissement

Les gens peuvent vivre des émotions positives, s’engager dans différentes situations, ressentir l’état de flux, nous pouvons avoir des relations qui nous enrichissent et trouvent un sens à nos vies.

Nous pouvons avoir des objectifs qui nous motivent et nous aident à nous développer de manière positive, mais le plus haut degré de bonheur est que nous réalisons lorsque nous avons tiré les buts et objectifs du cœur et les avons élevés. Ensuite, nous nous sentons compétents et nous savons que nous avons fait ce que nous voulions et nous l'avons bien fait. La réalisation d'objectifs, en particulier ceux liés à nos valeurs, accroît le bien-être sur une période relativement longue.

Que dit la science sur le bonheur

Et est-ce comme cela a été dit, il y a beaucoup d'enquêtes menées sur ce sujet. Qui ne veut pas être heureux? Le bonheur est quelque chose que nous poursuivons tous.

Au fil des ans, les scientifiques ont découvert différentes activités, comportements, attitudes et gestes qui peuvent nous rendre plus heureux. Mais ... quelles sont les clés du bonheur? Certaines des conclusions les plus importantes sont les suivantes:

Passez plus de temps avec votre famille et vos amis

Comme le dit Seligman, de nombreuses recherches ont montré que passer du temps avec ses proches Cela nous rend plus heureux.

Voyager beaucoup

Connaître le monde et voyager enrichissent non seulement parce que cela nous ouvre l'esprit, mais aussi parce que nous nous sentons bien. Les chercheurs ont cependant constaté que Ce n’est pas le voyage en soi qui nous rend heureux, mais la planification .

Vivre le présent

Des attentes vivantes, souvent irréelles, ne favorisent pas notre bien-être. Vivez plutôt dans le présent nous permet de vivre la vie en plénitude et ça nous rend plus heureux

Gratitude

La gratitude est un autre principe de base du bonheur. Donc, chaque fois que vous pouvez remercier vos proches, tout ce qu'ils font pour vous.

Sortir dans la rue

Quelque chose d'aussi simple que de sortir dans la rue est positif parce que augmente les niveaux de sérotonine dans le cerveau , le neurotransmetteur lié au bonheur.

Ce ne sont là que quelques exemples de ce que la science dit à propos du bonheur. Si vous voulez en savoir plus, vous pouvez lire cet article: "Les 10 clés pour être heureux, selon la science"


Le désir et le bonheur - Philosophie - Terminale (Août 2020).


Articles Connexes