yes, therapy helps!
Franz Brentano and the psychology of intentionality

Franz Brentano and the psychology of intentionality

June 25, 2022

The study of intentionality is relatively recent in the history of philosophy. Although philosophers of antiquity and medieval as Aristotle, Augustine of Hippo, Avicenna or Thomas Aquinas made specific references to the human will, in general is considered Franz Brentano, who lived in the nineteenth century, the pioneer in this field of analysis.

In this article we will describe the main approaches of the psychology of intentionality (or "of the act") of Franz Brentano . For the German philosopher intentionality is the main feature that distinguishes psychological phenomena from physicists, which contain themselves instead of directing the acts towards another external object.


  • Related article: "History of Psychology: authors and main theories"

Biography of Franz Brentano

Franz Clemens Honoratus Hermann Brentano (1838-1917) was a priest, philosopher and psychologist who was born in Prussia, in present-day Germany. His interest in scholastic philosophy and that of Aristotle led him to study this subject in several German universities and, subsequently, to to be trained as a theologian and to become a priest of the Catholic religion .

In the year 1873 he left the Church because of his disagreements with the official theses; in particular, Brentano denied the dogma of papal infallibility, according to which the Pope is incapable of making mistakes. Later he married and devoted himself to university teaching. He died in 1917 in Zurich, Switzerland, where he moved after the First World War broke out.


The fundamental work of Brentano is entitled "Psychology from the empirical point of view" and it was published in the year 1874. In it, this author described the key role of intentionality in thinking and other processes of a psychological nature, and affirmed that it is the main factor that distinguishes them from purely physical phenomena.

The proposals of this pioneer had a great impact on different approaches to psychology and other disciplines: logic, the analytical philosophy of Wittgenstein and Russell, experimental psychology, structuralist and functionalist literary analysis, the School of Gestalt and especially phenomenology, based on his psychology of the act.

The concept of intentionality

Brentano recovered the concept of intentionality in modern philosophy. For it was based mainly on the work of Aristotle and other classical authors ; However, René Descartes' approach, which focused on knowledge instead of the will, was what inspired Brentano to highlight the relevance of this construct.


As defined by this author, intentionality is the common characteristic of all psychological phenomena . It is the property that directs an act or event determined towards an object or goal located in the external world. Intentionality has an immanent character, that is, it is always present in the mind of the person.

Physical phenomena are all those that occur in the external world, such as sounds, visual stimuli and objects in the environment in general. On the other hand, among psychological phenomena we find the perceptions of others of a physical nature, as well as the mental contents that are directed to them.

In this way all mental phenomena contain an object ; for example, in the act of wishing it is necessary that there be an external entity that fulfills the role of receiver of such event. The same happens when we remember an event from the past, a place or a specific information, when we feel love or hate for another living being, etc.

However, and given that the mental object (the intention or "intentional existence") that accompanies any physical object has different characteristics for each person, it is not possible in any case that more than one is directed exactly towards the same object, even if it is equivalent from a physical point of view.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 31 best Psychology books you can not miss"

The psychology of the act

Brentano said that Psychology consisted of two branches: descriptive and genetic . The first one would focus on the description of mental phenomena in the first person, similar to phenomenological psychology. Genetic psychology, like current cognitivism, would do it in the third person through empirical experiments.

This philosopher clearly defended the approach to psychology that he baptized as "descriptive". According to Brentano's thesis and his psychology of the act we should not analyze the objective experience associated with mental phenomena, but we would simply have to focus on describing how we experience it as richly as possible.

In this way, considering that one can not study the mind solely through its physical correlates, Franz Brentano was positioned against that our discipline could be part of the natural sciences . For this author, as for many others in the foundational era and nowadays, psychology would be closer to philosophy.

However, the psychology of the act of Brentano has been criticized since its inception (even by the disciples of the philosopher himself, much to his chagrin) for the lack of clarity of their approach. In addition, the introspective study methods are very questioned at present because it is not possible to systematize them in an adequate way.


Psychology: The Distinction of the Mental and the Physical: Franz Brentano: 1/2 (June 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Franz Brentano et la psychologie de l'intentionnalité

Franz Brentano et la psychologie de l'intentionnalité

Février 24, 2021

L'étude de l'intentionnalité est relativement récente dans l'histoire de la philosophie. Bien que les philosophes de l'antiquité et du moyen âge comme Aristote, Augustin d'Hippone, Avicenne ou Thomas d'Aquin aient fait des références spécifiques à la volonté humaine, on considère en général Franz Brentano, qui a vécu au XIXe siècle, le pionnier dans ce domaine d'analyse.

Dans cet article, nous allons décrire les principales approches de la psychologie de l'intentionnalité (ou "de l'acte") de Franz Brentano . Pour le philosophe allemand, l'intentionnalité est le trait principal qui distingue les phénomènes psychologiques des physiciens, qui se contiennent au lieu de diriger les actes vers un autre objet extérieur.


  • Article connexe: "Histoire de la psychologie: auteurs et théories principales"

Biographie de Franz Brentano

Franz Clemens Honoratus Hermann Brentano (1838-1917) était un prêtre, philosophe et psychologue né en Prusse, dans l'Allemagne actuelle. Son intérêt pour la philosophie scolastique et celui d'Aristote l'ont amené à étudier ce sujet dans plusieurs universités allemandes et, par la suite, à être formé en tant que théologien et devenir un prêtre de la religion catholique .

En 1873, il quitta l'Église à cause de ses divergences avec les thèses officielles. Brentano a notamment nié le dogme de l'infaillibilité papale selon lequel le pape est incapable de commettre des erreurs. Plus tard, il s'est marié et s'est consacré à l'enseignement universitaire. Il meurt en 1917 à Zurich, en Suisse, où il s'installe après le déclenchement de la Première Guerre mondiale.


Le travail fondamental de Brentano s'intitule "La psychologie du point de vue empirique" et il a été publié en 1874. Il y décrivait le rôle essentiel de l’intentionnalité dans la pensée et d’autres processus de nature psychologique et affirmait que c’était le principal facteur qui les distinguait des phénomènes purement physiques.

Les propositions de ce pionnier ont eu un impact important sur différentes approches de la psychologie et d’autres disciplines: la logique, la philosophie analytique de Wittgenstein et Russell, la psychologie expérimentale, l’analyse littéraire structuraliste et fonctionnaliste, l’École de Gestalt et plus particulièrement la phénoménologie, basé sur sa psychologie de l'acte.

Le concept d'intentionnalité

Brentano a retrouvé le concept d'intentionnalité dans la philosophie moderne. Pour cela était basé principalement sur le travail d'Aristote et d'autres auteurs classiques ; Cependant, c'est l'approche de René Descartes, axée sur la connaissance plutôt que sur la volonté, qui a incité Brentano à souligner la pertinence de cette construction.


Comme défini par cet auteur, l'intentionnalité est la caractéristique commune à tous les phénomènes psychologiques . C'est la propriété qui dirige un acte ou un événement déterminé vers un objet ou un but situé dans le monde extérieur. L'intentionnalité a un caractère immanent, c'est-à-dire qu'elle est toujours présente dans l'esprit de la personne.

Les phénomènes physiques sont tous ceux qui se produisent dans le monde extérieur, tels que les sons, les stimuli visuels et les objets dans l'environnement en général. D'autre part, parmi les phénomènes psychologiques, nous trouvons les perceptions des autres de nature physique, ainsi que le contenu mental qui leur est destiné.

De cette façon tous les phénomènes mentaux contiennent un objet ; par exemple, dans l'acte de souhaiter, il est nécessaire qu'il y ait une entité externe qui remplit le rôle de récepteur d'un tel événement. La même chose se produit lorsque nous nous souvenons d'un événement du passé, d'un lieu ou d'une information spécifique, lorsque nous ressentons de l'amour ou de la haine pour un autre être vivant, etc.

Cependant, et étant donné que l'objet mental (l'intention ou "existence intentionnelle") qui accompagne un objet physique présente des caractéristiques différentes pour chaque personne, il n'est en aucun cas possible que plusieurs objets soient dirigés exactement vers le même objet, même si cela est équivalent d'un point de vue physique.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 31 meilleurs livres de psychologie à ne pas manquer"

La psychologie de l'acte

Brentano a dit que La psychologie comprend deux branches: descriptive et génétique . La première serait axée sur la description des phénomènes mentaux chez la première personne, semblable à la psychologie phénoménologique. La psychologie génétique, comme le cognitivisme actuel, le ferait à la troisième personne par le biais d'expériences empiriques.

Ce philosophe a clairement défendu l'approche de la psychologie qu'il a baptisée "descriptive". Selon la thèse de Brentano et sa psychologie de l'acte, nous ne devrions pas analyser l'expérience objective associés à des phénomènes mentaux, mais nous devrions simplement nous concentrer sur la description la plus riche possible de notre expérience.

De cette façon, considérant que l'on ne peut pas étudier l'esprit uniquement par ses corrélats physiques, Franz Brentano s'est positionné contre celui de notre discipline. pourrait faire partie des sciences naturelles . Pour cet auteur, comme pour beaucoup d'autres de l'ère fondatrice et de nos jours, la psychologie serait plus proche de la philosophie.

Cependant, la psychologie de l'acte de Brentano a été critiquée depuis sa création (même par les disciples du philosophe lui-même, à son grand regret) pour le manque de clarté de leur approche. De plus, les méthodes d'étude introspective sont très remises en question à l'heure actuelle car il n'est pas possible de les systématiser de manière adéquate.


Silo. Contribuciones al pensamiento. Presentación del libro. (Février 2021).


Articles Connexes