yes, therapy helps!
Eros: what is the life drive according to Sigmund Freud and psychoanalysis

Eros: what is the life drive according to Sigmund Freud and psychoanalysis

July 19, 2024

Although the concept of eroticism is generally related to sex, the truth is that it is not limited to it: eroticism also includes a part of sensuality, falling in love, bonding, play and vitality. And in fact, it is something that does not even have to refer to a human being: a theme, idea or even landscape may seem erotic in a certain sense. Eroticism is a very worked aspect by numerous authors, being probably one of the most known Sigmund Freud, which identified Eros and sexual energy or libido as the fundamental parts of psychic life . And it is about this author's vision of the concept that we are going to talk about throughout this article.


  • Related article: "Sigmund Freud: life and work of the famous psychoanalyst"

The drives as a fundamental element of psychic life

To understand the concept of Eros from the psychoanalytic perspective, it is first necessary to know the concept of drive and its importance in the human psyche.

It receives the name of drive all that impulse or force that leads the subject to carry out some type of action, generally in order to satisfy some type of need. These are powerful forces that arise before a state of bodily tension, which seeks to be resolved.

The drive is ultimately the origin of all mental activity , being psychic representative of somatic stimuli of the body, and consists of source (organ from which the drive is born), force (degree of thrust to action), goal (satisfaction of excitation) and object (what satisfies it).


It is therefore one of the fundamental concepts of psychoanalysis, along with the unconscious, when it comes to explaining psychic life. Specifically, it is part of the so-called economic personality model Freud, which attempts to explain human performance as a product of the attempt to resolve states of bodily tension.

The author considered that the psychic energy that governs our behavior was based on sexual impulses , integrating these in the concept of libido (which would not only include sex but if considered as the main force) and linked to the search for satisfaction and pleasure. From this idea, which would later include not only sexual energy but also that dedicated to self-preservation, the notion of the life drive, also known as Eros, emerges.

  • Perhaps you are interested: "The 9 types of Psychoanalysis (theories and main authors)"

Eros: life drive

It receives the name of Eros or pulsión of life the impulse generator of activation and excitation at organic level that appears with the main objective of guarantee survival and keep living matter together and integrated , looking generally to generate increasingly complex unions and the satisfaction of needs, especially sexual ones.


This type of drive integrates two concepts that Freud initially considered separated: the sexual drive and the self-construction drive. It is a force that generates dynamism and activity, leading to behavior and the search for satisfaction

This principle is based on the pleasure principle, according to which the psyche's main function is that of look for pleasure and avoid displeasure . This is achieved from the search for the reduction of tension. It is also influenced and mediated by the reality principle: depending on the consideration that the drive may be inadequate or unrealizable (something that is linked to the self and the superego), we can sublimate it and reach a partial gratification through a rodeo .

Eros also leads us to maintain relationships both with ourselves and with others, allowing the appearance of the approach and identification with others.

There are multiple acts in which Eros expresses itself , resulting in the easily visible life drive: besides sex, feeding, defecation, kissing and caressing or dreams are examples of this. It requires an object to which to go and from which to obtain gratification.

A fundamental concept in psychoanalysis

The concept of life drive and Eros is one of the core elements of Freud's theory, together with the ideas of the unconscious and the intrapsychic conflicts .

One of the elements that influences to a large extent is the Freudian vision of psychosexual development, in which the focus of sexual gratification is changing throughout development (going through the mouth, anus, phallus and genitals) and can there are bindings that produce pathological difficulties.It is also basic in the generation of conflicts between the id (desires and unconscious impulses) and the ego, making the latter apply the reality principle and occur a balance between censorship and satisfaction of impulses .

  • Related article: "The id, the self and the superego, according to Sigmund Freud"

Your relationship with the Thanatos

Although the idea of ​​the libido and the sexual drive already existed much earlier in the thought of Freud, the concept of Eros was born at the same time as that of a type of drive opposed to this: the death drive or Thanatos.

Both concepts are completely opposite: Eros is life and vitality, dynamism, sexuality and pursuit of pleasure and survival while Thanatos represents the unconscious desire for death, back to the inorganic , of regression, rest and dissolution. Eros is union and Thanatos disintegration.

However, to interdependent drives that appear together and even merge in part, leading to different types of behavior. In fact, there is no human action in which both components do not exist. In conclusion: there is no death without life or life without death.

Bibliographic references:

  • Freud, S. (1976). Beyond the pleasure principle OC XVIII 1920; 1-62.

Freud - Death drive, reality principle, and pleasure principle | Behavior | MCAT | Khan Academy (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Eros: quelle est la conduite de la vie selon Sigmund Freud et la psychanalyse

Eros: quelle est la conduite de la vie selon Sigmund Freud et la psychanalyse

Août 31, 2022

Bien que le concept de l'érotisme soit généralement lié au sexe, la vérité est qu'il ne s'y limite pas: l'érotisme comprend également une part de sensualité, de tomber amoureux, de créer des liens, de jouer et de vivre. Et en fait, il n’ya même pas besoin de faire référence à un être humain: un thème, une idée ou même un paysage peuvent sembler érotiques dans un certain sens. L'érotisme est un aspect très travaillé par de nombreux auteurs, probablement l'un des plus connus, Sigmund Freud, qui identifié Eros et l'énergie sexuelle ou la libido en tant que parties fondamentales de la vie psychique . Et il s'agit de la vision de cet auteur du concept dont nous allons parler tout au long de cet article.


  • Article connexe: "Sigmund Freud: la vie et l'œuvre du célèbre psychanalyste"

Les pulsions comme élément fondamental de la vie psychique

Pour comprendre le concept de l'éros de la perspective psychanalytique, il faut d'abord connaître le concept de pulsion et son importance dans la psyché humaine.

Il reçoit le nom de lecteur toute cette impulsion ou force qui amène le sujet à effectuer un type d’action, généralement pour satisfaire un type de besoin. Ce sont des forces puissantes qui surgissent avant un état de tension corporelle, qui cherche à être résolu.

La pulsion est finalement à l'origine de toute activité mentale , étant un représentant psychique des stimuli somatiques du corps, il est constitué de la source (organe de naissance de la pulsion), de la force (degré de poussée à l’action), du but (satisfaction de l’excitation) et de l’objet (ce qui la satisfait).


C'est donc l'un des concepts fondamentaux de la psychanalyse, aux côtés de l'inconscient, pour expliquer la vie psychique. Plus précisément, cela fait partie du soi-disant modèle de personnalité économique Freud, qui tente d'expliquer la performance humaine en tant que produit de la tentative de résolution des états de tension corporelle.

L'auteur considéré que l'énergie psychique qui régit notre comportement était basée sur des impulsions sexuelles , en les intégrant dans le concept de libido (qui inclurait non seulement le sexe mais si elles étaient considérées comme la force principale) et liées à la recherche de la satisfaction et du plaisir. De cette idée, qui inclura plus tard non seulement l'énergie sexuelle mais aussi celle dédiée à la conservation de soi, émerge la notion de pulsion de vie, également connue sous le nom d'Eros.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par: "Les 9 types de psychanalyse (théories et auteurs principaux)"

Eros: pulsion de vie

Il reçoit le nom d'eros ou pulsión de vie le générateur d'impulsion d'activation et d'excitation au niveau organique qui apparaît avec l'objectif principal de garantir la survie et garder la matière vivante ensemble et intégrée , cherchant généralement à générer des unions de plus en plus complexes et la satisfaction des besoins, notamment sexuels.


Ce type de pulsion intègre deux concepts que Freud avait initialement considérés comme séparés: la pulsion sexuelle et la pulsion de construction. C’est une force génératrice de dynamisme et d’activité menant au comportement et à la quête de satisfaction

Ce principe est basé sur le principe de plaisir, selon lequel la fonction principale de la psyché est celle de cherche le plaisir et évite le mécontentement . Ceci est réalisé à partir de la recherche de la réduction de la tension. Il est également influencé par le principe de réalité: il peut être sublimé ou irréalisable (quelque chose qui est lié au soi et au surmoi), nous pouvons le sublimer et atteindre une gratification partielle à travers un rodéo. .

Eros nous amène également à entretenir des relations à la fois avec nous-mêmes et avec les autres, en permettant l’apparition de la démarche et l’identification aux autres.

Il y a plusieurs actes dans lesquels Eros s'exprime , donnant lieu à une pulsion de vie bien visible: outre le sexe, l’alimentation, la défécation, les baisers et les caresses ou les rêves en sont des exemples. Cela nécessite un objet pour lequel aller et d'où obtenir une gratification.

Un concept fondamental en psychanalyse

Le concept de pulsion de vie et Eros est l'un des éléments centraux de la théorie de Freud, avec les idées de l'inconscient et les conflits intrapsychiques .

Un des éléments qui influence dans une large mesure est la vision freudienne du développement psychosexuel, dans laquelle le centre de la gratification sexuelle change tout au long du développement (passant par la bouche, l'anus, le phallus et les organes génitaux) et peut il y a des liaisons qui produisent des difficultés pathologiques.Il est également fondamental dans la génération de conflits entre le ça (désirs et impulsions inconscientes) et le moi, ce qui oblige ce dernier à appliquer le principe de réalité et à se produire. un équilibre entre censure et satisfaction des pulsions .

  • Article connexe: "Le ça, le moi et le surmoi, selon Sigmund Freud"

Votre relation avec les Thanatos

Bien que l'idée de la libido et de la pulsion sexuelle existât déjà beaucoup plus tôt dans la pensée de Freud, le concept d'Eros est né en même temps que celui d'un type de pulsion opposé à cela: la pulsion de mort ou Thanatos.

Les deux concepts sont complètement opposés: Eros est la vie et la vitalité, le dynamisme, la sexualité et la poursuite du plaisir et de la survie tout en Thanatos représente le désir inconscient de mort, de retour à l'inorganique , de régression, de repos et de dissolution. Eros est l'union et la désintégration de Thanatos.

Cependant, les lecteurs interdépendants qui apparaissent ensemble et fusionnent même partiellement, conduisant à différents types de comportement. En fait, il n'y a pas d'action humaine dans laquelle les deux composants n'existent pas. En conclusion: il n'y a pas de mort sans vie ni de vie sans mort.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Freud, S. (1976). Au-delà du principe de plaisir OC XVIII 1920; 1-62.

Biblical Series IV: Adam and Eve: Self-Consciousness, Evil, and Death (Août 2022).


Articles Connexes