yes, therapy helps!
Globe pale: structure, functions and associated disorders

Globe pale: structure, functions and associated disorders

January 25, 2022

Although they are not as well known to most people as the cerebral lobes, the subcortical regions of the brain they fulfill equally important functions. In particular, the areas that we know as basal ganglia are fundamental for movement, among other aspects.

One of the nuclei that form the basal ganglia is the pale globe, the smallest of all. We'll see now the structure and functions of the pale globe , as well as the disorders that are related to injuries in this region, among which Parkinson's disease stands out.

What is the pale balloon?

The pale globe is also known as paleoestriado . It is a subcortical structure composed of gray matter (ie, somas of neurons, dendrites without myelin and glial cells) that develops from the diencephalon, although it is part of the telencephalon. Therefore it is located in the anterior part of the brain, on the inner side of the frontal lobe.


It is part of the extrapyramidal system , a neural network that controls and regulates involuntary movements. The extrapyramidal tracts send projections mainly to the lower motoneurons of the spinal cord that deal with movement, reflexes and posture.

This structure is more developed in primates than in other animals ; in particular, the inner region of the pale globe is found only in humans and in our closest relatives.

  • Related article: "Basal ganglia: anatomy and functions"

The basal ganglia

The pale is one of the structures that constitute the basal ganglia, a set of intimately related subcortical nuclei that are located around the third ventricle. The basal ganglia perform functions mainly related to voluntary and automatic movements.


The nuclei that form the basal ganglia , in addition to the pale globe, are the following:

  • Striated body: receives information from the other basal ganglia, integrates it and sends it to higher areas of the brain.
  • Caudate nucleus It has connections to the frontal lobe and is involved in motivation and alarm response.
  • Black substance: relevant for fine motor control; It is part of the brain reward system because it has many dopaminergic synapses.
  • NĂșcleo accumbens: like the substantia nigra, it is part of the reinforcement system, so it has a key role in the development of addictions.
  • Putamen : this structure intervenes in automated movements, especially those of the face and extremities.
  • Subthalamic nucleus : connects the mesencephalon and the thalamus and regulates motor skills.
  • Red substance : this region is important for coordination in general and that of the upper extremities in particular.

Structure and anatomy

The pale globe is composed mainly of very large neurons with a large number of dendritic branches. The appearance of the pale globe is peculiar because of the abundance of dendrites and their unusual length .


The name of this structure is due to the fact that it crosses many myelinated axons that connect other regions of the basal ganglia with the pale globe, giving it the whitish tone characteristic of the cerebral areas with high density of white matter.

It is usually divided the pale globe in two parts: the internal or medial and the external or lateral l . The inner pale globe receives efferents from the striatum and projects afferents to the thalamus, which will send them to the prefrontal cortex. The outer part contains GABAergic neurons and acts in conjunction with the subthalamic nucleus.

Functions of the pale globe

The main function of the pale globe is the regulation of non-conscious movements. In this sense, his role consists of modulate the excitatory impulses of the cerebellum by synapse of the neurotransmitter GABA, the most relevant inhibitory compound of the nervous system.

The joint action of the cerebellum and the pale allows the maintaining posture and performing harmonious movements . If the pale balloon does not work properly there is an impairment of gait, manual motility and many other ordinary behaviors.

This role is due mainly to the internal pale globe and its connections with superior brain structures. This region of the pale r ecibe afferents of the striatum from the basal ganglia and sends them to the thalamus, which regulates basic bodily functions such as alertness and sleep and allows sensory and motor information to reach the cortex.

The lateral part of the pale, in conjunction with the subthalamic nucleus, intervenes in the regulation of physiological rhythms of the organism, especially in relation to the rest of structures of the basal ganglia.

Related disorders

The lesions in the pale globe cause motor disorders since they interrupt the connections of the extrapyramidal tracts. Thus, the affectation of this structure can cause symptoms such as tremors, spasms , bradykinesia (slowness of movement), rigidity, dystonia (uncontrollable contractions), seizures or ataxia (lack of muscle coordination).

The disorder most clearly associated with damage to the pale globe is Parkinson's disease, which causes a degeneration of subcortical structures, including the basal ganglia.

Some typical symptoms of Parkinson's , such as resting tremors, muscle rigidity and postural problems, are explained by the pale and / or cerebellar lesion. However, as this disease progresses, it also causes lesions in other parts of the brain; This is the cause of the progressive cognitive deterioration found in these patients.


Vision: Crash Course A&P #18 (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Globe Pale: structure, fonctions et troubles associés

Globe Pale: structure, fonctions et troubles associés

Novembre 24, 2022

Bien qu'ils soient moins connus de la plupart des gens que les lobes cérébraux, les régions sous-corticales du cerveau ils remplissent des fonctions d'égale importance. En particulier, les zones que nous appelons les ganglions de la base sont fondamentales pour le mouvement, entre autres aspects.

L'un des noyaux qui forment les noyaux gris centraux est le globe pâle, le plus petit de tous. Ensuite nous verrons la structure et les fonctions du globe pâle , ainsi que les troubles liés aux blessures dans cette région, parmi lesquels la maladie de Parkinson se distingue.

Quel est le ballon pâle?

Le globe pâle est également connu sous le nom de paleoestriado . C'est une structure sous-corticale composée de matière grise (somas de neurones, dendrites sans myéline ni cellules gliales) qui se développe à partir du diencephale, bien qu'elle fasse partie du télencéphale. Par conséquent, il est situé dans la partie antérieure du cerveau, à l'intérieur du lobe frontal.


Cela fait partie du système extrapyramidal , un réseau de neurones qui contrôle et régule les mouvements involontaires. Les voies extrapyramidales envoient des projections principalement aux motoneurones inférieurs de la moelle épinière qui traitent du mouvement, des réflexes et de la posture.

Cette structure est plus développé chez les primates que chez les autres animaux ; en particulier, la région intérieure du globe pâle ne se trouve que chez l'homme et chez nos plus proches parents.

  • Article connexe: "Les noyaux gris centraux: anatomie et fonctions"

Les ganglions de la base

La pâle est l’une des structures qui constituent les noyaux gris centraux, un ensemble de noyaux sous-corticaux intimement liés situés autour du troisième ventricule. Les ganglions de la base exercent des fonctions principalement liées aux mouvements volontaires et automatiques.


Les noyaux qui forment les noyaux gris centraux , en plus du globe pâle, sont les suivants:

  • Corps strié: reçoit les informations des autres ganglions de la base, les intègre et les envoie aux régions supérieures du cerveau.
  • Noyau caudé Il est relié au lobe frontal et participe à la motivation et à la réponse aux alarmes.
  • Substance noire: utile pour le contrôle moteur fin; Cela fait partie du système de récompense du cerveau car il possède de nombreuses synapses dopaminergiques.
  • Núcleo accumbens: comme la substance noire, il fait partie du système de renforcement, de sorte qu'il joue un rôle clé dans le développement des dépendances.
  • Putamen : cette structure intervient dans les mouvements automatisés, notamment ceux du visage et des extrémités.
  • Noyau sous-thalamique : relie le mésencéphale et le thalamus et régule les habiletés motrices.
  • Substance rouge : cette région est importante pour la coordination en général et pour les membres supérieurs en particulier.

Structure et anatomie

Le globe pâle est composé principalement de très gros neurones avec un grand nombre de branches dendritiques. L’apparence du globe pâle est particulière à cause de la abondance de dendrites et leur longueur inhabituelle .


Le nom de cette structure tient au fait qu’elle traverse de nombreux axones myélinisés qui relient d’autres régions des noyaux gris centraux au globe pâle, ce qui lui confère le ton blanchâtre caractéristique des zones cérébrales à haute densité de substance blanche.

Il est généralement divisé le globe pâle en deux parties: la partie interne ou interne et la partie externe ou latérale l . Le globe intérieur pâle reçoit les efférents du striatum et projette des afférents sur le thalamus, qui les enverra au cortex préfrontal. La partie externe contient des neurones GABAergiques et agit conjointement avec le noyau sous-thalamique.

Fonctions du globe pâle

La fonction principale du globe pâle est la régulation des mouvements inconscients. En ce sens, son rôle consiste à moduler les impulsions excitatrices du cervelet par la synapse du neurotransmetteur GABA, le composé inhibiteur le plus important du système nerveux.

L’action conjointe du cervelet et de la pâle permet au maintenir la posture et effectuer des mouvements harmonieux . Si le ballon pâle ne fonctionne pas correctement, la démarche, la motilité manuelle et de nombreux autres comportements ordinaires sont altérés.

Ce rôle est dû principalement au globe pâle interne et à ses connexions avec les structures cérébrales supérieures. Cette région de la pâle r ecibe afferents du striatum des noyaux gris centraux et les envoie au thalamus, qui régule les fonctions corporelles de base telles que la vigilance et le sommeil et permet aux informations sensorielles et motrices d’atteindre le cortex.

La partie latérale de la pâle, en conjonction avec le noyau sous-thalamique, intervient dans la régulation des rythmes physiologiques de l'organisme, en particulier par rapport au reste des structures des noyaux gris centraux.

Troubles connexes

Les lésions du globe pâle provoquent des troubles moteurs puisqu'elles interrompent les connexions des voies extrapyramidales. Ainsi, l’affectation de cette structure peut causer symptômes tels que tremblements, spasmes bradykinésie (lenteur des mouvements), rigidité, dystonie (contractions incontrôlables), convulsions ou ataxie (manque de coordination musculaire).

Le trouble le plus clairement associé aux dommages causés par le globe pâle est la maladie de Parkinson, qui provoque une dégénérescence des structures sous-corticales, notamment les noyaux gris centraux.

Quelques symptômes typiques de la maladie de Parkinson , tels que les tremblements au repos, la rigidité musculaire et les problèmes de posture, sont expliqués par la lésion pâle et / ou cérébelleuse. Cependant, au fur et à mesure que cette maladie progresse, elle provoque également des lésions dans d'autres parties du cerveau; Ceci est la cause de la détérioration cognitive progressive observée chez ces patients.


The Howling Mines | Critical Role | Campaign 2, Episode 6 (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes