yes, therapy helps!
Hikikomori in Spain: the social isolation syndrome not only affects Japan

Hikikomori in Spain: the social isolation syndrome not only affects Japan

September 26, 2022

Hikikomori is a psychopathological and sociological phenomenon in which an individual isolates himself from society for at least 6 months, locking himself in his room , without interest or motivation for work, school or social relationships. Until recently it was thought that there were only cases in Japan, but recent research suggests that there are also cases in other countries. For example: Spain, Italy, India, the United States or Korea.

This syndrome differs from agoraphobia because patients with Hikikomori feel apathy for society . In contrast, agoraphobia is an anxiety disorder characterized by an irrational fear of being in situations where it may be difficult or embarrassing to escape or where help may not be available in the event of having a panic attack.


The term was coined by Dr. Tamaki Saito, a psychiatrist who estimated that in Japan 1.2 million people suffer from Hikikomori.

Characteristics of the Hikikomori

The effect of Hikikomori includes lto abstinence from society and avoidance of interaction with others . The individual profile that Hikikomori suffers is of young middle-class adults and of masculine gender who, apparently due to the pressures of modern life, escape the privacy and security of their bedrooms, living alone. On rare occasions they usually leave their room, so they spend time inside their world alien to society or within their virtual reality: video games, internet or manga comics (in the Japanese Hikikomori).


Experts claim that l as sensitive, shy, introverted people with lack of social skills and resources to tolerate stress are more likely to suffer from this syndrome.

Hikikomori has been the source of a great public debate: Does it have a social or psychological origin? Do parents have something to do with pampering their children? Why does it happen more often in Japan? At first it was thought that only happened in this Asian country, but there seem to be more cases outside the Japanese country.

Japan and its relationship with the Hikikomori syndrome

To better understand this phenomenon, first of all we must understand the peculiarities of the Asian giant. Japan offers a multitude of singularities that are hard to find anywhere else in the world. The Japanese country is today one of the most industrialized and advanced societies on the planet. Famous for its technological advances, it is a highly urbanized country. According to a recent UN report, its capital, Tokyo, is the most populated city in the world with 13.5 million inhabitants.


But despite the fact that Japan represents modernity, at the same time governing traditional patterns of behavior and social ethics continues to have a deep meaning and root . Japan mixes a millenary past and a highly technological future. That is, it is known for its fashions, trends, but its millenary culture coexists with the capitalist and consumerist model that characterizes it. In this context it is not uncommon for pathologies such as the Hikikomori to arise, since the capitalist system tends to individualism and traditional values ​​to the collectivity.

The culture of aesthetics, consumption and leisure, has taken a toll on many young people because it turns subjects into objects and mere consumers, and they lose the genuine identity that should characterize them. The coexistence of these two value systems can lead to serious emotional problems, because the well-being of people is very linked to being with oneself, something complicated in the culture of the Japanese country,

The psychological disorders associated with technology and the culture of image and consumption are not exclusive to this country, but western countries also experience different phenomena that are a consequence of this dehumanizing system. Then I leave some examples of the problems that can cause new technology and the culture of the image and consumption at emotional level:

  • Nomophobia: the growing addiction to the mobile phone
  • Tecnostros: the new psychopathology of the "digital age"
  • FOMO syndrome: feeling that the life of others is more interesting

Causes of Japanese Hikikomori

The causes of Hikikomori are varied and there is no consensus among researchers . Personal, cultural, environmental (family, school, etc.) or demographic factors may be behind this syndrome. Since the associated factors tend to occur to a greater extent in large cities, there seems to be more prevalence in urban areas.

Personal factors refer to problems of self-esteem, lack of social skills or stress management of these people, that in the absence of resources they would isolate themselves to seek the comfort and comfort of their room . Other experts think that new technologies have a lot to do, which cause a loss of contact with reality. Family factors would include parental pressure or work schedules. The socio-economic factors refer to the pressure exerted by the capitalist system and the culture associated with this model, as well as singular factors of Japanese culture. The demographic factors refer to the low birth rate of this country, which causes even more pressure on young people to be unique children.

The concept of "amae" and its relationship with the Hikikomori

In Japanese society highlights the impossibility of young people when leaving home , different from European or North American society. Although in this country solidarity is emphasized, Japan is a vertical society, since it fosters all kinds of hierarchical structures. For example, the male precedes the woman, and the older ones precede the younger ones. This concept of ancestral order supports the social architecture of Japan.

When talking about Hikikomori, many are surprised how it can be that a father lets his son lock himself in his room without doing anything to get him out of there. The fact is that Japanese society does not react in the same way to Hikikomori as Western societies. To give an example, while European psychologists recommend that hospitalization is the best treatment for this syndrome, Japanese psychologists and psychiatrists think the opposite. Further, the Hikikomori has become an acceptable behavior within the society of the Asian country ; It has normalized.

As we have seen, Japanese society is a very vertical and hierarchical society that values ​​the group over the individual to, in this way, alleviate tensions and conflicts and achieve the social harmony of the group. A characteristic concept of this culture is the "amae", which governs many of the personal relationships in Japan.

The amae or "permissive dependence" is expect indulgence and acceptance of others . Amae can be seen in the West too. For example, in the relationship of a child with his parents, that no matter how bad the child behaves, parents will always forgive him. In Japan, but, this behavior is present throughout life: in personal relationships of friendship, in a couple, between company colleagues and even between boss and employee. The Japanese have a hard time saying "no" because they are afraid of destroying the relationship. It is one of your social norms. While in our culture the individual achievements are rewarded, in Japan it is reinforced to achieve objectives collectively.

The role of the family in Japan

Japanese families barely divorce, and the stability of the family is very high compared to the western countries . The relationship between the spouses shows a strong tendency to separate roles.

The husband adopts the role of bringing money home, and on the other hand, the woman assumes exclusive responsibility for the house and the children. Regarding parenting, parents pay close attention to their academic development. Saving for your education is one of your priorities.

Education and work in Japan

The educational system of Japan reflects the organized and hierarchical political-social structure of which I have spoken, in such a way that all members of society have a duty to contribute to the collective improvement of the country and to direct to this end all his dedication throughout his life, from birth to death.

Japan has a very elaborate education system and is one of the populations with the highest cultural level. But its education system offers little opportunity for self-expression , and the children have little free time, because they have a great academic load. At school, Japanese children learn not to move, not to cry, not to ask, they must also have a very severe work capacity, so they educate submissive beings to obey their superiors in the future.

In addition, it is usual for children to attend academies after school to take extra lessons, as Japanese society is highly competitive . In Japan, society is divided according to education and the place where it has been studied, as well as employment, income and the position held within a company.

Hikikomori outside of Japan

For a short time now, researchers have been wondering if this syndrome is a consequence only of the peculiarities of Japanese culture, of capitalism or if it is a reaction to any culture. Research has confirmed that Hikikomori exists outside Japan, but with some differences. Oman, Italy, India, the United States, Korea and Spain are some of the countries in which cases have been reported.

Isolated cases in Oman or India may indicate that this type of isolation is a reaction against culture and society. But due to the large number of cases that have been reported in Japan, seems to confirm the idea that Japanese culture and its socio-economic characteristics could favor this reaction of apathy against society characterized by social isolation. You could say that it is not an exclusive syndrome of Japan, but that the conditions that occur in that country cause more pathological cases.

In Spain there is also Hikikomori

A study carried out by the Institute of Neuropsychiatry and Addictions of the Hospital del Mar (Barcelona) has reported 164 cases of hikikomori in Spain . The study was published in the Journal of Social Psychiatry, and researchers have stated that "this syndrome has been underestimated in Spain due to the difficulty of accessing these people and the lack of specialized home care teams".

There are certain differences between the cases of Hikikomori in Spain with respect to those that occurred in Japan. The majority of Spanish patients suffer from associated mental disorders , such as psychotic disorders (34.7%), anxiety (22%) or affective disorders (74.5%), which is known as Secondary Hikikomori. The Primary Hikikomori it is the one that does not present comorbidity with other psychological disorders. The Spanish patients, mostly men, are older than the Japanese, with an average age of 36 years. Likewise, the majority of those affected live with the family and half have higher education.

Below you can see a video about the Hikikomori in Spain:


Hikikomori (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Hikikomori en Espagne: le syndrome d'isolement social ne concerne pas seulement le Japon

Hikikomori en Espagne: le syndrome d'isolement social ne concerne pas seulement le Japon

Novembre 10, 2022

Hikikomori est un phénomène psychopathologique et sociologique dans lequel un individu s'isole de la société pendant au moins 6 mois et s'enferme dans sa chambre , sans intérêt ni motivation pour le travail, les études ou les relations sociales. Jusqu'à récemment, on pensait qu'il n'y avait que des cas au Japon, mais des recherches récentes suggèrent qu'il en existe aussi dans d'autres pays. Par exemple: Espagne, Italie, Inde, États-Unis ou Corée.

Ce syndrome diffère de l'agoraphobie parce que les patients atteints d'Hikikomori sont apathiques envers la société . L'agoraphobie est en revanche un trouble anxieux caractérisé par une peur irrationnelle d'être dans des situations où il peut être difficile ou gênant de s'échapper ou où l'aide peut ne pas être disponible en cas de crise de panique.


Le terme a été inventé par le Dr Tamaki Saito, un psychiatre qui a estimé qu'au Japon 1,2 million de personnes souffrent de Hikikomori.

Caractéristiques des Hikikomori

L'effet de Hikikomori comprend là s'abstenir de la société et à éviter les interactions avec les autres . Le profil individuel que subit Hikikomori est celui de jeunes adultes de la classe moyenne et du genre masculin qui, apparemment en raison des pressions de la vie moderne, échappent à la confidentialité et à la sécurité de leurs chambres à coucher et vivent seules. En de rares occasions, ils quittent généralement leur chambre et passent donc du temps dans leur monde étranger à la société ou dans leur réalité virtuelle: jeux vidéo, Internet ou bandes dessinées manga (en japonais Hikikomori).


Les experts affirment que l comme les personnes sensibles, timides, introverties avec le manque de compétences sociales et de ressources pour tolérer le stress sont plus susceptibles souffrir de ce syndrome.

Hikikomori a été à l'origine d'un grand débat public: a-t-il une origine sociale ou psychologique? Les parents ont-ils quelque chose à faire avec le soin de leurs enfants? Pourquoi cela se produit-il plus souvent au Japon? Au début, on pensait que cela ne s'était produit que dans ce pays asiatique, mais il semble y avoir davantage de cas en dehors du pays japonais.

Le Japon et sa relation avec le syndrome de Hikikomori

Pour mieux comprendre ce phénomène, nous devons tout d’abord comprendre les particularités du géant asiatique. Le Japon offre une multitude de singularités difficiles à trouver ailleurs dans le monde. Le pays japonais est aujourd'hui l'une des sociétés les plus industrialisées et les plus avancées de la planète. Célèbre pour ses avancées technologiques, c'est un pays très urbanisé. Selon un rapport récent des Nations unies, sa capitale, Tokyo, est la ville la plus peuplée du monde avec 13,5 millions d'habitants.


Mais en dépit du fait que le Japon représente la modernité, en même temps gouverner les modèles traditionnels de comportement et d’éthique sociale continue à avoir une signification profonde et . Le Japon mêle un passé millénaire et un avenir hautement technologique. Autrement dit, il est connu pour ses modes, ses tendances, mais sa culture millénaire coexiste avec le modèle capitaliste et consumériste qui le caractérise. Dans ce contexte, il n'est pas rare que des pathologies telles que les Hikikomori apparaissent, car le système capitaliste tend à l'individualisme et aux valeurs traditionnelles de la collectivité.

La culture de l'esthétique, de la consommation et des loisirs a eu des conséquences néfastes sur de nombreux jeunes, car elle transforme les sujets en objets et en simples consommateurs et leur fait perdre la véritable identité qui devrait les caractériser. La coexistence de ces deux systèmes de valeurs peut entraîner de graves problèmes émotionnels, car le bien-être des personnes est très lié au fait d'être avec soi-même, ce qui est compliqué dans la culture du pays japonais.

Les désordres psychologiques associés à la technologie et à la culture de l'image et de la consommation ne sont pas exclusifs à ce pays, mais les pays occidentaux connaissent également différents phénomènes qui sont une conséquence de ce système déshumanisant. Je laisse ensuite quelques exemples des problèmes pouvant être à l'origine des nouvelles technologies et de la culture de l'image et de la consommation sur le plan émotionnel:

  • Nomophobie: la dépendance croissante au téléphone mobile
  • Tecnostros: la nouvelle psychopathologie de "l'ère numérique"
  • Syndrome FOMO: sentir que la vie des autres est plus intéressante

Causes de Hikikomori japonais

Le les causes de Hikikomori sont variées et il n'y a pas de consensus parmi les chercheurs . Ce syndrome est lié à des facteurs personnels, culturels, environnementaux (famille, école, etc.) ou démographiques. Étant donné que les facteurs associés tendent à être plus fréquents dans les grandes villes, il semble que la prévalence soit plus grande dans les zones urbaines.

Les facteurs personnels renvoient à des problèmes d'estime de soi, de manque de compétences sociales ou de gestion du stress de ces personnes, qui en l'absence de ressources ils s'isoleraient pour rechercher le confort et le confort de leur chambre . D'autres experts pensent que les nouvelles technologies ont beaucoup à faire, ce qui entraîne une perte de contact avec la réalité. Les facteurs familiaux incluent la pression parentale ou les horaires de travail. Les facteurs socio-économiques font référence à la pression exercée par le système capitaliste et à la culture associée à ce modèle, ainsi qu'à des facteurs singuliers de la culture japonaise. Les facteurs démographiques font référence au faible taux de natalité de ce pays, qui pousse encore plus les jeunes à devenir des enfants uniques.

Le concept "amae" et sa relation avec les Hikikomori

Dans la société japonaise souligne l'impossibilité pour les jeunes de quitter leur domicile , différente de la société européenne ou nord-américaine. Bien que l’on insiste sur la solidarité dans ce pays, le Japon est une société verticale, dans la mesure où il favorise toutes sortes de structures hiérarchiques. Par exemple, le mâle précède la femme et les plus âgés précèdent les plus jeunes. Ce concept d'ordre ancestral soutient l'architecture sociale du Japon.

Quand on parle d'Hikikomori, beaucoup sont surpris de voir comment un père peut laisser son fils s'enfermer dans sa chambre sans rien faire pour le sortir de là. Le fait est que la société japonaise ne réagit pas de la même manière que les sociétés occidentales face au Hikikomori. Pour donner un exemple, alors que les psychologues européens recommandent que l'hospitalisation soit le meilleur traitement de ce syndrome, les psychologues et psychiatres japonais pensent le contraire. En outre, le Hikikomori est devenu un comportement acceptable dans la société du pays asiatique ; Cela s'est normalisé.

Comme nous l’avons vu, la société japonaise est une société très verticale et hiérarchisée qui valorise le groupe au détriment de l’individu afin de réduire les tensions et les conflits et d’atteindre l’harmonie sociale du groupe. Un concept caractéristique de cette culture est le "amae", qui régit de nombreuses relations personnelles au Japon.

Le Amae ou "dépendance permissive" est attendre l'indulgence et l'acceptation des autres . On peut aussi voir Amae en occident. Par exemple, dans la relation d'un enfant avec ses parents, peu importe le comportement de l'enfant, les parents lui pardonneront toujours. Au Japon, cependant, ce comportement est présent tout au long de la vie: dans des relations personnelles d’amitié, en couple, entre collègues d’entreprise et même entre patron et employé. Les Japonais ont du mal à dire "non" parce qu'ils ont peur de détruire la relation. C'est l'une de vos normes sociales. Dans notre culture, les réalisations individuelles sont récompensées, mais au Japon, elles sont renforcées pour atteindre les objectifs collectivement.

Le rôle de la famille au Japon

Les familles japonaises divorcent à peine et la stabilité de la famille est très élevée par rapport aux pays occidentaux . La relation entre les époux montre une forte tendance à séparer les rôles.

Le mari assume le rôle de rapporter de l'argent à la maison, tandis que la femme assume la responsabilité exclusive de la maison et des enfants. En ce qui concerne la parentalité, les parents accordent une attention particulière à leur développement scolaire. Épargner pour vos études est l'une de vos priorités.

Education et travail au Japon

Le système éducatif japonais reflète la structure politico-sociale organisée et hiérarchique dont j'ai parlé, de telle sorte que tous les membres de la société ont le devoir de contribuer à l'amélioration collective du pays et de diriger à cette fin tout son dévouement tout au long de sa vie, de la naissance à la mort.

Le Japon a un système d'éducation très élaboré et fait partie des populations au niveau culturel le plus élevé. Mais son système éducatif offre peu d'opportunités d'expression personnelle et les enfants ont peu de temps libre, car ils ont une lourde charge de travail scolaire. À l'école, les enfants japonais apprennent à ne pas bouger, à ne pas pleurer, à ne pas demander, ils doivent aussi avoir une très grande capacité de travail et éduquer les êtres soumis à obéir à leurs supérieurs à l'avenir.

En outre, il est habituel que les enfants fréquentent l’académie après l’école pour prendre des cours supplémentaires, comme La société japonaise est très compétitive . Au Japon, la société est divisée en fonction de l’éducation et du lieu où elle a été étudiée, ainsi que de l’emploi, des revenus et du poste occupé au sein d’une entreprise.

Hikikomori hors du Japon

Depuis peu de temps, les chercheurs se demandent si ce syndrome n'est qu'une conséquence des particularités de la culture japonaise, du capitalisme ou s'il s'agit d'une réaction à une culture quelconque. Les recherches ont confirmé que le Hikikomori existe en dehors du Japon, mais avec quelques différences. Oman, l'Italie, l'Inde, les États-Unis, la Corée et l'Espagne sont quelques-uns des pays dans lesquels des cas ont été signalés.

Des cas isolés à Oman ou en Inde peuvent indiquer que ce type d'isolement est une réaction contre la culture et la société. Mais en raison du grand nombre de cas rapportés au Japon, semble confirmer l’idée que la culture japonaise et ses caractéristiques socio-économiques pourraient favoriser cette réaction d'apathie contre une société caractérisée par l'isolement social. On pourrait dire que ce n’est pas un syndrome exclusif du Japon, mais que les conditions qui y règnent provoquent davantage de cas pathologiques.

En Espagne, il y a aussi Hikikomori

Une étude réalisée par l'Institut de neuropsychiatrie et de toxicomanie de l'Hôpital del Mar (Barcelone) a signalé 164 cas de hikikomori en Espagne . L'étude a été publiée dans le Journal de Psychiatrie Socialeet des chercheurs ont déclaré que "ce syndrome a été sous-estimé en Espagne en raison de la difficulté d'accès à ces personnes et du manque d'équipes de soins à domicile spécialisées".

Il existe certaines différences entre les cas de Hikikomori en Espagne et ceux du Japon. La majorité des patients espagnols souffrir de troubles mentaux associés comme les troubles psychotiques (34,7%), l’anxiété (22%) ou les troubles affectifs (74,5%), connus sous le nom de Hikikomori secondaire. Le Hikikomori primaire c'est celui qui ne présente pas de comorbidité avec d'autres troubles psychologiques. Les patients espagnols, principalement des hommes, sont plus âgés que les Japonais, avec une moyenne d'âge de 36 ans. De même, la majorité des personnes touchées vivent avec la famille et la moitié ont fait des études supérieures.

Ci-dessous, vous pouvez voir une vidéo sur les Hikikomori en Espagne:


Japon : imbattable, une maison à zéro euro ! - 28 minutes - ARTE (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes