yes, therapy helps!
How is the influence of minorities managed in social networks?

How is the influence of minorities managed in social networks?

June 25, 2022

And he asked: What's your name?

And he said: My name is Legion, because we are many.

-Marks 5: 9

In society there have always been different ways of understanding the world, despite the fact that the option of the majority imposes the social norm of the moment . However, there have been historical contexts in which these small movements have managed to influence and change the course, such as the feminist or sexual revolution. It is the process of influence of minorities .

However, currently minorities have a new factor: they have no space-time limits. Previously, minorities suffered limits of visibility; without internet, it was strange to see people with different values ​​and even less, that they should come together in a solid group. But today, the high connectivity in which we live allows us to contemplate different value models . This is how animalist, environmentalist and pro-independence movements are inextinguishable voices of social networks.


But How are these minority groups formed? Does one day raise your voice and form a minority? And how does a minority impose itself on the majority regime? These issues have been the focus of attention in the Psychology of the Groups for decades, but now a new one is added: how is a minority managed in social networks?

How are minorities formed?

We will begin by answering the first of the questions: how are they formed . To start the process of influence, Every minority group must start from a base structure with specific characteristics, which we will summarize as (Doms and Moscovici, 1984, Levine and Russo, 1987):


  • Consistency . One of the most relevant features is how the group is presented in society. Due to the low number of members that define it, a minority group must maintain the union and coherence of the acts of its members. Likewise, persistence in their acts, in their manifestation to society is also necessary. It could be summarized as "going all to one", maintaining two key consistencies:
    • Diachronic consistency: between the members.
    • Synchronous consistency: in the time.
  • Heterogeneity . This factor is often not respected, but it is key to be accepted and validated by the majority. The fact of constituting itself as a group that includes people with very different traits sends a clear message to society: "the interest of a few does not motivate us". It is crucial to show this message to avoid the disqualifications of the majority who, by inertia, insist on maintaining their position. Referring to 15M movement, many of the arguments against him focused on transmitting that it was a particular movement of a sector of society.
  • Distinction and adaptation to the context . These two variables mark a tension because of the duality they present. On the one hand, the minority group must represent an alternative to the model proposed by the majority, and on the other hand it must be a proposal that is coherent and appropriate to the conditions of the moment. Not getting lost between both ends is delicate, but necessary to present the proposal as innovative but feasible, without posing impossible utopian.
  • Resistance to group pressure . Being a minority implies a deviation from the social norm. Like any element that goes beyond established borders, it will suffer from forces that try to return to the normativity of the moment as a movement of homeostasis, back to the initial equilibrium. Therefore, if the goal is to initiate a process of influence, the group must prepare for external group pressure.

How does the minority influence?

To understand how the minority influences it is necessary to understand that their functioning is different from that of the majority, developing different processes of influence (Moscovici and Personnaz, 1980). These different forms of management are those that initiate a process of influence by conversion (Pérez, 1994).


  • Majority: normative influence . The advantage of the majority is part of its own disadvantage: having a large number of members hinders the unanimity of the group, since it does not rain to everyone's taste. Therefore, the operation of the majority focuses on interpersonal treatment. Initiates processes of social comparison, observing what each of its members positively values ​​to promote proposals with which everyone feels identified. Try to avoid losing members, maintaining a positive public image, so they need to address what they consider "positive" its members.
  • Minority: informative influence . For the very fact of being a minority, you do not have the support of many people who support the proposal.Therefore, the process of influence can not focus on interpersonal treatment, because if we go for numbers, the minority would lose. In this case, the important thing is the treatment of the information. The majority has to control what each of their members positively values, so what would happen if the minority's alternative begins to be considered positive? Here is the core, manage the proposal so that it is true and possible; Make it obvious to people without posing impossible.
  • Conversion process . It is characterized by provoking indirect and latent changes. But at street level, the conversion is manifested in the gain of support, win members who accept the proposal. From this derives the first consequence, a rupture of the unanimity of the majority. This fact develops in the form of a snowball effect, gradually increasing since the loss of members of the majority shows deficits in its internal consistency. That is, as the minority receives more support, it becomes clear that the majority is not as consistent, and that part of it accepts and supports the alternative. The members begin to question more and more the veracity of the proposal, because "those who think like me begin to accept it".

In this way, the minority opts progressively to become a necessity in society. While movements such as animalism or environmentalism are associated with positive traits, people tend to develop a need to include them in our daily lives. If the concern for animals or the ecosystem is well seen in society, each person wants to be accepted by society, so including these values ​​is adaptive and causes a sense of harmony and well-being. .

How is this influence managed in social networks?

So far, we can understand how they work, but in the cybernetic era, we constantly observe different minorities. But nevertheless, very few of the readers have been live in Tordesillas, or are inhabitants of Catalonia, as if to know the anti-bullfighting or independence movement in first person. However, they have not created barriers for minorities to try to exert their influence; why?

  • Social stratification . In social networks, messages are distinguished by sources that vary the degree of formality and legitimacy, with "majority" and minority "corresponding to different social strata. The message published by a neighbor is not received in the same way as that of the president of the government. This is because the majorities, because they are the origin of the social norm, are translated into laws and laws; the voice of the majority is normalized and legitimized. This fact leaves minorities as the voice of ordinary people as a counterpart. Therefore, to represent oneself as a minority implies presenting oneself as the voice of the people, I understand their proposal as a need that the current policy -majority- does not satisfy. It is appropriate to take into account both the level of content and the form of the messages: mediate between formality / informality since according to what initiatives it will be convenient for them to be promoted by people with different technical / professional levels, depending on whether it is in support of objectivity or promote empathy. In this sense, the minority has some objectives corresponding to the "vos del pueblo" and expresses itself in the "people's language". It must be kept in mind that the minority's thinking is "we are not them, but we want to reach them".
  • Objectivity . The previous premise conflicts with the informative treatment of minorities. Bear in mind that in social networks there is no spatio-temporal context, that is, messages can be issued / received regardless of geography and time. Therefore, attention should be paid to the fact that a reality can be made known to people who do not live it on their skin, and what is more, the objective is to make them share in that reality. Because of this, presenting oneself as "the voice of the people" can be the source of one's own disqualification, since it can be very subjective. In other words, if it is understood that the proposal is given by the neighbor, we all know that the neighbor can be wrong and that this is his opinion, one of many. This is how it is necessary to give objective evidence, to show that what the minority believes is not a fact that is being invented, but that their opinion has a true foundation. Establish that the proposal is not an opinion, but its background reality.
  • Management as Mass Media . Let's not forget that social networks are a means of communication. Therefore, it is relevant to influence how to manage information, how to retransmit ideals. On the temporality, the publication of several messages in a short period of time causes an effect of noise and overload: the information overlaps one another and collapses people, like a murmur from which nothing is clear. The same happens with the quantity, an excess can serve to highlight some concrete premises, but one can also fall into the impression of not contributing anything new and being repetitive.Concise information, clear premises, objective data and messages focused on the objectives, being constant and consistent with the alternative ideals of the minority.

Some conclusions

With the above description of the process, we can understand how, little by little, minorities strive to gain social legitimacy, to make the majority see the need to include them in their discourse and thus open negotiation paths. It is then when it will be necessary to modulate the forces and pressures of both sides, to reach a common agreement and to tune in both extremes.

However, the networks mark a new framework in which these processes of influence must adapt . Not only to achieve their own goals, but to promote communicative health on the Internet and not promote it as a means of decomposition. The debate about the correct management in the networks is open; Is the Catalan independence movement a movement of the people or is it translated into a political proposal? Where are the reins of the independence movement, in the citizens or in politicians? In Tordesillas who were attacked, lancers or animalists? The thematic center was the aggression to the animal or to its defenders? To constitute itself as an attribute of social tribes favors the objectives of environmentalism and vegetarianism? Is the vegetable dish photographed by followers or by contribution to the ecosystem?

Bibliographic references:

  • Doms, M. and Moscovici, S. (1984). Innovation and influence of minorities, in S. Moscovici (ed.): Social Psychology I: Influence and change of attitudes. Individuals and groups Barcelona: Paidós, 1985.
  • Levine, J. M. and Russo, E. M. (1987). Majority and minority influence, in C. Hendrick (ed.): Review of Personality and Social Psychology: Group Processes, Vol. 8, Newbury Park, CA: Sage.
  • Mosovici, S. and Personnaz, B. (1980). Studies in social influence V: Minority influence and conversion behavior in a perceptual task, Journal of Experimental Social Psychology, 16, 270-282.
  • Pérez, J. A. (1994). The social influence, in J. F. Morales (coord.): Social Psychology. Madrid: McGraw-Hill.

How To Get Your First 10,000 Instagram Followers (Without Buying Them), John Lincoln (June 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Comment l'influence des minorités est-elle gérée dans les réseaux sociaux?

Comment l'influence des minorités est-elle gérée dans les réseaux sociaux?

Avril 22, 2019

Et il demanda: Comment t'appelles-tu?

Et il a dit: Je m'appelle Légion, parce que nous sommes nombreux.

-Marques 5: 9

Dans la société, il y a toujours eu différentes manières de comprendre le monde, malgré le fait que l'option de la majorité impose la norme sociale du moment . Cependant, il y a eu des contextes historiques dans lesquels ces petits mouvements ont réussi à influencer et à changer de cap, comme la révolution féministe ou sexuelle. C'est le processus de influence des minorités .

Cependant, actuellement, les minorités ont un nouveau facteur: elles n’ont aucune limite d’espace-temps. Auparavant, les minorités souffraient de limites de visibilité. sans Internet, il était étrange de voir des personnes partageant des valeurs différentes et encore moins de se réunir dans un groupe solide. Mais aujourd'hui, la connectivité élevée dans laquelle nous vivons nous permet de contempler différents modèles de valeur . C’est ainsi que les mouvements animalistes, écologistes et indépendantistes sont des voix inextinguibles des réseaux sociaux.


Mais Comment ces groupes minoritaires sont-ils formés? Un jour, élevez-vous la voix et formez-vous une minorité? Et comment une minorité s’impose-t-elle au régime majoritaire? Ces questions ont été au centre de l'attention dans le Psychologie des groupes depuis des décennies, mais maintenant un nouveau est ajouté: comment une minorité est gérée dans les réseaux sociaux?

Comment se forment les minorités?

Nous commencerons par répondre à la première des questions: comment sont-ils formés . Pour démarrer le processus d'influence, Chaque groupe minoritaire doit partir d'une structure de base avec des caractéristiques spécifiques, que nous résumerons comme (Doms et Moscovici, 1984, Levine et Russo, 1987):


  • La cohérence . L'une des caractéristiques les plus pertinentes est la manière dont le groupe est présenté dans la société. En raison du faible nombre de membres qui le définissent, un groupe minoritaire doit maintenir l'union et la cohérence des actes de ses membres. De même, la persistance dans leurs actes, dans leur manifestation à la société est également nécessaire. Cela pourrait se résumer par "aller tous à un" en maintenant deux consistances principales:
    • Consistance diachronique: entre les membres.
    • Cohérence synchrone: dans le temps.
  • Hétérogénéité . Ce facteur n’est souvent pas respecté, mais il est essentiel d’être accepté et validé par la majorité. Le fait de se constituer en groupe comprenant des personnes aux traits très différents envoie un message clair à la société: "l'intérêt de quelques-uns ne nous motive pas". Il est crucial de montrer ce message pour éviter les disqualifications de la majorité qui, par inertie, insiste pour maintenir sa position. Se référant à Mouvement 15M, de nombreux arguments contre lui visaient principalement à transmettre qu’il s’agissait d’un mouvement particulier d’un secteur de la société.
  • Distinction et adaptation au contexte . Ces deux variables marquent une tension en raison de la dualité qu'elles présentent. D'une part, le groupe minoritaire doit représenter une alternative au modèle proposé par la majorité et, d'autre part, il doit s'agir d'une proposition cohérente et adaptée aux conditions du moment. Ne pas se perdre entre les deux bouts est délicat, mais il est nécessaire de présenter la proposition comme innovante mais réalisable, sans poser de fausses utopies.
  • Résistance à la pression du groupe . Etre une minorité implique un écart par rapport à la norme sociale. Comme tout élément qui dépasse les frontières établies, il souffrira de forces qui tentent de revenir à la normativité du moment en tant que mouvement d’homéostasie, de retour à l’équilibre initial. Par conséquent, si l'objectif est d'initier un processus d'influence, le groupe doit se préparer à la pression externe du groupe.

Comment la minorité influence-t-elle?

Pour comprendre comment les minorités influencent, il est nécessaire de comprendre que leur fonctionnement est différent de celui de la majorité, en développant différents processus d'influence (Moscovici et Personnaz, 1980). Ces différentes formes de gestion sont celles qui initient un processus d’influence par conversion (Pérez, 1994).


  • Majorité: influence normative . L’avantage de la majorité fait partie de ses inconvénients: avoir un grand nombre de membres nuit à l’unanimité du groupe, car il ne pleut pas au goût de tous. Par conséquent, le fonctionnement de la majorité est axé sur le traitement interpersonnel. Initie des processus de comparaison sociale, en observant ce que chacun de ses membres valorise de manière positive afin de promouvoir des propositions avec lesquelles chacun se sent identifié. Essayez d’éviter de perdre des membres et de conserver une image publique positive. Ils doivent donc s’attaquer à ce qu’ils considèrent comme "positif".
  • Minorité: influence informative . En tant que minorité, vous n’avez pas le soutien de nombreuses personnes qui soutiennent la proposition.Par conséquent, le processus d'influence ne peut pas être axé sur le traitement interpersonnel, car si nous choisissons des chiffres, la minorité perdra. Dans ce cas, l’important est le traitement de l’information. La majorité doit contrôler ce que chacun de ses membres valorise de manière positive. Que se passera-t-il si l'alternative de la minorité commence à être considérée comme positive? En voici le noyau, gérez la proposition pour qu’elle soit vraie et possible; Rendez-le évident pour les gens sans poser impossible.
  • Processus de conversion . Elle se caractérise par des changements indirects et latents. Mais au niveau de la rue, la conversion se manifeste par un gain de soutien, gagnant des membres qui acceptent la proposition. De là découle la première conséquence, une rupture de l'unanimité de la majorité. Ce fait se développe sous la forme d'un effet boule de neige, augmentant progressivement puisque la perte de membres de la majorité montre des déficits dans sa cohérence interne. Autrement dit, à mesure que la minorité reçoit davantage de soutien, il devient évident que la majorité n’est pas aussi cohérente et qu’une partie de celle-ci accepte et soutient l’alternative. Les membres commencent à s'interroger de plus en plus sur la véracité de la proposition, car "ceux qui pensent comme moi commencent à l'accepter".

De cette manière, la minorité opte progressivement pour devenir une nécessité dans la société. Bien que des mouvements tels que l'animalisme ou l'environnementalisme soient associés à des traits positifs, les gens ont tendance à développer le besoin de les inclure dans notre vie quotidienne. Si le souci des animaux ou de l'écosystème est bien perçu dans la société, chaque personne veut être acceptée par la société. L'inclusion de ces valeurs est donc adaptative et crée un sentiment d'harmonie et de bien-être. .

Comment cette influence est-elle gérée dans les réseaux sociaux?

Jusqu'à présent, nous pouvons comprendre leur fonctionnement, mais à l'ère cybernétique, nous observons constamment différentes minorités. Cependant, très peu de lecteurs vivent à Tordesillas ou sont des habitants de la Catalogne, comme pour connaître le mouvement anti-corrida ou indépendantiste à la première personne. Cependant, ils n'ont pas créé d'obstacles pour que les minorités tentent d'exercer leur influence. parce que?

  • Stratification sociale . Dans les réseaux sociaux, les messages se distinguent par des sources qui varient en fonction du degré de formalité et de légitimité, la "majorité" et la "minorité" correspondant à différentes couches sociales. Le message publié par un voisin n'est pas reçu de la même manière que celui du président du gouvernement. En effet, les majorités, parce qu’elles sont à l’origine de la norme sociale, se traduisent en lois et en lois; la voix de la majorité est normalisée et légitimée. Ce fait laisse les minorités comme la voix des citoyens ordinaires en tant que contrepartie. Par conséquent, se représenter en tant que minorité implique de se présenter comme la voix du peuple. Je comprends sa proposition comme un besoin que la politique actuelle - la majorité - ne satisfait pas. Il convient de prendre en compte à la fois le niveau du contenu et la forme des messages: conciliez formalité / informalité puisque, selon les initiatives, il sera commode de les promouvoir par des personnes de niveaux technique / professionnel différents, selon que l’appui est objectif ou non. ou promouvoir l'empathie. En ce sens, la minorité a des objectifs correspondant aux "vos del pueblo" et s’exprime dans le "langage du peuple". Il ne faut pas oublier que la minorité pense que "nous ne sommes pas eux, mais nous voulons les atteindre".
  • Objectivité . La prémisse précédente est en conflit avec le traitement informatif des minorités. Gardez à l'esprit que dans les réseaux sociaux, il n'y a pas de contexte spatio-temporel, c'est-à-dire que les messages peuvent être émis / reçus indépendamment de la géographie et de l'heure. Par conséquent, il convient de prêter attention au fait qu'une réalité peut être connue des personnes qui ne la vivent pas sur leur peau et que, de surcroît, l'objectif est de leur faire partager cette réalité. De ce fait, se présenter comme "la voix du peuple" peut être à l'origine de sa propre exclusion, car elle peut être très subjective. En d’autres termes, s’il est entendu que la proposition est faite par le voisin, nous savons tous que celui-ci peut avoir tort et que c’est son opinion, parmi tant d’autres. C'est ainsi qu'il est nécessaire de fournir des preuves objectives, de montrer que ce que la minorité croit n'est pas un fait qui est en train d'être inventé, mais que son opinion a un fondement réel. Établir que la proposition n'est pas un avis, mais sa réalité de fond.
  • Management en tant que Médias de masse . N'oublions pas que les réseaux sociaux sont un moyen de communication. Par conséquent, il est pertinent d’influer sur la manière de gérer les informations et de retransmettre les idéaux. Sur la temporalité, la publication de plusieurs messages dans un court laps de temps provoque un effet de bruit et de surcharge: les informations se chevauchent et effondrent les gens, à la manière d'un murmure dont rien n'est clair. La même chose se produit avec la quantité, un excès peut servir à mettre en évidence certaines prémisses concrètes, mais on peut aussi avoir l’impression de ne rien apporter de nouveau et d’être répétitif.Informations concises, locaux clairs, données objectives et messages axés sur les objectifs, constants et cohérents avec les idéaux alternatifs de la minorité.

Quelques conclusions

Avec la description ci-dessus du processus, nous pouvons comprendre comment, petit à petit, les minorités cherchent à acquérir une légitimité sociale, à faire comprendre à la majorité le besoin de les inclure dans leur discours et d'ouvrir ainsi des voies de négociation. C'est alors qu'il sera nécessaire de moduler les forces et les pressions des deux côtés, de parvenir à un accord commun et de syntoniser les deux extrêmes.

Maintenant bien, les réseaux marquent un nouveau cadre dans lequel ces processus d'influence doivent s'adapter . Non seulement pour atteindre leurs propres objectifs, mais aussi pour promouvoir la santé communicative sur Internet et non pour le promouvoir. moyen de décomposition. Le débat sur la bonne gestion dans les réseaux est ouvert; Le mouvement indépendantiste catalan est-il un mouvement populaire ou se traduit-il en une proposition politique? Où sont les rênes du mouvement indépendantiste, chez les citoyens ou chez les hommes politiques? Dans Tordesillas qui ont été attaqués, des lanciers ou des animaux? Le centre thématique était l'agression à l'animal ou à ses défenseurs? Se constituer en attribut des tribus sociales favorise les objectifs de l'environnementalisme et du végétarisme? Le plat de légumes est-il photographié par des adeptes ou par une contribution à l'écosystème?

Références bibliographiques:

  • Doms, M. et Moscovici, S. (1984). Innovation et influence des minorités, dans S. Moscovici (éd.): Psychologie sociale I: Influence et changement d’attitudes. Individuels et groupes Barcelone: ​​Paidós, 1985.
  • Levine, J. M. et Russo, E. M. (1987). Majorité et influence minoritaire, dans C. Hendrick (ed.): Analyse de la personnalité et de la psychologie sociale: Processus de groupe, volume 8, Newbury Park, CA: Sage.
  • Mosovici, S. et Personnaz, B. (1980). Etudes sur l'influence sociale V: Influence de la minorité et comportement de conversion dans une tâche perceptuelle, Journal of Experimental Social Psychology, 16, 270-282.
  • Pérez, J. A. (1994). L'influence sociale, dans J. F. Morales (coord.): Psychologie sociale. Madrid: McGraw-Hill.

POURQUOI ARRÊTER DE PENSER QUE TOUT LE MONDE EST CON ? (Avril 2019).


Articles Connexes