yes, therapy helps!
History of writing: its development in Antiquity

History of writing: its development in Antiquity

January 28, 2023

Writing is both a practice and a system. It is about the graphic representation of ideas, concepts and objects by means of signs that we call letters. The latter may have different characteristics according to the specific society that uses them, which also generates different writing systems. One of them is, for example, the alphabet, and its history is very extensive, dating back more or less four centuries a.c.

In this article we will do a brief review of the history of writing , approaching the trajectory that has followed from classical Mesopotamia to the current western societies.

  • Related article: "The 5 ages of History (and its characteristics)"

History of writing in Antiquity

Mesopotamia, the ancient region of the Near East, is recognized as the place where the beginnings of writing developed, which later gave rise to our current alphabetic system.


This process could be carried out by the multilingual and multicultural context that was characteristic of the area around the IV millennium BC. This is because that historical moment allowed the convergence of different ethnic groups. For the history of writing it was especially important the combination of Semitic languages ​​with the language of the Sumerians, that was transmitted by means of pictograms that represented the objects.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 6 stages of Prehistory"

The cuneiform writing

The latter, the Sumerians, are credited with having created the cuneiform script. And this is because their pictograms were not simple graphic representations but they transmitted messages in a systematic way with linguistic value.


In addition, it is called "cuneiform writing" because, initially, the pictograms were made on clay tablets and by using wedges (pieces of wood or metal with tip and edge that serve to break or make incisions). In fact, the word "wedge" comes from the Latin word cuneus, and that is where the term "cuneiform" has come from.

Although the language of the Sumerians did not survive, cuneiform writing was a technique adopted by different Indo-European and non-Indo-European groups. For example, it was recovered by the Babylonians, but it also served to write languages ​​such as Akkadian and Elamite. It was used by the Persians (people of Indo-European origin originally based in Iran), Hurrians (Mitanni people of Northern Mesopotamia), Hittites (people of the Anatolian peninsula, one of the powers of the Middle East).

So, writing as technique, and clay tablets along with wedges, as the main tools, they expanded throughout Asia Minor, Syria and surrounding areas . It is estimated that the cuneiform script was used for three and a half millennia and the last record of the cuneiform tablet is from 75 AD (Ferreiro, 1994).


Subsequently and through different historical events related to the way in which human settlements have been generated; cultural diversity and linguistic mix made possible the writing system initiated by the Sumerians arrived at the hands of the Hellenic peoples .

  • Related article: "The development of reading and writing: theories and intervention"

Origins of the alphabet

The Greeks inherited from the Phoenicians and / or the Canaanites an ordered set of signs and symbols also associated with a name and a sound (what is known as the "principle of acrophony").

This ordered set of signs and symbols was assimilated and adapted by the Greeks for their own purposes. Specifically, it is the writing system called "protocananeo" (from the Bronze Age), which has been recognized as the paradigm from which the Phoenician alphabet was developed , which in turn laid the foundations for the development of the Latin, Greek, Hebrew alphabets, among others.

Writing, reading and literacy

The writing system that we know as alphabet is then the result of a pluri-literacy of the peoples conquered by the inhabitants of Ancient Greece, and arises as a result of the rich cultural and linguistic exchange.

The above means that the scribes of the time had strongly mixed alphabets, worked, used and mastered more than one language. Another consequence was that these alphabets were administered and distributed according to social systems, which is visible, for example, in the process of secularization of writing (when it stopped being a practice reserved for religious cults).

That is why, inevitably, the history of writing systems is linked to the history of literacy, while the latter is the process by which they control, use and distribute the discourses that should be written (Ferreiro, 1994) . In addition, while writing and texts do not exist without material support, the history of writing is also the history of reading, an issue that has recently been addressed by different linguists and historians.

Literacy followed a process of systematization and expansion that had different characteristics in the following historical moments of Western civilization, in a close relationship with print culture , the transmission of knowledge and education as practices and fundamental values ​​for development.

Bibliographic references:

  • Ferreiro, E. (1994). Diversity and literacy process: from celebration to awareness. Latin American Reading Magazine. 15 (3): 2-11.
  • Laporte, J.P. (2012). Review of "History of Reading and Writing in the Western World" by Martins Lyons. Magazine information, culture and society. 27: 123-135.

Writing Historical Fiction: The Ancient World in Modern Literature (January 2023).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Histoire de l'écriture: son développement dans l'Antiquité

Histoire de l'écriture: son développement dans l'Antiquité

Juillet 9, 2020

L'écriture est à la fois une pratique et un système. Il s’agit de la représentation graphique d’idées, de concepts et d’objets au moyen de signes que nous appelons des lettres. Ces derniers peuvent avoir des caractéristiques différentes selon la société spécifique qui les utilise, ce qui génère également des systèmes d'écriture différents. L’un d’eux est, par exemple, l’alphabet et son histoire est très longue, remontant à plus ou moins quatre siècles de notre ère.

Dans cet article nous ferons une brève revue de l'histoire de l'écriture , abordant la trajectoire qui a suivi de la Mésopotamie classique aux sociétés occidentales actuelles.

  • Article connexe: "Les 5 âges de l'histoire (et ses caractéristiques)"

Histoire de l'écriture dans l'Antiquité

La Mésopotamie, ancienne région du Proche-Orient, est reconnue comme le lieu où se sont développés les débuts de l'écriture, ce qui a donné naissance à notre système alphabétique actuel.


Ce processus pourrait être mis en œuvre dans le contexte multilingue et multiculturel qui caractérisait la région autour du IV millénaire av. En effet, ce moment historique a permis la convergence de différents groupes ethniques. Pour l'histoire de l'écriture, il était particulièrement important la combinaison des langues sémitiques avec la langue des Sumériens, cela a été transmis au moyen de pictogrammes représentant les objets.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Les 6 étapes de la préhistoire"

L'écriture cunéiforme

Ces derniers, les Sumériens, sont crédités pour avoir créé l'écriture cunéiforme. Et c’est parce que leurs pictogrammes n’étaient pas de simples représentations graphiques, mais ils transmettaient des messages de manière systématique avec une valeur linguistique.


En outre, on l’appelle "écriture cunéiforme" car, au départ, les pictogrammes ont été réalisés sur des tablettes d'argile et en utilisant des cales (morceaux de bois ou de métal avec la pointe et le bord qui servent à casser ou à faire des incisions). En fait, le mot "coin" vient du latin cuneus, d'où le terme "cunéiforme".

Bien que la langue des Sumériens n'ait pas survécu, l'écriture cunéiforme était une technique adoptée par différents groupes indo-européens et non indo-européens. Par exemple, il a été récupéré par les Babyloniens, mais il a également servi à écrire des langues telles que l'akkadien et l'élamite. Il était utilisé par les Perses (peuple d'origine indo-européenne basé à l'origine en Iran), Hurriens (peuple mitanni de la Mésopotamie du Nord), hittites (peuple de la péninsule anatolienne, l'une des puissances du Moyen-Orient).

Ainsi, l'écriture comme technique, et les tablettes d'argile avec des coins, comme outils principaux, ils se sont étendus dans toute l'Asie Mineure, la Syrie et les régions environnantes . On estime que l'écriture cunéiforme a été utilisée pendant trois millénaires et demi et que le dernier enregistrement de la tablette cunéiforme date de 75 après JC (Ferreiro, 1994).


Par la suite et à travers différents événements historiques liés à la manière dont les établissements humains ont été créés; la diversité culturelle et la mixité linguistique ont rendu possible le système d'écriture initié par les Sumériens arrivé aux mains des peuples helléniques .

  • Article connexe: "Le développement de la lecture et de l'écriture: théories et intervention"

Origines de l'alphabet

Les Grecs ont hérité des Phéniciens et / ou des Cananéens un ensemble ordonné de signes et de symboles, associés également à un nom et à un son (ce que l'on appelle le "principe de l'acrophonie").

Cet ensemble ordonné de signes et de symboles a été assimilé et adapté par les Grecs à leurs propres fins. Plus précisément, c’est le système d’écriture appelé "protocananeo" (de l’âge du bronze), qui a été reconnu comme le paradigme à partir duquel l'alphabet phénicien a été développé , qui à leur tour ont jeté les bases du développement des alphabets latin, grec et hébreu, entre autres.

Écriture, lecture et alphabétisation

Le système d'écriture que nous appelons alphabet est alors le résultat d'une pluri-alphabétisation des peuples conquis par les habitants de la Grèce antique et résulte du riche échange culturel et linguistique.

Ce qui précède signifie que les scribes de l'époque possédaient des alphabets fortement mélangés, travaillaient, utilisaient et maîtrisaient plus d'une langue. Une autre conséquence est que ces alphabets ont été administrés et répartis selon les systèmes sociaux, ce qui est visible, par exemple, dans le processus de sécularisation de l'écriture (quand cela a cessé d'être une pratique réservée aux cultes religieux).

C'est pourquoi, inévitablement, l'histoire des systèmes d'écriture est liée à l'histoire de l'alphabétisation, alors que ce dernier est le processus par lequel ils contrôlent, utilisent et distribuent les discours qui devraient être écrits (Ferreiro, 1994) . En outre, alors que l'écriture et les textes n'existent pas sans support matériel, l'histoire de l'écriture est aussi l'histoire de la lecture, une question qui a récemment été abordée par différents linguistes et historiens.

L'alphabétisation a suivi un processus de systématisation et d'expansion qui avait des caractéristiques différentes dans les moments historiques suivants de la civilisation occidentale, en relation étroite avec la culture imprimée , la transmission du savoir et de l’éducation en tant que pratiques et valeurs fondamentales du développement.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Ferreiro, E. (1994). Diversité et processus d'alphabétisation: de la célébration à la sensibilisation. Magazine de lecture latino-américain. 15 (3): 2-11.
  • Laporte, J.P. (2012). Revue "Histoire de la lecture et de l'écriture dans le monde occidental" de Martins Lyons. Magazine information, culture et société. 27: 123-135.

C'est pas sorcier - L'écriture de A à Z (Juillet 2020).


Articles Connexes