yes, therapy helps!
How to know if my son or daughter takes drugs: 10 keys to detect it

How to know if my son or daughter takes drugs: 10 keys to detect it

February 9, 2024

Adolescence and youth are difficult ages and full of changes, in which many adolescents and young people do things that they can regret later. During these ages, the perception of risk is lower and, therefore, many young people carry out many behaviors without being fully aware of their consequences.

Some of these behaviors include unprotected sex, reckless driving or drug use. If you are the father of a boy or girl of this age, in this article we will talk about this last point and we will go deeper into Signs that may indicate if your son or daughter uses drugs .

  • Article: "Types of drugs: know their characteristics and effects"

Adolescence: a stage of changes

People live a stage of change in adolescence and youth. Not only in terms of the development of sexual and reproductive functions, but also in terms of social status, since it is very important in these years.


Adolescents are born experimenters and it is easy for them to carry out risky behaviors without being aware of the consequences of their behavior, simply to improve their image. The egocentrism characteristic of this stage of life, as well as the importance and influence of friendships, are some of the reasons why they behave like this.

One of the most worrying phenomena of this age is the propensity to use drugs , which is, in many cases, recreational. Marijuana, cocaine, MDMA, among others, are psychoactive substances that can begin to be consumed at relatively early ages.

Although many young people live drug use as a simple life experience and later leave it, others remain hooked for the rest of their lives, which causes them serious problems in different areas of their lives (work, interpersonal relationships, etc.). ) and your health.


  • Related article: "The 10 most addictive drugs in the world"

How to detect if your child takes drugs

Drug use is one of the great concerns of parents, who they are the key figures in terms of preventing this behavior in their children . Logically, adolescents who take drugs will try to hide it.

If you are a father or mother and you want to know how to recognize the signs that warn that your son or daughter consumes these substances habitually, in the following lines you will find a list of keys and telltale signs.

1. How does it smell?

Some drugs such as marijuana or tobacco leave a strong odor in those who take them. Surely, if your child is a consumer, he will use a series of strategies to minimize the chances of being caught. Chewing gum, cleaning your hands repeatedly and even applying cologne in an exaggerated way are some examples of this.


However, there are always remnants of the smell, either in the hands where the cigar or joint is held, or in the clothes or hair, because if they smoke in a closed place it is easy for the smell to remain in these places. You can try to have a conversation with your son just when he gets home after being with his friends. You can also smell your child's clothes before putting them in the washing machine.

2. How is your eyes?

In the eyes it is possible to detect the consumption of drugs. But we must be clear that each drug has its effects and, therefore, there are several visible signs that can manifest in this part of the body.

Marijuana, for example, causes the eyes to redden and a look of drowsiness appears . In the case of drugs such as ecstasy, the eyes adopt what are known as "plate-shaped eyes", well rounded, open and with dilated pupils. Cocaine, on the other hand, also causes a form similar to that generated by this designer drug, but its effects are less exaggerated.

3. Do you have mood swings?

The drugs cause a very noticeable mood change in the people who consume them, especially when they are not drugged. This usually happens because the body is asking for the drug to be consumed again, and that's why they can be irritable, grumpy and even aggressive . In addition, the presence of parents makes the young people who consume much uncomfortable, preferring to spend time alone to do their own.

4. Are there medications in the kit?

Some young people do not consume a single drug, but experiment with various types of substances. For example, marijuana, cocaine and speed. But many of these young people can also stick their hands in the home medicine cabinet to try new sensations. Diazepam or cough medicines they are some drugs that they can consume. If you have noticed that some medicines that you had at home disappear, it is cause for concern.

5. Do you have unhealthy friendships?

Friends are very important socializing agents at this age, so if your child meets regular consumers, will have more chances of developing harmful habits . Therefore, it is necessary to pay attention to whether your child has developed unhealthy friendships, because it can be a clear indicator of what your child can do when they are with them.

6. Do other family members take drugs?

If other family members take drugs, children are also more likely to use psychoactive substances. Studies show that if the parents are consumers (for example, if the father is an alcoholic) the children can develop behaviors of this type.

Likewise, if the older brother or sister consumes, there is also a greater risk that the latter copied his negative behavior, since it is usually a model for the little brother.

7. Have you set aside your responsibilities?

The drug has a devastating effect on the person's life that they consume, and this includes their work or their studies. It is not always the case, but, especially in the case of hard drugs, it is possible that many young people leave aside their responsibilities to live a rather idle life . For example, bad grades or "bells" in high school can also be an indicator of your bad habits.

8. Do you have financial problems?

If your child works summers and you spend all your money but you do not know in what, Maybe the reason is drug use. The drug usually has a high cost, and people who use drugs often suffer financial problems. Substances like cocaine are especially expensive.

  • Related article: "Cocaine stripes: components, effects and dangers"

9. Do you show other behavior changes?

Different types of drugs have different effects. For example, some are relaxing and others are stimulating . However, you will probably know your son or daughter well, and if you notice changes in behavior that make you suspect, these substances may be behind it.

If you are always tired and lazy you may consume marijuana, if you talk in a strange way (for example, very fast) you may take amphetamines, if you spend two days without sleep you may use cocaine, and if you are very reserved and avoid being with the rest of the family may hide other types of habits of this kind.

  • Related article: "The 9 types of drug addiction and their characteristics"

10. Make a global assessment

Young people live a delicate stage of their lives, full of changes . Drug use is frequent at these ages, so parents should be alert because to prevent this behavior from having negative effects on their future.

The above points are signs that may indicate that your son or daughter has entered the world of drugs, but can not be assessed independently: the more previous points are met, the more likely it is that your child will be a consumer of drugs


Signs of child drug addiction: How to know if your kid / teenager is getting addicted to drugs? (February 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Comment savoir si mon fils ou ma fille prend de la drogue: 10 clés pour le détecter

Comment savoir si mon fils ou ma fille prend de la drogue: 10 clés pour le détecter

Juillet 9, 2020

L'adolescence et la jeunesse sont des âges difficiles et pleins de changements, dans lesquels beaucoup d'adolescents et de jeunes font des choses qu'ils peuvent regretter plus tard. Au cours de ces âges, la perception du risque est plus faible et, par conséquent, de nombreux jeunes adoptent de nombreux comportements sans être pleinement conscients de leurs conséquences.

Certains de ces comportements incluent les rapports sexuels non protégés, la conduite imprudente ou la consommation de drogue. Si vous êtes le père d'un garçon ou d'une fille de cet âge, dans cet article, nous parlerons de ce dernier point et nous approfondirons Des signes qui peuvent indiquer si votre fils ou votre fille consomme de la drogue .

  • Article: "Types de drogues: connaître leurs caractéristiques et leurs effets"

Adolescence: une phase de changement

Les gens vivent une phase de changement dans l'adolescence et la jeunesse. Non seulement en termes de développement des fonctions sexuelles et reproductives, mais également en termes de statut social, car il est très important dans ces années.


Les adolescents sont des expérimentateurs nés et il leur est facile d'adopter des comportements à risque sans se rendre compte des conséquences de leur comportement, simplement pour améliorer leur image. L’égocentrisme caractéristique de cette étape de la vie, ainsi que l’importance et l’influence des amitiés, expliquent en partie pourquoi ils se comportent de la sorte.

Un des phénomènes les plus préoccupants de cet âge est la propension à consommer des drogues , qui est, dans de nombreux cas, récréatif. La marijuana, la cocaïne, la MDMA, entre autres, sont des substances psychoactives qui peuvent commencer à être consommées à un âge relativement précoce.

Bien que de nombreux jeunes vivent la consommation de drogue comme une simple expérience de la vie et la quittent par la suite, d’autres restent accrochés pour le reste de leur vie, ce qui leur cause de graves problèmes dans différents domaines de leur vie (travail, relations interpersonnelles, etc.). ) et votre santé.


  • Article connexe: "Les 10 drogues les plus toxicomanogènes au monde"

Comment détecter si votre enfant prend des drogues

L’usage de drogues est l’une des grandes préoccupations des parents, qui ils sont les chiffres clés en termes de prévention de ce comportement chez leurs enfants . Logiquement, les adolescents qui prennent des drogues vont essayer de les cacher.

Si vous êtes un père ou une mère et que vous voulez savoir reconnaître les signes qui indiquent que votre fils ou votre fille consomme habituellement ces substances, vous trouverez ci-dessous une liste des clés et des signes indicateurs.

1. Comment ça sent?

Certaines drogues comme la marijuana ou le tabac laissent une odeur forte chez ceux qui les prennent. Certes, si votre enfant est un consommateur, il utilisera une série de stratégies pour minimiser les risques de se faire prendre. Chewing-gum, se laver les mains à plusieurs reprises et même appliquer de l'eau de Cologne de manière exagérée en sont quelques exemples.


Cependant, il y a toujours des restes de l'odeur, soit dans les mains où se trouve le cigare ou le joint, soit dans les vêtements ou les cheveux, car s'ils fument dans un lieu fermé, il est facile pour l'odeur de rester dans ces endroits. Vous pouvez essayer d'avoir une conversation avec votre fils juste au moment où il rentre chez lui après avoir été avec ses amis. Vous pouvez également sentir les vêtements de votre enfant avant de les mettre à la machine à laver.

2. Comment vont tes yeux?

Dans les yeux, il est possible de détecter la consommation de drogues. Mais il faut bien comprendre que chaque médicament a ses effets et, par conséquent, plusieurs signes visibles peuvent se manifester dans cette partie du corps.

La marijuana, par exemple, fait rougir les yeux et une apparence de somnolence apparaît . Dans le cas de drogues telles que l'ecstasy, les yeux adoptent ce que l'on appelle des "yeux en forme de plaque", bien arrondis, ouverts et à pupilles dilatées. La cocaïne, de son côté, provoque également une forme similaire à celle générée par cette drogue de synthèse, mais ses effets sont moins exagérés.

3. Avez-vous des sautes d'humeur?

Les drogues provoquent un changement d'humeur très perceptible chez les personnes qui les consomment, surtout lorsqu'elles ne sont pas droguées. Cela se produit généralement parce que le corps demande à ce que le médicament soit à nouveau consommé, et c'est pourquoi ils peuvent être irritables, grincheux et même agressifs . De plus, la présence des parents rend les jeunes qui consomment beaucoup plus mal à l'aise, préférant passer du temps seuls pour faire le leur.

4. Y at-il des médicaments dans la trousse?

Certains jeunes ne consomment pas un seul médicament, mais expérimentent différents types de substances. Par exemple, la marijuana, la cocaïne et la vitesse. Mais beaucoup de ces jeunes peuvent également se fourrer dans l'armoire à pharmacie du domicile pour tenter de nouvelles sensations. Diazépam ou médicaments contre la toux ce sont des drogues qu'ils peuvent consommer. Si vous avez remarqué que certains médicaments que vous aviez à la maison disparaissent, vous vous inquiétez.

5. Avez-vous des amitiés malsaines?

Les amis sont des agents de socialisation très importants à cet âge. Si votre enfant rencontre des consommateurs réguliers, aura plus de chances de développer des habitudes néfastes . Par conséquent, il est nécessaire de faire attention à savoir si votre enfant a développé des amitiés malsaines, car cela peut être un indicateur clair de ce que votre enfant peut faire lorsqu'il est avec lui.

6. Les autres membres de la famille prennent-ils des drogues?

Si d'autres membres de la famille prennent des drogues, les enfants sont également plus susceptibles de consommer des substances psychoactives. Des études montrent que si les parents sont des consommateurs (par exemple, si le père est un alcoolique), les enfants peuvent développer des comportements de ce type.

De même si le frère ou la sœur aînée consomme, il y a également un risque plus grand que ce dernier reproduise son comportement négatif, car il s'agit généralement d'un modèle pour le petit frère.

7. Avez-vous mis de côté vos responsabilités?

La drogue a un effet dévastateur sur la vie de la personne qu'elle consomme, y compris son travail ou ses études. Ce n’est pas toujours le cas mais, surtout dans le cas des drogues dures, il est possible que beaucoup de jeunes laisser de côté leurs responsabilités pour mener une vie plutôt oisive . Par exemple, de mauvaises notes ou des «cloches» au lycée peuvent également être un indicateur de vos mauvaises habitudes.

8. Avez-vous des problèmes financiers?

Si votre enfant travaille les étés et vous dépensez tout votre argent mais vous ne savez pas en quoi, La raison en est peut-être la consommation de drogue. Le médicament a généralement un coût élevé et les personnes qui en font usage souffrent souvent de problèmes financiers. Des substances telles que la cocaïne sont particulièrement chères.

  • Article connexe: "Rayures à la cocaïne: composants, effets et dangers"

9. Montrez-vous d'autres changements de comportement?

Différents types de drogues ont des effets différents. Par exemple, certains sont relaxants et d'autres stimulants . Cependant, vous connaîtrez probablement bien votre fils ou votre fille et si vous remarquez des changements de comportement qui vous rendent suspect, ces substances peuvent en être la cause.

Si vous êtes toujours fatigué et paresseux, vous pouvez consommer de la marijuana, si vous parlez d'une manière étrange (par exemple, très vite), vous pouvez prendre des amphétamines, si vous passez deux jours sans sommeil, vous pouvez utiliser de la cocaïne et le reste de la famille peut cacher d'autres types d'habitudes de ce type.

  • Article connexe: "Les 9 types de toxicomanie et leurs caractéristiques"

10. Faites une évaluation globale

Les jeunes vivent une étape délicate de leur vie, pleine de changements . La consommation de drogue étant fréquente à cet âge, les parents doivent être vigilants pour éviter que ce comportement ne nuise à leur avenir.

Les points ci-dessus sont des signes pouvant indiquer que votre fils ou votre fille est entré dans le monde de la drogue, mais ne peuvent pas être évalués indépendamment: plus les points précédents sont respectés, plus il est probable que votre enfant sera un consommateur de drogue. drogues.


Comment savoir si une fille t'aime ?? (Juillet 2020).


Articles Connexes