yes, therapy helps!
Hypersomnia: types, symptoms, causes and treatments

Hypersomnia: types, symptoms, causes and treatments

July 18, 2024

The dream is an essential process for our survival and the maintenance of our capabilities. When tiredness can or we are sleepy, our energy level and our motivation are resented and we lose the desire to do things. We can not concentrate and our judgment and ability to analyze diminish, as well as our performance.

Fortunately, after sleeping an adequate number of hours we recover our energy and we recover our energies and maintain a state of normative vigilance and attention. However, there are people whose sleep periods are altered in time and quality of sleep. This is the case of insomnia or its opposite, the hypersomnia .


  • Related article: "The 7 main sleep disorders"

Hypersomnia

It is understood by hypersomnia sleep disorder characterized by the presence of excessive sleepiness despite having maintained a previous sleep period of at least seven hours. It is a disomnia, a type of sleep disturbance that affects the schedule, quantity and quality of sleep.

In hypersomnia the subject in question remains drowsy much of the day and it usually costs him to wake up after a period of normative sleep or that can even last nine or more hours, this sleep may not be repairing and not allowing him a real break. It may involve falling out of sleep in a manner similar to narcolepsy. Thus, someone with a hypersomnia can sleep for long periods of time as well as sleep during the day.


To consider the existence of this disorder, episodes of drowsiness should occur at least three times a week (although it can occur practically every day) for at least a month. The hypersomnia usually behaves a great dysfunctionality for those who suffer from it, diminishing their abilities and performance both at the work and personal and social levels. In fact, the person can get to sleep in situations of high risk, such as when they go to the wheel of a vehicle.

Apart from the lack of energy, this disorder can cause emotional disturbances as anxiety and irritability problems, demotivation and apathy. They also usually have memory problems and a certain mental and physical slowdown. At an organic level, it can generate changes and weaken the immune system.

Types of hypersomnia

Depending on whether there is a known cause or not, We can establish different types of hypersomnia . It is important to bear in mind that although episodes of sudden sleep also occur in narcolepsy, it is another pathology with its own and differentiated characteristics, so that we would not be talking about a type of hypersomnia.


Primary or idiopathic hypersomnia

It is known as a hypersomnia disorder. In this case the causes that produce this alteration are not known, there being a period of normative rest and without which the excess of sleep due to organic causes can be explained . The symptoms are those described above.

Within the primary hypersomnia can also be known as Kleine-Levine syndrome, which acts recurrently and persistently causing periods of several days or weeks of intense sleep.

It is common for those who suffer it to sleep up to 20 hours in a row and remain tired the rest of the time , with a high instability, irritability and disinhibition of impulses that leads to hyperphagia and hypersexuality. It is not uncommon for hallucinations and speech and memory problems to appear. These episodes will occur recurrently, but in the periods of time that pass between sleep and behavior are normative.

Secondary hypersomnia

The presence of persistent sleep during the day or difficulties to wake up can also have a specific and specific cause to explain it.

Within the secondary hypersomnia we can find those due to sleep deprivation be for not having enough sleep or because it is frequently interrupted, the effect of different drugs or drugs or the existence of a medical or psychiatric disorder that explains it. In these cases the hypersomnia would not be a disorder but a symptom of this alteration.

Causes of this problem

The causes of hypersomnia are largely unknown Today. For the diagnosis of hypersomnia as a primary disorder, it is necessary that the symptoms are not explained better by the presence of another pathology or as a result of substance abuse or sleep deprivation, or that although they may occur together they do not justify hypersomnia.

Thus, although it is possible to present sleep problems due to the persistent absence of this, the consumption of substances or certain problems of medical origin, but in this case it would be talking about a hypersomnia secondary to these and not hypersomnia as a disorder per se.

Even if the cause is not fully known, the possibility of the presence of alterations in the limbic system that can explain the presence of behavioral changes in cases of Kleine-Levine syndrome. A deficit in the synthesis and transmission of noradrenaline could also be an element to take into account when trying to explain this disorder. A possible injury in the brain areas responsible for sleep regulation could also generate this problem.

  • Related article: "Limbic system: the emotional part of the brain"

What to do? Treatment

Hypersomnia is an annoying and invalidating problem for those who suffer from it and that can greatly limit their lives and even precipitate dangerous accidents for their own survival. Your treatment is essential.

In this sense, it is recommended that at a behavioral level we try to avoid the use of heavy machinery or vehicles, as well as trying to maintain the best possible sleep hygiene. Sport is also a great help to stay active and reduce the feeling of sleep in the moments after the exercise. In sleep hygiene it is recommended establish specific hours to sleep and wake up , as well as facilitate the entry into the dream at the normative moments such as the avoidance of elements that require attention or noise.

At the psychological level, cognitive-behavioral techniques are also used that can be used to confront the problems derived from the disorder and to increase and help focus attention. The subject is also trained in the detection of the first signs of sleep, and apply to them several exercises both physically and mentally to increase the level of consciousness and physiological activity .

It is very useful avoid the consumption of depressant substances such as alcohol and other drugs with the same effects. The use of drugs and excitatory substances may be prescribed. Some antidepressants such as imipramine or MAOIs have also been used as a treatment, although caution should be exercised with other health aspects such as blood pressure.

Bibliographic references:

  • American Psychiatric Association. (2013). Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders. Fifth edition. DSM-V. Masson, Barcelona.
  • Bassetti, C.L. & Dauvilliers, Y. (2011). Idiopathic hypersomnia. In: Kryger MH, Roth T, Dement WC, eds. Principles and Practice of Sleep Medicine. 5th ed. Philadelphia, PA: Elsevier Saunders.
  • Erro, M.E. and Zandio, B. (2007). Hypersomnias: diagnosis, classification and treatment. Annals of the Navarre Health System; 30. Hospital of Navarra. Pamplona.
  • Guilleminault, C. & Brooks, S.N. (2001). Excessive daytime sleepiness. A challenge for the practicing neurologist. Brain; 124: 1482-1491.

Mayo Clinic Minute: Signs of a sleep disorder (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Hypersomnie: types, symptômes, causes et traitements

Hypersomnie: types, symptômes, causes et traitements

Décembre 9, 2021

Le rêve est un processus essentiel pour notre survie et le maintien de nos capacités. Lorsque la fatigue peut ou que nous sommes endormis, notre niveau d'énergie et notre motivation sont ressentis et nous perdons le désir de faire des choses. Nous ne pouvons pas nous concentrer et notre jugement et notre capacité d’analyse diminuer, ainsi que notre performance.

Heureusement, après avoir dormi un nombre d'heures suffisant, nous récupérons notre énergie et nous récupérons nos énergies tout en maintenant un état de vigilance et d'attention normative. Cependant, il y a des personnes dont les périodes de sommeil sont modifiées en termes de durée et de qualité du sommeil. C'est le cas de l'insomnie ou son contraire, l'hypersomnie .


  • Article connexe: "Les 7 principaux troubles du sommeil"

L'hypersomnie

Il est compris par l'hypersomnie trouble du sommeil caractérisé par la présence d'une somnolence excessive en dépit d'avoir maintenu une période de sommeil précédente d'au moins sept heures. C'est une désomnie, un type de trouble du sommeil qui affecte l'horaire, la quantité et la qualité du sommeil.

Dans l'hypersomnie, le sujet en question reste somnolent une grande partie de la journée et cela lui coûte généralement de se réveiller après une période de sommeil normatif ou qui peut même durer neuf heures ou plus, ce sommeil peut ne pas être réparateur et ne lui permettant pas une vraie pause. Cela peut impliquer de tomber du sommeil d’une manière semblable à la narcolepsie. Ainsi, une personne souffrant d'hypersomnie peut dormir pendant de longues périodes et dormir pendant la journée.


Pour envisager l’existence de ce trouble, les épisodes de somnolence doivent survenir au moins trois fois par semaine (bien que cela puisse se produire pratiquement tous les jours) pendant au moins un mois. L’hypersomnie a généralement un grand dysfonctionnement pour ceux qui en souffrent, en diminuant leurs capacités et leurs performances tant au travail que sur le plan personnel et social. En fait, la personne peut s'endormir dans des situations à haut risque, par exemple lorsqu'elle se rend au volant d'un véhicule.

Outre le manque d’énergie, ce trouble peut causer des troubles émotionnels comme anxiété et irritabilité, démotivation et apathie. Ils ont aussi généralement des problèmes de mémoire et un certain ralentissement mental et physique. Au niveau organique, il peut générer des changements et affaiblir le système immunitaire.

Types d'hypersomnie

Selon qu’il existe une cause connue ou non, Nous pouvons établir différents types d'hypersomnie . Il est important de garder à l'esprit que bien que des épisodes de sommeil subit se produisent également dans la narcolepsie, c'est une autre pathologie avec ses caractéristiques propres et différenciées, de sorte que nous ne parlerions pas d'un type d'hypersomnie.


Hypersomnie primaire ou idiopathique

Il est connu comme un trouble d'hypersomnie. Dans ce cas, les causes de cette altération ne sont pas connues, une période de repos normatif et de sans quoi l'excès de sommeil dû à des causes organiques peut s'expliquer . Les symptômes sont ceux décrits ci-dessus.

L'hypersomnie primaire peut également être appelée syndrome de Kleine-Levine, qui agit de manière récurrente et persistante en provoquant des périodes de plusieurs jours ou plusieurs semaines de sommeil intense.

Il est commun pour ceux qui en souffrent dormir jusqu'à 20 heures d'affilée et reste fatigué le reste du temps , avec une forte instabilité, irritabilité et désinhibition des pulsions menant à l'hyperphagie et à l'hypersexualité. Il n’est pas rare que des hallucinations et des problèmes de parole et de mémoire apparaissent. Ces épisodes se produiront de manière récurrente, mais dans les périodes de temps qui s'écoulent entre le sommeil et le comportement sont normatifs.

Hypersomnie secondaire

La présence de sommeil persistant pendant la journée ou de difficultés à se réveiller peut aussi avoir une cause spécifique et spécifique pour l'expliquer.

Dans l'hypersomnie secondaire, nous pouvons trouver que ceux dus à la privation de sommeil sont pour ne pas avoir assez de sommeil ou parce qu’il est fréquemment interrompu, l’effet de drogues différentes ou de drogues ou l’existence d’un trouble médical ou psychiatrique qui l’explique. Dans ces cas, l'hypersomnie ne serait pas un trouble, mais un symptôme de cette altération.

Causes de ce problème

Les causes de l'hypersomnie sont en grande partie inconnues au jour d'aujourd'hui. Pour diagnostiquer l'hypersomnie en tant que trouble primaire, il est nécessaire que les symptômes ne soient pas mieux expliqués par la présence d'une autre pathologie ou en raison d'une toxicomanie ou d'une privation de sommeil, ou que, s'ils peuvent se produire ensemble, ils ne justifient pas l'hypersomnie.

Ainsi, bien qu'il soit possible de présenter des problèmes de sommeil en raison de l'absence persistante de ces substances, de la consommation de substances ou de certains problèmes d'origine médicale, il s'agirait ici d'une hypersomnie secondaire à celles-ci et non d'une hypersomnie en tant que trouble. lui-même

Même si la cause n’est pas complètement connue, la possibilité de la présence de altérations du système limbique cela peut expliquer la présence de changements de comportement dans les cas de syndrome de Kleine-Levine. Un déficit dans la synthèse et la transmission de la noradrénaline pourrait également être un élément à prendre en compte pour tenter d'expliquer ce trouble. Une éventuelle blessure dans les zones du cerveau responsables de la régulation du sommeil pourrait également générer ce problème.

  • Article connexe: "Système limbique: la partie émotionnelle du cerveau"

Que faire? Traitement

L'hypersomnie est un problème gênant et invalidant pour ceux qui en souffrent et qui peut considérablement limiter leur vie et même précipiter des accidents dangereux pour leur propre survie. Votre traitement est essentiel.

En ce sens, il est recommandé, au niveau comportemental, d’éviter l’utilisation de machines ou de véhicules lourds, ainsi que de maintenir la meilleure hygiène de sommeil possible. Le sport est également une aide précieuse pour rester actif et réduire la sensation de sommeil dans les instants qui suivent l’exercice. Dans l'hygiène du sommeil, il est recommandé fixer des heures précises pour dormir et se réveiller , ainsi que de faciliter l’entrée dans le rêve aux moments normatifs tels que l’évitement des éléments nécessitant une attention ou du bruit.

Sur le plan psychologique, des techniques cognitivo-comportementales sont également utilisées, qui peuvent être utilisées pour faire face aux problèmes dérivés du trouble et pour augmenter et aider à attirer l’attention. Le sujet est également entraîné à la détection des premiers signes de sommeil et applique plusieurs exercices physiques et mentaux augmenter le niveau de conscience et d'activité physiologique .

C'est très utile éviter la consommation de substances dépressives telles que l'alcool et d'autres médicaments ayant les mêmes effets. L'utilisation de médicaments et de substances excitatrices peut être prescrite. Certains antidépresseurs tels que l'imipramine ou les IMAO ont également été utilisés en tant que traitement, bien que d'autres aspects de la santé, tels que la pression artérielle, doivent être pris avec prudence.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Association américaine de psychiatrie. (2013). Manuel diagnostique et statistique des troubles mentaux. Cinquième édition. DSM-V. Masson, Barcelone.
  • Bassetti, C.L. & Dauvilliers, Y. (2011). Hypersomnie idiopathique. Dans: Kryger MH, Roth T, Dement WC, éds. Principes et pratique de la médecine du sommeil. 5ème éd. Philadelphie, PA: Elsevier Saunders.
  • Erro, M.E. et Zandio, B. (2007). Hypersomnies: diagnostic, classification et traitement. Annales du système de santé de Navarre; 30. Hôpital de Navarre. Pampelune.
  • Guilleminault, C. et Brooks, S.N. (2001). Somnolence diurne excessive. Un défi pour le neurologue en exercice. Le cerveau; 124: 1482-1491.

Pourquoi j'ai le DIABÈTE? Pourquoi MOI? (Décembre 2021).


Articles Connexes