yes, therapy helps!
How to help a child with Asperger's Syndrome?

How to help a child with Asperger's Syndrome?

May 6, 2021

This is a question frequently asked by teachers and parents: How to help a child with Asperger's Syndrome, both in their social life and at school?

To answer this question we will provide a brief and clear explanation of what Asperger is and how we can help affected children, both in the classroom and at home and in their personal lives.

What is Asperger's Syndrome?

Asperger's Syndrome is a neurobiological disorder that is part of a group of conditions called autistic spectrum disorders.

The term "spectrum disorders" refers to the fact that the symptoms of each one of them can appear in different combinations and in different degrees of severity: two children with the same diagnosis, despite having certain patterns of behavior in common, may present a wide range of skills and abilities.


More information: "Asperger's Syndrome: 10 signs of this disorder"

Difficulties and limitations caused by this neurobiological disorder

Males tend to be the ones who most have this disorder and are usually diagnosed between 3 to 9 years of age. The main characteristics can be mentioned in four large areas, each one presents weaknesses, but also strengths. Let's see:

1. Social relations

Difficulty to understand the rules of social interaction, does not usually share their feelings, concerns and it is difficult to develop empathy. Your strength : They tend to show themselves as sincere, objective, noble, faithful and loyal people.


2. Communication and language

Difficulty initiating and maintaining a conversation, the sentences are brief and literal, sometimes seeming rude, and have a hard time connecting with the interlocutor. Your strength : They have a wide technical vocabulary, enjoy the word games and sometimes have great memory skills.

3. Mental flexibility and imagination

Difficulty to be flexible or relaxed, they worry about unusual things to the point of obsessing, they tend to be repetitive in a subject and tend to be a perfectionist. Strength They become experts in what they like, they are researchers par excellence and they are very loyal to their areas of interest.

4. Coordination and fine motor

There is motor delay and clumsiness.

5. Other areas that may present particularities

Unusual sensitivity to sensory stimuli (light, sounds, textures).


Tips to help a child with Asperger

Next we are going to know a series of recommendations focused on helping the child with Asperger's Syndrome in areas that usually present difficulties within the educational center: social relations and work in the classroom.

1. Children with Asperger and social relationships

It must be taught explicitly all those aspects that most people learn intuitively. Social relationships are fundamental so that these children can develop their abilities and their life in community.

Here you have Several recommendations, observations and advice to support in this area .

  • Greet : How to use the right tone? What do you pay attention to? What gestural expression to use? This type of skills can be taught through dramatizations where the codes that must be acquired are accentuated.
  • Start a conversation : How to give the other person the turn, when is it their turn to converse to end a conversation, how to know if the other person is interested. Which topics can relate to the conversation and which are not conducive. You can use an object or signal that allows them to guide the interventions in the conversation, as well as television programs.
  • Hold a conversation : They should be taught to determine when someone is joking, use metaphors, and what to say at that moment, detect how the other person feels about a certain expression or reaction, and what to do about it, how to differentiate if someone does something on purpose (not by accident) and how you should respond. This type of skills can be developed more easily through role play that allows them to think from the other person's point of view. It is important how these experiences can help them in their daily lives.
  • Language and oral comprehension Also, they may present a difficulty in understanding colloquial language, as they tend to understand communication in a literal way. Consequently, more "exact" phrases should be used (example: "I am hot" and not "dying of heat").In addition, we must emphasize our messages so that they are understood, using positive rather than negative forms ("we must remain seated" rather than "we should not get up from the chair").
  • Create a "circle of pairs" to help them feel more secure to join the group. This requires first, having the collaboration and understanding of the limitations of these people, delegate activities or occupations that allow them to feel more relaxed and willing to interact and, at the same time, encourage couples to serve as models in learning specific skills, such as: how to make a greeting between friends, how they can use their hands, how they can place their feet and body; as well as the use of facial expressions according to the conversation or environment / activity.
  • Gradually the degree of relationship and cooperation can be increased For this, work must be done on aspects such as: physical proximity, tolerance, patience. Respecting the "withdrawal" spaces is important. That is, do not force him to stay in a group.
  • They learn their communication skills by imitation (intonation, posture, attitude) without having the intuition necessary to adapt it to a specific environment. For example, they can talk to children as if they were adults, because they were taught to talk to communicate with their parents. In these cases, recordings can be used in which, gradually, they are shown what their language should be depending on the variables. And, in addition, propitiate spaces to practice them, can be accompanied by the "circle of pairs" to support them, ensuring that they can observe the areas to be improved. You can exemplify cases where you talk too loud, too slow, too fast, too slow, monotonous ...
  • Explicit rules are vital to guide group activities , it must be made clear what the purpose of group work is.
  • The conversations should be clear , transparent, without double meanings, irony or any kind of confusion in the sense of the phrase. Ideas must be transmitted without leaving anything "between the lines" so that they can understand us. The purpose to be communicated must be made very clear.
  • Explanations or instructions should be simple, short , concrete, and transmitted slowly. We should try to get attention before starting the conversation, try to get the child close and mention his name, thus decreasing the chances of being distracted and not understanding the explanations. We must try to systematize the instructions so that the steps or points to be transmitted are clearly defined. We can help with visual cues, drawings or signs.
  • Teach them to detect when they are angry or frustrated to define the behaviors not allowed and the strategies to channel them. Possess an "emergency protocol" with the steps to follow in case of detonating and disruptive situations.
  • If we must point them out for inappropriate behavior, let's do it in a neutral way and always making clear to them what is the right way and the consequences. Let's check if you understood the explanation. Do not insist on making eye contact.

2. Help a child with Asperger at school

In the school environment, children with Asperger's Syndrome can present several specific difficulties and limitations. That is why teachers must know this disorder to adapt some criteria to help children with Asperger, always by the hand of educational psychologists and other professionals.

The mission is for these children to be integrated in the best possible way in class dynamics , and that they can follow the courses with the minimum possible obstacles, developing some of their intellectual virtues and potentialities. Here are several tips for this purpose.

  • We try to incorporate in your academic curriculum the interests that the person has expressed and we use its fixation for that subject in different areas and subjects (for example, in Spanish we can let it write about spaceships, in mathematics that takes measurements from the spacecraft, etc). When you finish your daily work, you can dedicate yourself to your personal project.
  • Let's place it in a place free of distractions , that you can feel that you work individually. Orient it with respect to the materials required for each lesson, preferably making a list and placing it in a fixed and accessible place. Preferably, make it a fixed place.
  • Establish short-term goals , clearly defining the quality of the work we hope to obtain from the child. Also, let us inform you about the time you should spend in each activity, helping you with a watch destined only for him. We can use incentives as a reward.
  • Remember to use attractive visual material always (pictograms, maps, diagrams, use of the computer, schedules, lists ...). When the child starts work, let's establish a sign (for example, a green circle on the desk and a red circle when it should end).
  • When developing material, enter keywords specific symbols or signs that will allow the child to remember the information.When evaluating your work, do not use open questions. Whenever possible, establish closed questions that allow you to remember the specific information to the child and provide the key words or symbols previously mentioned. Employing oral evaluations can facilitate the work. Also, let's give him extra time to finish his work or exams.
  • The work material must be expanded , and you must clearly indicate where you should place the answers or the work area.
  • Let's make sure you have the necessary and organized work material . Sometimes it is convenient to define the materials with colors that represent a certain material.
  • Offer support to the child with Asperger with a partner who encourages him to finish the job , but trying to help him to be able to do it on his own. It is important to emphasize your skills and achievements.
  • Pay attention to the emotional indicators , trying to prevent possible alterations in their mood. Let us avoid criticism and punishment as much as possible, and replace them with positive reinforcement, flattery and reward.

Bibliographic references:

  • Dorado Moreno, M. (2005). Another way of looking: memories of a young man with Asperger's syndrome.
  • Peeters, T. (2008). Autism: from theoretical understanding to educational intervention.

Is Asperger’s Syndrome Autism? (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Comment aider un enfant atteint du syndrome d'Asperger?

Comment aider un enfant atteint du syndrome d'Asperger?

Juillet 2, 2022

Ceci est une question fréquemment posée par les enseignants et les parents: Comment aider un enfant Asperger, tant dans sa vie sociale qu'à l'école?

Pour répondre à cette question, nous fournirons une explication brève et claire de ce qu’Asperger est et de la manière dont nous pouvons aider les enfants affectés, à la fois en classe et à la maison, ainsi que dans leur vie personnelle.

Qu'est-ce que le syndrome d'Asperger?

Le syndrome d'Asperger est un trouble neurobiologique faisant partie d'un groupe d'affections appelées troubles du spectre autistique.

Le terme "troubles du spectre" fait référence au fait que les symptômes de chacun d’eux peuvent apparaître sous différentes combinaisons et à différents degrés de gravité: deux enfants avec le même diagnostic, bien qu’ils aient certains comportements en commun, peuvent présenter un large éventail de compétences et de capacités.


Plus d'informations: "Syndrome d'Asperger: 10 signes de ce trouble"

Difficultés et limitations causées par ce trouble neurobiologique

Les hommes sont généralement ceux qui souffrent le plus de ce trouble et sont généralement diagnostiqués entre 3 et 9 ans. Les principales caractéristiques peuvent être mentionnées dans quatre grands domaines, chacun présentant des faiblesses, mais aussi des points forts. Voyons voir:

1. relations sociales

Difficulté à comprendre les règles de l'interaction sociale, ne partage généralement pas leurs sentiments, leurs préoccupations et il est difficile de développer de l'empathie. Ta force : Ils ont tendance à se montrer sincères, objectifs, nobles, fidèles et loyaux.


2. Communication et langage

Difficulté à initier et à maintenir une conversation, les phrases sont brèves et littérales, semblant parfois grossières et ont du mal à communiquer avec l'interlocuteur. Ta force : Ils ont un vaste vocabulaire technique, aiment les jeux de mots et ont parfois de grandes capacités de mémoire.

3. Flexibilité mentale et imagination

Difficulté à faire preuve de souplesse ou de détente, ils s'inquiètent de choses inhabituelles au point de devenir obsédés, ils ont tendance à être répétitifs dans un sujet et à être perfectionnistes. Fortaleza Ils deviennent des experts de ce qu’ils aiment, ce sont des chercheurs par excellence et ils sont très fidèles à leurs domaines d’intérêt.

4. Coordination et moteur fin

Il y a du retard moteur et de la maladresse.

5. Autres domaines pouvant présenter des particularités

Sensibilité inhabituelle aux stimuli sensoriels (lumière, sons, textures).


Conseils pour aider un enfant Asperger

Ensuite nous allons savoir une série de recommandations visant à aider l'enfant atteint du syndrome d'Asperger dans les domaines qui présentent généralement des difficultés au sein du centre d’enseignement: relations sociales et travail en classe.

1. Enfants Asperger et relations sociales

Il faut enseigner explicitement tous les aspects que la plupart des gens apprennent intuitivement. Les relations sociales sont fondamentales pour que ces enfants puissent développer leurs capacités et leur vie en communauté.

Ici tu as Plusieurs recommandations, observations et conseils à appuyer dans ce domaine .

  • Dis bonjour : Comment utiliser le bon ton? À quoi faites-vous attention? Quelle expression gestuelle utiliser? Ce type de compétences peut être enseigné à travers des dramatisations dans lesquelles les codes à acquérir sont accentués.
  • Commencer une conversation : Comment donner le tour à l’autre personne, quand est-ce leur tour de converser pour mettre fin à une conversation, comment savoir si l’autre personne est intéressée. Quels sujets peuvent être liés à la conversation et lesquels ne sont pas propices. Vous pouvez utiliser un objet ou un signal qui leur permet de guider les interventions dans la conversation, ainsi que les programmes de télévision.
  • Garder une conversation : On devrait leur apprendre à déterminer quand une personne plaisante, à utiliser des métaphores, et quoi dire à ce moment-là, à détecter ce que l'autre personne pense de telle ou telle réaction ou réaction, et quoi faire à ce sujet, comment différencier si quelqu'un fait quelque chose à son propos (pas par accident) et comment vous devriez réagir. Ce type de compétences peut être développé plus facilement grâce à jeu de rôle cela leur permet de penser du point de vue de l'autre personne. Il est important de savoir comment ces expériences peuvent les aider dans leur vie quotidienne.
  • Langue et compréhension orale En outre, ils peuvent présenter des difficultés pour comprendre le langage familier, car ils ont tendance à comprendre la communication de manière littérale. Par conséquent, il faudrait utiliser davantage de phrases "exactes" (exemple: "j'ai chaud" et non "mourant de chaleur").De plus, nous devons insister sur nos messages afin qu’ils soient compris, en utilisant des formes positives plutôt que négatives ("nous devons rester assis" plutôt que "nous ne devrions pas nous lever de la chaise").
  • Créer un "cercle de paires" pour les aider à se sentir plus en sécurité pour rejoindre le groupe. Pour cela, il faut d’abord, disposer de la collaboration et de la compréhension des limitations de ces personnes, déléguer des activités ou des métiers qui leur permettent de se sentir plus détendus et disposés à interagir tout en encourageant les couples à servir de modèles d’apprentissage. compétences spécifiques, telles que: comment saluer des amis, comment utiliser leurs mains, comment placer leurs pieds et leur corps; ainsi que l'utilisation d'expressions faciales en fonction de la conversation ou de l'environnement / activité.
  • Peu à peu, le degré de relation et de coopération peut être accru Pour cela, il faut travailler sur des aspects tels que: proximité physique, tolérance, patience. Respecter les espaces de "retrait" est important. C'est-à-dire, ne le forcez pas à rester dans un groupe.
  • Ils acquièrent leurs compétences en communication par imitation (intonation, posture, attitude) sans avoir l’intuition nécessaire pour l’adapter à un environnement spécifique. Par exemple, ils peuvent parler aux enfants comme s'ils étaient des adultes, car ils ont appris à parler pour communiquer avec leurs parents. Dans ces cas, il est possible d’utiliser des enregistrements dans lesquels on leur montre progressivement ce que leur langue devrait être en fonction des variables. Et, en outre, les espaces propices pour les pratiquer peuvent être accompagnés du "cercle de paires" pour les soutenir, leur permettant d’observer les zones à améliorer. Vous pouvez illustrer des cas où vous parlez trop fort, trop lentement, trop vite, trop lentement, monotone ...
  • Des règles explicites sont essentielles pour guider les activités de groupe , il faut préciser le but du travail en groupe.
  • Les conversations doivent être claires , transparent, sans double sens, ironie ou confusion dans le sens de la phrase. Les idées doivent être transmises sans rien laisser "entre les lignes" afin qu'elles puissent nous comprendre. Le but à communiquer doit être très clair.
  • Les explications ou les instructions doivent être simples, courtes , concret et transmis lentement. Nous devrions essayer d'attirer l'attention avant d'entamer la conversation, essayer de rapprocher l'enfant et de mentionner son nom, diminuant ainsi les chances d'être distrait et de ne pas comprendre les explications. Nous devons essayer de systématiser les instructions afin que les étapes ou les points à transmettre soient clairement définis. Nous pouvons aider avec des repères visuels, des dessins ou des signes.
  • Apprenez-leur à détecter quand ils sont en colère ou frustrés définir les comportements non autorisés et les stratégies pour les canaliser. Posséder un "protocole d'urgence" avec les étapes à suivre en cas de situations détonantes et perturbatrices.
  • Si nous devons les signaler pour comportement inapproprié, faisons-le de manière neutre et toujours leur expliquer clairement quelle est la bonne manière et les conséquences. Vérifions si vous avez compris l'explication. Ne pas insister pour établir un contact visuel.

2. Aidez un enfant Asperger à l'école

En milieu scolaire, les enfants atteints du syndrome d'Asperger peuvent présenter plusieurs difficultés et limitations spécifiques. C'est pourquoi les enseignants doivent connaître ce trouble pour pouvoir adapter certains critères afin d'aider les enfants Asperger, toujours avec l'aide de psychologues de l'éducation et d'autres professionnels.

La mission est que ces enfants soient intégrés de la meilleure façon possible dans la dynamique de classe , et qu’ils peuvent suivre les cours avec le minimum d’obstacles possible, en développant certaines de leurs vertus et potentialités intellectuelles. Voici plusieurs astuces à cet effet.

  • Nous essayons d’intégrer dans votre programme d’études les intérêts que la personne a exprimés et nous utilisons sa fixation pour ce sujet dans différents domaines et sujets (par exemple, en espagnol, nous pouvons le laisser écrire sur les vaisseaux spatiaux, en mathématiques qui prennent des mesures à partir du vaisseau spatial, etc.). Lorsque vous avez terminé votre travail quotidien, vous pouvez vous consacrer à votre projet personnel.
  • Plaçons-le dans un endroit sans distractions , que vous pouvez sentir que vous travaillez individuellement. Orientez-le par rapport au matériel requis pour chaque leçon, de préférence en dressant une liste et en la plaçant dans un endroit précis et accessible. De préférence, faites-en un lieu fixe.
  • Fixer des objectifs à court terme , définissant clairement la qualité du travail que nous espérons obtenir de l’enfant. En outre, laissez-nous vous informer du temps que vous devriez consacrer à chaque activité, en vous aidant avec une montre destinée uniquement à lui. Nous pouvons utiliser des incitations comme récompense.
  • N'oubliez pas d'utiliser toujours du matériel visuel attrayant (pictogrammes, cartes, diagrammes, utilisation de l'ordinateur, horaires, listes ...). Lorsque l’enfant commence à travailler, établissons un signe (par exemple, un cercle vert sur le bureau et un cercle rouge quand il devrait se terminer).
  • Lorsque vous développez du matériel, entrez des mots-clés symboles ou signes spécifiques qui permettront à l'enfant de se souvenir de l'information.Lors de l'évaluation de votre travail, n'utilisez pas de questions ouvertes. Dans la mesure du possible, établissez des questions fermées vous permettant de vous rappeler les informations spécifiques à l'enfant et fournissez les mots clés ou les symboles mentionnés précédemment. L’utilisation d’évaluations orales peut faciliter le travail. Aussi, donnons-lui plus de temps pour terminer son travail ou ses examens.
  • Le matériel de travail doit être élargi et vous devez indiquer clairement où vous devez placer les réponses ou la zone de travail.
  • Veillons à ce que vous disposiez du matériel de travail nécessaire et organisé . Parfois, il est utile de définir les matériaux avec des couleurs représentant un certain matériau.
  • Offrir un soutien à l'enfant Asperger avec un partenaire qui l'encourage à terminer le travail , mais en essayant de l’aider à pouvoir le faire lui-même. Il est important de souligner vos compétences et vos réalisations.
  • Faites attention aux indicateurs émotionnels en essayant d’empêcher toute altération de leur humeur. Évitons autant que possible les critiques et les punitions et remplaçons-les par un renforcement positif, une flatterie et une récompense.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Dorado Moreno, M. (2005). Une autre façon de regarder: les souvenirs d'un jeune homme avec le syndrome d'Asperger.
  • Peeters, T. (2008). Autisme: de la compréhension théorique à l'intervention éducative.

Syndrome d'Asperger : mon fils re-scolarisé va mieux (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes