yes, therapy helps!
The 11 major disorders of attention (and associated symptoms)

The 11 major disorders of attention (and associated symptoms)

November 27, 2021

Attention is one of the most basic cognitive processes, since it allows to focus mental resources on specific foci for carrying out other psychological operations, such as the perception of environmental stimuli. Different types of alterations, both organic and lacking, can cause alterations in this function.

In this article we will describe the characteristics of the 11 main attention disorders . Most of them fall into the category of hypoprosexias (alterations due to attentional deficits), although it is also important to mention hyperprosexias, aprosexias, paraprosexias, and pseudoaprosexias.


  • Maybe you're interested: "The 16 most common mental disorders"

The main disorders of attention

Psychopathological disorders of attention are usually classified according to how they affect this cognitive function: specifically, we talk about aprosexia, hyperprosexia or hypoprosexia, among other terms , depending on whether they involve the increase, decrease or absence of attentional resources. In any case, these concepts are somewhat confusing.

Hypoprosexias, which are characterized by reduced ability to respond to stimuli, are the most common attention disorders. Within this category we find phenomena such as distractibility, emotional attentive lability, inhibition of attention, neglect syndrome, fatigability of attention, apathy or perplexity.


1. Aprosexia

The aprosexia is defined as the total absence of attention ; in this sense we could say that it constitutes an extreme form of hypoprosexia. The phenomenon of stupor, in which the person does not respond to almost any type of stimulation and which is associated with psychosis, epilepsy, the consumption of toxins and brain injuries, is the best example of aprosexia.

2. Pseudoaprosexia

In the literature on the psychopathology of attention, this term is used to refer to cases that apparently correspond to the signs of aprosexia, but which, however, do not imply true alterations in attention. A) Yes, the pseudoaprosexias are framed in hysterical and simulation contexts , fundamentally

3. Hyperprosexia

There is talk of hyperprosexia when, in the context of a transient alteration of consciousness (caused by manic episodes or drug use, mainly), there is an intensification and / or an excessive focus of attention, often accompanied by hypervigilance and hyperlucidity. . Like hypoprosexia, destabilizes attention and worsens performance .


4. Paraprosexia

This concept is used to describe two different types of alterations. Karl Jaspers was talking about paraprosexia as the anomalous direction of attention that occurs in disorders such as hypochondria, in which the excess of concern for certain physical signs can increase them. Other authors consider that paraprosexia is similar to attentional instability.

5. Distrability

In psychopathological contexts such as attention deficit hyperactivity disorder, manic episodes or the crepuscular states of epilepsy, there is a marked instability of the attentional focus. In this sense the distraction it's a type of hypoprosexia , as are the rest of the alterations that we will mention.

  • Related article: "Twilight state: what it is, symptoms and causes"

6. Attentive emotional lability

The context "emotional attentive lability" is used in a very specific way to define the alterations in the stability and the performance of the attention that they are derived from intense anxiety states , for example those that could occur in disorders such as generalized anxiety disorder.

7. Inatention or inhibition of attention

In these cases, the term refers to the reduction of the ability to direct attention to a particular focus. The inhibition of attention may have an organic origin (in which case it tends to be disoriented and memory problems) or psychological, as in melancholic depression and chronic psychoses.

8. Attention fatigability

Post-traumatic stress disorder, severe depression, tumors and brain infections or neurodegenerative disorders, especially dementias, frequently cause alterations due to deficits in attentional functions. People with attentional fatigability usually feel tired in general and present memory problems .

9. Apathetic attention

We find manifestations of attentional apathy in very different contexts: in conditions of intense fatigue and sleep, due to malnutrition, by abusive consumption of certain psychoactive substances, in diffuse neurodegenerative disorders or in asthenic-apathetic states. In some cases it is simply attributed to the personality of the subject .

10. Perplexity

In the area of ​​psychopathology of attention, the term "perplexity" defines a type of qualitative alteration of this function that implies a inability to give meaning to perceived stimuli , as well as their own behaviors. Although it is a very questioned concept, it could be applied to phenomena such as crepuscular states.

11. Negligence syndrome

The syndrome of left space heminegligencia (or simply "neglect syndrome") is a very particular brain disorder that appears as a consequence of focal lesions in the right hemisphere of the brain. The most representative symptoms include spatial neglect , inattention and akinesia for one half of the body or the visual field.

Bibliographic references:

  • Froján, M.X. and Santacreu, J. (1999). What is a psychological treatment? Madrid: New Library.
  • Gavino, A. (2002). Help guide for the cognitive-behavioral therapist. Madrid: Pyramid.
  • Luciano, M.C. (nineteen ninety six). Manual of clinical psychology. Childhood and adolescence Valencia: Promolibro.

Does my Child Have ADHD? (November 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 11 troubles majeurs de l'attention (et symptômes associés)

Les 11 troubles majeurs de l'attention (et symptômes associés)

Juin 12, 2024

L'attention est l'un des processus cognitifs les plus fondamentaux, car elle permet de concentrer les ressources mentales sur des foyers spécifiques pour la réalisation d'autres opérations psychologiques, telles que la perception des stimuli environnementaux. Différents types d'altérations, organiques et absentes, peuvent entraîner des altérations de cette fonction.

Dans cet article, nous allons décrire les caractéristiques des 11 principaux troubles de l'attention . La plupart d'entre eux appartiennent à la catégorie des hypoprosexias (altérations dues à des déficits de l'attention), bien qu'il soit également important de mentionner les hyperprosexias, les aprosexias, les paraprosexias et les pseudoaprosexias.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 16 troubles mentaux les plus courants"

Les principaux troubles de l'attention

Les troubles psychopathologiques de l’attention sont généralement classés en fonction de la manière dont ils affectent cette fonction cognitive: spécifiquement, on parle de aprosexia, hyperprosexia ou hypoprosexia, entre autres termes , selon qu’elles impliquent l’augmentation, la diminution ou l’absence de ressources attentionnelles. En tout cas, ces concepts sont quelque peu déroutants.

Les hypoprosexies, caractérisées par une capacité réduite à répondre aux stimuli, sont les troubles de l’attention les plus courants. Dans cette catégorie, on trouve des phénomènes tels que la distractibilité, la labilité émotionnelle à l’écoute, l’inhibition de l’attention, le syndrome de négligence, la fatigabilité de l’attention, l’apathie ou la perplexité.


1. aprosexia

L 'aprosexia se définit comme l'absence totale d'attention ; dans ce sens, on pourrait dire qu'il s'agit d'une forme extrême d'hypoprosexia. Le phénomène de stupeur, dans lequel la personne ne répond à presque aucun type de stimulation et qui est associé à la psychose, à l'épilepsie, à la consommation de toxines et à des lésions cérébrales, est le meilleur exemple de l'aprosexie.

2. Pseudoaprosexia

Dans la littérature sur la psychopathologie de l'attention, ce terme est utilisé pour faire référence à des cas qui correspondent apparemment aux signes de l'aprosexie, mais qui n'impliquent toutefois pas de véritables altérations de l'attention. Ainsi, les pseudoaprosexias sont encadrées dans des contextes hystériques et de simulation fondamentalement

3. Hyperprosexia

On parle d'hyperprosexie lorsque, dans le contexte d'une altération transitoire de la conscience (causée principalement par des épisodes maniaques ou de toxicomanie), il se produit une intensification et / ou un focalisation excessive de l'attention, souvent accompagnée d'hypervigilance et d'hyperlucidité. . Comme l'hypoprosexia, déstabilise l'attention et aggrave les performances .


4. Paraprosexia

Ce concept est utilisé pour décrire deux types différents de modifications. Karl Jaspers parlait de paraprosexia comme direction anormale de l'attention cela se produit dans des troubles tels que l'hypochondrie, dans lesquels l'excès de souci de certains signes physiques peut les augmenter. D'autres auteurs considèrent que la paraprosexie s'apparente à l'instabilité de l'attention.

5. Distrabilité

Dans les contextes psychopathologiques tels que le trouble d'hyperactivité avec déficit de l'attention, les épisodes maniaques ou les états crépusculaires d'épilepsie, il existe une instabilité marquée du foyer de l'attention. En ce sens la distraction c'est un type d'hypoprosexia , comme le reste des modifications que nous allons mentionner.

  • Article connexe: "État du crépuscule: qu'est-ce que c'est, symptômes et causes"

6. Labilité émotionnelle attentive

Le contexte "labilité émotionnelle attentive" est utilisé de manière très spécifique pour définir les altérations de la stabilité et de la performance de l'attention ils sont dérivés d'états d'anxiété intense , par exemple ceux qui pourraient survenir dans des troubles tels que le trouble d'anxiété généralisé.

7. Inatention ou inhibition de l'attention

Dans ces cas, le terme fait référence à la réduction de la capacité d'attirer l'attention sur un foyer particulier. L'inhibition de l'attention peut avoir une origine organique (dans ce cas, il a tendance à être désorienté et à avoir des problèmes de mémoire) ou psychologique, comme dans la dépression mélancolique et les psychoses chroniques.

8. Attention, fatigabilité

Le syndrome de stress post-traumatique, la dépression grave, les tumeurs et les infections du cerveau ou les troubles neurodégénératifs, en particulier les démences, provoquent fréquemment des altérations dues à des déficits des fonctions de l'attention. Personnes atteintes de fatigabilité attentionnelle généralement fatigué en général et problèmes de mémoire actuels .

9. Attention apathique

Nous trouvons des manifestations d'apathie de l'attention dans des contextes très différents: dans des conditions de fatigue intense, de sommeil, de malnutrition, de consommation abusive de certaines substances psychoactives, de troubles neurodégénératifs diffus ou d'états asthico-apathiques. Dans certains cas, il est simplement attribué à la personnalité du sujet .

10. Perplexité

Dans le domaine de la psychopathologie de l'attention, le terme "perplexité" définit un type d'altération qualitative de cette fonction qui implique une incapacité à donner un sens aux stimuli perçus , ainsi que leurs propres comportements. Bien que ce concept soit très remis en question, il pourrait être appliqué à des phénomènes tels que les états crépusculaires.

11. Syndrome de négligence

Le syndrome de l'héminegligencia de l'espace gauche (ou simplement "syndrome de négligence") est un trouble cérébral très particulier qui résulte des lésions focales de l'hémisphère droit du cerveau. Les symptômes les plus représentatifs incluent la négligence spatiale , inattention et akinésie pour une moitié du corps ou du champ visuel.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Froján, M.X. et Santacreu, J. (1999). Qu'est-ce qu'un traitement psychologique? Madrid: nouvelle bibliothèque.
  • Gavino, A. (2002). Guide d'aide pour le thérapeute cognitivo-comportemental. Madrid: pyramide.
  • Luciano, M.C. (1996). Manuel de psychologie clinique. Enfance et adolescence Valencia: Promolibro.

Voici comment réduire l’hypertension artérielle en 5 minutes sans utiliser des médicaments ! (Juin 2024).


Articles Connexes