yes, therapy helps!
Hypophobia (fear of horses): symptoms, causes and treatment

Hypophobia (fear of horses): symptoms, causes and treatment

October 1, 2022

The horse has been for centuries a symbol of nobility, strength and loyalty. Throughout history and until the invention and popularization of the automobile these animals have accompanied man in almost all their movements.

The horses have been from ancient times to today highly valued, admired and loved by the vast majority of people, even leading to the dreams of many children. But for some people, seeing or encountering a horse can be cause for great discomfort and panic. This is what happens with people who suffer from hypophobia , an anxiety disorder related to this type of animals.

  • Related article: "Types of phobias: exploring the disorders of fear"

What is hypophobia?

Hypophobia is called fear or extreme and exaggerated panic produced by the presence of horses . This fear may appear in the presence of equines themselves or in the expectation that they appear, although it may also appear (although generally to a lesser extent) before representations of these creatures.


It is a specific phobia referred to animals, which means the existence for at least six months of an exaggerated and excessive fear or panic in relation to the possible danger that the stimulus in question could imply. The person who suffers tend to avoid, or to endure with a very high level of anxiety, contact with these creatures. Previously it was considered that the person himself is usually aware that his reaction is exaggerated for the real danger involved, but at present does not require such recognition to diagnose it.

The vision or the mere idea of ​​the proximity of a horse can cause in a person with hypophobia the emergence of a very high level of anxiety that in fact can lead to a crisis of anguish. Sweating, tremors, headache, nausea and vomiting are some of the most frequent physiological symptoms, along with tachycardia and hyperventilation.


Given that in our daily life it is not usual to find horses, as a rule this phobia usually does not cause a great interference in the daily life of the sufferer. However, fear can also be triggered in situations associated with the presence of horses or in which representations of these creatures appear, avoiding, for example, merry-go-rounds, amusement parks or fairs in which such representations may appear or even real animals.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Types of Anxiety Disorders and their characteristics"

Causes of this phobia

Like other phobias, the causes of hypophobia are largely unknown. But nevertheless, there are different hypotheses regarding its appearance .

The main hypothesis in this regard is that which proposes that fear of horses is acquired, learned from experience. It is common for people who have suffered accidents, be it kicks or falls. It can also be learned vicariously , either because someone from the environment has suffered accidents related to these beings or has been visualizing or reading accident cases related to horses.


Another of the most common hypotheses is that which presents the phobia to certain stimuli such as something partly phylogenetically inherited by genes, a natural reaction that allows the human being to escape from a dangerous stimulation. Although horses are herbivores that would not hunt us and would not pose a threat at first, they are animals of great power and size: the kick of a horse has the potential to be deadly, and a stampede of these beings It could easily lead to the death of a person.

Treatment of fear of horses

As in the rest of phobias, one of the main and most effective treatments to apply for the treatment of hypophobia is exposure therapy . This therapy is based mainly on exposing the subject to the feared stimulus without using avoidance techniques until the anxiety and panic caused by the phobic element diminish until they become practically imperceptible

Generally it is carried out in a graduated way: it would be to make a hierarchy of phobic stimuli , with different items or stimuli that generate panic sorted according to the level of anxiety that this involves, to gradually expose the subject to these stimuli in a graduated way. For example, in the case at hand, it could begin with the exposure to images of equines to gradually increase the complexity and level of exposure, such as visiting and riding carousels, exposure to the vision of a equine live and go approaching little by little, perhaps to the point of touching or even ride on the animal.

In the long run, you can even consider visiting stables or even practicing equine therapy.However, this is an example: the items that must be discussed must be negotiated between the patient and the therapist depending on what the patient assumes anxiety (something that can vary a lot depending on the patient, even if the phobic stimulus is the same) and what he is willing to do.

Beyond the exhibition, Cognitive restructuring can be very helpful in combating distorted beliefs and maladaptive, as for example a possible vision that approaching a horse will cause it to be hostile, that these are aggressive, that the subject is unable to cope with his panic or that he is most likely to fall a horse if it gets to ride.

The use of relaxation techniques can be helpful in the face of the emergence of anxiety, whether it is to prepare for a possible exposure as well as to reduce the internal tension associated with their panic.


(WARNING GROSS) CURING MY TRYPOPHOBIA (October 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Hypophobie (peur des chevaux): symptômes, causes et traitement

Hypophobie (peur des chevaux): symptômes, causes et traitement

Mai 25, 2022

Le cheval est depuis des siècles un symbole de noblesse, de force et de loyauté. Tout au long de l'histoire et jusqu'à l'invention et la popularisation de l'automobile, ces animaux ont accompagné l'homme dans presque tous leurs mouvements.

Les chevaux ont toujours été très appréciés, admirés et aimés par la grande majorité des gens, menant même aux rêves de nombreux enfants. Mais pour certaines personnes, voir ou rencontrer un cheval peut être une cause de grande gêne et de panique. C'est ce qui se passe chez les personnes souffrant d'hypophobie , un trouble d'anxiété lié à ce type d'animaux.

  • Article connexe: "Types de phobies: explorer les troubles de la peur"

Qu'est-ce que l'hypophobie?

L'hypophobie s'appelle peur ou panique extrême et exagérée produite par la présence de chevaux . Cette peur peut apparaître en présence des équidés eux-mêmes ou dans l'attente de leur apparition, bien qu'elle puisse également apparaître (bien que généralement dans une moindre mesure) avant les représentations de ces créatures.


Il s’agit d’une phobie spécifique chez l’animal, c’est-à-dire l’existence pendant au moins six mois d’une peur ou d’une panique exagérée et excessive par rapport au danger que pourrait impliquer le stimulus en question. La personne qui souffre a tendance à éviter, ou à supporter avec un niveau d'anxiété très élevé, le contact avec ces créatures. Auparavant, on considérait que la personne elle-même est généralement consciente du fait que sa réaction est exagérée face au danger réel qui est en jeu, mais ne nécessite pas pour le moment une telle reconnaissance pour le diagnostiquer.

La vision ou la simple idée de la proximité d’un cheval peut provoquer chez une personne souffrant d’hypophobie l’émergence de une très grande anxiété cela peut en fait conduire à une crise d'angoisse. La transpiration, les tremblements, les maux de tête, les nausées et les vomissements comptent parmi les symptômes physiologiques les plus fréquents, ainsi que la tachycardie et l'hyperventilation.


Étant donné que dans notre vie quotidienne, il n’est pas habituel de trouver des chevaux, cette phobie ne provoque généralement pas une grande interférence dans la vie quotidienne de la personne qui en souffre. Cependant, la peur peut aussi être déclenchée dans des situations associées à la présence de chevaux ou dans lesquelles des représentations de ces créatures apparaissent, en évitant par exemple les manèges, les parcs d'attractions ou les foires dans lesquelles de telles représentations peuvent apparaître ou même des animaux réels.

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Types de troubles anxieux et leurs caractéristiques"

Causes de cette phobie

Comme les autres phobies, les causes de l'hypophobie sont en grande partie inconnues. Cependant, il y a différentes hypothèses concernant son apparence .

La principale hypothèse à cet égard est celle qui propose d'acquérir la peur des chevaux, d'apprendre de l'expérience. C'est fréquent chez les personnes qui ont subi des accidents, que ce soit des coups de pied ou des chutes. Il peut aussi être appris par procuration , soit parce que quelqu'un de l'environnement a subi des accidents liés à ces êtres ou a visualisé ou lu des cas d'accidents liés à des chevaux.


Une autre des hypothèses les plus courantes est celle qui présente la phobie à certains stimuli tels que quelque chose en partie phylogénétiquement hérité par les gènes, une réaction naturelle cela permet à l'être humain d'échapper à une stimulation dangereuse. Bien que les chevaux soient des herbivores qui ne nous chasseraient pas et ne constitueraient pas une menace au début, ce sont des animaux de grande puissance et de grande taille: le coup de pied d'un cheval peut être mortel, et une débandade de ces êtres Cela pourrait facilement entraîner la mort d'une personne.

Traitement de la peur des chevaux

Comme dans le reste des phobies, l’un des traitements les plus efficaces à appliquer pour le traitement de l’hypophobie est thérapie d'exposition . Cette thérapie consiste principalement à exposer le sujet au stimulus redouté sans utiliser de techniques d'évitement, jusqu'à ce que l'anxiété et la panique causées par l'élément phobique s'atténuent jusqu'à devenir pratiquement imperceptibles.

Généralement cela se fait de manière progressive: il serait de faire une hiérarchie des stimuli phobiques , avec différents éléments ou stimuli générant une panique, classés en fonction du niveau d’anxiété que cela implique, afin d’exposer progressivement le sujet à ces stimuli de manière progressive. Par exemple, dans le cas qui nous occupe, l’exposition à des images d’équidés pourrait commencer à augmenter progressivement la complexité et le niveau d’exposition, tels que les manèges de visite et de conduite, l’exposition à la vision d’un les équidés vivent et vont se rapprocher peu à peu, au point de toucher ou même de monter sur l’animal.

À long terme, vous pouvez même envisager de visiter des écuries ou même de pratiquer la thérapie équine.Cependant, il s’agit d’un exemple: les points à discuter doivent être négociés entre le patient et le thérapeute en fonction de l’anxiété du patient (quelque chose qui peut varier énormément selon le patient, même si le stimulus phobique est identique). et ce qu'il est prêt à faire.

Au-delà de l'exposition, La restructuration cognitive peut être très utile pour lutter contre les croyances déformées. et inadapté, comme par exemple une vision possible que l'approche d'un cheval le rendra hostile, que ceux-ci sont agressifs, que le sujet est incapable de faire face à sa panique ou qu'il risque le plus de tomber un cheval s'il arrive à monter.

L’utilisation de techniques de relaxation peut être utile face à l’émergence de l’anxiété, qu’il s’agisse de se préparer à une éventuelle exposition ou de réduire la tension interne associée à la panique.


Qu'est ce que ça veut dire #Hypophobie (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes