yes, therapy helps!
How to paint my house? The psychology of color explains it to you

How to paint my house? The psychology of color explains it to you

July 14, 2024

When it comes to decorating our home, we have all considered what color we should paint the different spaces and rooms. The feeling that each color gives off can influence our mood.

We spend many hours in our house, so deciding how we paint this is often an important decision. Psychologists have long been investigating what effect different colors have on our mind and our behavior. Today I explain some conclusions about it.

What is the psychology of color

The psychology of color is a field of study that aims to analyze how we perceive and behave in the different shades , and aims to understand the different emotional reactions they cause in us. While it is true that the perception of color is an individual and subjective process, there are some accepted principles.


Colors influence our emotions and our mental state, and while some relax or calm us, others can make us feel energetic. There are many companies that are aware of this reality, and for decades, marketing professionals have tried to take advantage of this reality.

  • Related article: "Psychology of color: meaning and curiosities of colors"

Applications of color psychology

Surely you yourself have been able to experience it, for example, that when you go to a clothing store the company has selected the colors in a strategic way to increase sales. And it is that many companies they design their logos and their designs being aware of the emotions that their different colors produce . Some scientific studies conclude that the color red stimulates hunger, so it is not surprising that some companies, such as McDonald's, Pizza Hut, KFC or Wendy's, use it to represent their brand.


But nevertheless, the psychology of color is not only present to make money , because it is an important part of art therapy. In this therapeutic practice, the different colors are used to improve the well-being of the person, knowing the influence of the different colors on our physical and mental state. While red seems to increase heart rate and adrenaline and causes people to feel more energetic and excited, white causes the opposite.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Theory of Gestalt: laws and fundamental principles"

How to paint your house according to the psychology of color

It is not uncommon to talk about the sensations that colors cause us. For example, in western countries we all associate white or light blue to peace and tranquility . Red, on the other hand, represents passion, love or danger.


When we painted our house, almost unconsciously, we asked ourselves different questions: Should I paint the living room with an elegant gray? Should the kitchen be green to give a fresh and springy feel? Perhaps it is better to paint the room in white because I like meditation and yoga? As you see, we use the psychology of color almost without realizing it.

Warm colors and cold colors

It is common to talk about warm colors and cold colors. Warm colors are colors such as red, yellow and orange, which elicit both positive (warmth) and negative (anger or hostility) reactions. In our house, as the experts say, these colors favor coexistence with other individuals, as they provide joy and optimism. It is usually used in dining rooms and restaurants .

When talking about cold colors, such as green or blue, we refer to the tones that make us feel calm but also sadness. These tones favor environments in which greater attention and concentration is required, such as schools or the workplace.

How colors affect us and what is their symbolism

The symbolism of colors is an ambiguous terrain, which does not always enjoy acceptance in the field of science. The reasons may be that it is a subjective territory and that it depends on the context and culture . If you are thinking of painting your house, below you can find some meanings of the colors and the reasons why you should use one color or another. These explanations are more or less accepted in the West.

Orange

Orange is a warm color that inspires enthusiasm and movement, although it is also related to success, optimism and creativity. It is an ideal color to paint the room of a couple, because it is associated with fraternity and unity (especially some derivatives such as salmon). In work environments, it is linked to team work.

Yellow

Yellow is ideal for painting a room, because it represents light. A light yellow gives luminosity and space. The light yellow tones They are better to apply at home because they tire and irritate less to the person that the most intense yellows.

Red

The color red is associated with passion, strength, desire, virility, energy and danger . Although red can be an extreme color, it is ideal for painting the room. Now, being very stimulating, it is better to do it in moderation. For example, painting only part of the wall, some corner and combining it with other colors.

pink

The pink represents the feminine, the sweetness, the delicacy, the friendship and the authentic love. As well can be used in a couple's room , because it is a relaxing and very romantic color.

White

The white color is associated with relaxation, purity, peace, innocence and cleanliness. When combined with blue is ideal for bathing .

blue

As mentioned, blue is a color that fits perfectly with white for its relaxing feeling and tranquility . In addition, it represents the sky and water, so it gives freshness and calm to the home. In turn, it transmits trust and purity.

Gray

Gray is a color that used at home like a lot or little. While some people associate it with sadness, seriousness, boredom and lack of color, It can be a color that, applied with intelligence, gives elegance to the home .

There are lighter and more intense grays, that combined with other colors can convey a very pleasant sensation. Gray combines with everything, especially white.

Green

Green is a color that reminds us of the ecological, the natural, the life, the hope and the youth. According to experts, a room with this color (with soft intensity) causes relaxation and well-being . A kitchen with white and green tones works very well.

Black

Black is a color that transmits elegance, formality and sobriety to the different spaces of the home. Not everyone dares to use this color to paint the walls of their house, but employee with intelligence and without abuse , can give a great touch to your house. It is recommended not to abuse this color. A wall in the room or in the living room is enough to benefit from this tone.

Purple

In the world of marketing, purple is a color used in anti-aging products, because represents glamor and youth . At the time of painting the house, it is ideal to give a youthful touch to the room of the adolescent children and even the youngest children.


How Colors Affect Your Mood (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Comment peindre ma maison? La psychologie de la couleur vous l'explique

Comment peindre ma maison? La psychologie de la couleur vous l'explique

Juin 25, 2019

Quand il s’agit de décorer notre maison, nous avons tous réfléchi à la couleur à peindre. Le sentiment que chaque couleur dégage peut influencer notre humeur.

Nous passons de nombreuses heures à la maison. Décider de la manière dont nous peignons est souvent une décision importante. Les psychologues étudient depuis longtemps quel effet différentes couleurs ont sur notre esprit et notre comportement. Aujourd'hui, j'explique certaines conclusions à ce sujet.

Quelle est la psychologie de la couleur

La psychologie de la couleur est un domaine d'étude qui vise à analyser notre perception et notre comportement dans les différentes nuances , et vise à comprendre les différentes réactions émotionnelles qu’elles provoquent en nous. S'il est vrai que la perception de la couleur est un processus individuel et subjectif, certains principes sont acceptés.


Les couleurs influencent nos émotions et notre état mental. Tandis que certaines nous détendent ou nous calment, d’autres peuvent nous faire sentir énergiques. De nombreuses entreprises sont conscientes de cette réalité et, depuis des décennies, les professionnels du marketing tentent de tirer parti de cette réalité.

  • Article connexe: "Psychologie de la couleur: signification et curiosité des couleurs"

Applications de la psychologie des couleurs

Vous avez sûrement pu constater vous-même, par exemple, que lorsque vous vous rendez dans un magasin de vêtements, la société a sélectionné les couleurs de manière stratégique pour augmenter les ventes. Et c'est que beaucoup d'entreprises ils conçoivent leurs logos et leurs créations en tenant compte des émotions que leurs différentes couleurs génèrent . Certaines études scientifiques concluent que la couleur rouge stimule la faim. Il n'est donc pas surprenant que certaines entreprises, telles que McDonald's, Pizza Hut, KFC ou Wendy's, l'utilisent pour représenter leur marque.


Cependant, la psychologie de la couleur est non seulement présente pour gagner de l'argent , car c’est une partie importante de la thérapie par l’art. Dans cette pratique thérapeutique, les différentes couleurs sont utilisées pour améliorer le bien-être de la personne, sachant l'influence des différentes couleurs sur notre état physique et mental. Alors que le rouge semble augmenter la fréquence cardiaque et l'adrénaline et inciter les gens à se sentir plus énergiques et plus excités, le blanc provoque le contraire.

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Théorie de la Gestalt: lois et principes fondamentaux"

Comment peindre votre maison selon la psychologie de la couleur

Il n'est pas rare de parler des sensations que nous provoquent les couleurs. Par exemple, dans les pays occidentaux, nous associons tous le blanc ou le bleu clair à la paix et la tranquillité . Le rouge, en revanche, représente la passion, l'amour ou le danger.


Quand nous avons peint notre maison, presque inconsciemment, nous nous sommes posé différentes questions: Devrais-je peindre le salon avec un gris élégant? La cuisine doit-elle être verte pour donner une sensation fraîche et printanière? Peut-être vaut-il mieux peindre la pièce en blanc parce que j'aime la méditation et le yoga? Comme vous le voyez, nous utilisons la psychologie de la couleur presque sans nous en rendre compte.

Couleurs chaudes et couleurs froides

Il est courant de parler de couleurs chaudes et de couleurs froides. Les couleurs chaudes sont des couleurs telles que le rouge, le jaune et l'orange, qui suscitent des réactions positives (chaleur) et négatives (colère ou hostilité). Comme le disent les experts, chez nous, ces couleurs favorisent la coexistence avec d’autres personnes, car elles procurent joie et optimisme. Il est généralement utilisé dans les salles à manger et les restaurants .

Lorsque nous parlons de couleurs froides, telles que le vert ou le bleu, nous nous référons aux tons qui nous procurent un sentiment de calme mais aussi de tristesse. Ces tonalités favorisent les environnements dans lesquels une plus grande attention et une plus grande concentration est requise, tels que les écoles ou les lieux de travail.

Comment les couleurs nous affectent et quel est leur symbolisme

Le symbolisme des couleurs est un terrain ambigu qui n’est pas toujours accepté dans le domaine de la science. Les raisons peuvent être qu’il s’agit d’un territoire subjectif et que cela dépend du contexte et de la culture . Si vous envisagez de peindre votre maison, vous trouverez ci-dessous quelques significations des couleurs et les raisons pour lesquelles vous devriez utiliser une couleur ou une autre. Ces explications sont plus ou moins acceptées en Occident.

Orange

La couleur chaude de l’orange inspire l’enthousiasme et le mouvement, mais elle est également liée au succès, à l’optimisme et à la créativité. C'est une couleur idéale pour peindre la pièce d'un couple, car il est associé à la fraternité et à l'unité (en particulier certains dérivés tels que le saumon). En milieu de travail, cela est lié au travail en équipe.

Jaune

Le jaune est idéal pour peindre une pièce, car il représente la lumière. Un jaune clair donne de la luminosité et de l'espace. Les tons jaune clair Ils sont meilleurs à appliquer à la maison car ils fatiguent et irritent moins à la personne que les jaunes les plus intenses.

Rouge

La couleur rouge est associée à la passion, force, désir, virilité, énergie et danger . Bien que le rouge puisse être une couleur extrême, il est idéal pour peindre la pièce. Maintenant, étant très stimulant, il vaut mieux le faire avec modération. Par exemple, peindre une partie du mur, un coin et le combiner avec d'autres couleurs.

Rosa

Le rose représente le féminin, la douceur, la délicatesse, l'amitié et l'amour authentique. Aussi peut être utilisé dans la chambre d'un couple , car c’est une couleur relaxante et très romantique.

Blanc

La couleur blanche est associée à la relaxation, la pureté, la paix, l'innocence et la propreté. Lorsque combiné avec le bleu est idéal pour la baignade .

Bleu

Comme mentionné, le bleu est une couleur qui s’accorde parfaitement avec le blanc pour son sentiment de détente et de tranquillité . De plus, il représente le ciel et l’eau, ce qui donne fraîcheur et calme à la maison. À son tour, il transmet la confiance et la pureté.

Gris

Le gris est une couleur qui a l'habitude à la maison beaucoup ou peu. Si certaines personnes l’associent à la tristesse, au sérieux, à l’ennui et au manque de couleur, Ce peut être une couleur qui, appliquée avec intelligence, donne de l'élégance à la maison .

Il y a des gris plus clairs et plus intenses qui, combinés avec d'autres couleurs, peuvent donner une sensation très agréable. Gray combine avec tout, surtout le blanc.

Vert

Le vert est une couleur qui nous rappelle l’écologie, le naturel, la vie, l’espoir et la jeunesse. Selon les experts, une pièce de cette couleur (d'intensité douce) provoque détente et bien-être . Une cuisine aux tons blanc et vert fonctionne très bien.

Noir

Le noir est une couleur qui transmet élégance, formalité et sobriété aux différents espaces de la maison. Tout le monde n’ose pas utiliser cette couleur pour peindre les murs de sa maison, mais employé avec intelligence et sans abus , peut donner une grande touche à votre maison. Il est recommandé de ne pas abuser de cette couleur. Un mur dans la chambre ou dans le salon suffit à profiter de ce ton.

Violet

Dans le monde du marketing, le violet est une couleur utilisée dans les produits anti-âge, car représente le glamour et la jeunesse . Au moment de peindre la maison, il est idéal de donner une touche de jeunesse à la chambre des adolescents et même des plus jeunes.


Comment bien choisir les couleurs de son intérieur ? (Juin 2019).


Articles Connexes