yes, therapy helps!
Lightner Witmer: biography of this American psychologist

Lightner Witmer: biography of this American psychologist

January 22, 2021

Lightner Witmer (1867-1956) was an American psychologist, recognized to this day as the father of clinical psychology. This is the case since he founded the first child psychology clinic in the United States, which began as a derivative of the psychology laboratory of the University of Pennsylvania and which especially provided child care.

In this article we will see a biography of Lightner Witmer , as well as some of his main contributions to clinical psychology.

  • Related article: "History of Psychology: authors and main theories"

Lightner Witmer: biography of this clinical psychologist

Lightner Witmer, formerly David L. Witmer Jr., was born on June 28, 1867 in Philadelphia, United States. Son of David Lightner and Katherine Huchel, and the eldest of four brothers, Witmer earned a Ph.D. in psychology and soon developed as a member of the University of Pennsylvania. Also, he had training in arts, finance and economics, and political science.


As with other scientists and psychologists of the time, Witmer it grew in the context of the American Civil War , around an emotional atmosphere strongly charged with worry and at the same time fears and hopes.

In addition, Witmer was born in Philadelphia, which in the same context had been characterized by different events that marked the history of the country, such as the Battle of Gettysburg and the various struggles for the prohibition of slavery. All of the above led Witmer to develop a special concern for using psychology as a tool for social improvement.

Training and academic career

After having graduated in political science, and trying to continue studying law, Witmer he met experimental psychologist James McKeen Cattell, who was one of the most influential intellectuals of the time.


This last reason to Witmer to begin their studies in psychology. Witmer soon became interested in this discipline, partly because he had previously served as a history and English teacher with children of different ages, and he had noticed that many of them had various difficulties, for example, to distinguish sounds or letters. Far from staying on the sidelines, Witmer had worked closely with these children, and his help had been instrumental in increasing their learning.

After meeting Cattell (who had also trained with another of the parents of psychology, Wilhelm Wundt) and after having accepted to work as his assistant, Witmer and Cattell founded an experimental laboratory where the main objective was to study the differences in reaction times between different individuals.

Cattell soon leaves the university, and the laboratory, and Witmer begins to work like assistant of Wundt in the University of Leipzig, in Germany. After obtaining his doctorate, Witmer returned to the University of Pennsylvania as director of the psychology laboratory, and specialized in research and teaching in child psychology.


The first psychology clinic in the United States

As part of his work in the psychology laboratory at the University of Pennsylvania, Witmer founded the first US child care psychologist clinic .

Among other things he was in charge of working with different children, with the aim of helping them overcome what he called "defects" for learning and socialization. Witmer maintained that these defects were not diseases, nor were they necessarily the result of a brain defect, but rather a mental state proper to the child's development.

In fact, he said that these children should not be considered as "abnormal", because if they deviate from the average, this happened because their development was at a stage before the majority. But, through adequate clinical support, supplemented by a training school that functions as a hospital-school, their difficulties could be compensated.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Child psychology: a practical guide for fathers and mothers"

Witmer and the beginnings of clinical psychology

In the debate over the hereditary or environmental determination of behavior, which dominated much of the psychology of the moment, Witmer was initially positioned as one of the defenders of hereditary factors. However, after beginning the interventions as a clinical psychologist, Weimer He argued that the child's development and capabilities were strongly conditioned by environmental elements and for the socioeconomic role.

From there, his clinic focused on expanding the study of educational psychology and what was previously called special education. In addition, he is credited with being the father of clinical psychology because he was the first to use the term "Clinical Psychology" in the year 1896, during a working session of the American Psychological Association (APA).

In the same context, Witmer defended the separation of psychology and philosophy He especially advocated dividing the APA of the American Philosophy Association. Since this last one generated different controversies, Witner and Edward Titchener founded an alternative society only for experimental psychologists.

Witmer defended strongly that the investigations carried out in psychology, in the laboratories, as well as the theories developed by the great intellectuals, could have a practical and direct use to improve the quality of life of the people. Likewise, the basis of the development of clinical psychology is the premise that practice and research are indissociable elements for this discipline.

Bibliographic references:

  • Lightner, Witmer (2018). Wikipedia The Free Encyclopedia. Retrieved August 30, 2018. Available at //en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lightner_Witmer.
  • Ju├írez, A. R. (2016). Lightner Witmer and the first psychological clinic for children in the United States. VIII International Congress of Research and Professional Practice in Psychology XXIII Research Conference XII Meeting of Researchers in Psychology of MERCOSUR. Faculty of Psychology - University of Buenos Aires, Buenos Aires.
  • Thomas, H. (2009). Discovering Lightner Witmer: A Forgotten Hero of Psychology. Journal of Scientific Psychology. pp. 3- 13. Recovered August 30, 2018. Available at //www.psyencelab.com/uploads/5/4/6/5/54658091/discovering_lightner_witmer.pdf.

Applied Psychology: The Legacy of Functionalism - Ch8 - History of Modern Psychology (January 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Lightner Witmer: biographie de ce psychologue américain

Lightner Witmer: biographie de ce psychologue américain

Juillet 12, 2024

Lightner Witmer (1867-1956) était un psychologue américain, reconnu à ce jour comme le père de la psychologie clinique. C’est le cas depuis la fondation de la première clinique de psychologie de l’enfant aux États-Unis, qui a commencé comme un dérivé du laboratoire de psychologie de l’Université de Pennsylvanie et qui assurait en particulier des services de garde.

Dans cet article nous verrons une biographie de Lightner Witmer , ainsi que certaines de ses principales contributions à la psychologie clinique.

  • Article connexe: "Histoire de la psychologie: auteurs et théories principales"

Lightner Witmer: biographie de ce psychologue clinicien

Lightner Witmer, anciennement David L. Witmer Jr., est né le 28 juin 1867 à Philadelphie, aux États-Unis. Fils de David Lightner et Katherine Huchel, et aîné de quatre frères, Witmer obtint un doctorat en psychologie et se développa bientôt en tant que membre de l'Université de Pennsylvanie. Il a également suivi une formation en arts, finance et économie et en sciences politiques.


Comme avec d’autres scientifiques et psychologues de l’époque, Witmer il a grandi dans le contexte de la guerre civile américaine , dans une atmosphère émotionnelle fortement chargée d’inquiétude et en même temps de peur et d’espoir.

En outre, Witmer est né à Philadelphie, qui, dans le même contexte, avait été marquée par différents événements ayant marqué l'histoire du pays, tels que la bataille de Gettysburg et les diverses luttes pour l'interdiction de l'esclavage. Tout ce qui précède a amené Witmer à développer un intérêt particulier pour l'utilisation de la psychologie en tant qu'outil d'amélioration sociale.

Formation et carrière académique

Après avoir obtenu son diplôme en sciences politiques et poursuivi ses études en droit, Witmer il a rencontré le psychologue expérimental James McKeen Cattell, l'un des intellectuels les plus influents de l'époque.


Cette dernière raison a amené Witmer à commencer ses études en psychologie. Witmer s’intéressa rapidement à cette discipline, en partie parce qu’il avait auparavant enseigné l’anglais et l’anglais à des enfants de différents âges. Il avait remarqué que nombre d’entre eux avaient des difficultés diverses, par exemple pour distinguer les sons ou les lettres. Loin de rester sur la touche, Witmer avait travaillé en étroite collaboration avec ces enfants, et son aide avait été déterminante dans l'amélioration de leurs connaissances.

Après avoir rencontré Cattell (qui avait également suivi une formation avec un autre des parents de la psychologie, Wilhelm Wundt) et après avoir accepté de travailler comme assistant, Witmer et Cattell ont fondé un laboratoire expérimental où l'objectif principal était d'étudier les différences de temps de réaction entre différents individus.

Cattell quitte bientôt l'université et le laboratoire, et Witmer commence à travailler comme assistant de Wundt à l'université de Leipzig, en Allemagne. Après avoir obtenu son doctorat, Witmer est retourné à l'Université de Pennsylvanie en tant que directeur du laboratoire de psychologie et s'est spécialisé dans la recherche et l'enseignement en psychologie de l'enfant.


La première clinique de psychologie aux États-Unis

Dans le cadre de ses travaux au laboratoire de psychologie de l’Université de Pennsylvanie, Witmer a fondé la première clinique américaine de psychologie de la petite enfance .

Entre autres choses, il était chargé de travailler avec différents enfants, dans le but de les aider à surmonter ce qu'il appelait des "défauts" d'apprentissage et de socialisation. Witmer a soutenu que ces défauts n'étaient pas des maladies et ne résultaient pas nécessairement d'une anomalie cérébrale, mais plutôt d'un état mental propre au développement de l'enfant.

En fait, il a déclaré que ces enfants ne devraient pas être considérés comme "anormaux", car s'ils s'écartaient de la moyenne, cela se produisait car leur développement était à un stade antérieur à celui de la majorité. Cependant, grâce à un soutien clinique adéquat, complété par une école de formation fonctionnant comme une école hospitalière, leurs difficultés pourraient être compensées.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par: "La psychologie de l'enfant: un guide pratique pour les pères et les mères"

Witmer et les débuts de la psychologie clinique

Dans le débat sur la détermination du comportement héréditaire ou environnemental, qui dominait une grande partie de la psychologie du moment, Witmer se positionna initialement comme l'un des défenseurs des facteurs héréditaires. Cependant, après avoir commencé les interventions en tant que psychologue clinicien, Weimer Il a fait valoir que le développement et les capacités de l'enfant étaient fortement conditionnés par des éléments environnementaux et pour le rôle socio-économique.

À partir de là, sa clinique s’est concentrée sur l’extension de l’étude de la psychologie de l’éducation et de ce qui était auparavant appelé éducation spéciale. En outre, il est considéré comme le père de la psychologie clinique, car il fut le premier à utiliser le terme "psychologie clinique" en 1896, lors d'une séance de travail de l'American Psychological Association (APA).

Dans le même contexte, Witmer défendu la séparation de la psychologie et de la philosophie Il a notamment préconisé de diviser l'APA de l'American Philosophy Association. Witner et Edward Titchener ont créé une société alternative réservée aux psychologues expérimentaux.

Witmer a fermement défendu le fait que les recherches effectuées en psychologie dans les laboratoires, ainsi que les théories développées par les grands intellectuels, pourraient avoir une utilité pratique et directe pour améliorer la qualité de la vie des gens. De même, le développement de la psychologie clinique repose sur le principe que la pratique et la recherche sont des éléments indissociables de cette discipline.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Lightner, Witmer (2018). Wikipedia L'encyclopédie libre. Récupéré le 30 août 2018. Disponible à l'adresse //fr.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lightner_Witmer.
  • Juárez, A. R. (2016). Lightner Witmer et la première clinique psychologique pour enfants aux États-Unis. VIIIe Congrès international de la recherche et de la pratique professionnelle en psychologie XXIIIe Conférence de recherche XIIe Réunion des chercheurs en psychologie du MERCOSUR. Faculté de psychologie - Université de Buenos Aires, Buenos Aires.
  • Thomas, H. (2009). À la découverte de Lightner Witmer: un héros oublié de la psychologie. Journal de psychologie scientifique. pp. 3- 13. Récupéré le 30 août 2018. Disponible à l'adresse suivante: http://www.psyencelab.com/uploads/5/4/6/5/54658091/discovering_lightner_witmer.pdf.

Wilhelm Wundt | Wikipedia audio article (Juillet 2024).


Articles Connexes