yes, therapy helps!
Introverted people: 4 characteristics that define them

Introverted people: 4 characteristics that define them

July 19, 2024

The introverted personality is one of the most interested in the fields of differential and applied psychology as well as popular culture. And is that many people feel identified with the category of "introverted" from the assessment they make of the way they relate to the environment and with others.

But… what exactly is an introverted person beyond that notion that it has something to do with shyness? Let's see it starting, first, by the most basic question of all.

  • Related article: "The main theories of personality"

What is introversion?

Introversion is a concept originally coined by Carl Jung, known among other things for being one of the disciples of Sigmund Freud who ended up distancing himself from his master. Jung created the categories of introversion and extraversion to refer to a duality of mutually exclusive psychological traits (although every introvert has something extraverted and vice versa) and that were based on a main idea.


This idea was that introverts tend to focus their psychological activity on private mental processes and only indirectly related to the environment, while introverts tend to look for external stimuli in the present, constantly.

Over time, the psychodynamic paradigm from which both Jung and Freud left was losing strength, but in the second half of the 20th century, researchers from differential psychology started from a psychometric approach, they maintained the dialectic introversion-extraversion because they saw that it describes well the way in which a part of the human personality distinguishes us and explains the trends of our behavior .


Specifically, both Raymond Cattell and Hans Eysenck, two of the main references in the field of differential psychology, have used this category in their personality models. And they are not the only ones.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Carl Gustav Jung: biography and the work of a spiritual psychologist"

Its relationship with shyness

Although it is very easy to confuse introversion with shyness, and that in practice it is very easy for these two characteristics to occur at the same time in people, technically they are not the same, and it is not uncommon to find introverted people who are not shy , although the opposite case is more strange.

The main difference between introverted and timid people is that the first they do not have to worry about giving a bad image , and they do not have to have any respect for the situation of relating to people they do not know. Its connection with the "private" sphere of one's mind is not the result of fear, but rather the way in which information is processed in real time.


Characteristics of introverts

When describing the typical features of introverted people, the most common are the following.

1. They avoid being constantly in changing and complex environments

The introverts they feel a significant psychological strain if they have to constantly be involved in events that take place around them and that present a relatively high degree of uncertainty. For example, if they must carry out work facing the public full time.

That is why they need to "regain strength" away from that kind of context.

2. They need to have time alone

Another characteristic of introverted people is that they actively seek to reserve a time and a place to be alone. This not only has to do with the need to rest, but, by their way of being, a good part of the activities that they consider more motivating and stimulating are based on introversion and consequently they try to have environments that do not have distractions .

This is something that especially affects relationships, and something that can cause problems if it collides with the expectations of the other person, who can interpret this as a distancing or as a sign that the love bond is weak.

3. Tendency to relate to few people

This is another consequence of the way these people's mind works. As they especially look for stable environments and they do not appreciate too much the situations in which there is uncertainty , introverts prefer to relate to a rather small circle of friends, and not rely on many other face-to-face interactions with those outside of that set.

As a result, they are not usually very talkative or assertive people, since they prefer to keep a low profile in their social relations so as not to stretch them too long and keep them simple, without complications.

4. They prefer the practical to the striking

For introverts, social capital does not have much value beyond those people with whom they have a strong emotional bond. Because, the idea of ​​wanting to get attention does not make much sense to them , and this even tends to reflect on his way of dressing, chosen not so much for his striking aesthetic as for criteria of practical use, such as his comfort.


10 Things Only INTROVERTS Would Understand (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Personnes introverties: 4 caractéristiques qui les définissent

Personnes introverties: 4 caractéristiques qui les définissent

Juillet 23, 2019

La personnalité introvertie est l’un des plus intéressés par les domaines de la psychologie différentielle et appliquée ainsi que de la culture populaire. Et est-ce que beaucoup de gens se sentent identifiés à la catégorie des "introvertis" d'après l'évaluation qu'ils font de leur relation avec l'environnement et avec les autres.

Mais ...Qu'est-ce qu'une personne introvertie? au-delà de cette notion qu'il a quelque chose à voir avec la timidité? Voyons cela commencer, d'abord par la question la plus fondamentale.

  • Article connexe: "Les principales théories de la personnalité"

Qu'est-ce que l'introversion?

L'introversion est un concept inventé à l'origine par Carl Jung, connu notamment pour être l'un des disciples de Sigmund Freud qui a fini par prendre ses distances avec son maître. Jung a créé les catégories d'introversion et d'extraversion pour faire référence à une dualité de traits psychologiques mutuellement exclusifs (bien que chaque introverti ait quelque chose d'extraverti et vice versa) et qui reposait sur une idée principale.


Cette idée était que les introvertis ont tendance à concentrer leur activité psychologique sur des processus mentaux privés et uniquement indirectement liés à l'environnement, tandis que les introvertis ont tendance à rechercher constamment des stimuli externes.

Au fil du temps, le paradigme psychodynamique dont Jung et Freud sont sortis perdait de sa vigueur, mais dans la seconde moitié du XXe siècle, les chercheurs en psychologie différentielle sont partis d'une approche psychométrique. ils ont maintenu l'introversion-extraversion dialectique car ils ont vu que cela décrit bien la manière dont une partie de la personnalité humaine nous distingue et explique les tendances de notre comportement .


Plus précisément, Raymond Cattell et Hans Eysenck, deux des principales références dans le domaine de la psychologie différentielle, ont utilisé cette catégorie dans leurs modèles de personnalité. Et ils ne sont pas les seuls.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Carl Gustav Jung: biographie et travail d'un psychologue spirituel"

Sa relation avec la timidité

Bien qu'il soit très facile de confondre introversion et timidité, et qu'en pratique, il est très facile que ces deux caractéristiques se manifestent simultanément chez les personnes, elles ne sont techniquement pas identiques et il n'est pas rare de trouver des personnes introverties qui ne sont pas timides , bien que le cas contraire soit plus étrange.

La principale différence entre les personnes introverties et les personnes timides est que le premier ils n'ont pas à s'inquiéter de donner une mauvaise image , et ils n’ont aucun respect à avoir pour la relation avec des personnes qu’ils ne connaissent pas. Sa connexion avec la sphère "privée" de l'esprit n'est pas le résultat de la peur, mais bien la manière dont l'information est traitée en temps réel.


Caractéristiques des introvertis

Lors de la description des caractéristiques typiques des personnes introverties, les plus courantes sont les suivantes.

1. Ils évitent d'être constamment dans des environnements changeants et complexes

Les introvertis ils ressentent un stress psychologique important s'ils doivent être constamment impliqués dans les événements qui se déroulent autour d'eux et qui présentent un degré d'incertitude relativement élevé. Par exemple, s’ils doivent effectuer des travaux faisant face au public à temps plein.

C'est pourquoi ils ont besoin de "reprendre des forces" en dehors de ce genre de contexte.

2. Ils ont besoin de passer du temps seuls

Une autre caractéristique des personnes introverties est qu’elles cherchent activement à réserver un temps et un lieu pour être seules. Cela ne concerne pas seulement le besoin de repos, mais, par leur manière d'être, une bonne partie des activités qu'ils considèrent plus motivantes et stimulantes sont basées sur l'introversion et par conséquent ils essaient d'avoir des environnements sans distractions .

C'est quelque chose qui affecte particulièrement les relations et qui peut poser problème si cela se heurte aux attentes de l'autre personne, qui peut interpréter cela comme une distanciation ou un signe que le lien amoureux est faible.

3. Tendance à se rapporter à peu de gens

Ceci est une autre conséquence du fonctionnement de l'esprit de ces personnes. Comme ils recherchent en particulier des environnements stables et ils n'apprécient pas trop les situations d'incertitude , les introvertis préfèrent s’appartenir à un cercle plutôt restreint d’amis et non à de nombreuses autres interactions en face-à-face avec des personnes extérieures à cet ensemble.

En conséquence, ils ne sont généralement pas très bavards ou assertifs, car ils préfèrent rester discrets dans leurs relations sociales afin de ne pas les allonger trop longtemps et de les garder simples, sans complications.

4. Ils préfèrent la pratique à la frappe

Pour les introvertis, le capital social n'a pas beaucoup de valeur au-delà des personnes avec lesquelles ils ont un lien affectif fort. Pour cela, l'idée de vouloir attirer l'attention n'a pas beaucoup de sens pour eux , et cela a même tendance à refléter sa manière de s’habiller, choisie moins pour son esthétique saisissante que pour des critères d’utilisation pratique, tels que son confort.


9 caractéristiques des personnes hypersensibles (PHS) (Juillet 2019).


Articles Connexes