yes, therapy helps!
The 7 types of neurodevelopmental disorders (symptoms and causes)

The 7 types of neurodevelopmental disorders (symptoms and causes)

July 12, 2024

When we think of disorders or mental problems it is easy for problems such as depression, bipolar disorder, schizophrenia or phobias to come to our mind. ADHD or autism. Next we will review what are the types of neurodevelopmental disorders , the category to which they belong.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 15 most frequent neurological disorders"

Neurodevelopmental disorders

Neurodevelopmental disorders or neurodevelopmental disorders are the set of disorders and mental difficulties that have their origin in a non-neurotypic development of the brain or in the presence of alterations or injuries in its maturation.


They have their origin in early childhood or during the development process, and it is usually possible to detect the first symptoms early.

The alterations caused by these disorders generate difficulties of varying intensity in the process of adaptation and social participation and / or in the performance of basic activities for survival. The activity of the subject is limited or altered regarding what would be usual in other subjects with the same age and conditions.

Types of neurodevelopmental disorders in the DSM-5

The neurodevelopmental disorders label encompasses a large number of disorders that share the aforementioned characteristics, although they present remarkable differences among them depending on the aspects that are affected.


Next we will observe the main groups of neurodevelopmental disorders contemplated by the latest version of one of the most important reference manuals, the DSM-5. To facilitate understanding, disorders caused by the consumption of medical substances or diseases are not included.

1. Intellectual disabilities

Intellectual disability is considered one of the neurodevelopmental disorders, because deficiencies or difficulties of intellectual functions appear and in the adaptive behavior in its conceptual, practical or social aspects , which have as a consequence a possible limitation of the functioning of the subject in and one or more vital areas unless they have specific support.

Also included in this group is the global developmental delay, which is diagnosed when it is not possible to assess the severity of the disorder in children under five, despite the fact that it is observed that it does not meet the expected development milestones. This diagnosis is provisional.


  • Related article: "Intellectual and developmental disability"

2. Communication disorders

Communication disorders are those neurodevelopmental disorders in which the subject is not able to communicate properly or learn to do it despite having enough mental abilities to do it.

Within this group of disorders we find the language disorder (formerly TEL), the phonological disorder, the pragmatic communication disorder or the stuttering or speech fluency disorder of childhood onset.

3. Autism spectrum disorder

The spectrum disorder of autism is characterized by the presence of difficulties in interpersonal communication and interaction, repetitive and restrictive behavior patterns and interests. Those who suffer from it have difficulties when it comes to understanding the rules that govern social interactions and to grasp and express feelings, they usually have a literal oral language and it will be complex for them to capture subtleties and figurative uses of this, to show preference and need for routine and monotony and to accept the changes badly.

Although before, different disorders were distinguished within this spectrum, such as Kanner and Asperger type autism, Currently, it is considered a single disorder that encompasses (although with specifiers).

  • Related article: "The 4 types of Autism and its characteristics"

4. Attention deficit hyperactivity disorder

Another of the most well-known neurodevelopmental disorders, ADHD is a disorder characterized by the presence of typical symptoms of intention (such as difficulty maintaining attention, commission of errors due to lack of attention, high distractibility, no completion of tasks, loss and forgetting of objects and activities , mental absence ...) and / or hyperactivity (talks excessively, motor restlessness, has difficulties to remain seated or to wait turns, interrupts other people's activities ...).

Intention symptoms may predominate, hyperactivity symptoms may occur or a mixed presentation may occur.

It is also possible to find cases in which there are no cases of hyperactivity but only of intention, which is now known as attention deficit disorder or ADD.

  • You may be interested: "Attention deficit or selective attention in ADHD"

5. Specific learning disorder

Specific learning disorder is understood as that in which the subject manifests difficulties in the acquisition and use of academic skills, such as reading, writing and mathematics.

The individual has difficulties when it comes to reading, interpreting and using language (he has problems for example with grammar and spelling) and / or mathematical concepts. These difficulties are above what is expected for someone of the age and intellectual capacity of the subjects , interfering in their academic activity.

6. Motor disorders

Another of the major groups of neurodevelopmental disorders are the motors, in which there are difficulties in aspects related to movement such as coordination or involuntary movements occur.

Within these disorders we find the disorder of the development of coordination, the one of stereotyped movements and the disorders by tics . In this last group we find the Tourette disorder, along with persistent motor or vocal tics and transient tics.

7. Others

This label is used in those disorders linked to neurodevelopmental disorders that cause an affectation of the subject in some or some vital areas, but that do not meet the diagnostic criteria of any of the previous groups of disorders.

For example, those disorders linked to substance use by the mother during pregnancy , or in those cases in which there is not enough information available to classify the disorder in question.

Bibliographic references:

  • American Psychiatric Association. (2013). Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders. Fifth edition. DSM-V. Masson, Barcelona.

Autism - causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatment, pathology (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 7 types de troubles neurodéveloppementaux (symptômes et causes)

Les 7 types de troubles neurodéveloppementaux (symptômes et causes)

Juin 21, 2022

Lorsque nous pensons à des troubles ou à des problèmes mentaux, il nous est facile de penser à des problèmes tels que la dépression, le trouble bipolaire, la schizophrénie ou les phobies. TDAH ou autisme. Ensuite, nous examinerons Quels sont les types de troubles neurodéveloppementaux , la catégorie à laquelle ils appartiennent.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 15 troubles neurologiques les plus fréquents"

Troubles du développement neurologique

Les troubles neurodéveloppementaux ou les troubles neurodéveloppementaux sont l’ensemble des troubles et difficultés mentales qui ont leur origine dans un développement cérébral non neurotypique ou en présence d'altérations ou de blessures dans sa maturation.


Ils ont leur origine dans la petite enfance ou au cours du processus de développement et il est généralement possible de détecter les premiers symptômes à un stade précoce.

Les altérations causées par ces troubles génèrent des difficultés d'intensité variable dans le processus d'adaptation et de participation sociale et / ou dans la réalisation d'activités de base pour la survie. L'activité du sujet est limitée ou modifiée concernant ce qui serait habituel chez d’autres sujets du même âge et dans les mêmes conditions.

Types de troubles neurodéveloppementaux dans le DSM-5

Le label «troubles neurodéveloppementaux» englobe un grand nombre de troubles partageant les caractéristiques susmentionnées, bien qu’ils présentent des différences remarquables entre eux en fonction des aspects concernés.


Ensuite, nous allons observer les principaux groupes de troubles neurodéveloppementaux envisagé par la dernière version de l’un des plus importants manuels de référence, le DSM-5. Pour faciliter la compréhension, les troubles causés par la consommation de substances médicales ou de maladies ne sont pas inclus.

1. Déficience intellectuelle

La déficience intellectuelle est considérée comme l'un des troubles du développement neurologique, car des déficiences ou des difficultés des fonctions intellectuelles apparaissent et dans le comportement adaptatif dans ses aspects conceptuels, pratiques ou sociaux , qui ont pour conséquence une limitation possible du fonctionnement du sujet dans un ou plusieurs domaines vitaux, sauf s'ils bénéficient d'un soutien spécifique.

Ce groupe comprend également le retard de développement global, qui est diagnostiqué lorsqu'il est impossible d'évaluer la gravité de la maladie chez les enfants de moins de cinq ans, bien qu'il soit observé qu'elle ne respecte pas les jalons de développement attendus. Ce diagnostic est provisoire.


  • Article connexe: "Déficience intellectuelle et développementale"

2. Troubles de la communication

Les troubles de la communication sont les troubles du neurodéveloppement dans lesquels le sujet n'est pas capable de communiquer correctement ou apprendre à le faire en dépit d'avoir assez de capacités mentales pour le faire.

Au sein de ce groupe de troubles, on trouve le trouble du langage (anciennement TEL), le trouble phonologique, le trouble de la communication pragmatique ou le trouble du bégaiement ou de la maîtrise de la parole lors de l'enfance.

3. Trouble du spectre de l'autisme

Le trouble du spectre de l'autisme se caractérise par la présence de difficultés de communication interpersonnelle et d'interaction, de modèles de comportement et d'intérêts répétitifs et restrictifs. Ceux qui en souffrent ont du mal à comprendre les règles qui régissent les interactions sociales et à saisir et exprimer des sentiments, ils ont généralement une langue orale littérale et il leur sera difficile de saisir les subtilités et leurs utilisations figuratives, de montrer leur préférence et leur besoin de routine et de monotonie et d’accepter mal les changements.

Bien qu'avant, différents troubles aient été distingués dans ce spectre, tels que l'autisme de type Kanner et Asperger, Actuellement, il est considéré comme un seul trouble qui englobe (bien qu'avec des spécificateurs).

  • Article connexe: "Les 4 types d'autisme et ses caractéristiques"

4. Trouble d'hyperactivité avec déficit de l'attention

Le TDAH est un autre trouble neurodéveloppemental parmi les plus connus, caractérisé par la présence de symptômes d'intention typiques (tels que difficulté à maintenir son attention, commission d'erreurs dues à un manque d'attention, distractibilité élevée, non-achèvement des tâches, perte et oubli d'objets et d'activités , absence mentale ...) et / ou hyperactivité (conversation excessive, agitation motrice, difficultés à rester assis ou à attendre des tours, interrompt les activités des autres ...).

Les symptômes d'intention peuvent prédominer, les symptômes d'hyperactivité peuvent apparaître ou une présentation mixte peut se produire.

Il est également possible de trouver des cas dans lesquels il n’existe pas de cas d’hyperactivité, mais seulement d’intention, ce que l’on appelle maintenant trouble déficitaire de l’attention ou TDA.

  • Cela pourrait vous intéresser: "Déficit de l'attention ou attention sélective dans le TDAH"

5. Trouble d'apprentissage spécifique

Par trouble d'apprentissage spécifique, on entend un trouble dans lequel le sujet présente des difficultés pour acquérir et utiliser des compétences académiques, telles que la lecture, l'écriture et les mathématiques.

L'individu a des difficultés à lire, interpréter et utiliser le langage (il a des problèmes de grammaire et d'orthographe, par exemple) et / ou de concepts mathématiques. Ces difficultés sont au-dessus de ce qui est attendu pour quelqu'un de l'âge et de la capacité intellectuelle des sujets , interférant dans leur activité académique.

6. Troubles moteurs

Un autre des grands groupes de troubles du neurodéveloppement est constitué par les moteurs, dans lesquels apparaissent des difficultés liées à des aspects liés au mouvement tels que la coordination ou des mouvements involontaires.

Au sein de ces troubles, on trouve le désordre du développement de la coordination, celui des mouvements stéréotypés et des désordres par tics . Dans ce dernier groupe, on retrouve le trouble de la Tourette, ainsi que des tics moteurs ou vocaux persistants et des tics transitoires.

7. autres

Cette étiquette est utilisée dans les troubles liés aux troubles neurodéveloppementaux qui affectent le sujet dans certains ou certains domaines vitaux, mais ne répondent pas aux critères de diagnostic de l’un des groupes de troubles précédents.

Par exemple, ces troubles liée à l'usage de substances par la mère pendant la grossesse , ou dans les cas où il n’ya pas assez d’informations disponibles pour classer le trouble en question.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Association américaine de psychiatrie. (2013). Manuel diagnostique et statistique des troubles mentaux. Cinquième édition. DSM-V. Masson, Barcelone.

TDAH ou Troubles d'apprentissage? (Juin 2022).


Articles Connexes