yes, therapy helps!
Melatonin: the hormone that controls sleep and seasonal rhythms

Melatonin: the hormone that controls sleep and seasonal rhythms

May 9, 2021

It is a fact known to all that the human being, like all other animals, needs to sleep . Sleep is a basic physiological function, a mechanism that allows the organism (and especially the brain) to rest and repair itself. However, the dream is not a single and invariable process, but it goes through different phases throughout the process. In addition, it is a process that is not voluntary, but depends on circadian rhythms.

These rhythms regulate the sleep-wake cycle according to the biological needs of the organism and the time of day. Said regulation, as well as the seasonal patterns that occur in other animals, are mainly due to the action of a hormone: melatonin


Melatonin: what are we talking about?

Melatonin is a hormone secreted mainly by the epiphysis or pineal gland from tryptophan and serotonin. It is a very fat-soluble hormone, with great ease to penetrate the blood-brain barrier and inside the cells. This hormone is generated when the retina perceives absence of light, producing the maximum peak of this hormone during the night and reducing in the presence of luminosity.

The production process of melatonin is as follows: the retina captures the presence or absence of light, passing this information to the optic nerve, later to the suprachiasmatic nucleus and from there to the superior cervical ganglion, which reaches the epiphysis. This proceeds to perform a series of reactions that culminate in the production of melatonin, which is distributed by the rest of the body. Apart from its birth in the brain, it also appears in the retina, liver, kidneys, intestine, immune cells and in the female endometrium.


The melatonin receptors

Melatonin has its receptors at various points in the body , both inside and outside the brain, which produce different effects on the functioning of the body. Cerebral receptors of melatonin have an effect on circadian rhythms, non-neural receptors influence reproduction, and peripherals ultimately have different effects depending on their location.

In this way, the functions of melatonin are many and varied, affecting various systems of the organism, although the function by which more is known and studied is the control of circadian rhythms , carrying out mainly a chronobiological action in the suprachiasmatic nucleus. That is, this hormone helps to establish in what moments we go from sleep to wakefulness and vice versa. The maximum production usually occurs around an hour and a half after falling asleep, contributing to induce deep sleep.


Effects beyond the dream

Apart from the function of regulating the sleep-wake cycle, recent research has shown that this hormone has great utility in numerous systems. Actively participates in the regulation of seasonal and reproductive phenomena, such as zeal in animals. It also affects the long-term enhancement of memory

The immune system is also affected by this hormone (reducing its efficiency during its absence) and having an important antioxidant effect that counteracts the excess of free radicals. Thus, this hormone also participates in the processes of growth and aging.

Use of melatonin exogenously

Despite being an endogenous hormone, manufactured by the body itself, melatonin has been synthesized artificially and has been marketed as dietary supplement (although it is not yet allowed as a medicine due to the little existing research and the inconclusive results extracted so far).

Some of the uses that have been given to him are the following:

1. Sleep disorders

Melatonin has been used as a treatment for sleep disorders . Specifically, it highlights its ability to improve sleep adjustment in cases of jet lag, demonstrating that administered around the time of sleep at the destination point the time mismatching decreases considerably. That is why it is widely used in circadian rhythm disorders. It also produces benefits for the delayed sleep phase syndrome, as well as sleep disorders in the case of individuals who work late at night.

However, in relation to primary insomnia or secondary to another disorder, although yes it has been shown to decrease sleep latency and improve the amount of sleep time , in some studies it has not shown an effect greater than placebo, being more effective the use of benzodiazepines and always prioritizing sleep hygiene.

Some investigations show that the administration of this substance produces improvement in other disorders due to the improvement in sleep patterns, being example of them cases of autism or infantile epilepsy. However, more research would be required in this regard.

  • If you are thinking about buying melatonin to improve your rest, here we offer you a safe and effective product.

2. Action on reproduction and growth

It has been observed that the administration of melatonin is linked not only to sleep patterns, but also to other seasonal processes.

In animals, It has been proven that it affects and modulates periods of heat . In humans, it has been observed that the administration of this hormone affects growth, making it evident that it has an effect at the time of appearance of puberty. An excess of this hormone can delay it, while a defect can cause a breakthrough.

3. Headaches

The research carried out indicates that melatonin supplementation can act preventively to prevent migraines .

4. Mood disorders

Different studies have shown the efficacy of the application of melatonin to improve the condition of patients with depressive disorders, especially in the case of seasonal affective disorder.

5. Aging and dementias

The production of melatonin is not constant throughout life , producing a significant and progressive decrease from adolescence to the end of life (which helps explain why the elderly have shorter and more frequent sleep periods).

In addition, much of the effects of aging are due to the presence of free radicals. Also, different types of free radicals and oxidation have also been linked to insane processes such as Alzheimer's or Parkinson's.

Given that it has been shown that melatonin is one of the greatest endogenous antioxidants available, several tests have been carried out that have shown that the administration of melatonin decreases oxidative damage in the different systems of the organism. can be helpful in delaying brain aging and prolonging intellectual functionality in demented pictures.

6. Cancer

The application of melatonin in some patients with cancer seems to reduce tumor growth and prolong survival, being observed as a possible treatment to be combined with chemotherapy. This effect seems to be due to antiproliferative properties and to the potentiation of the effects of chemotherapy, especially in cases of cancers that depend on reproductive cells.

7. Other inconclusive investigations

As mentioned, melatonin has certain effects on the immune system, acting as a modulator . In addition to being a powerful antioxidant, it has been discovered that it acts on receptors in the T lymphocytes, contributing to the production of immunoglobulin.

The possibility that it contributes to slow the replication of HIV has been studied, so that it could be applied as a reinforcing treatment. Its usefulness in cases of different cancers has also been explored. However, the results are not conclusive.

Bibliographic references:

  • Benitez-King, G .; Ramirez-Rodriguez, G .; Ortiz, L. et al. (2004) The neuronal cytoskeleton as a potential therapeutic target in neurodegenerative diseases and schizophrenia. Curr Drug Targets CNS Neurol Disord; 3: 515-533.
  • Boutin, J .; Audinot, V .; Ferry, G. and Delagrange, P. (2005). "Molecular tools to study melatonin pathways and actions." Trends Pharmacol Sci 26 (8): 412-9.
  • Carrillo, A .; Guerrero, J.M .; Lardone, P.J. et al. (2005). A review of the multiple actions of melatonin on the immune system. Endocrine, vol. 27, 189-200.
  • Dodick, D.W. & Capobianco, D.J. (2001). "Treatment and management of cluster headache". Curr Pain Headache Rep5 (1): 83-91
  • Guerrero, J.M .; Carrillo, A. and Lardone, P. (2007). Melatonin Research and Science 30-38
  • Martínez, B .; Sánchez, Y .; Urra, K .; Thomas, Y.D. & Burgos, J.L. (2012). Hormone of darkness. Rev Latinoamer Patol Clin, Vol. 59, 4, pp 222-232
  • Lewis, A. (2006). Melatonin and the Biological Clock. New York, NY: Mc Graw-Hill; p. 7
  • Portugal, F.L et al. (2010) Ação gives melatonin on apoptose and fator of vascular endothelial crescimento no cortex adrenal of pinealectomized rats. Rev Bras Ginecol Obstet. 32 (8).
  • Reiter, R.J .; Tan, D.X .; Gitto, E. et al. (2004). Farmacological utility of melatonin in reducing oxidative cellular and molecular damage. Polish Journal of Pharmacology and Pharmacy, vol.56, 159-170.
  • Reyes, B.M .; Velázquez-Panigua, M. and Prieto-Gómez, B. (2009). Melatonin and neuropathologies. Rev.Fac.Med. UNAM, Vol.52, 3. Genomic Sciences Center. Faculty of Medicine, UNAM.

Circadian Rhythm and Your Brain's Clock (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Mélatonine: l'hormone qui contrôle le sommeil et les rythmes saisonniers

Mélatonine: l'hormone qui contrôle le sommeil et les rythmes saisonniers

Juillet 20, 2022

C'est un fait reconnu à tous que l'être humain, comme tous les autres animaux, a besoin de dormir . Le sommeil est une fonction physiologique de base, un mécanisme qui permet à l'organisme (et en particulier au cerveau) de se reposer et de se réparer. Cependant, le rêve n’est pas un processus unique et invariable, mais il traverse différentes phases tout au long du processus. De plus, ce processus n’est pas volontaire, mais dépend des rythmes circadiens.

Ces rythmes régulent le cycle veille-sommeil en fonction des besoins biologiques de l'organisme et de l'heure. Cette régulation, ainsi que les modèles saisonniers observés chez d’autres animaux, sont principalement dues à l’action d’une hormone: mélatonine


Mélatonine: de quoi parle-t-on?

La mélatonine est une hormone sécrétée principalement par l'épiphyse ou la glande pinéale à partir du tryptophane et de la sérotonine. C'est une hormone très liposoluble qui pénètre facilement dans la barrière hémato-encéphalique et dans les cellules. Cette hormone est générée lorsque la rétine perçoit l'absence de lumière, produisant le pic maximal de cette hormone pendant la nuit et diminuant en présence de luminosité.

Le processus de production de la mélatonine est le suivant: la rétine capte la présence ou l’absence de lumière et transmet cette information au nerf optique, puis au noyau suprachiasmatique et de là au ganglion cervical supérieur qui atteint l’épiphyse. Il en résulte une série de réactions qui aboutissent à la production de mélatonine, qui est distribuée par le reste du corps. Outre sa naissance dans le cerveau, il apparaît également dans la rétine, le foie, les reins, l'intestin, les cellules immunitaires et dans l'endomètre féminin.


Les récepteurs de la mélatonine

La mélatonine a ses récepteurs à différents endroits du corps , à la fois à l'intérieur et à l'extérieur du cerveau, qui produisent des effets différents sur le fonctionnement du corps. Les récepteurs cérébraux de la mélatonine ont un effet sur les rythmes circadiens, les récepteurs non neuraux influent sur la reproduction et les périphériques ont finalement des effets différents en fonction de leur emplacement.

De cette manière, les fonctions de la mélatonine sont nombreuses et variées, affectant divers systèmes de l’organisme, bien que la fonction par laquelle plus est connue et étudiée est le contrôle des rythmes circadiens , exerçant principalement une action chronobiologique dans le noyau suprachiasmatique. C'est-à-dire que cette hormone aide à établir à quels moments nous passons du sommeil à la veille et vice versa. La production maximale se produit généralement environ une heure et demie après s'être endormie, contribuant à induire un sommeil profond.


Des effets au-delà du rêve

Outre la fonction de régulation du cycle veille-sommeil, des recherches récentes ont montré que cette hormone est très utile dans de nombreux systèmes. Participe activement à la régulation des phénomènes saisonniers et reproductifs, tels que le zèle chez les animaux. Il affecte également l'amélioration à long terme de la mémoire

Le système immunitaire est également affecté par cette hormone (réduisant son efficacité en son absence) et possédant un important effet antioxydant qui neutralise l'excès de radicaux libres. Ainsi, cette hormone participe également aux processus de croissance et de vieillissement.

Utilisation de mélatonine de manière exogène

En dépit d'être une hormone endogène, fabriquée par le corps lui-même, la mélatonine a été synthétisée artificiellement et a été commercialisée comme complément alimentaire (Bien qu’il ne soit pas encore autorisé en tant que médicament en raison du peu de recherches existantes et des résultats peu concluants obtenus à ce jour).

Certaines des utilisations qui lui ont été données sont les suivantes:

1. troubles du sommeil

La mélatonine a été utilisée pour traiter les troubles du sommeil . Plus précisément, il souligne sa capacité à améliorer l’ajustement du sommeil en cas de décalage horaire, démontrant que, administré aux alentours du temps de sommeil au point de destination, le décalage horaire diminue considérablement. C'est pourquoi il est largement utilisé dans les troubles du rythme circadien. Il présente également des avantages pour le syndrome de la phase de sommeil retardé, ainsi que des troubles du sommeil chez les personnes travaillant tard le soir.

Cependant, en cas d'insomnie primaire ou secondaire à un autre trouble, bien que oui, il a été prouvé qu'il diminuait la latence du sommeil et améliorait le temps de sommeil , dans certaines études, il n’a pas montré d’effet supérieur à celui du placebo, étant plus efficace que l’utilisation des benzodiazépines et privilégiant toujours l’hygiène du sommeil.

Certaines études montrent que l'administration de cette substance entraîne une amélioration d'autres troubles en raison de l'amélioration des habitudes de sommeil, comme par exemple des cas d'autisme ou d'épilepsie infantile. Cependant, des recherches supplémentaires seraient nécessaires à cet égard.

  • Si vous envisagez d'acheter de la mélatonine pour améliorer votre repos, nous vous proposons ici un produit sûr et efficace.

2. Action sur la reproduction et la croissance

Il a été observé que l'administration de mélatonine est liée non seulement aux habitudes de sommeil, mais également à d'autres processus saisonniers.

Chez les animaux, Il a été prouvé qu'il affecte et module les périodes de chaleur . Chez l’homme, il a été observé que l’administration de cette hormone affecte la croissance, ce qui montre qu’elle a un effet au moment de l’apparition de la puberté. Un excès de cette hormone peut le retarder, alors qu'un défaut peut provoquer une percée.

3. maux de tête

Les recherches effectuées indiquent que la supplémentation en mélatonine peut agir préventivement pour prévenir les migraines .

4. Troubles de l'humeur

Différentes études ont montré l'efficacité de l'application de mélatonine pour améliorer l'état des patients souffrant de troubles dépressifs, en particulier dans le cas de troubles affectifs saisonniers.

5. Vieillissement et démences

La production de mélatonine n'est pas constante tout au long de la vie , entraînant une diminution significative et progressive de l'adolescence à la fin de la vie (ce qui explique en partie pourquoi les périodes de sommeil des personnes âgées sont plus courtes et plus fréquentes).

En outre, une grande partie des effets du vieillissement est due à la présence de radicaux libres. En outre, différents types de radicaux libres et d'oxydation ont également été associés à des processus insensés tels que la maladie d'Alzheimer ou la maladie de Parkinson.

Étant donné qu'il a été démontré que la mélatonine est l'un des plus importants antioxydants endogènes disponibles, plusieurs tests ont été effectués, démontrant que l'administration de mélatonine diminue les dommages oxydatifs dans les différents systèmes de l'organisme. peut être utile pour retarder le vieillissement du cerveau et prolonger la fonctionnalité intellectuelle dans des images démentes.

6. cancer

L'application de mélatonine chez certains patients cancéreux semble réduire la croissance tumorale et prolonger la survie, ce traitement pouvant être associé à la chimiothérapie. Cet effet semble être dû aux propriétés antiprolifératives et à la potentialisation des effets de la chimiothérapie, en particulier dans les cas de cancers dépendant de cellules reproductrices.

7. Autres enquêtes non concluantes

Comme mentionné, la mélatonine a certains effets sur le système immunitaire, agissant en tant que modulateur . En plus d’être un puissant antioxydant, il a été découvert qu’il agissait sur les récepteurs des lymphocytes T, contribuant à la production d’immunoglobuline.

La possibilité qu’elle contribue à ralentir la réplication du VIH a été étudiée, de sorte qu’elle puisse être appliquée comme traitement de renforcement. Son utilité dans les cas de différents cancers a également été explorée. Cependant, les résultats ne sont pas concluants.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Benitez-King, G .; Ramirez-Rodriguez, G .; Ortiz, L. et al. (2004) Le cytosquelette neuronal en tant que cible thérapeutique potentielle dans les maladies neurodégénératives et la schizophrénie. Le médicament Curr cible le SNC Neurol Disord; 3: 515-533.
  • Boutin, J .; Audinot, V .; Ferry, G. et Delagrange, P. (2005). "Des outils moléculaires pour étudier les voies et les actions de la mélatonine." Trends Pharmacol Sci 26 (8): 412-9.
  • Carrillo, A .; Guerrero, J.M .; Lardone, P.J. et al. (2005). Un examen des multiples actions de la mélatonine sur le système immunitaire. Endocrine, vol. 27, 189-200.
  • Dodick, D.W. & Capobianco, D.J. (2001). "Traitement et prise en charge des céphalées en grappe" .Curr Pain Headache Rep5 (1): 83-91
  • Guerrero, J.M .; Carrillo, A. et Lardone, P. (2007). Mélatonine Recherche et science 30-38
  • Martínez, B .; Sánchez, Y .; Urra, K .; Thomas, Y.D. & Burgos, J.L. (2012). Hormone des ténèbres. Rev Latinoamer Patol Clin, Vol 59, 4, pp 222-232
  • Lewis, A. (2006). La mélatonine et l'horloge biologique. New York, NY: Mc Graw-Hill; p. 7
  • Portugal, F.L et al. (2010) Ação donne de la mélatonine sur l'apoptose et le fator du crescimento endothélial vasculaire sans cortex surrénal chez des rats pinéalectomisés. Rév Bras Bras Ginecol Obstet. 32 (8).
  • Reiter, R.J. Tan, D.X; Gitto, E. et al. (2004). Farmacological utilité de la mélatonine dans la réduction des dommages oxydatifs cellulaires et moléculaires. Journal polonais de pharmacologie et de pharmacie, vol.56, 159-170.
  • Reyes, B.M .; Velázquez-Panigua, M. et Prieto-Gómez, B. (2009). Mélatonine et neuropathologies. Rev.Fac.Med. UNAM, Vol.52, 3. Centre des sciences génomiques. Faculté de médecine, UNAM.

'' THE MESSENGER '' ( thierry DAILLEUX ) notre double, le dédoublement, Lundi 12 Décembre 2016 (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes