yes, therapy helps!
Optical chiasm: what is it and what are its functions?

Optical chiasm: what is it and what are its functions?

January 25, 2022

Vision is one of the most developed and important senses for the human being. In fact we have a cerebral lobe, the occipital, which has been linked especially to aspects related to vision and processing and integration of information from this sense.

But visual information does not appear in that lobe just like that. First, the information from each eye must be captured, integrated and subsequently analyzed and processed. There are several points of great interest in the visual system, one of them being the optic chiasm . It is about this structure that we are going to talk about in this article.

  • Related article: "Parts of the human brain (and functions)"

The optic chiasm: what is it and where is it?

The optical chiasm is a part of the brain that is of great importance when it comes to processing visual information from the retina, being the point at which the optic nerves of both eyes meet. It is a small structure in the form of X (X) located in the anterior cerebral fossa, something above and in front of the diaphragm of the sella turcica (small niche in the sphenoid bone that houses the pituitary gland) and in front of the hypothalamus.


In the optical chiasm something of capital importance happens so that we can correctly capture the visual information: in this structure it is produced a decussation of about half of the fibers of the optic nerve . And is that the optic nerve is divided into two tracts to reach the optic chiasm, one nasal and one temporary. The nasal fibers from each eye cross to the other cerebral hemisphere, while the temporal fibers continue through the same hemisphere, until they reach the lateral geniculate nucleus of the thalamus.

In addition, it is important to bear in mind that the nerve fibers of each eye that end up coming together in the optic chiasm have a special relationship: they are the fibers that receive information from a specific side of the visual field. Thus, the nerve fibers that carry information from the left side of the retina of the right eye join with those that carry the same information from the left eye, while the fibers that carry information from the right side of the retina of the left eye do the same with those of the right.


  • Maybe you're interested: "The 11 parts of the eye and its functions"

Function

The optical chiasm, by allowing and facilitating the decussation of part of the optical fibers, allows both cerebral hemispheres to receive visual information from both eyes : if it did not occur (or a decussation of all fibers occurred), the information received by each eye would be processed only by one of them, and there is no good integration of the material.

It is allowed in this way that the images that each eye captures can be processed and contrasted, being of great importance at the time that the brain can later integrate the information and capture elements such as depth or distance to which the observed element is .

  • Perhaps you are interested: "Visual agnosia: the inability to understand visual stimuli"

Consequences of your injury

Cranioencephalic injuries, surgeries or cerebrovascular accidents, along with some diseases and disorders such as tumors, can cause the optic chiasm or nerve pathways that circulate through it to be injured. Although it is not frequent, given its position inside the skull, said injury can cause a great impact on our visual system . The most common cause is compression, although fiber breakage can also occur.


Specifically, cases of partial blindness or hemianopsia caused by alterations in the optic chiasm have been observed. This affectation supposes the incapacity to see a half of the visual field, in spite of which the eyes work perfectly. It can be bitemporal (if they are the fibers that decuss those that are damaged) or binasal (if they are those that do not decussate).

Another possible alteration is the appearance of an optic glioma , which can appear both within the optic chiasm itself and together with tumors in the hypothalamus. The glioma in question is usually a benign tumor, although it can generate serious consequences such as loss of vision or in some cases diencephalic syndrome.

Some lesions produced at the moment in which the optic nerve penetrates the optic chiasm can generate a scotoma of the junction, causing visual deficits within a visual field, generally in the central area of ​​the same side of the body in which the lesion is located, as well as a possible contralateral problem if there is damage to the fibers that decussate.

Bibliographic references

  • Adel K. Afifi. (2006). Functional neuroanatomy: Text and atlas.Mexico D.F .: McGraw Hill p.324
  • Kandel, E.R .; Schwartz, J.H. & Jessell, T.M. (2001). Principles of neuroscience. Fourth edition. McGraw-Hill Interamericana. Madrid.
  • Correa-Correa, V .; Avendaño-Méndez-Padilla, J .; García-González, U .; Romero-Vargas, S. (2014). The optical chiasma and its exciting study through twenty centuries. Archives of the Spanish Society of Ophthalmology, 89 (10).

Visual Pathway and Lesions (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Le chiasma optique: de quoi s'agit-il et quelles sont ses fonctions?

Le chiasma optique: de quoi s'agit-il et quelles sont ses fonctions?

Juin 13, 2021

La vision est l’un des sens les plus développés et les plus importants pour l’être humain. En fait, nous avons un lobe cérébral, l'occipital, qui a été associé en particulier à des aspects liés à la vision, au traitement et à l'intégration d'informations de ce sens.

Mais les informations visuelles n'apparaissent pas dans ce lobe comme cela. Premièrement, les informations de chaque œil doivent être capturées, intégrées puis analysées et traitées. Il y a plusieurs points d’un grand intérêt dans le système visuel, l’un d’eux étant le chiasma optique . C'est à propos de cette structure dont nous allons parler dans cet article.

  • Article connexe: "Parties du cerveau humain (et fonctions)"

Le chiasma optique: qu'est-ce que c'est et où est-il?

Le chiasma optique est une partie du cerveau qui revêt une grande importance pour le traitement de l'information visuelle de la rétine, étant le point de rencontre des nerfs optiques des deux yeux. C'est une petite structure en forme de X (X) située dans la fosse cérébrale antérieure, quelque chose au-dessus et devant le diaphragme de la sella turcica (petite niche dans l'os sphénoïde qui abrite la glande pituitaire) et devant l'hypothalamus.


Dans le chiasme optique, il se produit quelque chose d’importance capitale pour que nous puissions saisir correctement les informations visuelles: dans cette structure, elles sont produites. une décussation d'environ la moitié des fibres du nerf optique . Et est-ce que le nerf optique est divisé en deux voies pour atteindre le chiasma optique, une nasale et une temporaire. Les fibres nasales de chaque œil se croisent vers l'autre hémisphère cérébral, tandis que les fibres temporales traversent le même hémisphère jusqu'à atteindre le noyau géniculé latéral du thalamus.

En outre, il est important de garder à l'esprit que les fibres nerveuses de chaque œil qui se rejoignent dans le chiasma optique ont une relation particulière: ce sont les fibres qui reçoivent des informations d'un côté spécifique du champ visuel. Ainsi, les fibres nerveuses qui portent les informations du côté gauche de la rétine de l’œil droit se joignent à celles qui portent les mêmes informations de l’œil gauche, tandis que les fibres qui portent les informations du côté droit de la rétine de l’œil gauche font de même. ceux de droite.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 11 parties de l'oeil et ses fonctions"

Fonction

Le chiasma optique, en permettant et facilitant la décussation d’une partie des fibres optiques, permet aux deux hémisphères cérébraux de recevoir des informations visuelles des deux yeux : si cela ne se produisait pas (ou si toutes les fibres étaient endommagées), les informations reçues par chaque œil ne seraient traitées que par l’un d’eux, et il n’y aurait pas de bonne intégration du matériau.

Il est ainsi permis de traiter et de contraster les images capturées par chaque œil, qui revêt une grande importance au moment où le cerveau peut intégrer ultérieurement les informations et capturer des éléments tels que la profondeur ou la distance à laquelle l'élément observé est observé. .

  • Peut-être vous êtes intéressé: "Agnosie visuelle: l'incapacité de comprendre les stimuli visuels"

Conséquences de votre blessure

Les blessures cranio-encéphaliques, les chirurgies ou les accidents cérébrovasculaires, ainsi que certaines maladies et troubles tels que les tumeurs, peuvent causer des lésions au chiasme optique ou aux voies nerveuses qui y circulent. Bien qu’elle soit peu fréquente, compte tenu de sa position à l’intérieur du crâne, cette blessure peut provoquer un grand impact sur notre système visuel . La cause la plus courante est la compression, bien que des fibres puissent se rompre.


Plus précisément, des cas de cécité partielle ou d'hémianopsie provoqués par des altérations du chiasma optique ont été observés. Cette affectation suppose l'incapacité de voir une moitié du champ visuel, malgré lequel les yeux fonctionnent parfaitement. Il peut être bitemporal (s’il s’agit des fibres qui décussent celles qui sont endommagées) ou binasal (s’ils sont ceux qui ne décussent pas).

Une autre altération possible est l'apparition d'un gliome optique , qui peut apparaître à la fois dans le chiasma optique lui-même et en même temps que des tumeurs dans l'hypothalamus. Le gliome en question est généralement une tumeur bénigne, bien qu'il puisse avoir des conséquences graves telles qu'une perte de vision ou, dans certains cas, un syndrome diencéphalique.

Certaines lésions produites au moment où le nerf optique pénètre dans le chiasma optique peuvent générer un scotome de la jonction, provoquant des déficits visuels dans un champ visuel, généralement dans la zone centrale du même côté du corps où se trouve la lésion, ainsi qu'un éventuel problème contralatéral s'il y a des dommages aux fibres qui se détachent.

Références bibliographiques

  • Adel K. Afifi. (2006). Neuroanatomie fonctionnelle: texte et atlas.Mexico D.F.: McGraw Hill p.324
  • Kandel, E.R .; Schwartz, J.H. & Jessell, T.M. (2001). Principes de neuroscience. Quatrième édition. McGraw-Hill Interamericana. Madrid
  • Correa-Correa, V .; Avendaño-Méndez-Padilla, J .; García-González, U .; Romero-Vargas, S. (2014). Le chiasma optique et son étude passionnante à travers vingt siècles. Archives de la Société espagnole d'ophtalmologie, 89 (10).

SVT - 1ères L ES S - Voies et aires visuelles (Juin 2021).


Articles Connexes