yes, therapy helps!
Munchausen Syndrome by Powers: symptoms and causes

Munchausen Syndrome by Powers: symptoms and causes

July 18, 2024

Unfortunately, there are many children abused every day in our society. There are several forms of child abuse and multiple classifications. In general terms, we can specify the following types of abuse: physical, psychological, sexual and neglect.

In 2002, an epidemiological study was carried out in Spain that confirmed the existence of 11,148 child victims of abuse in the family. 86.37% of these minors suffered negligence, 35.38% psychological abuse, 19.91% physical abuse and 3.55% sexual abuse .

However, as in almost any epidemiological study, there is "submerged" data and only the tip of the iceberg can be seen. In this article we are going to talk about a form of child abuse that is very difficult to diagnose, we could even call it "hidden child abuse": Munchausen Syndrome by Powers .


  • Related article: "Münchhausen syndrome: causes, symptoms and treatment"

What is Munchausen Syndrome by Powers?

The Munchausen Syndrome by proxy (SMP), or according to the DSM-5 Factice Disorder applied to another, constitutes a particular form of high-risk child maltreatment, difficult to diagnose, since it often goes unnoticed for a long time, even years. It is a syndrome that has increased its incidence due to greater knowledge of the same and professional awareness.

Following the DSM-5, it is a disorder that is characterized by the falsification of physical or psychological signs or symptoms, or induction of injury or illness, in another, associated with a deception. It is a mental disorder that typically it is appreciated in adults who are in the care of other dependents to them (usually defenseless, which has its logic). Frequently, the victims of this disorder are minors, and it is considered a form of child abuse.


The parents of the child (generally, according to epidemiological studies on the subject, the mother) simulate the existence of diseases or cause symptoms in the minor with the objective of receiving medical assistance, some of them at high risk and cost. It seems that one of the parent's objectives is to deceptively present his child to others as a sick, vulnerable, dysfunctional and / or troubled person.

Experts in the study of this disorder claim that the parent continues with the deception even without receiving in return any visible benefit or reward . The most serious consequences of this syndrome are the serious physical and psychological complications for the child and, ultimately, his death.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Confabulations: definition, frequent causes and symptoms"

Symptoms and signs

The symptoms or signs are usually incoherent, often inexplicable, and resistant to any treatment , since the parent performs them deliberately and recurrently. Some examples are:


  • Suspicious repeated incidents that threaten the life of the minor or the victim.
  • Poisoning and apnea.
  • Bleeding or bleeding .
  • Various infections generated by diverse organisms and, sometimes, rare.
  • Medical history with little coherence and logic : the victims usually spend a lot of time in the hospital with varied, contradictory and diffuse diagnoses, the causes are almost never usually clear.
  • The caregiver takes the victim very frequently to the doctor or to several doctors, until he feels enough satisfaction and attention.
  • There are no witnesses in the family who have seen the various symptoms that the mother refers to, since they only occur in her presence.
  • The symptoms that the minor presents often disappear in the hospital However, they are reproduced at the child's home, especially when they are in the care of one of the parents.
  • Signs or symptoms occur comorbidly when the caregiver is present.
  • Families with a history of sudden infant death or other serious problems in the child.
  • The caregiver may have been seen performing somewhat suspicious acts that may imply a worsening of the victim.

As we have commented previously, the diagnosis of this syndrome is a challenge for the clinician : it is difficult to detect it when the mother tends to go to different hospitals, since for the health professionals the observed facts will be isolated. Although pediatricians are trained to evaluate the credibility of certain stories, they do not tend to pose as an initial hypothesis that this is an elaborate lie.

History of Munchausen Syndrome by Powers

SPM is a variant of Munchausen Syndrome , term introduced for the first time in 1977 by the English pediatrician Roy Meadow. This professional described at that time patients who had this syndrome as people who had spectacular, strange clinical histories, with inventions and lies, with the aim of getting medical attention.

Curiously, in that same year two authors, Burman and Stevens, described a case in which a mother who suffered from Munchausen Syndrome (now Factice Disorder) was displacing her in her two young children. They called this phenomenon "Polle Syndrome" , synonymous in his day of the Munchausen Syndrome by Powers.

  • Related article: "Factitious Disorders: symptoms, causes and treatment"

Causes and motivations

The causes of Munchausen Syndrome by proxy are still unknown . Studies on the subject that have interviewed perpetrators suggest that they suffered abuses in childhood, or suffer a Factice Disorder.

The causes are not known, but progress has been made in the study of the motivations of the parents involved . In the first place, the person suffering from this syndrome does not act in order to obtain material or economic benefits. Paradoxically, they can invest large amounts of their money, effort and sacrifice in the "care" of their victim, even though they are inflicting great harm.

In short, their motivations lie in an excessive need for attention, care, compassion, pity and / or recognition by medical personnel and other people for their great dedication to the victim. In addition, it seems that there is a relationship of pathological ambivalence towards the victim (of care vs. possible hidden rejection).

Treatment

What should be done in these situations? How should professionals who detect a case like this proceed? Can the father or mother who has this syndrome continue caring for their child?

There is no one proper way to act, and less when there may be a judicialization of the problem. Ultimately who can receive the most collateral damage is the least (We must also evaluate the other children of the family, if they exist).

In these cases, the most important thing will always be the best interests of the child . Clinicians must ensure the accuracy of the diagnosis and safeguard the minor in the most serious cases (prudentially separating the family, for example), contacting social services. It is very important to collaborate with other professionals and carry out a multidisciplinary intervention.

Confession on the part of the perpetrator is not usually frequent . That is why the treatment is usually complex due to the father's difficulties in recognizing his problems and trying to give them a coherent explanation. Necessarily, the father who suffers from Munchausen Syndrome by Powers must commit to psychotherapy, family therapy and / or the taking of psychotropic drugs.


Oh, Quit Faking it: Munchausen Syndrome (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Syndrome de Munchausen par Powers: symptômes et causes

Syndrome de Munchausen par Powers: symptômes et causes

Septembre 6, 2022

Malheureusement, de nombreux enfants sont maltraités chaque jour dans notre société. Il existe plusieurs formes de maltraitance d’enfants et de multiples classifications. De manière générale, nous pouvons spécifier les types d’abus suivants: physique, psychologique, sexuel et négligence.

En 2002, une étude épidémiologique menée en Espagne a confirmé l’existence de 11 148 enfants victimes d’abus dans la famille. 86,37% de ces mineurs ont subi une négligence, 35,38% de violence psychologique, 19,91% de violence physique et 3,55% de violence sexuelle .

Cependant, comme dans presque toutes les études épidémiologiques, il existe des données "immergées" et seule la pointe de l'iceberg est visible. Dans cet article, nous allons parler d'une forme de maltraitance très difficile à diagnostiquer, nous pourrions même l'appeler "maltraitance cachée": Syndrome de Munchausen par pouvoirs .


  • Article connexe: "Syndrome de Münchhausen: causes, symptômes et traitement"

Qu'est-ce que le syndrome de Munchausen par pouvoirs?

Le syndrome de Munchausen par procuration (SMP), ou selon le désordre factice DSM-5 appliqué à un autre, constitue une forme particulière de maltraitance infantile à haut risque, difficile à diagnostiquer, car il passe souvent inaperçu pendant longtemps, voire des années. C'est un syndrome qui a augmenté son incidence en raison d'une plus grande connaissance de la même et de la conscience professionnelle.

Après le DSM-5, il s’agit d’un trouble caractérisé par la falsification de signes ou de symptômes physiques ou psychologiques, ou par l’induction d’une blessure ou d’une maladie, dans un autre, associé à une tromperie. C’est un trouble mental typiquement il est apprécié chez les adultes qui sont à la charge d'autres personnes à leur charge (généralement sans défense, ce qui a sa logique). Fréquemment, les victimes de ce trouble sont des mineurs et cela est considéré comme une forme de maltraitance envers les enfants.


Les parents de l'enfant (généralement, selon les études épidémiologiques sur le sujet, la mère) simuler l'existence de maladies ou provoquer des symptômes chez le mineur dans le but de recevoir une assistance médicale, certaines d’entre elles présentant un risque et un coût élevés. Il semble que l’un des objectifs du parent soit de présenter de manière trompeuse son enfant à d’autres comme une personne malade, vulnérable, dysfonctionnelle et / ou troublée.

Les experts dans l'étude de ce trouble affirment que le parent continue avec la tromperie même sans recevoir en retour aucun avantage ou récompense visible . Les conséquences les plus graves de ce syndrome sont les complications physiques et psychologiques graves pour l'enfant et, finalement, sa mort.

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Confabulations: définition, causes fréquentes et symptômes"

Symptômes et signes

Les symptômes ou les signes sont généralement incohérents, souvent inexplicables et résistants à tout traitement. , puisque le parent les exécute délibérément et de façon récurrente. Quelques exemples sont:


  • Incidents répétés suspects qui menacent la vie du mineur ou de la victime.
  • Empoisonnement et apnée.
  • Saignement ou saignement .
  • Diverses infections générées par divers organismes et parfois rares.
  • Antécédents médicaux peu cohérents et logiques : les victimes passent généralement beaucoup de temps à l'hôpital avec des diagnostics variés, contradictoires et diffus, dont les causes ne sont presque jamais claires.
  • Le soignant emmène la victime très souvent chez le médecin ou chez plusieurs médecins, jusqu'à ce qu'elle se sente suffisamment satisfaite et attentionnée.
  • Aucun témoin de la famille n'a vu les divers symptômes mentionnés par la mère, car ils ne surviennent qu'en sa présence.
  • Les symptômes que présente le mineur disparaissent souvent à l'hôpital Cependant, ils sont reproduits au domicile de l'enfant, surtout lorsqu'ils sont confiés à l'un des parents.
  • Les signes ou symptômes se manifestent de manière concomitante en présence du fournisseur de soins.
  • Familles ayant des antécédents de mort subite du nourrisson ou d'autres problèmes graves chez l'enfant.
  • Le soignant peut avoir été vu en train de commettre des actes quelque peu suspects pouvant impliquer une aggravation de la victime

Comme nous l'avons commenté précédemment, le diagnostic de ce syndrome est un défi pour le clinicien : il est difficile de le détecter lorsque la mère a tendance à se rendre dans différents hôpitaux, car pour les professionnels de la santé, les faits observés seront isolés. Bien que les pédiatres soient formés pour évaluer la crédibilité de certaines histoires, ils n’ont pas tendance à poser comme hypothèse initiale qu’il s’agit d’un mensonge élaboré.

Histoire du syndrome de Munchausen par pouvoirs

SPM est une variante du syndrome de Munchausen , terme introduit pour la première fois en 1977 par le pédiatre anglais Roy Meadow. Ce professionnel a décrit à cette époque les patients atteints de ce syndrome comme ayant des antécédents cliniques spectaculaires et étranges, des inventions et des mensonges, dans le but d'obtenir des soins médicaux.

Curieusement, la même année, deux auteurs, Burman et Stevens, ont décrit un cas dans lequel une mère atteinte du syndrome de Munchausen (maintenant le syndrome de Factice) la déplaçait dans ses deux jeunes enfants. Ils ont appelé ce phénomène "syndrome de Polle" , synonyme en son temps du syndrome de Munchausen par Powers.

  • Article connexe: "Troubles factices: symptômes, causes et traitement"

Causes et motivations

Les causes du syndrome de Munchausen par procuration sont encore inconnues . Les études sur le sujet qui ont interrogé les auteurs suggèrent qu’elles ont subi des abus dans leur enfance ou un trouble factice.

Les causes ne sont pas connues, mais des progrès ont été réalisés dans l'étude des motivations des parents impliqués . En premier lieu, la personne atteinte de ce syndrome n'agit pas dans le but d'obtenir des avantages matériels ou économiques. Paradoxalement, ils peuvent investir une grande partie de leur argent, de leurs efforts et de leurs sacrifices dans les "soins" de leur victime, même s'ils lui infligent de grands préjudices.

En bref, leurs motivations résident dans un besoin excessif d'attention, de soins, de compassion, de pitié et / ou de reconnaissance personnel médical et d’autres personnes pour leur grand dévouement envers la victime. De plus, il semble qu’il existe une relation d’ambivalence pathologique à l’égard de la victime (prise en charge versus rejet caché possible).

Traitement

Que devrait-on faire dans ces situations? Comment les professionnels qui détectent un cas comme celui-ci doivent-ils procéder? Le père ou la mère atteints de ce syndrome peuvent-ils continuer à s'occuper de leur enfant?

Il n’existe pas de manière unique d’agir, et encore moins lorsque le problème est juridiquement légalisé. Finalement, qui peut recevoir le plus de dommages collatéraux est le moins (Nous devons également évaluer les autres enfants de la famille, s'ils existent).

Dans ces cas, la chose la plus importante sera toujours l'intérêt supérieur de l'enfant . Les cliniciens doivent s'assurer de l'exactitude du diagnostic et protéger le mineur dans les cas les plus graves (séparation prudentielle de la famille, par exemple) en contactant les services sociaux. Il est très important de collaborer avec d'autres professionnels et de mener une intervention multidisciplinaire.

Les aveux de l'auteur ne sont pas fréquents . C'est pourquoi le traitement est généralement complexe en raison des difficultés du père à reconnaître ses problèmes et à tenter de leur donner une explication cohérente. Le père victime du syndrome de Munchausen doit obligatoirement s’engager dans une psychothérapie, une thérapie familiale et / ou la prise de médicaments psychotropes.


Eps 06 {A VIZINHA} (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes