yes, therapy helps!
Neuroblastoma: symptoms, stages and treatments

Neuroblastoma: symptoms, stages and treatments

October 5, 2022

"Cancer" is for many years a terrifying word for most people. It refers to one of the diseases that continue to pose a great challenge for medicine. There are many types of tumors that can appear in our body, being possible that they are generated in any type of tissue and at any age.

One of these types appears in neuroblasts, immature cells of the nervous system. We are talking about neuroblastoma, a rare cancer which usually appears in children, being one of the most common in infants and children under four years of age (in fact, it is the most frequent before two years of age).

  • Related article: "Brain tumor: types, classification and symptoms"

Neuroblastoma: definition and symptoms

The term neuroblastoma refers to an unusual type of cancer, but which is nevertheless the most frequent in childhood before two years of age. It is a type of embryonic tumor in which there is an accelerated, uncontrolled and infiltrative growth of the precursor cells of neurons and glia: the neuroblasts.


These cells are formed during the gestation of the individual, appearing and forming part of the neural plate to later develop and differentiate during the fetal development until forming the cells of our nervous system (both neurons and neuroglia). In other words, They are the precursors of our nerve cells .

While most neuroblasts are transformed into nerve cells during fetal development, occasionally some children can maintain even after birth some of them, immature. They usually disappear over time, but sometimes for some reason can grow uncontrollably and become a tumor .


They usually appear in the ganglia or nerve bundles of the autonomic nervous system, although this may imply that they can practically appear anywhere in the body. The areas where it most commonly appears are in the adrenal glands (being its most common point of origin), abdomen, marrow or thorax.

Symptomatology

One of the difficulties of this disease is that the symptomatology that can awaken is initially very unspecific, which makes it easy to confuse it with other alterations or even go unnoticed. In fact, in many cases they are only observed when the tumor has already grown, so it is relatively frequent that is only detected once it has even metastasized .

The most frequent is that there appear alterations of the appetite, fatigue and weakness. There is also fever, pain and gastric alterations. Other symptoms will depend to a great extent on the area in which the tumor appears. For example headaches, dizziness or vision problems are common if there is cerebral involvement, bruising in the eyes or the existence of inequality between both pupils in regard to size. In addition, problems appear when urinating, moving, maintaining balance, as well as tachycardia, bone and / or abdominal pain or respiratory problems are also common.


  • You may be interested: "Parts of the human brain (and functions)"

The stages of neuroblastoma

As in other cancers, neuroblastoma can be observed in a series of stages and stages in which the tumor can be located according to its degree of malignancy, location and infiltration in other tissues. In this sense we can find:

  • Stage 1: The tumor is localized and very limited . Its surgical removal can be simple
  • Stage 2: The tumor is localized but it is observed that the nearby lymph nodes have cancer cells. The extirpation is complicated .
  • Stage 3: At this stage the tumor is advanced and large, and can not be resected or said resection would not eliminate all cancer cells
  • Stage 4: Stage 4 indicates that the tumor has advanced and It has infiltrated different tissues, metastasizing . Despite this, in some cases of children under 1 year of age (which we would call stage 4S), the subject may recover despite this metastasis.

What are your causes?

The causes of the appearance of a neuroblastoma are currently unknown, although it is proposed the existence of genetic problems that can generate the emergence of this problem. In fact, in some cases there is a family history, so that we could speak of a certain transmissibility in some cases (although it is not a majority).

Treatment

Treating a neuroblastoma successfully depends on the presence of certain variables, such as the location of the tumor, the stage of the tumor and its level of spread, the child's age or resistance to previous treatments.

In some cases it is possible that treatment is not required, since it has been observed that sometimes the tumor disappears on its own or becomes a benign tumor. As regards the rest of the cases, it may be enough to remove the tumor, but Chemotherapy and / or radiotherapy may also be required (especially in those cases where there is some dissemination) to cure the disease or reduce its rate of growth.

In cases in which chemotherapy is carried out in an intensive way, which stops cell growth, it is usual that previously the patient's own stem cells are collected for their subsequent reintroduction into the organism once the chemotherapy is completed. You can also have a bone marrow transplant of the minor himself (extracting it before the application of the treatment). On those occasions when the tumor is resected, immunotherapy can later be carried out by injecting antibodies that allow the patient's own immune system to fight and destroy the remains of tumor cells.

But regardless of how effective it may or may not be a treatment, it must be taken into account that it is a type of tumor that especially affects young children , with what should be done taking into account what for a minor can suppose the fact of undergoing certain treatments. Surgical interventions, relatively frequent visits to the doctor, revisions, injections, the use of therapies such as radio or chemotherapy or possible hospital stays can be extremely aversive for the child and generate great fear and anxiety.

It is necessary to try to make the experience of the minor as traumatic and aversive as possible. For this, different techniques can be applied, such as Lazarus' emotional staging technique, so that, for example, the child can visualize himself as a superhero with whom he identifies himself and through the treatment he is fighting against evil.

The psychoeducation of parents is also important , because it allows them to raise the issue, clear and express doubts and feelings, learn strategies to try to manage the situation and in turn contributing to the emotional reactions of parents do not generate in turn generate negative anticipations and a higher level of fear and anguish in the minor. It would also be useful to go to support groups or mutual help, in order to know other cases and share experiences with subjects who have suffered the same problem.

Forecast

The prognosis of each case can vary greatly depending on various variables. For example, it is possible that in some cases the tumor may become a benign tumor or even disappear by itself, especially when it occurs in very young children.

However, in many other cases, if it is not treated or detected late, metastasis may occur. In fact, in a great majority of cases, the diagnosis is made when this has already occurred.

The treatment usually is effective in non-disseminated tumors, although when there is already metastasis the treatment is usually much more complex. One aspect to keep in mind is that the smaller the child, the less likely that there may be recurrences in the future .

With regard to survival, generally in patients with low risk (stages 1 and 2) the prognosis is very positive after treatment, with a 95% survival rate. Those who have an intermediate or moderate risk (2-3) also have a very high survival rate (more than 80%). However, unfortunately in patients with high risk (there is dissemination, with the tumor in stage 4) the survival rate is reduced to 50%.

Bibliographic references:

  • Dome, J.S., Rodriguez-Galindo, C., Spunt, S.L., Santana, V.M. (2014). Pediatric solid tumors. In: Niederhuber, J.E., Armitage, J.O., Doroshow JH, Kastan MB, Tepper JE, eds. Abeloff's Clinical Oncology. 5th ed. Philadelphia, PA: Elsevier Churchill Livingstone; chap 95
  • Maris, J.M. (2010). Recent Advances in Neuroblastoma. N. Engl. J. Med., 362: 2202-2211.
  • Modak, S, Cheung, N.K. (2010) Neuroblastoma: Therapeutic strategies for a clinical enigma. Cancer Treat Rev., 36 (4): 307-317.

Neuroblastoma- A Baby Cancer (October 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Neuroblastome: symptômes, stades et traitements

Neuroblastome: symptômes, stades et traitements

Janvier 30, 2023

"Cancer" est depuis de nombreuses années un mot terrifiant pour la plupart des gens. Il fait référence à l’une des maladies qui continuent de poser un grave problème pour la médecine. De nombreux types de tumeurs peuvent apparaître dans notre corps, étant donné qu’elles peuvent être générées dans n’importe quel type de tissu et à n’importe quel âge.

L'un de ces types apparaît dans les neuroblastes, cellules immatures du système nerveux. Nous parlons de neuroblastome, un cancer rare qui apparaît généralement chez les enfants, étant l’un des plus fréquents chez les nourrissons et les enfants de moins de quatre ans (en fait, il est le plus fréquent avant l’âge de deux ans).

  • Article connexe: "Tumeur au cerveau: types, classification et symptômes"

Neuroblastome: définition et symptômes

Le terme neuroblastome désigne type de cancer inhabituel, mais qui reste néanmoins le plus fréquent chez l’enfant avant l'âge de deux ans. C'est un type de tumeur embryonnaire dans lequel il y a une croissance accélérée, non contrôlée et infiltrante des cellules précurseurs des neurones et de la glie: les neuroblastes.


Ces cellules sont formées au cours de la gestation de l'individu et font partie de la plaque neurale pour se développer et se différencier au cours du développement fœtal jusqu'à la formation des cellules de notre système nerveux (neurones et neuroglies). En d'autres termes, Ils sont les précurseurs de nos cellules nerveuses .

Bien que la plupart des neuroblastes se transforment en cellules nerveuses au cours du développement fœtal, certains enfants peuvent parfois en conserver certains, même après la naissance, encore immatures. Ils disparaissent généralement avec le temps, mais parfois pour une raison quelconque peut se développer de manière incontrôlable et devenir une tumeur .


Ils apparaissent généralement dans les ganglions ou les faisceaux nerveux du système nerveux autonome, même si cela peut impliquer qu'ils peuvent pratiquement apparaître n'importe où dans le corps. Les zones où il apparaît le plus souvent sont les glandes surrénales (son point d'origine le plus commun), l'abdomen, la moelle osseuse ou le thorax.

Symptomatologie

Une des difficultés de cette maladie est que la symptomatologie qui peut se réveiller est d’abord très peu spécifique, ce qui facilite sa confusion avec d’autres modifications, voire passe inaperçue. En fait, dans de nombreux cas, ils ne sont observés que lorsque la tumeur a déjà grandi, il est donc relativement fréquent qui est détecté seulement une fois qu'il a même métastasé .

Le plus fréquent est l'apparition d'altérations de l'appétit, de la fatigue et de la faiblesse. Il existe également de la fièvre, des douleurs et des altérations gastriques, d'autres symptômes dépendant dans une large mesure de la région dans laquelle la tumeur apparaît. Par exemple maux de tête, vertiges ou problèmes de vision sont fréquents en cas d’atteinte cérébrale, d’ecchymoses aux yeux ou d’inégalité entre les deux élèves en ce qui concerne la taille. En outre, des problèmes apparaissent lors de la miction, des mouvements, du maintien de l'équilibre, ainsi que des tachycardies, des douleurs osseuses et / ou abdominales ou des problèmes respiratoires.


  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Parties du cerveau humain (et fonctions)"

Les stades du neuroblastome

Comme dans d'autres cancers, le neuroblastome peut être observé dans une série d'étapes et d'étapes au cours desquelles la tumeur peut être localisée en fonction de son degré de malignité, de sa localisation et de son infiltration dans d'autres tissus. En ce sens nous pouvons trouver:

  • Étape 1: La tumeur est localisée et très limitée . Son retrait chirurgical peut être simple
  • Stade 2: La tumeur est localisée mais il est observé que les ganglions lymphatiques voisins ont des cellules cancéreuses. L'extirpation est compliquée .
  • Stade 3: À ce stade, la tumeur est avancée et volumineuse et ne peut être réséquée, sinon cette résection n’éliminerait pas toutes les cellules cancéreuses.
  • Stade 4: Le stade 4 indique que la tumeur a avancé et Il a infiltré différents tissus, métastasant . Malgré cela, dans certains cas d'enfants de moins d'un an (que nous appellerions stade 4S), le sujet peut récupérer malgré cette métastase.

Quelles sont ses causes?

Les causes de l'apparition d'un neuroblastome sont actuellement inconnues, bien qu'il soit proposé l'existence de problèmes génétiques qui peut générer l’émergence de ce problème. En fait, dans certains cas, il y a des antécédents familiaux, de sorte que l'on peut parler d'une certaine transmissibilité dans certains cas (bien que ce ne soit pas une majorité).

Traitement

Le traitement efficace d'un neuroblastome dépend de la présence de certaines variables, telles que l'emplacement de la tumeur, son stade et son degré de propagation, l'âge de l'enfant ou sa résistance aux traitements antérieurs.

Dans certains cas, il est possible que le traitement ne soit pas nécessaire, car il a parfois été observé que la tumeur disparaissait d'elle-même ou devenait une tumeur bénigne. En ce qui concerne le reste des cas, il peut suffire d'enlever la tumeur, mais Une chimiothérapie et / ou une radiothérapie peuvent également être nécessaires (en particulier dans les cas où il y a une certaine dissémination) pour guérir la maladie ou réduire son taux de croissance.

Dans les cas où la chimiothérapie est effectuée de manière intensive, ce qui stoppe la croissance cellulaire, il est courant que les cellules souches du patient soient préalablement collectées en vue de leur réintroduction ultérieure dans l'organisme une fois la chimiothérapie terminée. Vous pouvez également subir une greffe de moelle osseuse du mineur lui-même (en l'extrayant avant l'application du traitement). Lors des résections de la tumeur, l'immunothérapie peut être réalisée ultérieurement en injectant des anticorps qui permettent au système immunitaire du patient de combattre et de détruire les restes de cellules tumorales.

Mais quelle que soit l'efficacité de son traitement, il faut tenir compte du fait qu'il s'agit d'un type de tumeur qui affecte particulièrement les jeunes enfants , avec ce qui devrait être fait en tenant compte de ce que pour un mineur peut supposer le fait de subir certains traitements. Les interventions chirurgicales, les visites relativement fréquentes chez le médecin, les révisions, les injections, l'utilisation de thérapies telles que la radio ou la chimiothérapie ou d'éventuels séjours à l'hôpital peuvent être extrêmement dissuasifs pour l'enfant et générer une peur et une anxiété importantes.

Il est nécessaire d'essayer de rendre l'expérience du mineur aussi traumatisante et aversive que possible. Pour cela, différentes techniques peuvent être appliquées, telles que la technique de mise en scène émotionnelle de Lazarus, afin que, par exemple, l'enfant puisse se visualiser comme un super-héros avec lequel il s'identifie et à travers le traitement qu'il combat contre le mal.

La psychoéducation des parents est également importante , parce que cela leur permet de soulever le problème, de clarifier et d’exprimer leurs doutes et leurs sentiments, d’apprendre des stratégies pour tenter de gérer la situation et, en retour, de contribuer aux réactions émotionnelles des parents ne génère pas d’anticipations négatives et un niveau de peur plus élevé et l'angoisse chez le mineur. Il serait également utile d’aller dans des groupes de soutien ou d’entraide afin de connaître d’autres cas et de partager des expériences avec des sujets ayant subi le même problème.

Prévisions

Le pronostic de chaque cas peut varier considérablement en fonction de diverses variables. Par exemple, il est possible que dans certains cas, la tumeur devienne une tumeur bénigne ou même disparaître de lui-même, surtout quand il se produit chez les très jeunes enfants.

Cependant, dans de nombreux autres cas, des métastases peuvent survenir si elles ne sont pas traitées ou détectées tardivement. En fait, dans la grande majorité des cas, le diagnostic est posé quand cela est déjà arrivé.

Le traitement est généralement efficace dans les tumeurs non disséminées, bien que, lorsqu'il existe déjà une métastase, le traitement soit généralement beaucoup plus complexe. Un aspect à garder à l’esprit est que plus l'enfant est petit, moins il peut y avoir de récidive dans le futur .

En ce qui concerne la survie, généralement chez les patients à faible risque (stades 1 et 2), le pronostic est très positif après traitement, avec un taux de survie de 95%. Ceux qui ont un risque moyen ou modéré (2-3) ont également un taux de survie très élevé (plus de 80%). Malheureusement, malheureusement, chez les patients à risque élevé (il y a dissémination, la tumeur étant au stade 4), le taux de survie est réduit à 50%.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Dome, J. S., Rodriguez-Galindo, C., Spunt, S. L., Santana, V. M. (2014). Tumeurs solides pédiatriques. Dans: Niederhuber, J.E., Armitage, J.O., Doroshow JH, Kastan MB, Tepper JE, éds. Oncologie clinique d'Abeloff. 5ème éd. Philadelphie, PA: Elsevier Churchill Livingstone; chap 95
  • Maris, J.M. (2010). Progrès récents dans le neuroblastome. N. Engl. J. Med., 362: 2202-2211.
  • Modak, S, Cheung, N.K. (2010) Neuroblastome: stratégies thérapeutiques pour une énigme clinique. Cancer Treat Rev., 36 (4): 307-317.

Neuroblastoma - causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatment, pathology (Janvier 2023).


Articles Connexes