yes, therapy helps!
Hemiparesis: types, symptoms, causes and treatment

Hemiparesis: types, symptoms, causes and treatment

July 19, 2024

The central nervous system is a biological structure responsible for perceiving the stimuli from the outside world, processing this information and transmit impulses to nerves and muscles, making these allow the person to perform all kinds of movements.

But when something interferes with the proper functioning of this system, carrying out any body movement can become really complicated. One of these special conditions in which the person sees limited ability to move is hemiparesis , in which the subject sees his body mobility reduced only in one half of his body.

  • Recommended article: "The 15 most common neurological disorders"

What is hemiparesis?

Hemiparesis is not defined as a disease, but, rather, as a neurological condition of variable causes that hinders the movement of one half of the body . Specifically, hemiparesis refers to the decrease in motor force or partial paralysis that affects an arm and a leg on the same side of the body.


This decrease in movement does not amount to a paralysis, and is considered a lesser degree than hemiplegia, which does produce total paralysis. When this decrease in movement affects the head and face may not be too obvious.

Types of hemiparesis

Hemiparesis can be grouped into different types according to the causes of appearance, so that there are different types according to the degree of muscle weakness and its causes .

1. Hemiparesis on the right side

This hemiparesis is caused by a lesion in the left hemisphere of the brain, so that the person will see reduced muscle mobility of the right part of his body.


2. Hemiparesis of the left side

When the brain injury occurs in the right hemisphere, it is the left side of the body that is affected by this decrease in muscle mobility.

3. Infantile hemiparesis

Infantile hemiparesis is what affects infants or young children, and usually occurs due to problems in the spinal cord or brain damage from birth.

Causes

As mentioned in the previous point, the causes of hemiparesis are varied. The particular muscular weakness can be caused by injuries in the spinal cord affecting the nerves that innervate the muscles and causing the weakness of these.

This damage to the spinal cord includes injuries caused by trauma, such as could be caused by a car accident. Likewise, diseases such as multiple sclerosis and some types of cancer can also cause spinal cord injuries that interfere with nerve activity.


Brain damage can also lead to a decline in muscle strength, with stroke being one of the most frequent reasons that causes a person to suffer from hemiparesis. In addition, this muscle weakness is one of the main signs that a person will suffer a stroke.

Diagnosis

When a patient goes to the health center with hemiparesis, the first step is to determine the germ of muscle weakness . Medical imaging studies are necessary to accurately detect the location of the lesion; Likewise, an interview with the patient is necessary to collect information and thus elaborate a clinical history in order to identify the most evident risk factors.

Treatment

To stop the effects of hemiparesis and reduce the consequences that these have on the body, it is essential to solve and / or treat the affected part that has caused it. In this way, as a rebound effect, it should improve and even be solved.

Another very common intervention with remarkable positive results is the physical treatment by means of physiotherapy exercises , in which the areas that have been affected by this decrease in mobility are forced to work and move directly.

With this treatment the patient restores the control he has over his muscles, strengthens his muscular mass and his motor capacity. The person affected by hemiparesis can also use the aid of devices, such as walkers or orthopedic devices, to help supplement the treatment; and that they support the execution of their daily activities and move the affected area with greater and better development of the activity.

There is no minimum time limit for the partial or total recovery of hemiparesis, since the recovery depends on the intensity of the treatment carried out, the degree of muscle weakness or the causes that have caused the affectation.

Usually, hemiparesis can be solved in its entirety, leaving, at most, minor sequelae that can be perfectly harmonized with the patient's normal life rhythm.

The Bobath Concept

One of the possible treatments for hemiparesis is the Bobath Concept through physiotherapy and occupational therapy.

The Bobath Concept refers to a therapeutic approach focused on the solution of problems in the evaluation and treatment of patients with disorders or problems of function, postural control and movement, due to injuries of the central nervous system; including here the hemiparesis.

This is a therapy that is based on the ability of the brain to reorganize from peripheral sensory stimuli, looking for intact brain areas to compensate for the functions that were performed by injured parts of the brain.

The main attraction of the Bobath Concept is to favor the functioning of the affected side of the body as much as necessary, and thus adapt its movements in a manner consonant with the less affected side of the body; looking to balance the body in terms of functionality and mobility.

Another characteristic essence of this method is the modification of the abnormal movement patterns resulting from the injury itself, facilitating the activity in a functional way and following the milestones of the neurophysiological neurodevelopment of the person.

Another point in favor of the Bobath Concept is that it does not require strict treatment regimens that must be followed rigorously, but that It provides the person with elements that can be applied according to individual needs and responses , thus involving the patient in their own recovery.


What is Cerebral Palsy? (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Hémiparésie: types, symptômes, causes et traitement

Hémiparésie: types, symptômes, causes et traitement

Juillet 28, 2022

Le système nerveux central est une structure biologique responsable de la perception des stimuli du monde extérieur, du traitement de ces informations et de la transmission des impulsions aux nerfs et aux muscles, permettant ainsi à la personne d'effectuer tous types de mouvements.

Mais quand quelque chose interfère avec le bon fonctionnement de ce système, effectuer un mouvement du corps peut devenir vraiment compliqué. Une hémiparésie est une de ces conditions spéciales dans laquelle la personne voit une capacité de mouvement limitée. , dans lequel le sujet ne voit sa mobilité corporelle réduite que dans une moitié de son corps.

  • Article recommandé: "Les 15 troubles neurologiques les plus courants"

Qu'est-ce que l'hémiparésie?

L’hémiparésie n’est pas définie comme une maladie, mais plutôt comme une condition neurologique de causes variables qui entrave le mouvement d'une moitié du corps . L'hémiparésie fait référence à la diminution de la force motrice ou à la paralysie partielle qui affecte un bras et une jambe du même côté du corps.


Cette diminution des mouvements ne constitue pas une paralysie et est considérée à un degré moindre que l’hémiplégie, qui produit une paralysie totale. Lorsque cette diminution de mouvement affecte la tête et le visage, cela peut ne pas être trop évident.

Types d'hémiparésie

L'hémiparésie peut être regroupée en différents types en fonction des causes d'apparition, de sorte que il existe différents types en fonction du degré de faiblesse musculaire et de ses causes .

1. Hémiparésie du côté droit

Cette hémiparésie est causée par une lésion de l'hémisphère gauche du cerveau, ce qui entraîne une réduction de la mobilité musculaire de la partie droite de son corps.


2. Hémiparésie du côté gauche

Lorsque la lésion cérébrale survient dans l'hémisphère droit, c'est la partie gauche du corps qui est touchée par cette diminution de la mobilité musculaire.

Hémiparésie infantile

L'hémiparésie infantile est ce qui affecte les nourrissons ou les jeunes enfants. Elle est généralement due à des problèmes de la moelle épinière ou à des lésions cérébrales causées par la naissance.

Les causes

Comme mentionné dans le point précédent, les causes de l'hémiparésie sont variées. La faiblesse musculaire particulière peut être causée par des lésions de la moelle épinière affectant les nerfs qui innervent les muscles et provoquent leur faiblesse.

Les dommages à la moelle épinière incluent des blessures causées par un traumatisme, tel qu'un accident de voiture. De même, des maladies telles que la sclérose en plaques et certains types de cancer peuvent également causer des lésions de la moelle épinière qui interfèrent avec l'activité nerveuse.


Les lésions cérébrales peuvent également entraîner une diminution de la force musculaire, l’accident vasculaire cérébral étant l’une des causes les plus fréquentes de hémiparésie. En outre, cette faiblesse musculaire est l’un des principaux signes indiquant qu’une personne subira un AVC.

Diagnostic

Quand un patient va au centre de santé avec une hémiparésie, la première étape consiste à déterminer le germe de la faiblesse musculaire . Des études d'imagerie médicale sont nécessaires pour détecter avec précision l'emplacement de la lésion; De même, un entretien avec le patient est nécessaire pour collecter des informations et élaborer ainsi un historique clinique afin d'identifier les facteurs de risque les plus évidents.

Traitement

Pour mettre fin aux effets de l'hémiparésie et réduire les conséquences de celles-ci sur le corps, il est essentiel de résoudre et / ou de traiter la partie affectée qui l'a provoquée. De cette manière, comme effet de rebond, il devrait s’améliorer et même être résolu.

Une autre intervention très courante avec des résultats positifs remarquables est le traitement physique au moyen d'exercices de physiothérapie. , où les zones touchées par cette diminution de la mobilité sont obligées de travailler et de se déplacer directement.

Avec ce traitement, le patient retrouve le contrôle qu'il a sur ses muscles, renforce sa masse musculaire et ses capacités motrices. La personne atteinte d'hémiparésie peut également utiliser des dispositifs, tels que des marcheurs ou des appareils orthopédiques, pour compléter le traitement. et qu'ils soutiennent l'exécution de leurs activités quotidiennes et déplacent la zone touchée avec un développement plus important et meilleur de l'activité.

Il n'y a pas de délai minimum pour la récupération partielle ou totale de l'hémiparésie, car la récupération dépend de l'intensité du traitement effectué, du degré de faiblesse musculaire ou des causes qui ont causé l'affection.

Habituellement, l'hémiparésie peut être résolue dans son intégralité, en laissant au plus des séquelles mineures qui peuvent être parfaitement harmonisées avec le rythme de vie normal du patient.

Le concept Bobath

L'un des traitements possibles de l'hémiparésie est le concept Bobath. par la physiothérapie et l’ergothérapie.

Le concept de Bobath fait référence à une approche thérapeutique axée sur la résolution de problèmes d’évaluation et de traitement de patients présentant des troubles ou des problèmes de fonctionnement, de contrôle postural et de mouvement, dus à des lésions du système nerveux central; y compris ici l'hémiparésie.

Cette thérapie est basée sur la capacité du cerveau à se réorganiser à partir de stimuli sensoriels périphériques, à la recherche de zones cérébrales intactes pour compenser les fonctions exercées par des parties du cerveau lésées.

L'attrait principal du concept de Bobath est de favoriser autant que nécessaire le fonctionnement du côté affecté du corps et d'adapter ainsi ses mouvements de manière à correspondre au côté moins affecté du corps. cherche à équilibrer le corps en termes de fonctionnalité et de mobilité.

Une autre caractéristique de cette méthode est la modification des schémas de mouvements anormaux résultant de la blessure, facilitant ainsi l’activité de manière fonctionnelle et respectant les étapes clés du neurodéveloppement neurophysiologique de la personne.

Le concept Bobath présente un autre avantage: il n’exige pas de schémas thérapeutiques stricts qui doivent être suivis de manière rigoureuse, Il fournit à la personne des éléments qui peuvent être appliqués en fonction des besoins et des réponses de chacun , impliquant ainsi le patient dans son propre rétablissement.


migraine hémiplégique (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes