yes, therapy helps!
Neurosis (neuroticism): causes, symptoms and characteristics

Neurosis (neuroticism): causes, symptoms and characteristics

May 9, 2021

The neurosis or neuroticism It is a psychological tendency to maintain certain difficulties for control and emotional management.

People suffering from high levels of neuroticism usually have low moods, close to depression or dysthymia, and show negative feelings such as envy, anger, anxiety, feeling guilty ... Neurotic people present this symptomatology much more frequently and severe that people who do not suffer from this condition.

Neurotic people: how to identify them

There are some signs and various symptoms with which we can identify a person with a propensity to neurosis . Neurotic people are especially vulnerable to changes in the environment, suffer more stress and are less able to cope with it.


On the other hand, neuroticism refers to emotional management problems in practically all areas of a person's life, not in a few. Neurosis is the concept that is studied through scales and evaluations of neuroticism.

People who suffer neurosis tend to be more afraid of situations that other people tolerate and handle effectively. They tend to perceive reality in a more negative way than it really is, and they easily despair of small frustrations that, in the eyes of others, are not very important.

The neurotic personality and its comorbidity

Individuals with neurosis usually also present other relevant characteristics, such as anxiety, a greater presence of depressive symptoms or the tendency to shyness. People who are prone to neurosis also often have phobias and panic disorders.


Neurosis is a psychological disorder that makes sufferers suffer, but it is a relatively manageable condition, since there is no presence of serious symptoms that are usually associated with psychosis, such as delusions and hallucinations.

In neurosis, the individual remains in contact with reality; there is no depersonalization . Patients who score high on the scale of neuroticism are emotionally unstable and are less able to manage their discomfort and stress with respect to those who score low on neuroticism.

People who do not have neurosis tend to be relaxed, are more able to deal with high levels of stress and are more willing to face the challenges of everyday life.

Signs and symptoms

The most common symptoms and signs among neurotic people are the following:


  • Permanent feeling of sadness
  • Apathy and lack of interest in carrying out pleasant activities
  • Problems in their personal relationships due to their low tolerance towards others
  • High sensitivity and susceptibility
  • They are irritable, aggressive and frustrated
  • Emotionally unstable

Neuroticism and the difficulties of relating and communicating

In addition to the symptoms and characteristics already described, neurotic people often have problems in their workplace, as well as in all areas where there is coexistence with other people , to the point where, in severe cases, they can act as psychological abusers.

In addition, they usually have in common a worse dexterity to make good decisions. All these symptoms, if not treated and encyst in the personal life of the neurotic, can lead to severe depression and isolation.

Neuroticism and its resemblance to Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder

Another style of coping with neurosis is that of some people who develop, little by little, recurring thoughts and worries about catastrophic events that could happen , even when there is no rational element that justifies them. That is, it is very easy to focus attention on unrealistic concerns, without too much empirical foundation or simply based on something that objectively has a power to affect their very limited quality of life.

Faced with these negative thoughts, some neurotic individuals may try to counteract the chances of the catastrophe actually occurring, using certain mental rituals or repeated behaviors that can be confused with those of people with obsessive-compulsive disorder.

Social isolation: a problem associated with neurosis?

The set of symptoms and characteristics of individuals suffering from some degree of neurosis can cause people in their environment to move away from them, because they are seen as strange and eccentric. This it can lead to a certain seclusion and social isolation .

In other cases, anxiety and stress may rise over time, greatly complicating the daily life of these patients, who live in constant tension.Usually, they are people who feel easily hurt; they live in a state of constant anxiety and with the feeling that something bad can happen to them from one moment to the next.

Neurosis, insomnia and somatization

There are other problems that, very frequently, refer to neurotic people. One of them is the difficulty in falling asleep, a fact that makes them feel tired during the day.

Other patients also refer to problems of somatization and similar: strange heart sensations, excessive sweating, feeling of suffocation or fear of dying at any time ... These are symptoms that coincide with the classic anxiety disorder.

Treatment

Within what we know as neurosis are a series of symptoms and affectations that negatively influence the quality of life of the person who suffers.

Of course, there is psychological treatment to minimize the effect of neurosis on the mental health of the sufferer . Psychotherapy helps to regain emotional balance and reduce the incidence of many of the symptoms described above. Going to a specialist in these cases can help the neurotic person to improve in many aspects, in addition to a diagnosis and personalized treatment.

On the other hand, the emotional alterations typical of what has been classically known as neurosis can be so pronounced that it is necessary to combine psychological intervention with pharmacological treatments. This is especially relevant in cases in which the symptoms associated with the mood appear together with others that are of the psychotic type.

Bibliographic references:

  • Fenichel, O. (1945) The Psychoanalytic Theory of Neurosis. New York: Norton.
  • Ladell, R.M. and T.H. Hargreaves (1947). "The Extent of Neurosis". Br Med J. 2 (4526): pp. 548-549.

40 Signs That You Are Neurotic - Understanding Neurosis (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Névrose (névrose): causes, symptômes et caractéristiques

Névrose (névrose): causes, symptômes et caractéristiques

Mai 20, 2019

Le névrose o neuroticisme Il existe une tendance psychologique à maintenir certaines difficultés de contrôle et de gestion émotionnelle.

Les personnes souffrant de névrotisme sont généralement de mauvaise humeur, proches de la dépression ou de la dysthymie, et manifestent des sentiments négatifs tels que l'envie, la colère, l'anxiété, le sentiment de culpabilité et sévère que les personnes qui ne souffrent pas de cette condition.

Personnes névrosées: comment les identifier

Il y en a signes et symptômes divers permettant d'identifier une personne ayant une propension à la névrose . Les personnes névrosées sont particulièrement vulnérables aux changements de l'environnement, subissent plus de stress et sont moins capables de le supporter.


D'autre part, le névrotisme fait référence à des problèmes de gestion des émotions dans pratiquement tous les domaines de la vie d'une personne, pas dans quelques-uns. La névrose est le concept étudié à travers des échelles et des évaluations du neuroticisme.

Les personnes qui souffrent de névrose ont tendance à avoir plus peur des situations que d’autres personnes tolèrent et gèrent efficacement. Ils ont tendance à percevoir la réalité d’une manière plus négative qu’elle ne l’est réellement, et ils désespèrent facilement des petites frustrations qui, aux yeux des autres, n’ont pas une grande importance.

La personnalité névrotique et sa comorbidité

Les personnes atteintes de névrose présentent également d’autres caractéristiques pertinentes, telles que l’anxiété, une plus grande présence de symptômes dépressifs ou la tendance à la timidité. Les personnes sujettes à la névrose ont également souvent des phobies et des troubles paniques.


La névrose est un trouble psychologique qui fait souffrir les patients, mais il s'agit d'une affection relativement gérable, car il n'y a pas de symptômes graves généralement associés à une psychose, tels que des idées délirantes et des hallucinations.

Dans la névrose, l'individu reste en contact avec la réalité; il n'y a pas de dépersonnalisation . Les patients dont le neuroticisme a un score élevé sont émotionnellement instables et sont moins capables de gérer leur inconfort et leur stress par rapport à ceux dont le neuroticisme est faible.

Les personnes qui ne souffrent pas de névrose ont tendance à être détendues, sont plus en mesure de faire face à des niveaux de stress élevés et sont plus disposées à faire face aux défis de la vie quotidienne.

Signes et symptômes

Les symptômes et les signes les plus courants chez les personnes névrosées sont les suivants:


  • Sentiment permanent de tristesse
  • Apathie et manque d'intérêt pour mener des activités agréables
  • Problèmes dans leurs relations personnelles dus à leur faible tolérance à l'égard des autres
  • Haute sensibilité et susceptibilité
  • Ils sont irritables, agressifs et frustrés
  • Émotionnellement instable

Le névrotisme et les difficultés de relation et de communication

En plus des symptômes et des caractéristiques déjà décrits, les personnes névrosées ont souvent des problèmes sur leur lieu de travail, ainsi que dans tous les domaines où il y a coexistence avec d'autres personnes , au point où, dans des cas graves, ils peuvent agir en tant qu'agresseurs psychologiques.

De plus, ils ont généralement en commun une moins bonne dextérité pour prendre de bonnes décisions. Tous ces symptômes, s'ils ne sont pas traités et s’enkystent dans la vie personnelle du névrosé, peuvent conduire à une dépression grave et à un isolement.

Le névrotisme et sa ressemblance avec le trouble obsessionnel-compulsif

Un autre style de gestion de la névrose est celui de certaines personnes qui développer, petit à petit, des pensées et des soucis récurrents à propos d'événements catastrophiques pouvant survenir , même quand aucun élément rationnel ne les justifie. C'est-à-dire qu'il est très facile d'attirer l'attention sur des préoccupations irréalistes, sans fondements empiriques ou simplement sur quelque chose qui, objectivement, a le pouvoir d'influencer leur qualité de vie très limitée.

Face à ces pensées négatives, certains individus névrosés peuvent tenter de neutraliser les risques de catastrophe en utilisant certains rituels mentaux ou comportements répétitifs pouvant être confondus avec ceux de personnes souffrant de trouble obsessionnel-compulsif.

Isolement social: un problème associé à la névrose?

L'ensemble des symptômes et des caractéristiques des individus souffrant d'un certain degré de névrose peut amener les gens de leur environnement à s'en éloigner, car ils sont considérés comme étranges et excentriques. Cette cela peut conduire à un certain isolement et à un isolement social .

Dans d'autres cas, l'anxiété et le stress peuvent augmenter avec le temps, compliquant grandement la vie quotidienne de ces patients, qui vivent dans une tension constante.Ce sont généralement des personnes qui se sentent facilement blessées; ils vivent dans un état d'anxiété constante et avec le sentiment que quelque chose de grave peut leur arriver d'un moment à l'autre.

Névrose, insomnie et somatisation

Il y a d'autres problèmes qui, très fréquemment, se rapportent à des personnes névrosées. L'un d'entre eux est la difficulté à s'endormir, ce qui les rend fatigués pendant la journée.

D'autres patients évoquent également des problèmes de somatisation et analogues: sensations cardiaques étranges, transpiration excessive, sensation de suffocation ou peur de mourir à tout moment ... Il s'agit de symptômes qui coïncident avec le trouble anxieux classique.

Traitement

Nous appelons névrose une série de symptômes et d’affectations qui influent négativement sur la qualité de vie de la personne qui en souffre.

Bien sûr, il existe un traitement psychologique pour minimiser les effets de la névrose sur la santé mentale du patient . La psychothérapie aide à retrouver l'équilibre émotionnel et à réduire l'incidence de plusieurs des symptômes décrits ci-dessus. Aller chez un spécialiste dans ces cas peut aider la personne névrosée à s'améliorer à bien des égards, en plus d'un diagnostic et d'un traitement personnalisé.

D'autre part, les altérations émotionnelles typiques de ce qu'on appelle classiquement la névrose peuvent être si prononcées qu'il est nécessaire de combiner une intervention psychologique avec des traitements pharmacologiques. Cela est particulièrement pertinent dans les cas où les symptômes associés à l'humeur apparaissent avec ceux qui sont du type psychotique.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Fenichel, O. (1945) La théorie psychanalytique de la névrose. New York: Norton.
  • Ladell, R.M. et T.H. Hargreaves (1947). "L'étendue de la névrose". Br Med J. 2 (4526): pp. 548-549.

L' ANXIÉTÉ / LE TROUBLE ANXIEUX : symptômes , causes , prévention , traitement / Noura Marashi (Mai 2019).


Articles Connexes