yes, therapy helps!
Perspectives emic and etic: what they are, and 6 differences between them

Perspectives emic and etic: what they are, and 6 differences between them

December 4, 2020

The emic and etic perspectives applied in scientific knowledge have allowed us to acquire different panoramas on social phenomena. Its antecedents are in structuralist linguistics, however they have moved significantly to sociology and anthropology, since they allow to elaborate different answers and explanations of social behavior.

In an introductory way we will see below what is and where do the ethic and emic perspectives come from? , as well as some of its main differences.

  • Related article: "The 5 differences between meaning and significance"

From linguistics to social behavior

The concepts of "etic" and "emic" are neologisms first introduced by the American linguist Kenneth Pike, to refer to how social behavior occurs and is understood. Etic corresponds to the suffix of the word "phonetic" (meaning phonetics, in English), and "emic" corresponds to the word "phonemic" (which means phonemic, also in English).


Phonetics is a branch of linguistics that studies the sounds we produce to communicate. As a concept, it refers to the sounds of language that are based on a taxonomy of active speech, as well as its environmental effects understood as acoustic wave.

Phonemics, on the other hand, is another branch of linguistics and refers to the ability of listeners not only to listen but also to identify and manipulate phonemes (the minimum phonological units, which belong to each language). It refers to the sounds that are in the implicit consciousness, or in the non-consciousness, and that help the speakers to identify different expressions of their own language.


Pike takes these terms to develop two epistemological perspectives that would allow understanding social behavior as an analogy of the main linguistic structures . That is, it tries to apply the principles by means of which linguists discovered phonemes, morphemes and other units of language, to discover emic units of social behavior.

6 differences between emic and ethical perspectives

The ethical and emic perspectives in the social sciences have been useful to offer different explanations to what motivates a social behavior. In other words, they have come up against the intention to respond, for example, why certain human groups behave in a specific way, why they interact as they do or how they have organized themselves in a certain way.

Broadly speaking, the answers to these questions have taken two paths. On the one hand, there are those who say that the reasons for social behavior can only be understood by the explanation that the actors themselves make about these reasons . This would be an emic posture.


And on the other hand, there are those who say that social behaviors, and their motives, can be explained through direct observation of someone external . This would be an ethical stance. According to Pike, the use of an ethical and emic perspective can have consequences and an important ethical background, especially when the descriptions are translated into instrumental measurements.

Below we will briefly look at five differences that have to do with how we investigate and understand our societies and behaviors.

1. Observer-participant relationship

An emic perspective seeks to exist a context of interaction in which the observer and the informant meet and they hold a discussion on a particular topic.

On the other hand, an ethical perspective defines and describes social behavior considering mainly the logic of the observing actor. The structure that exists beyond the minds of the actors is prioritized.

2. The reason for social behavior

When asked about how events, entities or relationships are, an emic perspective would say that the answer is in the head of the people who star in these events , entities or relationships.

On the other hand, faced with the same question, an ethical perspective would say that the answer lies in the observable behavior of the people who star in these events, entities or relationships.

3. Validity of explanatory knowledge

Emic is a perspective that works from the point of view of the actors. The events of daily life, customs, habits, rituals, etc, without defined by those who perform them, and this is considered as the valid definition.

As understood in relation to meanings or non-conscious structures, The emic is considered a difficult perspective to defend in terms of scientific rigor .

Etic is a perspective that is approached from the point of view of the observer.Here cultural events, customs, habits, daily life, etc., are explained based on the description made by the person who looks (not the one who acts those events), and that is the explanation that is considered valid.

4. Similar perspectives

An emic perspective is closer to a subjectivist perspective of knowledge, while an ethical perspective is closer to the objectivist paradigm of knowledge .

5. Related methodologies

The emic perspective is interested in the social construction of meaning, in asking and exploring the emic purposes of behavior. Therefore, an example of methodology is the descriptions made based on interviews with social actors.

For its part, the ethical perspective, which is more interested in the descriptions of the external agent, can perform, for example, comparative research between what is observed in different cultures .

  • Maybe you're interested: "Cultural universals: what all societies have in common"

6. They are not always so different

The emic and etic perspectives are approaches that may not coincide, and what is more: they are frequently understood and used as completely excluding descriptions.

Kenneth Pike and Marvin Harris (American anthropologist who took up and developed Pike's theories), have problematized this and have been able to exemplify at what moments the etic and emic looks coincide, and at what moments they take distance from each other, as well as the consequences of said coincidences and distances.

One of the things that people interested in emic and etic perspectives have had to ask themselves, has been how the mental systems of beliefs, language and behavior itself are connected . In other words, it has also been necessary to question whether what we say about what we do gives a true idea of ​​the motives of the behavior; or if what we see that we do is actually what gives an idea closer to the motives of the same behavior.

Sometimes what we do matches what we say about what we do, sometimes not. And it is largely because of this that emic and etic perspectives can not be separated in a clear way, but must be understood in relation. Is about approaches that can be useful and complementary to understand our social behavior .

Bibliographic references:

  • Harris, M. (1976). History and significance of the emic / etic distinction. Annual Review of Anthropology. 5: 329-350.

Psychological Research - Crash Course Psychology #2 (December 2020).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Perspectives emic et étic: ce qu’elles sont et 6 différences entre elles

Perspectives emic et étic: ce qu’elles sont et 6 différences entre elles

Septembre 22, 2020

Les perspectives émiques et éthiques appliquées dans les connaissances scientifiques nous ont permis d’acquérir différents panoramas sur des phénomènes sociaux. Ses antécédents appartiennent à la linguistique structuraliste, mais ils ont évolué de manière significative vers la sociologie et l’anthropologie, car ils permettent d’élaborer différentes réponses et explications du comportement social.

De manière introductive, nous verrons ci-dessous ce qui est et D'où viennent les perspectives éthiques et émiques? , ainsi que certaines de ses principales différences.

  • Article connexe: "Les 5 différences entre signification et signification"

De la linguistique au comportement social

Les concepts d '"etic" et de "emic" sont des néologismes introduits par le linguiste américain Kenneth Pike, pour faire référence à la manière dont le comportement social se produit et est compris. Etic correspond au suffixe du mot "phonetic" (qui signifie phonétique, en anglais) et "emic" au mot "phonemic" (qui signifie phonémique, également en anglais).


La phonétique est une branche de la linguistique qui étudie les sons que nous produisons pour communiquer. En tant que concept, il fait référence aux sons du langage basés sur une taxonomie de la parole active, ainsi qu'à ses effets environnementaux compris en tant qu'onde acoustique.

La phonétique, quant à elle, est une autre branche de la linguistique et fait référence à la capacité des auditeurs non seulement à écouter, mais aussi à identifier et à manipuler les phonèmes (les unités phonologiques minimales, qui appartiennent à chaque langue). Il fait référence aux sons qui se trouvent dans la conscience implicite, ou dans la non-conscience, et qui aident les locuteurs à identifier différentes expressions de leur propre langage.


Pike utilise ces termes pour développer deux perspectives épistémologiques qui permettraient de comprendre le comportement social comme une analogie des principales structures linguistiques . C'est-à-dire qu'il tente d'appliquer les principes au moyen desquels les linguistes ont découvert les phonèmes, les morphèmes et d'autres unités de langage, pour découvrir des unités de comportement social.

6 différences entre les perspectives émiques et éthiques

Les perspectives éthiques et émotionnelles dans les sciences sociales ont été utiles pour offrir différentes explications à ce qui motive un comportement social. En d'autres termes, ils se sont heurtés à l'intention de répondre, par exemple, pourquoi certains groupes humains se comportent de manière spécifique, pourquoi ils interagissent comme ils le font ou comment ils se sont organisés d'une certaine manière.

De manière générale, les réponses à ces questions ont emprunté deux voies. D’un côté, certains disent que les raisons du comportement social ne peuvent être comprises que par l'explication que les acteurs eux-mêmes font à propos de ces raisons . Ce serait une posture émique.


Et d’autre part, certains disent que les comportements sociaux et leurs motivations peuvent s’expliquer par observation directe d'une personne externe . Ce serait une position éthique. Selon Pike, l'utilisation d'une perspective éthique et émique peut avoir des conséquences et un contexte éthique important, notamment lorsque les descriptions sont traduites en mesures instrumentales.

Ci-dessous, nous examinerons brièvement cinq différences qui concernent la manière dont nous enquêtons et comprenons nos sociétés et nos comportements.

1. Relation observateur-participant

Une perspective émique cherche à exister un contexte d'interaction dans lequel l'observateur et l'informateur se rencontrent et ils tiennent une discussion sur un sujet particulier.

D'autre part, une perspective éthique définit et décrit le comportement social en considérant principalement la logique de l'acteur observateur. La structure qui existe au-delà de l'esprit des acteurs est priorisée.

2. La raison du comportement social

Quand on lui demande comment sont des événements, des entités ou des relations, une perspective émique dirait que la réponse est dans la tête des personnes qui jouent dans ces événements , entités ou relations.

D'un autre côté, face à la même question, une perspective éthique dirait que la réponse réside dans le comportement observable des personnes qui jouent un rôle de premier plan dans ces événements, entités ou relations.

3. Validité des connaissances explicatives

Emic est une perspective qui fonctionne du point de vue des acteurs. Les événements de la vie quotidienne, les coutumes, les habitudes, les rituels, etc., non définis par ceux qui les exécutent, et ceci est considéré comme la définition valable.

Tel que compris en relation avec les significations ou les structures non conscientes, Le emic est considéré comme une perspective difficile à défendre en termes de rigueur scientifique .

Etic est une perspective qui est abordée du point de vue de l'observateur.Ici, les événements culturels, les coutumes, les habitudes, la vie quotidienne, etc., sont expliqués sur la base de la description faite par la personne qui regarde (pas celle qui agit par ces événements), et c'est l'explication qui est considérée comme valide.

4. Perspectives similaires

Une perspective émique se rapproche d'une perspective subjectiviste de la connaissance, alors qu'une perspective éthique est plus proche du paradigme objectiviste de la connaissance .

5. Méthodologies associées

La perspective emic s'intéresse à la construction sociale du sens, en demandant et en explorant les objectifs émiques du comportement. Par conséquent, un exemple de méthodologie est constitué par les descriptions basées sur des entretiens avec des acteurs sociaux.

De son côté, la perspective éthique, qui s’intéresse davantage aux descriptions de l’agent externe, peut jouer, par exemple: recherche comparative entre ce qui est observé dans différentes cultures .

  • Peut-être que vous êtes intéressé: "Universels culturels: ce que toutes les sociétés ont en commun"

6. Ils ne sont pas toujours si différents

Les perspectives émiques et éthiques sont des approches qui peuvent ne pas coïncider, et qui plus est: elles sont souvent comprises et utilisées comme des descriptions totalement exclusives.

Kenneth Pike et Marvin Harris (anthropologue américain qui a adopté et développé les théories de Pike), ont posé des problèmes et ont pu illustrer à quel moment l’étique et l’émique coïncident, et à quel moment ils s’éloignent, ainsi que les conséquences de coïncidences et distances.

L’une des choses que les personnes intéressées par les perspectives émiques et éthiques ont dû se poser est la suivante: comment les systèmes mentaux de croyances, de langage et de comportement sont liés . En d'autres termes, il a également été nécessaire de se demander si ce que nous disons de ce que nous faisons donne une idée réelle des motifs du comportement; ou si ce que nous voyons que nous faisons est en réalité ce qui donne une idée plus proche des motivations du même comportement.

Parfois, ce que nous faisons correspond à ce que nous disons de ce que nous faisons, parfois non. Et c’est en grande partie pour cette raison que les perspectives émiques et éthiques ne peuvent pas être séparées clairement, mais doivent être comprises dans une relation. Il s'agit de approches qui peuvent être utiles et complémentaires pour comprendre notre comportement social .

Références bibliographiques:

  • Harris, M. (1976). Histoire et signification de la distinction émique / étique. Revue annuelle d'anthropologie. 5: 329-350.

Emic and etic (Septembre 2020).


Articles Connexes