yes, therapy helps!
Postfeminism: what it is and what it contributes to the gender issue

Postfeminism: what it is and what it contributes to the gender issue

January 25, 2022

Under the name of Postfeminism a group of works are grouped that assume a critical stance before the previous feminist movements, while claiming the diversity of identities (and the freedom to choose them), beyond heterosexuality and sex-gender binarism.

Post-feminism arose between the end of the 20th century and the beginning of the 21st century, and it has had repercussions not only in rethinking the feminist movement itself, but also in expanding the ways of identifying ourselves and relating in different spaces (in relationships of couple, family, the school, health institutions, etc.).

Here we review some of his background, as well as some of the main proposals.


  • Related article: "Types of feminism and its different currents of thought"

Ruptures with previous feminism and some background

After several decades of struggles that had been important in advancing equal rights, feminism pauses and realizes that, in large part, these struggles had focused on grouping women, as if 'the woman' were an identity and a fixed and stable subjective experience .

From there, many questions are opened. For example, what is it that makes someone be considered a 'woman'? Is the body sexed? Are they the practices of sexuality? While we have fought in the name of 'the woman', have we also reified the same binary structures that have oppressed us? If gender is a social construct, who can be a woman? And how? And, before all this, Who is the political subject of feminism?


In other words, Post-feminism was organized under the consensus that the vast majority of previous feminist struggles had been based on a static and binary concept of 'women', with which many of their premises were quickly oriented towards an essentialism uncritical It opens then a new path of action and political vindication for feminism , based on rethinking identity and subjectivity.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Gender stereotypes: this reproduces inequality"

Poststructuralism and feminism

Under the influence of poststructuralism (who reacted to the structuralist binarism and which pays more attention to the latent of the discourse than to the language itself), the subjective experience of the speaking beings was put at stake for feminism.

Poststructuralism had opened the way for a "deconstruction" of the text, which was ultimately applied to think about the subjects (sexed), whose identity had been given as pre-established.


That is, Postfeminism wonders about the process of identity construction , not only of sexed subject 'woman', but of the own relations that have been marked historically by the sex-gender binarism.

Thus, they put in consideration that this system (and even feminism itself) had settled on heterosexuality as a normative practice, which means that, from the outset, we are installed in a series of excluding categories, whose purpose is to configure our desires , our knowledge and our links to binary and frequently unequal relationships.

Before a dispersed and unstable subject, feminism, or rather , feminisms (already plural), also become processes in permanent construction, which maintain a critical position before feminisms considered as 'colonial' and 'patriarchal', for example, liberal feminism.

The plurality of identities

With Postfeminism the multiplicity of signifiers that make there is no unicity in "being a woman", and in "being a man", being "feminine", "masculine", etc., are uncovered. Posteminism transforms this into a struggle for freedom to choose an identity, transform it or experience it, and make recognize your own desire .

Thus, it is positioned as a commitment to diversity, which tries to vindicate the different experiences, and the different bodies, desires and ways of life. But this can not happen in the traditional and dissymmetric sex-gender system, so it is necessary to subvert the limits and norms that have been imposed.

Feminists themselves are recognized as being constituted by different identities, where nothing is fixed or determined. The identity of sexed subjects consists of a series of contingencies and subjective experiences that occur according to the life history of each one; beyond being determined by physical features that have been historically recognized as 'sexual traits' .

For example, lesbian and trans identity, as well as feminine masculinity, take on special relevance as one of the main struggles (which had gone unnoticed not only in patriarchal and heteronormal society, but in feminism itself).

  • Maybe you're interested: "Types of sexism: the different forms of discrimination"

Queer theory and trans bodies

Society is a space for the construction of sexuality. Through speeches and practices desires and bonds are normalized that to a large extent legitimize heterosexuality and gender binarism as the only possible This also generates spaces of exclusion for identities that do not conform to its norms.

Given this, Queer Theory claims what was considered as 'rare' (queer, in English), that is, takes sexual experiences that are different from heteronormadas-peripheral sexualities-as a category of analysis to denounce abuses , the omissions, the discriminations, etc., that have defined the ways of life in the West.

Thus, the term 'queer', which used to be used as an insult, is appropriate for people whose sexualities and identities have been in the periphery, and becomes a powerful symbol of struggle and vindication.

On the other hand, the movement of intersex, transgender and transexo people , questions that masculinity has not been exclusive to the body of the heterosexual man (the sexed body in masculine); nor the femininity something exclusive of the sexed body in feminine, but throughout history, there has been a great multiplicity of ways of living sexuality that have been beyond the heterocentric system.

Both Queer Theory and trans experiences summon the diversity of identities of biological bodies, as well as the multiplicity of sexual practices and orientations that they had not been foreseen by heterosexual regulations .

In short, for Postfeminism the struggle for equality occurs from diversity and from the opposition to gender-gender dissymmetric binarism. Their bet is for the free choice of identity against violence to which those who do not identify with heteronormative sexualities are systematically exposed.

Bibliographic references:

  • Alegre, C. (2013). The post-feminist perspective in education. Resist in school. International Journal of Research in Social Sciences, 9 (1): 145-161.
  • Wright, E. (2013). Lacan and post-feminism. Gedisa: Barcelona.
  • Fonseca, C. and Quintero, M.L. (2009). The Queer Theory: the de-construction of peripheral sexualities. Sociological (Mexico), 24 (69): 43-60.
  • Velasco, S. (2009). Sexes, gender and health. Theory and methods for clinical practice and health programs. Minerva: Madrid.

Women Get a Taste of the Gender Equality They've Always Wanted [Mirror of Red Pill Philosophy] (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Postféminisme: de quoi s'agit-il et de quoi contribue-t-il à la problématique hommes-femmes?

Postféminisme: de quoi s'agit-il et de quoi contribue-t-il à la problématique hommes-femmes?

Février 24, 2021

Sous le nom de post-féminisme, un groupe d'œuvres est regroupé qui adoptent une position critique par rapport aux mouvements féministes précédents, tout en revendiquant la diversité des identités (et la liberté de les choisir), au-delà de l'hétérosexualité et du binarisme entre hommes et femmes.

Le post-féminisme est apparu entre la fin du XXe siècle et le début du XXIe siècle. Il a eu des répercussions non seulement en repensant le mouvement féministe lui-même, mais également en élargissant les moyens de nous identifier et de nous relier dans différents espaces (dans les relations de couple, de famille, etc.). l’école, les établissements de santé, etc.).

Nous passons ici en revue certains de ses antécédents, ainsi que certaines des principales propositions.


  • Article connexe: "Les types de féminisme et ses différents courants de pensée"

Ruptures avec féminisme antérieur et arrière-plan

Après plusieurs décennies de luttes qui avaient joué un rôle important dans la promotion de l'égalité des droits, le féminisme a fait une pause et s'est rendu compte que, dans une large mesure, ces luttes s'étaient concentrées sur le regroupement des femmes, comme si 'la femme' était une identité et une expérience subjective fixe et stable .

De là, beaucoup de questions sont ouvertes. Par exemple, qu'est-ce qui fait que quelqu'un est considéré comme une "femme"? Le corps est-il sexué? Sont-ils les pratiques de la sexualité? Alors que nous nous sommes battus au nom de «la femme», avons-nous également réifié les mêmes structures binaires qui nous ont opprimés? Si le genre est une construction sociale, qui peut être une femme? Et comme? Et avant tout cela Qui est le sujet politique du féminisme?


Autrement dit, le post-féminisme était organisé autour du consensus selon lequel la grande majorité des luttes féministes précédentes reposait sur un concept statique et binaire de «femme», avec lequel nombre de leurs prémisses s'orientèrent rapidement vers l'essentialisme. peu critique Il ouvre alors une nouvelle voie d'action et une revendication politique du féminisme , basé sur repenser l'identité et la subjectivité.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Stéréotypes de genre: cela reproduit l'inégalité"

Poststructuralisme et féminisme

Sous l'influence du poststructuralisme (qui a réagi au binarisme structuraliste et qui accorde plus d’attention à la latence du discours qu’au langage lui-même), l’expérience subjective des êtres parlants a été mise en jeu pour le féminisme.

Le poststructuralisme a ouvert la voie à une "déconstruction" du texte, qui a finalement été appliquée pour réfléchir aux sujets (sexés), dont l'identité avait été donnée comme étant préétablie.


C'est-à-dire postféminisme questions sur le processus de construction de l'identité , non seulement du sujet sexué 'femme', mais des propres relations qui ont été marquées historiquement par le binarisme sexe-genre.

Ainsi, ils ont pris en considération le fait que ce système (et même le féminisme lui-même) avait opté pour l'hétérosexualité en tant que pratique normative, ce qui signifie que, dès le départ, nous sommes installés dans une série de catégories d'exclusion, dont le but est de configurer nos désirs. , nos connaissances et nos liens avec des relations binaires et souvent inégales.

Devant un sujet dispersé et instable, le féminisme, ou plutôt , les féminismes (déjà pluriels) deviennent également des processus de construction permanente qui maintiennent une position critique par rapport aux féminismes considérés comme "coloniaux" et "patriarcaux", par exemple le féminisme libéral.

La pluralité des identités

Avec le post-féminisme, la multiplicité des signifiants qui font qu'il n'y a pas d'unicité dans "être une femme", et dans "être un homme", être "féminin", "masculin", etc., sont découverts. Le postéminisme transforme cela en une lutte pour la liberté de choisir une identité, de la transformer ou de la vivre, et faites reconnaître votre propre désir .

Ainsi, il se positionne comme un engagement en faveur de la diversité, qui tente de défendre les différentes expériences et les différents corps, désirs et modes de vie. Mais cela ne peut pas arriver dans le système traditionnel et dissymétrique sexe-genre, il est donc nécessaire de subvertir les limites et les normes qui ont été imposées.

Les féministes eux-mêmes sont reconnus comme étant constitués d'identités différentes, où rien n'est figé ni déterminé. L'identité des sujets sexés consiste en une série de contingences et d'expériences subjectives qui se produisent en fonction de l'histoire de la vie de chacun; au-delà d'être déterminé par des caractéristiques physiques qui ont été historiquement reconnus comme «traits sexuels» .

Par exemple, l'identité transsexuelle et lesbienne, ainsi que la masculinité féminine, revêtent une importance particulière en tant que l'une des principales luttes (passée inaperçue non seulement dans la société patriarcale et hétéronormale, mais également dans le féminisme).

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Types de sexisme: les différentes formes de discrimination"

Théorie queer et corps trans

La société est un espace de construction de la sexualité. Par des discours et des pratiques les désirs et les liens sont normalisés, légitimant en grande partie l'hétérosexualité et le binarisme entre les sexes comme le seul possible Cela génère également des espaces d'exclusion pour les identités non conformes à ses normes.

Dans ce contexte, Queer Theory affirme que ce qui était considéré comme "rare" (c'est-à-dire en anglais) prend les expériences sexuelles différentes des hétéronormadas - sexualités périphériques - en tant que catégorie d'analyse pour dénoncer les abus. , les omissions, les discriminations, etc., qui ont défini les modes de vie en Occident.

Ainsi, le terme «queer», qui était utilisé comme une insulte, est approprié pour les personnes dont les sexualités et les identités sont à la périphérie et devient un puissant symbole de lutte et de revendication.

Pour sa part, le mouvement des personnes intersexuées, transgenres et transexo , remet en question le fait que la masculinité n’a pas été exclusive au corps de l’homme hétérosexuel (le corps sexué en masculin); ni la féminité, quelque chose d'exclusif du corps sexué en féminin, mais au cours de l'histoire, il y a eu une grande multiplicité de façons de vivre la sexualité qui ont dépassé le système hétérocentrique.

Queer Theory et les expériences trans évoquent la diversité des identités des corps biologiques, ainsi que la multiplicité des pratiques et orientations sexuelles ils n'avaient pas été prévus par les règlements hétérosexuels .

En bref, pour le postféminisme, la lutte pour l'égalité découle de la diversité et de l'opposition au binarisme dissymétrique entre les sexes. Leur pari est le libre choix d'identité contre la violence, auquel ceux qui ne s'identifient pas avec des sexualités hétéronormatives sont systématiquement exposés.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Alegre, C. (2013). La perspective post-féministe en éducation. Résister à l'école. Revue internationale de recherche en sciences sociales, 9 (1): 145-161.
  • Wright, E. (2013). Lacan et le post-féminisme. Gedisa: Barcelone.
  • Fonseca, C. et Quintero, M.L. (2009). The Queer Theory: la déconstruction des sexualités périphériques. Sociological (Mexico), 24 (69): 43-60.
  • Velasco, S. (2009). Sexe, genre et santé. Théorie et méthodes pour la pratique clinique et les programmes de santé. Minerva: Madrid.

Herstory Paroles militantes Jean Zaganiaris (Février 2021).


Articles Connexes