yes, therapy helps!
Psychometrics: studying the human mind through data

Psychometrics: studying the human mind through data

April 5, 2024

Psychology is the science that studies the mind and mental processes. However, these processes are not directly observable by humans or easily quantifiable. We can observe that a person acts extroverted, but it is not easy to determine in what degree it is.

For this reason it has become necessary to design different mechanisms and ways to measure the psychic characteristics. The elaboration of these methods, their application, the analysis of these data and the study of their reliability and validity they are the object of study of psychometrics . Next we will talk about this area of ​​psychology.

  • Related article: "The 12 branches (or fields) of Psychology"

Psychometry as a measure of the psyche

Psychometrics is understood as the discipline that is responsible for the quantitative measurement of mental processes and capacities .


In this way, a numerical value can be assigned to specific characteristics and events, allowing comparison and contrast with other people or with certain criteria that can be used to establish and check theories and hypotheses about the functioning of the mind. Thanks to psychometrics it is possible to quantify and operationalize the psychic , having largely allowed the development of psychology as a science.

Since the mind is something not directly observable, it is necessary to use elements that can indicate the aspect to be treated and the degree to which it is possessed, using observable indicators such as behavior or the record of physiological activity.


In broad strokes we can say that psychometrics employs statistical calculation and analysis of results in order to acquire information about a particular construct (which talks about some psychological aspect) through a measurement element that previously created.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Types of intelligence tests"

Which comprises?

As we have seen, psychometrics is the branch of psychology that is responsible for measuring specific aspects of the mind. This supposes, on the one hand, to establish a theory that can link mental characteristics with measurable elements, on the other, the creation of measurement scales, and lastly, the development of mechanisms and instruments that allow such measurement.

The creation of the theory

With regard to the first aspect, psychometrics establishes the possibility of measuring unobservable constructs from elements that can serve to indicate them, as characteristics of the behavior. It also elaborates and establishes how they can be observed and, based on different data, tries to establish what these indicators can be.


The scales

The creation of scales or scaling is another of the basic elements of which psychometry is responsible. These scales allow assigning specific values ​​to the analyzed variables , so that they can be operative and work with them. It is about making a specific variable quantifiable.

The measuring instruments

The third and last of the aforementioned aspects is the creation, from the scales previously elaborated in order to quantify a specific variable, of instruments that allow such measurement.

Clear examples of them are the psychological tests . In this elaboration, we must bear in mind that it is necessary to look for objectivity, consistency, capacity to discriminate between subjects, and to be valid and reliable.

Some relevant concepts

As a discipline that allows the measurement of the unobservable from the observable, psychometrics must take into account various concepts in order to ensure that this measurement is correct and representative. Some of the most relevant concepts are the following.

1. Correlation

The concept of correlation refers to the existence of some kind of link between two variables , which makes changes in one of them coincide with variations in the second, although this does not ensure that the relationship is cause-consequence.

2. Variance and standard deviation

Variance is the degree to which the scores of a test or of the same variable they can get to disperse . The standard deviation refers to how often the scores are expected to be dispersed relative to the average.

3. Reliability

Reliability refers to the degree to which an item or item used in the measurement of a characteristic it does not produce errors , obtaining consistent results in different measurements of the same characteristic in the same subject and context.

4. Validity

Validity is understood as the degree to which the elements we are using to measure is measuring what you want to measure . There are several types of validity, such as for example the construct, the content or the ecological.

A little history

The history of psychology is closely linked to the measurement of characteristics and abilities of individuals. Psychology as a science would not appear until the creation of the first laboratory of psychology at the hands of Wilhelm Wundt, who would begin to perform experiments in which he tried to measure reaction times and would take into account the subjective aspects through the method of introspection .

However, it is considered that the birth of psychometrics dates back to the mid-nineteenth century, when Francis Galton began to work on establishing mechanisms to measure the existence of individual differences between individuals.

Galton would use mechanisms focused on the measurement of physiological elements, his studies being limited to basic processes. But thanks to his studies emerged fundamental concepts in psychometrics, as the principles of correlation between variables and regression , which would eventually be formalized by Karl Pearson, his student.

The first psychological tests

Cattell would devise for the first time the concept of mental test, applying it to the measurement of sensorial capacities, but it would not be until Alfred Binet that scales of measurement of intellectual capacities would begin to be developed. Binet, with his assistant Theodore Simon, created the first scale of intelligence based on functional criteria .

Later, over time, various types of scales would be made, some even used in the army (such as Army Alpha and Army Beta, used to classify soldiers according to their level of intelligence). Later also it would try to take into account the presence of possible cultural biases for a correct analysis of mental capacity.

Spearman would interpret Pearson's correlation , indicating that the presence of a correlation between variables evidences the presence of a common element. Based on this, he would end up generating his theory about the G factor of intelligence.

Later developments

Some of the main authors that allowed the development of psychometrics were mainly the aforementioned Galton, Binet, Pearson and Spearman, although many other authors would have a key participation in this discipline.

Spearman would elaborate the classical theory of tests according to which the scores obtained in the tests They should be compared with the reference group in order to be able to give them a sense, although this limits their reliability and validity to be able to change the results according to who the comparison is made with.

Over time other theories would emerge, as the theory of the response to the item , who would try to combat this limitation, by proposing the test as a way of measuring the level of a subject in a given trait interpreted on the basis of statistical probability. Over time, other tests such as aptitude or personality tests would emerge.

  • Related article: "Types of psychological tests: their functions and characteristics"

Some applications and utility of psychometry

Psychometrics is a discipline of special importance for psychology, since it allows to operationalize the different mental processes and make measurements, set criteria, establish comparisons and even develop explanatory and predictive models. In addition, it allows to relate variables and help establish the existence of relationships between them.

All this is necessary in very different areas , as for example in the following.

Clinical psychology

The different tests and measures of psychological evaluation are of great importance in clinical practice. Being able to make measurements regarding mental characteristics or states allows us to visualize and get an idea of ​​the state and severity of the subject , as well as prioritize certain aspects during the treatment according to the characteristics of the patient.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Clinical psychology: definition and functions of the clinical psychologist"

Neuropsychology

The psychological and neuropsychological tests and evaluations they give us clues as to how the mental capacities of a subject are compared to an established criterion, the population mean or their own state in previous measurements.

Development evaluation

Throughout our life cycle we develop our abilities in a certain way. The presence of alterations in said development it can be detected thanks to various procedures elaborated thanks to psychometry, allowing to foresee and treat dysfunctional elements that hinder the adaptation of the person to the environment.

Capacity assessment

Characteristics of personality, abilities and abilities they are some of the multiple elements whose possibility of measurement has arisen from instruments elaborated thanks to psychometrics.

Human Resources

Determining the ability of an individual to cope with a particular job is not an easy task. The hiring or non-hiring of an individual he must take into account his level of ability and his mental state in order to detect the level of adaptation to the position and the company.

This assessment is carried out through interviews with the candidates, as well as through psychometric tests that reflect their level of ability in different aspects.

Investigation

Psychology is a science that advances continuously. Research is an essential element in order to get a better understanding of the psyche and reality. Establishing relationships between different situations and / or stimuli and / or generating data that can be contrasted are key aspects in this process, for which psychometrics is essential as the basis for the creation of measurement methods.


Measuring Personality: Crash Course Psychology #22 (April 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Psychométrie: étudier l'esprit humain à l'aide de données

Psychométrie: étudier l'esprit humain à l'aide de données

Janvier 19, 2023

La psychologie est la science qui étudie l'esprit et les processus mentaux. Cependant, ces processus ne sont pas directement observables par l'homme ni facilement quantifiables. Nous pouvons observer qu'une personne agit de manière extravertie, mais il n'est pas facile de déterminer à quel degré elle est.

Pour cette raison, il est devenu nécessaire de concevoir différents mécanismes et manières de mesurer les caractéristiques psychiques. L'élaboration de ces méthodes, leur application, l'analyse de ces données et l'étude de leur fiabilité et de leur validité ils sont l'objet d'étude de la psychométrie . Nous parlerons ensuite de ce domaine de la psychologie.

  • Article connexe: "Les 12 branches (ou domaines) de la psychologie"

La psychométrie comme mesure de la psyché

La psychométrie est comprise comme la discipline qui est responsable de la mesure quantitative des processus et des capacités mentaux .


De cette manière, une valeur numérique peut être attribuée à des caractéristiques et à des événements spécifiques, permettant une comparaison et un contraste avec d'autres personnes ou avec certains critères pouvant être utilisés pour établir et vérifier des théories et des hypothèses concernant le fonctionnement de l'esprit. Grâce à la psychométrie il est possible de quantifier et opérationnaliser le psychique , ayant largement permis le développement de la psychologie en tant que science.

Puisque l'esprit est quelque chose que l'on ne peut pas directement observer, il est nécessaire d'utiliser des éléments pouvant indiquer l'aspect à traiter et le degré de possession, en utilisant des indicateurs observables tels que le comportement ou le relevé de l'activité physiologique.


En gros, nous pouvons dire que la psychométrie utilise le calcul statistique et l'analyse des résultats afin d'acquérir des informations sur un construit particulier (qui parle de certains aspects psychologiques) à travers un élément de mesure créé précédemment.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Types de tests d'intelligence"

Qu'est-ce que cela englobe?

Comme nous l'avons vu, la psychométrie est la branche de la psychologie chargée de mesurer des aspects spécifiques de l'esprit. Cela suppose, d’une part, d’établir une théorie pouvant lier les caractéristiques mentales à des éléments mesurables, d’autre part, la création d’échelles de mesure et, enfin, la mise au point de mécanismes et d’instruments permettant cette mesure.

La création de la théorie

En ce qui concerne le premier aspect, la psychométrie établit la possibilité de mesurer des constructions non observables à partir d'éléments pouvant servir à les indiquer, en tant que caractéristiques du comportement. Il élabore et établit également la manière dont ils peuvent être observés et, en se basant sur différentes données, tente de déterminer ce que peuvent être ces indicateurs.


Les balances

La création d'échelles ou la mise à l'échelle est un autre des éléments de base dont la psychométrie est responsable. Ces échelles permettent d’attribuer des valeurs spécifiques aux variables analysées , afin qu'ils puissent être opérationnels et travailler avec eux. Il s'agit de rendre une variable spécifique quantifiable.

Les instruments de mesure

Le troisième et dernier aspect mentionné ci-dessus est la création, à partir des échelles précédemment élaborées afin de quantifier une variable spécifique, d’instruments permettant cette mesure.

Des exemples clairs d’entre eux sont les tests psychologiques . Dans cette élaboration, nous devons garder à l'esprit qu'il est nécessaire de rechercher l'objectivité, la cohérence, la capacité de discriminer entre les sujets, et d'être valide et fiable.

Quelques concepts pertinents

En tant que discipline permettant la mesure de l'inobservable à partir de l'observable, la psychométrie doit prendre en compte divers concepts afin de garantir que cette mesure est correcte et représentative. Certains des concepts les plus pertinents sont les suivants.

1. corrélation

Le concept de corrélation fait référence à l'existence d'une sorte de lien entre deux variables , ce qui fait que les changements dans l’un d’eux coïncident avec les variations dans le second, bien que cela ne garantisse pas que la relation est cause à conséquence.

2. Variance et écart type

La variance est la mesure dans laquelle les scores d'un test ou d'une même variable ils peuvent arriver à se disperser . L'écart type fait référence à la fréquence à laquelle les scores devraient être dispersés par rapport à la moyenne.

3. Fiabilité

La fiabilité fait référence au degré auquel un élément ou un élément est utilisé dans la mesure d'une caractéristique il ne produit pas d'erreurs , en obtenant des résultats cohérents dans différentes mesures de la même caractéristique dans le même sujet et le même contexte.

4. Validité

La validité est comprise comme le degré auquel les éléments que nous utilisons pour mesurer mesure ce que vous voulez mesurer . Il existe plusieurs types de validité, tels que par exemple la construction, le contenu ou l'écologique.

Un peu d'histoire

L’histoire de la psychologie est étroitement liée à la mesure des caractéristiques et des capacités des individus. La psychologie en tant que science n’apparaîtrait pas avant la création du premier laboratoire de psychologie dirigé par Wilhelm Wundt, qui commencerait à réaliser des expériences dans lesquelles il tenterait de mesurer les temps de réaction et prendrait en compte les aspects subjectifs à travers la méthode d’introspection .

Cependant, on pense que la psychométrie a vu le jour depuis le milieu du XIXe siècle, lorsque Francis Galton a commencé à travailler à la mise en place de mécanismes permettant de mesurer l’existence de différences individuelles entre les individus.

Galton utiliserait des mécanismes axés sur la mesure des éléments physiologiques, ses études étant limitées aux processus de base. Mais grâce à ses études ont émergé des concepts fondamentaux en psychométrie, comme principes de corrélation entre variables et régression , qui sera finalement officialisé par Karl Pearson, son élève.

Les premiers tests psychologiques

Cattell concevrait pour la première fois le concept de test mental, en l’appliquant à la mesure des capacités sensorielles, mais ce ne sera qu’Alfred Binet que les échelles de mesure des capacités intellectuelles commenceront à se développer. Binet, avec son assistant Théodore Simon, créé la première échelle d'intelligence basée sur des critères fonctionnels .

Plus tard, au fil du temps, divers types d’échelles seraient fabriqués, certains étant même utilisés dans l’armée (comme Army Alpha et Army Beta, utilisées pour classer les soldats en fonction de leur niveau de renseignements). Plus tard aussi il essaierait de prendre en compte la présence de biais culturels possibles pour une analyse correcte de la capacité mentale.

Spearman interpréterait la corrélation de Pearson , indiquant que la présence d’une corrélation entre variables met en évidence la présence d’un élément commun. Sur cette base, il finirait par générer sa théorie sur le facteur G de l'intelligence.

Développements ultérieurs

Parmi les principaux auteurs qui ont permis le développement de la psychométrie, on citera principalement les auteurs susmentionnés Galton, Binet, Pearson et Spearman, bien que de nombreux autres auteurs puissent jouer un rôle clé dans cette discipline.

Spearman élaborerait la théorie classique des tests selon laquelle les scores obtenus aux tests Ils doivent être comparés au groupe de référence afin de pouvoir leur donner un sens, bien que cela limite leur fiabilité et leur validité pour pouvoir modifier les résultats en fonction de la personne avec laquelle la comparaison est effectuée.

Au fil du temps, d'autres théories émergeraient, comme la théorie de la réponse à l'item , qui essaierait de combattre cette limitation, en proposant le test comme moyen de mesurer le niveau d’un sujet dans un caractère donné interprété sur la base de la probabilité statistique. Au fil du temps, d’autres tests, tels que les tests d’aptitude ou de personnalité, pourraient émerger.

  • Article connexe: "Types de tests psychologiques: fonctions et caractéristiques"

Quelques applications et utilité de la psychométrie

La psychométrie est une discipline d’importance particulière pour la psychologie, car elle permet de rendre opérationnels les différents processus mentaux et de prendre des mesures, de définir des critères, d’établir des comparaisons et même de développer des modèles explicatifs et prédictifs. En outre, cela permet de relier les variables et d’établir l’existence de relations entre elles.

Tout cela est nécessaire dans des domaines très différents , comme par exemple dans ce qui suit.

Psychologie clinique

Les différents tests et mesures d’évaluation psychologique revêtent une grande importance en pratique clinique. Etre capable de mesurer des caractéristiques mentales ou des états nous permet de visualiser et avoir une idée de l'état et de la sévérité du sujet , ainsi que donner la priorité à certains aspects du traitement en fonction des caractéristiques du patient.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par: "Psychologie clinique: définition et fonctions du psychologue clinicien"

Neuropsychologie

Les tests et évaluations psychologiques et neuropsychologiques ils nous donnent des indices sur la manière dont les capacités mentales d'un sujet sont comparées à un critère établi, à la moyenne de la population ou à leur propre état dans des mesures antérieures.

Évaluation de développement

Tout au long de notre cycle de vie, nous développons nos capacités d’une certaine manière. La présence d'altérations dans ledit développement il peut être détecté grâce à diverses procédures élaborées par la psychométrie, permettant de prévoir et de traiter les dysfonctionnements qui entravent l'adaptation de la personne à l'environnement.

Évaluation de la capacité

Caractéristiques de la personnalité, des capacités et des aptitudes ils font partie des multiples éléments dont la possibilité de mesure est née d'instruments élaborés grâce à la psychométrie.

Ressources humaines

Déterminer la capacité d'un individu à faire face à un travail particulier n'est pas une tâche facile. L'embauche ou la non-embauche d'une personne il doit prendre en compte son niveau d'aptitude et son état mental afin de détecter le niveau d'adaptation au poste et à l'entreprise.

Cette évaluation est réalisée par le biais d'entretiens avec les candidats, ainsi que de tests psychométriques reflétant leur niveau d'aptitude sous différents aspects.

Enquête

La psychologie est une science qui avance continuellement. La recherche est un élément essentiel afin de mieux comprendre la psyché et la réalité. Établir des relations entre différentes situations et / ou stimuli et / ou générer des données qui peuvent être opposées sont des aspects clés de ce processus, pour lequel la psychométrie est essentielle en tant que base pour la création de méthodes de mesure.


SOTS | Ministry in the Spirit | E17 (Janvier 2023).


Articles Connexes