yes, therapy helps!
Psychopathy: what happens in the mind of the psychopath?

Psychopathy: what happens in the mind of the psychopath?

May 1, 2024

What is a psychopath ? In his work "Antisocial personalities" (1994), David Lykken explores the psychopathic and sociopathic personalities, the different subtypes that exist of them and the role played by the personal and socialization factors that intervene in the genesis of the violence of the children that from very small aim to become delinquents.

Throughout this work it becomes clear what for him is one of the most decisive components in the future of a child most likely to develop a style of antisocial personality : parents.

The mind of the Psychopath: serious difficulties to socialize

People affected by this disorder have not developed an awareness or habits of respect for the laws and regulations that deter the rest of committing antisocial acts, due to inherent peculiarities that make it difficult or impossible for them to socialize. They are characterized by having innate traits of character that totally or partially disable them to socialize, or by intermittent periods of socialization and antisocial behavior.


There are three components of socialization :

1. Conscientiousness

It is the natural tendency to avoid criminal behavior . It is usually a consequence of the fear of punishment, both that which involves a social rejection of the crime itself, as well as the self-inflicted by guilt and remorse felt afterwards.

This does not mean that the temptation to commit a crime is continuous, since prosocial behaviors have become a habit that distances most members of society from those most reprehensible. This habit is not consolidated until adulthood, so by the end of adolescence the crime rate reaches its highest level. This component is the result of the parental activity and the characteristics of each one.


2. Prosociality

General predisposition toward prosocial behavior . It is developed thanks to the bonds of affection and empathy with the people with whom we relate, which causes us to want to enjoy the benefits of this type of ties and a genuine will to behave in the same way.

3. Acceptance of adult responsibility

It refers to the motivation to participate in life in society and the assimilation of work ethic , as well as the acceptance of the values ​​of effort and personal improvement as a means to achieve personal goals.

However, we must not lose sight of the fact that there are well-socialized people who in certain circumstances will commit crimes, while others, even if they are not criminals, are lazy or of evil character and can be considered bad citizens.


Causes and manifestations of Psychopathy

Cleckley (1955) proposed that the emotions resulting from the experiences experienced by psychopaths of the "primary" type are weakened in terms of the intensity with which they are affected. Through experience, emotions and feelings guide and reinforce this learning process , thus constructing a moral and a value system.

But what happens to these individuals is that normal socializing experiences are ineffective for the creation of this morality, which is the mechanism through which we socialize people. Hence, they fail at the level of establishing personal links. Due to an innate defect, they can verbalize what they know about emotions without really understanding the meaning of what they are telling.

However, they can feel all those feelings that, if they do not lodge, would not lead them to commit the actions, legal or illegal, that they commit. In the words of Gilbert and Sullivan:

"When the delinquent is not engaged in his employment, or is not forging his little criminal plans, he is as capable of feeling innocent pleasure as any honest man." (p.192)

  • If you are interested in the topic of Psychopathy, we recommend the articles "Types of psychopaths" and "The difference between psychopathy and sociopathy"

Bibliographic references:

  • Cooke, D.J., Hart, S.D., Logan, C., & Michie, C. (2012). Explicating the Construct of Psychopathy: Development and Validation of a Conceptual Model, the Comprehensive Assessment of Psychopathic Personality (CAPP). International Journal of Forensic Mental Health, 11 (4), 242-252.
  • Lykken, D. (1994) Antisocial personalities. Barcelona: Herder.
  • Vinkers, D. J., de Beurs, E., Barendregt, M., Rinne, T., & Hoek, H. W. (2011). The relationship between mental disorders and different types of crime. Criminal Behavior and Mental Health, 21, 307-320.

What Makes a Psychopath? (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Psychopathie: que se passe-t-il dans l'esprit du psychopathe?

Psychopathie: que se passe-t-il dans l'esprit du psychopathe?

Septembre 27, 2022

Qu'est-ce qu'un psychopathe ? Dans son travail "Personnalités antisociales" (1994), David Lykken explore les personnalités psychopathes et sociopathiques, leurs différents sous-types et le rôle joué par les facteurs personnels et de socialisation qui interviennent dans la genèse de la violence de la société. les enfants qui, de très petite taille, veulent devenir délinquants.

Tout au long de ce travail, il apparaît clairement que pour lui, l’un des éléments les plus décisifs pour l’avenir d’un enfant est le plus susceptible de développer un style de vie. personnalité antisociale : parents.

L'esprit du psychopathe: sérieuses difficultés à socialiser

Les personnes touchées par ce trouble n'ont pas développé de conscience ou d'habitude de respect des lois et des réglementations qui dissuadent le reste des actes antisociaux, en raison de particularités inhérentes qui les rendent difficiles voire impossibles à socialiser. Ils se caractérisent par des traits de caractère innés qui les rendent totalement ou partiellement incapables de socialiser, ou par des périodes intermittentes de socialisation et de comportement antisocial.


Il y a trois composantes de la socialisation :

1. Conscience

C’est la tendance naturelle à éviter le comportement criminel . C’est généralement une conséquence de la peur de la punition, qui implique à la fois un rejet social du crime lui-même, ainsi que de l’auto-infligé par la culpabilité et le remords ressentis par la suite.

Cela ne signifie pas pour autant que la tentation de commettre un crime soit permanente, car les comportements prosociaux sont devenus une habitude qui éloigne la plupart des membres de la société de ceux qui sont le plus répréhensibles. Cette habitude n'est pas consolidée avant l'âge adulte, de sorte que le taux de criminalité atteint son plus haut niveau à la fin de l'adolescence. Cette composante est le résultat de l'activité parentale et des caractéristiques de chacun.


2. prosocialité

Prédisposition générale à comportement prosocial . Elle se développe grâce aux liens d’affection et d’empathie avec les personnes avec lesquelles nous sommes en relation, ce qui nous pousse à vouloir profiter des avantages de ce type de liens et d’une véritable volonté de se comporter de la même manière.

3. Acceptation de la responsabilité adulte

Il fait référence à la motivation de participer à la vie en société et à l’assimilation des éthique de travail , ainsi que l’acceptation des valeurs d’effort et d’amélioration personnelle comme moyen d’atteindre des objectifs personnels.

Cependant, nous ne devons pas perdre de vue le fait qu'il existe des personnes bien socialisées qui, dans certaines circonstances, commettront des crimes, tandis que d'autres, même si elles ne sont pas des criminels, sont paresseuses ou de mauvais caractère et peuvent être considérées comme de mauvais citoyens.


Causes et manifestations de la psychopathie

Cleckley (1955) a proposé que les émotions résultant d'expériences vécues par des psychopathes du type "primaire" soient affaiblies en termes d'intensité avec laquelle ils sont affectés. À travers l'expérience, les émotions et les sentiments guident et renforcent cela processus d'apprentissage , construisant ainsi une morale et un système de valeurs.

Mais ce qui arrive à ces individus, c'est que les expériences de socialisation normales sont inefficaces pour la création de cette moralité, qui est le mécanisme par lequel nous socialisons les gens. Par conséquent, ils échouent au niveau de l'établissement de liens personnels. En raison d'un défaut inné, ils peuvent verbaliser ce qu'ils savent au sujet des émotions sans vraiment comprendre le sens de ce qu'ils racontent.

Cependant, ils peuvent ressentir tous ces sentiments qui, s'ils ne logeaient pas, ne les conduiraient pas à commettre les actes, légaux ou illégaux, qu'ils commettent. Dans les mots de Gilbert et Sullivan:

"Lorsque le délinquant n’est pas engagé dans son travail, ou ne construit pas ses petits projets criminels, il est aussi capable de ressentir un plaisir innocent que tout homme honnête." (p.192)

  • Si vous êtes intéressé par le sujet de la psychopathie, nous vous recommandons les articles "Types de psychopathes" et "La différence entre psychopathie et sociopathie"

Références bibliographiques:

  • Cooke, D. J., Hart, S. D., Logan, C. et Michie, C. (2012). Expliquer la construction de la psychopathie: développement et validation d'un modèle conceptuel, l'évaluation globale de la personnalité psychopathique (CAPP). Journal international de santé mentale médico-légale, 11 (4), 242-252.
  • Lykken, D. (1994) Personnalités antisociales. Barcelone: ​​Herder.
  • Vinkers, D.J., de Beurs, E., Barendregt, M., Rinne, T. et Hoek, H. W. (2011). La relation entre les troubles mentaux et les différents types de criminalité. Comportement criminel et santé mentale, 21, 307-320.

ES TU UN PSYCHOPATHE ?! (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes