yes, therapy helps!
Why does a woman forgive the man who mistreats her?

Why does a woman forgive the man who mistreats her?

January 6, 2023

¿How many battered women can forgive their abuser and again? This question has multiple answers, most of them very studied already from psychology, sociology and other disciplines.

The reason is deeply linked to the education received from women throughout history, the secondary role imposed by society over the years and the shadow of this behavior "marked in the cultural DNA". But there are also some reasons closely linked to behavioral learning, which have a clear and obvious cognitive explanation.

  • Related article: "The 7 types of gender violence (and characteristics)"

Battered women who forgive: learned helplessness

Today, so that we understand a little better why certain Behaviors carried out by women victims of sexist mistreatment , we will explain one of the many reasons why a woman may not respond to a situation of abuse, as most of us think we would do. We speak of Learned Helplessness.


The helplessness learned in a battered woman is nothing more than an alteration in the cognitive function of the woman that generates a passive behavior before a series of events that she perceives as uncontrollable .

This makes it very difficult for battered women to find optimal ways to end a violent relationship, mainly because their cognitive function of attention is focused on staying alive.

A person learn not to defend when it believes convincingly that fighting against this situation of abuse will not succeed in stopping the aggressions of the other. Therefore, the woman stops trying to stop that situation and unconsciously creates coping strategies to live "safely" within that situation of abuse.


When a woman suffers from learned helplessness, their behavior is based on reducing the pain, but not stopping the aggressions , because he feels that the cause of the events are totally external to his control, and since he can not do anything to stop that situation, he simply waits for it to happen.

  • Related article: "Learned helplessness: delving into the psychology of the victim"

The role of attribution style

One of the risk factors of learned helplessness are attributional styles. These determine the way in which we usually give an explanation to the different things that happen around us. Generally people with a positive attributional style tend to appreciate the medium as predictable or controllable. This sense of control makes us maintain our level of self-esteem.

However, people with learned helplessness, as we have commented, they have a negative attributional style , perceiving the situations that surround him as unpredictable and uncontrollable, thus seeing his self-esteem undervalued.


People who are in this situation underestimate the degree of control they actually have.

The emotional repercussions

On the other hand, the consequences of learned helplessness, among others, are negative emotional states that are characterized by high levels of anxiety, depression , frustration, lack of confidence in their abilities, lack of initiative, demotivation, negativity, social isolation, etc.

To a woman (and a man) never and under no circumstances likes to be subjected in a situation of abuse . This premise is evident and must prevail over any value judgment that we can make, however much the situation may seem incomprehensible to us. There is always a reason why you live in that kind of toxic relationship.


Why Young Woman Says She Can’t Forgive Her Mother (January 2023).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Pourquoi une femme pardonne-t-elle à l'homme qui la maltraite?

Pourquoi une femme pardonne-t-elle à l'homme qui la maltraite?

Février 28, 2021

¿Combien de femmes battues peuvent pardonner à leur agresseur encore et encore? Cette question a des réponses multiples, la plupart d'entre elles très étudiées déjà en psychologie, sociologie et autres disciplines.

La raison en est profondément liée à l'éducation reçue par les femmes à travers l'histoire, au rôle secondaire imposé par la société au fil des ans et à l'ombre de ce comportement "marqué dans l'ADN culturel". Mais il existe aussi des raisons étroitement liées à l'apprentissage comportemental, qui ont une explication cognitive claire et évidente.

  • Article connexe: "Les 7 types de violence sexiste (et caractéristiques)"

Femmes battues qui pardonnent: impuissance acquise

Aujourd’hui, pour que nous comprenions un peu mieux pourquoi certains Comportements de femmes victimes de maltraitance sexiste , nous expliquerons l’une des nombreuses raisons pour lesquelles une femme peut ne pas réagir à une situation de maltraitance, comme la plupart d’entre nous pensent que nous le ferions. Nous parlons de l'impuissance acquise.


L’impuissance apprise chez une femme battue n’est rien de plus qu’une altération de la fonction cognitive de la femme qui génère un comportement passif avant une série d'événements qu'elle perçoit comme incontrôlable .

Il est donc très difficile pour les femmes battues de trouver les moyens optimaux de mettre fin à une relation violente, principalement parce que leur fonction cognitive d’attention est axée sur le maintien en vie.

Une personne apprendre à ne pas défendre quand il croit de manière convaincante que lutter contre cette situation d'abus ne réussira pas à enrayer les agressions de l'autre. Par conséquent, la femme cesse d'essayer de mettre fin à cette situation et crée inconsciemment des stratégies pour vivre «en toute sécurité» dans cette situation de maltraitance.


Quand une femme souffre d'impuissance acquise, leur comportement est basé sur la réduction de la douleur, mais pas pour arrêter les agressions , car il estime que la cause des événements est totalement extérieure à son contrôle, et comme il ne peut rien faire pour arrêter cette situation, il attend simplement que cela se produise.

  • Article connexe: "Impuissance acquise: plonger dans la psychologie de la victime"

Le rôle du style d'attribution

Les styles d'attribution sont l'un des facteurs de risque de l'impuissance acquise. Ceux-ci déterminent la façon dont nous donnons habituellement une explication aux différentes choses qui se passent autour de nous Généralement, les personnes ayant un style d'attribution positif ont tendance à considérer le média comme prévisible ou contrôlable. Ce sentiment de contrôle nous permet de maintenir notre niveau d'estime de soi.

Cependant, comme nous l’avons déjà dit, les personnes avec un sentiment d’impuissance ils ont un style d'attribution négatif , percevant les situations qui l’entourent comme imprévisibles et incontrôlables, voyant ainsi son estime de soi sous-estimée.


Les personnes qui se trouvent dans cette situation sous-estiment leur degré de contrôle.

Les répercussions émotionnelles

D'autre part, les conséquences de l'impuissance acquise, entre autres, sont états émotionnels négatifs caractérisés par des niveaux élevés d'anxiété et de dépression , frustration, manque de confiance en leurs capacités, manque d’initiative, démotivation, négativité, isolement social, etc.

À une femme (et un homme) jamais et en aucun cas n'aime être soumis à une situation d'abus . Cette prémisse est évidente et doit prévaloir sur tout jugement de valeur que nous pouvons formuler, même si la situation peut nous sembler incompréhensible. Il y a toujours une raison pour laquelle vous vivez dans ce genre de relation toxique.


Un ancien mari violent témoigne (Février 2021).


Articles Connexes